Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 25th February 2020 - 11:54:08

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Family > The Croods review

« Rusk Str8 Anti Frizz and Anti Curl Lotion reviewRusk Str8 Anti Frizz and Anti Curl LotionSodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free reviewSodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free »

Score: 9.5/10  [6 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 4029 - The Croods
Director: Kirk De Micco and Chris Sanders

The Croods
Price:
 
Available:
in cinemas from 28th March 2013

The Croods product reviews

The Croods is a prehistoric comedy adventure that follows the world's first family as they embark on a journey of a lifetime when the cave that has always shielded them from danger is destroyed.

Traveling across a spectacular landscape, the Croods discover an incredible new world filled with fantastic creatures -- and their outlook is changed forever.



Screenplay by : Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco
Story by: John Cleese, Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco



Tags:
catherine keener   caveman   cgi   chris sanders   cloris leachman   dinosaurs   emma stone   evolution   john cleese   kirk de micco   nicolas cage   ryan reynolds
Other listings you may be interested in:
Lilo & StitchLilo & Stitch
Rating: 9.1
Pirates of the Caribbean - The Lost DiscPirates of the Caribbean - The Lost Disc
Rating: 8.5
The Inbetweeners MovieThe Inbetweeners Movie
Rating: 8.7
Keeping MumKeeping Mum
Rating: 9.3
CandymanCandyman
Rating: 8.5
The Hangover Part 2The Hangover Part 2
Rating: 7.5
TitanicTitanic
Rating: 7.1
Petals in the WindPetals in the Wind
Rating: 7.3
Dracula UntoldDracula Untold
Rating: 7.3
300: Rise of an Empire300: Rise of an Empire
Rating: 6.8
TrollsTrolls
Rating: 9.5
The Darkest MindsThe Darkest Minds
Rating: 8.0
StuberStuber
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of antmcf

Review by: antmcf (Antoinette)
Dated: 9th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love love love this movie in our house, it's a firm favourite with us all (age range from 39 to 3). We have watched it a few times now and never grow bored of it!

It follows a 'cave man' type family as they are forced to leave their cave and learn to explore and experience the world around them. Leading to some funny moments for them all! It shows us that experiencing new things might be scary but not a bad thing and it's good for us all! Learning new things can be fun and exciting!

The storyline is enjoyable and easy to follow while the sense of humour is great. Some children's movies can be a touch to long to keep my youngest's attention but we found the length of this was just right in order to keep her watching right through! Since seeing this we have brought a own copy on DVD.

We would certainly recommend this for people of all ages as a fun way to spend family time on a wet afternoon... or any time you want to have a 'chill out' session! So grab some popcorn and your favourite drink and settle in for a fun couple of hours!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 20th of January, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had wanted to see this when it came out at the movies but a lack of money lead to us being unable to go, as it does, instead we borrowed this to watch on my birthday.

While I am not a particular fan of Nicholas Cage I was still looking forward to watching this since he wasn't the only main character and the movie had plenty else going for it, like Belt. My first thought was that I was so glad that none of the characters had a 'perfect' figure, especially Eep, I'm always so happy to see a character that doesn't have a perfect body, though a little more in proportion would have been good. I like that they all look different and not like clones.

The storyline is good, a family where all but one likes to hide is suddenly thrust into a world they don't know. There's still the problems between father and daughter to overcome whilst they try to survive and this felt very genuine which was nice. The kids, six, four and two, all really enjoyed it and the laughs didn't stop coming. They loved it so much that the next day they watched it three times and then once again today, I know they will be most upset when it has to be returned tomorrow, but I think we will end up owning it.

This is such a fun movie, it may start off slow but once it gets going it is lots of fun for all.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 15th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The problem with animation movies is you're always trying to guess who the voices are. Well in this movie you have nothing to worry about as Nicholas Cage has a very distinctive voice and so does Emma Stone. I originally had no intention of seeing this movie but when a special happened at our local theatre I took my young ones and husband to the 3D version. For the first 20 minutes or so I was thinking "why?" as I really was not enjoying it, that and the fact I had just spent $62 on the movie. But as soon as Guy appears the movie turns into something amazing.

This is one of those movies the whole family will love for various reasons. The characters are lovable and you find yourself constantly laughing at the little things. The creatures are just adorable and in the end you're wanting to adopt one of the pets Dun Dun Dun.

The story is about the last surviving caveman family adventure of a life time when an accident happens and they have to leave the safety of there cave. They stumble across Guy who the daughter Eep falls for. Grug (the father) is extremely protective and will do anything to keep his family alive. Hilarious and so truthful in the way relationships happen. You get so lost in the movie its great.

The whole family loved it and four year old kept asking when are we going to see it again. My baby just kept saying 'dun dun dun'. Highly recommend the movie. The animation was really well done and I loved when Eep got to wear her first pair of shoes. Actually the movie explains how a lot of items received there names. Fantastic movie to buy for a family Christmas present.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 27th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The Croods...from the moment my children saw it advertised on TV they have wanted to see it, being a family of 5 though heading out to the cinema is not something that happens often. The movie has got to be one that is worthwhile going to see. After reading the reviews on here, we decided today we would indeed brave the masses and take our kids to see it at the cinema, and as an added bonus we took them to see it in 3D..what a great decision that was.

Our children are aged 6, 11 and 12, and each of them thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The theatre was full of a vast range of ages from very young through to elderly, and it was evident from the laughter and chatting through-out the theatre that everyone was definitely enjoying the movie; from its simple but fantastic story line, bright colours, fantastic animations and absolutely perfect quotes throughout, even the weird and wonderful plants and creatures were just magnificent.

Dreamworks managed to portray prehistoric times as a convincingly wild, dangerous, and unstable place: Rocks fall, mountains tumble, and the earth even opens up and swallows the ground whole (which by the way looks utterly amazing in the 3D version). It even has the age-old boy saves girl (more than once) scenes, disagreements, laughs, loss and oh so much more but through out all this The Croods has a wonderful message of courage and determination and the final message that strong, loving family relationships, no matter what problems they face, can together achieve anything, was a wonderful way to end the movie.

We really loved this movie, and my daughter is so in love with the character Belt (especially as he says one of her favorite things to say: "Duh duh Daahhhhh"). The movie has some wonderful quotes to it, one of my favorite being: "do you want me to turn this family around? do you? coz I will turn this family around so fast!" while master 12's favorite quote is "Belt, emergency idea generator activate" and master 11, found the part with Douglas and the line "roll over Douglas" absolutely hilarious. To fully appreciate these awesome quotes...go see the movie..now!! LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 24th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After reading the review posted here from a fellow reviewer I wanted to take my kids to see it but I didn't know if at 3 and 4.5 they would be too young. It was obviously meant to be as I won a competition for The Croods which included tickets, four soft toys and a swim bag. My kids loved the soft toys and after searching on line we found their names and Miss 3 was excited to see them at the movies.

This was the first full length movie my youngest had been to and it held her attention the whole time. We had planned to go to the earlier session but it was sold out so after waiting around in the shopping mall for 90 minutes I thought she would be over tired but she loved it. I was surprised to see several teenagers and young adults in the theatre without kids. The majority of the theatre was full of primary school aged kids. This shows he wide range of ages the movie appeals to.

This is the most entertaining kids movie I have seen in years. The characters all had their special charms. I expected to be watching a movie about cave people but what I didn't expect was a father struggling with his teenage daughter growing up and losing control of his world. The animals different from any real animals most were a mixture like the mousephant. Belt was my favourite animal as he did so many cute things that made us laugh.

This is a movie I will be buying on DVD. My husband will enjoy it and I can see my girls wanting to see it over and over.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

"Release the baby!" A great battle-cry if ever I heard one! Nicolas Cage lends his voice to Grug, a Neanderthal with a mission: to protect his family in accordance with the Rules of the Cave. But when rebellious teen daughter Eep decides enough is enough, and catches sight of something amazing - fire - and something really stunning - a Homo Sapien called Guy - Grug's world is smashed to pieces, along with his beloved cave.

The Croods are suddenly exposed to a world beyond anything they have ever experienced, or could imagine, but if they plan to survive, they need to do a little evolving of their own. Under Guy's guidance, with a little help - and the odd musical interlude or two - from his sloth buddy "Belt", they journey to find "Tomorrow" - a place where there are too many suns in the sky to count. On the way they encounter a dazzling array of creatures and plants that all have one thing on their minds... Hominid Tartar.

With a definite "James Cameron's Avatar" vibe to it - in terms of flora and fauna - plus a hefty dose of the Ice Age franchise, and a subtle nod to "Quest for Fire" I suspect, and a story with definite John Cleese undertones flowing through it, this is a rollicking family treat. Fully expecting something very tame and lame, every member of my family exited the cinema keenly aware this movie was far better than our expectations, if a little less than it could have been.

The characters are a hoot... Grug - the father and protector whose love for his family is so solid he will do ANYTHING to keep them safe. Ugga - the mother who is always trying to find the middle ground between Grug and Eep, while keeping the rest of the clan at peace. Eep - rebel with a sense of curiosity that draws her inexorably away from the restrictive home life and out into a world of adventure. Gran - crazy old lady of the clan, whose biggest entertainment is the constant knowledge that just by being alive she is making Grug miserable. Thunk - dim-witted but utterly loyal son who still manages to come up with some amazingly logical thoughts, even if they are at the wrong time. Sandy - feral wild child, the baby of the family, and the secret weapon in the hunt for food. Guy - full of ideas, and even has ideas on the source of ideas. Has a plan, and is willing to expand it to include Grug's clan... but only because he's rather sweet on Eep. Belt - utter crack-up! He's no Sid the Sloth, but he's just awesome!

Overall, there is not a single character in this movie I didn't absolutely love for one reason or another. I was very pleased to discover that I was not alone in feeling this way, if the comments I overheard from the other moviegoers was anything to go by.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 4316: Miss Congeniality
Directed by Donald Petrie

Product image for Miss CongenialityAn FBI agent goes undercover as a beauty contestant to thwart the efforts of a terrorist threatening to blow up the Miss USA Pageant.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is a curious thing... that every creed promises a paradise which will be absolutely uninhabitable for anyone of civilized taste."
Evelyn Waugh (1903 - 1966)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream