Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 12th November 2019 - 22:01:41

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Kitchenware > Containers and Storage > Gladware Food Storer 280gram 5 pack review

« Chux Cleaning Cloth Magic Eraser reviewChux Cleaning Cloth Magic EraserSunsilk Co Creation Shampoo Straight Perfection reviewSunsilk Co Creation Shampoo Straight Perfection »

Score: 8.4/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4026 - Gladware Food Storer 280gram 5 pack
Brand / Manufacturer : Gladware

Gladware Food Storer 280gram 5 pack
Price:
$3.49
Available:
supermarkets nationwide

Gladware Food Storer 280gram 5 pack product reviews

Gladware containers are high quality, tight sealing, disposable plastic containers that are freezer, microwave and dishwasher safe. Gladware containers are stackable so take up minimal storage space and have hundreds of uses.



Tags:
dishwasher safe   food storage   gladware   microwave safe   stackable
Other listings you may be interested in:
One Touch Milk FrotherOne Touch Milk Frother
Rating: 9.1
Cibocal Cutting Edge Chopping BoardCibocal Cutting Edge Chopping Board
Rating: 9.7
LollitupsLollitups
Rating: 10.0
Tuppercare snack cupsTuppercare snack cups
Rating: 9.4
Nescafe Dolce Gusto - Jovia by DelonghiNescafe Dolce Gusto - Jovia by Delonghi
Rating: 8.0
SpinSmart 49-piece Storage SystemSpinSmart 49-piece Storage System
Rating: 7.0
Flat Vacuum CoversFlat Vacuum Covers
Rating: 9.5
The Grate PlateThe Grate Plate
Rating: 9.8
ChangeLoc Vacuum Bags - Starter PackChangeLoc Vacuum Bags - Starter Pack
Rating: 9.8
Season serveSeason serve
Rating: 9.5
Nescafe Dolce Gusto - Melody by DelonghiNescafe Dolce Gusto - Melody by Delonghi
Rating: 9.5
Cibocal Food ScoopCibocal Food Scoop
Rating: 9.3
Heat and Eat large rectangle setHeat and Eat large rectangle set
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Durability:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These containers are fantastic and are such a great price! We usually have a packet or two of these tucked away in our kitchen cupboard for those times when you need a container!

They are great for storing prepared meals in for the freezer and are the perfect size for Toddler sized meals, I have used them to store a variety of different meals for my 2 year old such as spaghetti bolognaise, macaroni cheese, lasagna, sausages and rice, you name it we've probably done it, having meals such as these stocked up in my freezer is an absolute god send when you finish work at 5.30 pm with a tired grumpy 2 year old in your back seat who is hungry, as it means you can quickly defrost and heat in the microwave, and at least that way I knew she was still getting a healthy meal, which beats going through a drive-thru for takeaways!

More recently I have found this size of the Gladware containers really handy for preparing fruits and vegetables for smoothies and popping them in the freezer in these containers, which makes it easy to quickly pull out a container of already prepared smoothie ingredients which you can pour straight into the blender without having to spend time cutting and chopping foods when your in a hurry. Though these containers are great for storing foods in the freezer due to there awesome stacking capability which helps clear a lot of space in your freezer, they also work just as well in the pantry for storing dried foods such as raisins and nuts, and I also love being able to send them to work/kindy with different food items in each one, whats best is that they are reusable so much better to use them than actual glad wrap!

As an Early Childhood teacher I have also found these come in really handy for storing all sorts of different art and craft supplies such as pompoms, googly eyes and collage materials which if get out from where they should be can create a HUGE mess! These containers work well for storing such things and the lids go on and off with ease so it's a safe container to use as no force is needed, even the older 3 and 4 year olds can use these easily and with a laminated picture of which each contains on the lids they do a great job at putting the pieces back in the right place!

The price of these containers is really good, and best of all it means if you loose of ruin one you haven't thrown away a heap of money. This is one product that I see myself continuing to buy for some time to come!

Click here to read the profile of vixta_yt

Review by: vixta_yt (Vicki)
Dated: 14th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Durability:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I buy a pack of these every fortnight. I make bulk meals, baking and smoothies and freeze them into individual portions in these containers in the freezer. Makes life easy before or after a busy day at university to have lunch/dinner in these containers in the freezer, just defrost or heat and eat. The price is so good that once they get stained from soup or squashed (they do squash quite easily) they are affordable to throw away and use a new one.

I love being able to throw them in the dishwasher and stack them in the cupboard. I also use them for storing bits and bobs in the cupboards and in my sons room. We store things like marbles, left over bubble mix, safety pins and heaps more. they stack so nicely and are clear on the bottom half to see what is inside. I prefer these over other containers I have tried because the lids come on and off easily without cracking, and they seal pretty much water tight

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 12th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10
Durability:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

These containers are a great product to have handy in your pantry at all times and definately help form my stash of containers. Straight away I will state that they are not my favourite brand due to the fact they don't seem as durable and I have noticed that they stain really easily which is something I am fussy about.

The points I find great are the size of them - they are the perfect size for things such as storing half an onion or for smaller amounts in the childrens lunchboxes, its also great that they are able to be stacked with other containers in the same range/brand. The clear bottom part of the container means that you can easily see exactly what is stored in them. I don't 100% trust these to be leakproof when it comes to food (especially things like tinned peaches) but as long as you are storing/caring/transporting upright then not a problem.

One great thing is the cheap price of these means that you can justify throwing them out once stained etc a lot better than other more sturdy containers that cost a bomb. I do find these containers great for uses not to do with food - we have a stash of them with our fishing gear thats got our tackle etc in it, also one with sunblock etc in it and just for bits n pieces containers/storage around the house, in draws or cupboards.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 7th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Durability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love these containers...they are the perfect size for storing half an onion, and with the tight sealing capabilities the container keeps the onion from stinking out the rest of fridge!! The clear bottom part of the container lets me see exactly what I have stored in there too.

I like the way the containers stack on top of one another as well...perfect for stacking in the fridge without having to worry about them tumbling over and messing up the fridge. I like using them for snacks to take to work with me...perfect size to pour in jelly and fruit, raisins, grapes, carrot sticks etc and by having them stacked and ready to go all I have to do is open the fridge quickly grab the containers and fly out the door.

I can rest assured the contents in the containers are as fresh as the minute I put them in there. Plus if I happen to leave one at work and it gets thrown out it's no big deal because with a pack of 5 for a very reasonable price I can afford to lose one every now and again. At the end of the day I am super happy too that the containers are dishwasher safe and ready to use again for the following day.

The containers are great for storing that little bit of left over vegetable/chicken/beef stock and can be put straight into the freezer without having to give it a second thought about the stock spilling or leaking and when the stock is needed it can be pulled out and the contents used, and the container is into the dishwasher to be used again...great!

I don't only use the containers to store food they are the perfect size to hold a cake of soap...when out fishing and having to suffer with the yucky fish smell on your hands the cake on the container comes in very handy!! They are also great for keeping the hooks and sinkers in too....multI uses these containers!!

In all the years I have used these containers I am very surprised that the lids haven't cracked or split because they don't seem very durable but they have stood up to the test of time with me, and I have used them a lot. Great value and a great product....I highly recommend!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 6th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Durability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have used Gladware since it first came out mainly for storing prepared meals in the freezer. I was introduced to the 280gram containers when I received a free one in a parenting pack. Obvious they were target at new parents for baby food. When my daughter was starting on solids I made a lot of my own baby food for the sake of my wallet and so I knew exactly what was in it.

I found these containers far too big when she first started eating but were ideal when I needed a cube of 2 or three different foods to take out for meals. These were the perfect size at about nine months old and after that were suppliemented with more finger food. The container can be used for defrosting or reheating in the microwave and sealed very well so there was no problem with leaking.

Now my girls are older the containers are in their lunchboxes for yogurt, fruit salad, jelly, dry cereal or dried fruit. Since I have so many left over from their baby days I can prepare a weeks worth of snacks once a week so organising the lunchboxes each night is a breeze. It has also been suggested to me that I could make fruit and jelly and freeze it, which I will try next time I have freezer space.

These are also a great size for storing drawing pins, paper clips, birthday candles, and other tiny things. I have found these containers do split particularly the lids but at 70c each they are great value for money and I don't mind buying a new pack every few months.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 1st of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Durability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been making baby food and storing it in the freezer for a while now and these containers are the perfect size for toddler sized portions and are cheap enough that you can buy a few for storing a few different portions in the freezer.

I have 10 of these which I use for storing baby food in and they are great because they all stack neatly on top of one another in the freezer so are really convenient. They are also good for when we are going out and I can put a few snacks in a container and they are airtight and don't leak in my bag. They are a great size for putting salad's in for my daughter to take for her school lunch too.

I like that they are microwave safe as I can pull a meal out of the freezer and then just heat it in the microwave in the same container. The one thing you have to remember is to open the corner of the container to vent while in the microwave as they are soft plastic and the shape deforms if you forget to do this. Also don't drop them with frozen stuff inside as again they are soft plastic and the lids are quite flimsy so they crack.

They are such a great price for the purpose I use them for so I don't mind if I break a couple or leave one behind when we go out as it is cheap enough to replace them.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Kitchenware'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 3752: The Scraper Mixer - BEM410 -  Brand: Breville

Product image for The Scraper Mixer - BEM410With planetary mixing technology - Scrapes the Bowl So You Don't Have To

There are many tricks to baking scrumptious cakes, biscuits, breads and pastries, but one of the most important is thorough mixing. Under-mix and your cake is lumpy. Over-mix and your cake won't rise properly. The innovative Scraper Beater wipes the sides and bottom of the bowl with every turn, cutting mixing time by up to 60%. Not only does it mix ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn't."
Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream