Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd September 2017 - 21:24:38

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Hersheys Magic Shell review

« Migraine Balm reviewMigraine Balm Shark Navigator Lift Away reviewShark Navigator Lift Away »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.2/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4151 - Hersheys Magic Shell
Produced by Hersheys

Hersheys Magic Shell
Price:
from $3.99
Available:
selected retailers

Hersheys Magic Shell product reviews

Magic Shell is a dessert syrup that quickly hardens into a crispy shell when poured onto a cold surface such as icecream. Originally made in Australia by Cottees and called Ice Magic, this sauce brings a little magic to your ice-cream. If the sauce hardens in the bottle, just pop it in some warm water or microwave for 30 sec to be able to pour again. Available in chocolate and caramel.



Tags:
caramel   chocolate   icecream   magic   sauce
Other listings you may be interested in:
Epicurean Mulling SpicesEpicurean Mulling Spices
Rating: 9.3
Pitango  Organic Chicken Noodle SoupPitango  Organic Chicken Noodle Soup
Rating: 8.9
Kaweka - Vegetable TagineKaweka - Vegetable Tagine
Rating: 8.5
Finch CafeFinch Cafe
Rating: 10.0
Swiss Deli Spanish ChoritzoSwiss Deli Spanish Choritzo
Rating: 9.3
Ciabatta Fold with Fresh Garlic ButterCiabatta Fold with Fresh Garlic Butter
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Pita PitPita Pit
Rating: 10.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Long Grain Rice
Rating: 9.1
Takaro TakeawaysTakaro Takeaways
Rating: 7.5
Artisano Heat'n'Eat Ready-to-Pull NZ PorkArtisano Heat'n'Eat Ready-to-Pull NZ Pork
Rating: 9.5
Hot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate MinionsHot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate Minions
Rating: 8.6
Sids Wine & Pepper MustardSids Wine & Pepper Mustard
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of teacher691

Review by: teacher691 (Tania)
Dated: 9th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Yum, Yum Yum!

Hersheys Magic Shell is a delicious treat and a must to have with ice cream. My children love this magic chocolate syrup, it pours liquid and then hardens upon contact with ice cream. This magic shell has a smooth chocolate taste that really hits the spot when you are wanting a chocolate treat. The crack of the chocolate when you break into it is divine, and pure luxury.

Hersheys Magic Shell has now become a pantry staple in my household and we make sure that we never run out! My family and friends based on our recommendations are now converts too.The ability to place in hot water or microwave if it is to hard to pour makes the use of this simple and easy.

The only suggestion I would have is to make the cap flatter so that it is easy to stand upside down to enable getting every last drop. It would also be great to have a larger size bottle as the bottle size is a little on the small size. This is a great addition to any sundae station or those winter nights treats in front of the fire. If you have not yet had the pleasure of trying Hersheys Magic Shell you really should as your missing out!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 30th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I find this super yummy but I find it hard to get out of the bottle at times and a lot gets wasted as you never get it all fully out. I have also put in microwave to soften it up as goes hard in cupboard and melted bottle a little. apart from the bottle dramas I have, I think it is delicious and I could eat it on its own, it goes really well with ice cream and always down well as a treat in my house. I have tried other products but I find this has the best flavour and sets well on the ice cream. I love it also when it gets suck to the sides of the bowl and you have those last wee bits of it left which you save for last and dig of with your spoon. I asked my son what he thought of this and he said he really loves it and he wished he could eat it by the spoon fulls and that's a lot coming from my son as he is not a big chocolate eater at all, so for him to have the taste for the choc sauce it def gets a ten from us .

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 28th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This reminded me of something similar that I used to have in my own childhood 'Ice Magic' I hadn't seen this around for many years, but remember always having it on ice cream as a school holiday treat while staying with my Nana and Grandad up in Kaitaia, it also reminds me of when Mr Whippy would drive past our house and all of the kids from down our street would race out and order ourselves an ice cream, I would always go for the choc dipped flake, or the choc dipped with sprinkles.

I was very happy to see that Hershey's had brought out a product similar to that of the 'Ice magic' that I remembered from my childhood so that I could share this special treat experience with my own daughter. I'm not quite sure what it is but there really is something that little bit special about the Hershey's shell, you could melt your own chocolate but it really just isn't the same. I think it's the anticipation of watching the melted, running chocolate as you pour it over your ice cream, and then seeing the amazement as it sets as hard as chocolate. I really don't know but it is just a special and very magical experience.

It doesn't take long at all for the chocolate shell to start to set over your ice cream, it's almost instantaneous. It tastes great on all ice creams, but my favourite ice cream to top it with would have to be cookies and cream. The taste of the Hershey's shell is really nice and tastes very similar to that of a block of Hershey's chocolate, I think it may even beat the taste of the original. It s easy to use, with a convenient squeezey bottle, and with the thin tip you can make fun designs and pictures on your ice cream using it.

I have used the Hershey's Shell to drizzle over cheesecakes and other cold desserts such as chocolate mousse and it tastes great, though does take a wee bit longer to set than it does on ice cream. A definite yummy treat, that's sure to be a hit with your children.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 20th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Whenever I see this on the supermarket shelf, memories of my childhood come flooding back and that's enough to get me to buy this product over and over again! There really is something magical about Hershey's shell and now that I have my own daughter I can't wait till she's old enough to share the fun with her. This product also reminds me of getting ice creams from Mr Whippy that were dipped in chocolate - it was always so amazing seeing the man dipping a cold ice cream into sauce which then went hard. Like how does that happen?!

As soon as you put this sauce on your ice cream it starts to set or more freeze and forms a wonderful yummy shell. I like to have just the perfect amount of the sauce - not to thick so its hard to crack through but not to thin that you don't have to crack through it. This of course just comes down to individual preferences and tastes. Hershey's is a brand that I really enjoy the taste of - it tastes like real chocolate and is a flavour I've enjoyed since I was a child. I find this sauce is comparable to the Hershey's chocolate bars available, so if I was ever in need of actual chocolate for baking etc but didn't have any then I would hesitate in using this sauce.

One thing that drives me a little mental about this product is that you can never seem to get all the product out of the bottle - it always feels or seems like there is more in there but you just can't get to it! In saying that, making the bottle so it can be chucked in the microwave gets top points. It definitely helps being able to soften the chocolate up using this method and again means I will buy it over other brands where I don't get this option. I prefer this way to standing in warm water mainly because I'm so impatient and just want the chocolate sauce on my ice cream right this minute LOL Icon

In comparison to the other chocolate sauces available on the supermarket shelf I find the price of this brand to be quite cheap, and is usually one of the cheapest available (sometimes the brands on sale are cheaper). This definitely influences our choice in buying this product too - realistically its crazy how expensive chocolate sauce can be so we are happy to spend as little as possible! Overall a wonderful product that I totally recommend to everyone - share the magic with your children! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Craving a chocolate sauce one night we headed down the isle and with this the only product on the shelf we decided that that would have to do.

Getting home and dying to dig into the ice cream we quickly drizzled some of this on our ice cream, coating the entire dish in the sauce. It hardens up rather fast and to our dismay it was a bit too hard to crack through it with the spoon, so we ended up having to sort of peel it off the ice cream and set it aside (until our son got his hands on it and you can imagine the mess that a toddler would make with it).

The next time we used it we decided to try a bit less sauce in the dish, not an easy feat to do with my husband and his love of chocolate sauces, but we managed to get there and less was definitely better this time around. The taste is nice, it is chocolate for sure, but comparing it to the ice cream it just wasn't sweet enough and I would happily settle for just popping a few chunks of chocolate on my ice cream. same result in the end.

Fun, but nothing great and I wouldn't buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I was a kid, I use to love getting my ice creams chocolate dipped. It went on wet and dried within seconds. That fascinated me. When we got a similar product at home I felt like a mad scientist experimenting with using this in all sorts of things. So once I had a child, I knew I had to get this product to share with her.

Hershey's Magic Shell is relatively cheap compared to other ice cream sauces in the dessert aisle. And no other product performs the same kind of magic in your bowl. You pour it on wet an it dries or freezes in seconds. It really is magic. We have this product mostly on ice cream. It is so fun to use, that we have been known to use a bit much. Once all the chocolate is eaten, we often go back for a second helping of sauce before the ice cream melts. For this reason alone, I don't buy it too often!

Another thing you can do, is use it in a hot chocolate to decorate the glass. It flakes away and gives you bursts of melty chocolate through your drink. You could also use this to swirl a fun design onto your pancakes or to chocolate coat something when you don't have time to melt chocolate buttons down and wait for everything to set again. My only negative is that the chocolate doesn't quite taste right, there is a slight taste that I can't put my finger on. But I have always noticed it. It doesn't stop my enjoyment though.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This stuff reminds me of my childhood getting choc dipped icecreams from the local dairy, oh the good old days when you didn't have to feel guilty about having tons of calories!!

We buy this from time to time to make home made sundaes and it really is a treat! When you pour it through your icecream in your cup it hardens into a nice crisp chocolate throughout the icecream. I haven't tried making a choc dipped icecream as that would involve wasting some of the chocolate as you would have to pour it into a bowl to dip the icecream but I have drizzled it over an icecream in a cone.

It is really nice chocolate too being Hershey's brand it is rich and creamy and has a nice chocolate taste not the taste of cheap chocolate. I find the icecream cones you buy at the movie theatre that are chocolate dipped the chocolate tastes horrible but this is really yummy.

My kids love having icecream with this stuff so a bottle never lasts long in our house but it is good value for money. I do find it hard to get every last bit out of the bottle but when it hardens you can microwave it to soften it back up.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1474: Mexicana pizza
Produced by Domino's Pizza

Product image for Mexicana pizzaPart of the hot new 70's range.

Special tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, onion, capsicum, shredded cotto, jalapeno chillies, fresh garlic, oregano, chilli flakes.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A torn jacket is soon mended; but hard words bruise the heart of a child."
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 - 1882)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream