Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:24:47

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Syrups, Cordials and Concentrates > Sodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free review

« The Croods reviewThe CroodsSodastream - Blackcurrant reviewSodastream - Blackcurrant »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.6/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4030 - Sodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free
Brand / Manufactured by: Sodastream

Sodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free
Price:
$6.50
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by SodaStream (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
selected stores

Sodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free product reviews

The fun and smarter way to best enjoy your sparkling drinks at home. Just fizz your water, add your favourite flavour and enjoy the refreshing sparkling taste. Makes 12 litres of Ginger Beer Sugar Free.

Check out SodaStream (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for SodaStream (NZ) Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
carbonated   diabetic   diet   drink   fizz   fizzy   ginger beer   refreshing   soda   sparkling   sugar free
Other listings you may be interested in:
SodaStream Classics - Crafted ColaSodaStream Classics - Crafted Cola
Rating: 9.5
SodaStream G-100 Genesis drinks makerSodaStream G-100 Genesis drinks maker
Rating: 10.0
Sodastream Sampler PackSodastream Sampler Pack
Rating: 8.7
Stoke - GoldStoke - Gold
Rating: 7.3
SodaStream Summer LemonSodaStream Summer Lemon
Rating: 10.0
Sodastream - BlackcurrantSodastream - Blackcurrant
Rating: 9.4
Blueberry White TeaBlueberry White Tea
Rating: 7.3
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink LemonadeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Lemonade
Rating: 9.2
SodaStream T-Rex EnergySodaStream T-Rex Energy
Rating: 9.7
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink GrapefruitSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Grapefruit
Rating: 9.3
SodaStream - Premium ColaSodaStream - Premium Cola
Rating: 8.9
SodaStream - Xstream EnergySodaStream - Xstream Energy
Rating: 9.1
Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler packSodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack
Rating: 8.6
Apple WineApple Wine
Rating: 9.5
Goodbuzz Booch - Green JasmineGoodbuzz Booch - Green Jasmine
Rating: 8.1
SodaStream - Sparkling Goodness - Lemon and LimeSodaStream - Sparkling Goodness - Lemon and Lime
Rating: 8.3
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Red AppleSodaStream Waters Fruits - Red Apple
Rating: 8.7
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - CappuccinoAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - CappuccinoSodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon LimeSodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon Lime
Rating: 9.1
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel LatteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel Latte
Rating: 8.8
Sodastream Play drinks makerSodastream Play drinks maker
Rating: 9.7
SodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-FreeSodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-Free
Rating: 7.4
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle LemonadeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Addmore Elderflower Sparkling - RoseAddmore Elderflower Sparkling - Rose
Rating: 9.5
Zigana EspressoZigana Espresso
Rating: 10.0
Sodastream - Root Beer syrupSodastream - Root Beer syrup
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 1st of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I am not a ginger Beer or sugarfree drink fan, but as I was given a chance to try it, I went into it feet first. Ginger drinks for me are very bitter and I always end up with major heartburn, so they are drunk very sparingly & to me sugarfree always has a horrible taste. With SodaStream, I found this was not the case.

I got none of the bitterness I associate with either sugarfree or Ginger, in fact I was able to drink a whole glass. I did two test run one at their recommended strength and one at my taste. I found the full strength just a bit to much for me but to my own taste was brilliant. This is of course one of the reasons I LOVE Sodastream, as you can make it to suit each person.

I can honestly say this will not be a must buy, but during the heat of summer I know I will be indulging in a few glasses of it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm going to base my review on my wife's report, since absolutely LOATHE ginger beer, whereas she's quite the aficionado of the genre. I will start by saying that her 'benchmark brew' is Bundaberg Ginger Beer or Green Ginger Wine at the lighter end of the scale.

This was, as usual, a doddle to prepare in mere minutes, since I keep a couple of bottles of water in the fridge at all times, making sure I rotate through them every 2 days at most. With two young sons who adore Sodastream drinks, this is not an issue at all. Wink Icon

First sip resulted ina set of raised eyebrows, since my wife is NOT a Sodastream fan at all, claiming that most flavours have a chalky and/or bitter after-taste for her. This one, on the other hand, apparently had neither aftertaste, had a very pleasant opening punch, and a very smooth, sweet-but-zingy body to it. It was, by all accounts, so good that she polished off a bottle all by herself within a day - something unheard of, when it comes to fizzy drinks of any origin here.

Overall, she thought it was quite possibly the closest competitor for top spot in her books she has found to date... and considering she is always trying out any new Ginger Beer variants she finds, that really is saying something! I have thought about using this as an experimental ingredient in my next attempt to bake Ginger Loaf... so we'll have to see how that pans out. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 21st of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a huge ginger beer fan...have been since I was a kid because it was and still is really the only thing that seems to settle by stomach as I suffer from motion sickness while travelling in a car, boat etc. and the ginger in the drink seems to work a treat for me.

When I first saw the original flavour of Ginger Beer I purchased it there and then at the shop, and the flavour didn't disappoint, I have purchased a few bottles since. I was however sceptical about trying the sugar free option as I was worried it would be too bitter and not sweet enough because of the less sugar in it but in saying that I was keen to give it a go because it would of course be the better option health wise and normally I like my soda streams to have less syrup in them because I find them too sweet but I like more flavour when it comes to Ginger Beer.

Anyway my thoughts on the Sugar Free Ginger Beer are....it is actually okay....yes not as sweet but the ginger flavour is nice and can definitely be tasted loud and clear!...and yes I can see myself buying another bottle when this one runs out....granted it is not as nice as the original flavour because of the sugar factor but hey everyone knows that healthy usually means not as nice and I can live with that if it works out to be better for me.

The look, the colour and the smell of the ginger beer are all to same to me I can't see or smell a difference I can only taste a difference and of course that is meant to happen...so all good in my books...I can live with a different taste because the taste is still great! The more I drink the sugar free option the more I am leaning towards purchasing and drinking more of it.

Sugar Free Ginger Beer is a winner in my book! The bonus is that my nieces don't like it because the ginger is too strong and they say it tastes hot so bonus more for me and I don't have to share!! yippee!! hahaha

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Ok, I don't like sugar free or zero drinks, I can tell the different with all the other flavours if its sugar free or not. Well I made this one up and I was dreading to try it to be honest but I did it, I sucked it up and tried it. Surprised me though, it tasted ok, I was able to drink it, normally I tip it out. It had more of a spicy kick to it than the normal one but I liked it, I had to add 1.5cups of syrup to get a decent taste to it as the 1 cup was weak.

Both kids enjoyed this and wouldn't stop drinking it, the bottle like all other bottles match the drink so ginger beer is brown and the bottle matches that well, I love the fact the cup is the measure, just gotta pour slow into the fizzed up water to prevent volcanos. Now I wont say this will be my new favourite, I do love ginger beer, and will drink it, but I do like sugar ones still. This will be used when I have people over as many of my friends and family are into the sugar free drinks at the moment so this works out well.

Its a good price as it makes 12 litres all up and you will pay a lot more than that for 12 litres of good fizzy drink, the flavour is nice and strong and comes out in the drink, giving it a little bit of a spice well thats how I can describe it, so if you need a good sugar free drink try this one

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 15th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

WOW, with me being an extreme Ginger Beer fanatic, this drink is quite impressive! Now normally with sugar-free Sodastream drinks I get this slightly bitter, strange flavour in the background, but there was absolutely NONE of that in this drink. The concentrate looked a little suspicious, it strongly resembled liquid caramel, but the drink itself was awesome! I have tasted real ginger beer on several occasions, and this stuff was very much like it.

The one thing I love about this drink is that it has the same tangy taste, and it even has the spicy, tingly sensation at the back of the throat that I always love! I am glad that I have an entire bottle of this concentrate all to myself, because these things tend to last a while, and this is a great drink for when I want a tangy, delicious drink. If this is the sugar-free version of Ginger Beer, I am very curious to see, or rather, taste, the regular version, if there even is one!

The price is an awesome one, at $6.50 a bottle, this stuff is very affordable, easy for people to get if they already have a Sodastream machine. I love the design on the bottle, it is very different from the usual designs, I must admit it got me curious. The "Flavour" aspect most definitely gets a full 10/10, since the folks at Sodastream have managed to take Ginger Beer and make it into something with no sugar but all the tastes we know and love. Overall, I am very impressed with this flavour and hope to find many more original and exiting ones in the future.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a massive ginger beer fan, perhaps to the point where I could be called an addict. I absolutely love it! I have some firm favorites, in terms of makers, but am always happy to try others. Naturally when I heard that sodastream also made ginger beer, I couldn't wait to put my hand up and offer to review.

First and foremost, like others available in the range, the bottles are a funky easy to use shape, with the colours aimed to match the flavour. So obviously the gingerbeer bottle features a brown label ^Smile Icon Like the others, I always have a little trouble putting the caps on after removal, and this was no exception. I don't know if it is the caps or if it is me, but it happens every time LOL Icon No biggy though.

Upon opening the obvious things to do are peer inside the bottle and have a look at what it looks like, a somewhat murky brownish colour, almost a little off putting, but hey its ginger beer after all, its not going to be a bright pretty purple. I actually found the smell a little off putting too, but quickly moved on from this, as reality is, I wasn't there to keep on sniffing the bottle.

So I fizzed up some water in my trusty soda stream, measured up the liquid in the cap, and carefully (oh so carefully) added it to the water, so as not to cause a volcanic eruption, as can sometimes happen when added to quickly. The result once mixed was a light coloured water. Right away I knew that the flavour was not going to be to my liking, it was not going to be strong enough. Poured a glass, and although okay, I was correct, I prefer a stronger ginger beer. Hubby tried it, without knowing the flavour, and actually picked it to be a fruit flavoured drink interestingly enough.

Two more fizzy attempts later and I found a strength that suited me; 1.5 caps per litre. This strength for me was perfect, and I love it! So once I had discovered how much I needed to suit my taste buds, I was a very happy camper, and will happily purchase the ginger beer flavour regularly.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 7th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I've always been a Ginger Beer lover and am always giving 'new' Ginger Beers that come on the market a go.

After fizzing some water I opened the Soda Stream Ginger Beer (Sugar Free) and had a peer in the bottle and was a bit put off by the murky, clay kinda coloured syrup but went ahead and added it to my soda water, well I was pleasantly surprised at the almost authentic cloudy appearance of my drink and the Ginger Beer smell.

After my sight and smell senses had been teased it was time for the taste test and I must say it passed especially with leaving that Ginger Beer tingle at the back of my throat, not an authentic taste but I couldn't really expect that been sugar free but definitely drinkable all the same.

If you are after authentic tastes then I'd bypass Soda Stream Ginger Beer (Sugar Free) but are after a refreshing change from the average Soda Stream flavour then give it a go and I'm sure your taste buds will be satisfied. I will be buying another bottle after this one runs out.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Ginger Beer has been in my life from a very young age, where I would join my mum and my grandparents in a card game or board game, and if I was very very lucky I would get a tiny amount in my cup all for myself. From drinking Ginger Beer to hearing the tales of my Grandpa over brewing Ginger Beer and ending up a bit drunk, this has been a firm favourite of mine.

When we first got our sodastream, Ginger Beer (with sugar) was my first pick. I love to drink it, but it really is a luxury as I drink far too much and it is so expensive. But, it took only a couple of cups to adjust to the new taste. To me, Ginger Beer Sugar Free tastes almost exactly like the other "with sugar" Ginger Beer.

I am more than happy to switch to the sugar free, knowing it will be better for me but that I still get the same great taste is a huge plus. Even better is that my 5 year old LOVES ginger beer now, and I'm happy to give him some more often as a treat thanks to the sugar free flavour.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Umm... How to write a constructive review of this flavour! Its not often that I taste something that I think is so bad I won't continue drinking/eating it but I am afraid that I disliked this flavour so much that I actually just tipped the remaining drink down the drain.

I added the syrup to the flavour as directed and it had a light colour as I would expect but the flavour was just not what I would have expected. Hubby tried it and thought that without knowing it was ginger beer he wouldn't have been able to pick the flavour. The flavour was definitely not one that either of us enjoyed. Neither of us finished our glass and we immediately made a different flavour.

I am not sure if it is because this is sugar free or that it is a "Soda Mix" that it just didn't taste good to me or if it is the flavour itself but I would definitely not buy this (there are so many other yummy flavours I would prefer).

If you like Ginger Beer don't discount trying this on my review but my personal preference would be to buy different flavours.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have recently just begun enjoying ginger beer and was looking forward to trying this. I found the lid quite hard to get off, and then to get back on especially in comparison to the Blackcurrant flavour I also reviewed. The graphics on the bottle are really catching and modern, the colours are eye catching, so 10/10 from me for the marketing on the bottle.

When I poured it out it appeared milky which I really disliked, it really put me off. It mixed in nicely though and to the eye resembled a standard colour of ginger beer although a bit lighter than some. I poured some into a glass of ice and sat outside to enjoy this. I also poured a smaller glass for my 4 year old as he is really enjoying the soda stream at the moment. It was pleasant and refreshing to drink, I found it was sharp and tangy without being overpowering. My son said it was too sour and he would have it later on *which he didn't, but I guess that was his nice way of saying he didn't like it!*

This makes the perfect Sunday BBQ drink for the sober driver and its very cost effective compared to purchasing a 4 pack of glass bottles which is how Ginger Beer is normally sold. It stacks up well compared to other brands I have tasted but I would also be interested to taste the non sugar free variety in comparison as I have found that there is a difference between the two varieties (sugar free and normal), although no pattern to which I prefer from soda stream.

This would be on my shopping list to replace when this bottle runs out if we were having guests over, or perhaps next summer when the weather warms up again!!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 1st of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I have always loved ginger beer and have fond memories of making it with my mum. As an adult and Sodastream owner I have found the regular ginger beer syrup tastes perfect and always try to have a bottle in the house although it can be hard to find in stores. I was excited to find there was now a sugar free variety available and curious to see how it compared to the regular one.

I was disappointed by the sugar free variety. When I first opened the bottle there was a very strong smell which reminded me of cough mixture. It was also very cloudy. Thankfully this smell faded somewhat when I made the added the syrup to chilled carbonated water. It was paler than I would expect a ginger beer to be but the real test was the taste. It didn't taste right to me. I would say it was a mix between ginger beer and root beer. It was still drinkable and since I have the bottle here I have made up and drank several more bottles over the last few weeks.

Inspired by the overpriced ginger beer ice blocks that you can buy I also made up some ice blocks. It had been recommended that to evenly distribute the flavour I should mix it with uncarbonated boiling water. I learnt the reason that the Sodastream bottles state not to fill with hot water. That bottle is no more. After leaving the ice blocks to freeze overnight I was keen to try them. My girls (4.5 and 3) had one of Mummy's beer ice blocks too. They loved them although I found they lacked flavour but were very refreshing.

My tongue says it doesn't taste as good as the regular stuff but my waistline says if I am going to indulge regularly it should be the sugar free variety.The regular is 42.9 kj/100mls compared to 3.2kj/100mls for the sugar free. Having recently discovered the sugar free summer lemon I think that will be my regular indulgence and the regular ginger beer as a treat.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 1st of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love ginger beer. When I was little we would make it in the garage. I remember many times going out to find that the bottles had exploded and our efforts were for naught. So when I found that Sodastream had a ready made ginger beer syrup, I was stoked. Now I could have the flavour of ginger beer without the danger of sticky exploding bottles all over my house.

I fizzed up some water and then poured the recommended amount of syrup into the bottle. The colour was a light tan, and very cloudy. This was perfect in my mind, as ginger beer is always a bit cloudy from sediment as part of the brewing process. It made it feel authentic.

I shared this with a group of people who came over to visit. Most of them gave it a try. Some of the comments were that it tasted like ginger beer. They thought it wasn't quite the same as traditional ginger beer but that it was in line with ginger beers you could buy on the market.

I was a bit unsure about the sugar-free status of this drink, but I felt it was good and we didn't taste the chemical aftertaste of the sweeteners. That's something I always worry about with sugar-free. I haven't seen the non-sugar-free syrup in the shops, but we have since bought another bottle of this syrup. So it was a winner with us.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7211: Lewis Road Creamery - Fresh Double Caramel Milk -  Brand : Lewis Road Creamery

Product image for Lewis Road Creamery - Fresh Double Caramel MilkFresh Double Caramel Milk

Take your taste buds back in time and enjoy the indulgent flavours of deep golden caramel and old-fashioned butterscotch. Fresh Double Caramel Milk has been created in collaboration with one of New Zealand's favourite foodies, Chelsea Winter. Together, Chelsea and Lewis Road founder Peter Cullinane, have developed a rich and creamy milk that delivers a double dose of nostalgia with every ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people."
W.C. Fields

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream