Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 20th July 2018 - 07:22:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Uncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets review

« Sultana Bran Buds reviewSultana Bran BudsMr Brown can Moo Can You? reviewMr Brown can Moo Can You? »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.5/10  [10 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 3980 - Uncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets
Produced by Uncle Toby's

Uncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets
Price:
$5.99 per box of 12 sachets
Available:
supermarkets nationwide

Uncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets product reviews

UNCLE TOBYS Oats Quick Sachets are a convenient and tasty oats option for busy families. Easy to prepare, just add milk (or water) and stir to mix. Microwave on high for 90 seconds, stir and allow to cool slightly before serving.

    •  Key Nutritional Benefits
    •  Made from wholegrain oats
    •  No artificial colours
    •  No artificial flavours

Did you know?:
    •  UNCLE TOBYS Quick Oats Sachets are ready in just 90 seconds.
    •  In convenient, single-serve sachets they are perfect for busy families.
    •  They come in nine delicious flavours the whole family will enjoy.



Tags:
breakfast   cereal   oats   sachets   uncle tobys   wholegrain
Other listings you may be interested in:
Creme Brulee PufflesCreme Brulee Puffles
Rating: 7.5
Popped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel CrunchyPopped Gourmet Popcorn - Caramel Crunchy
Rating: 9.4
John's Steak & Cheese pieJohn's Steak & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.0
Simla Indian CafeSimla Indian CafeFast Food HouseFast Food House
Rating: 4.6
Watties Big N Hearty Microwave BowlWatties Big N Hearty Microwave Bowl
Rating: 8.3
Sundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon PocketSundried Tomato Tapenade Salmon Pocket
Rating: 9.5
Garlic and Toasted Sesame Snax CrackersGarlic and Toasted Sesame Snax Crackers
Rating: 9.1
Taste of India Jalfrezi Simmer SauceTaste of India Jalfrezi Simmer Sauce
Rating: 7.3
Choc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
Sunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese PieSunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese Pie
Rating: 9.4
BurgerFuelBurgerFuel
Rating: 8.3
Pasta mia Gluten-free Fresh FettuccinePasta mia Gluten-free Fresh Fettuccine
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 11th of July, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Quick, tasty and nutritious. Uncle Tobys quick oat sachets are perfect for the busy family needing a quick breakfast. Being a busy working mum I'm in need of fast and tasty breakfasts for the kids to eat before they venture out for the day. And being nutritious I know they have at least eaten something good for them that day.

I love how Uncle Tobys single oat sachets come in a number of flavours including a variety pack to ensure everyone has their favourite flavour available. Although my favourite is the standard plain oats on a cool morning the variety pack eliminates the arguements over getting the wrong flavour. I also like how the sachet can be put in my bag for a healthy breakfast at work.


The sachets are perfect serving size which meets the needs of myself and the ever hungry kids. The fact that they can be made with water and still taste great is an important factor we consider due to lactose intollerance. The ability to have breakfast ready in under two minutes ensures that a nutritious breakfast can be had by all before rushing out the door. The only down side would be that the box contains 12 sachets which is not quiet enough for a week in our family but the positive of that is I need two boxes so can get the flavour I prefer and don't need to share.

I would recommend Uncle Tobys single oat sachets for busy people for a healthy, tasty and quick breakfast.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 9th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Trying to get breakfast into my 3 year can be quite hard work, if it was up to her she would eat biscuits, crackers and bars all day everyday, breakfast included. Only recently have I actually got her to eat anything more than a spoonful of yoghurt or a bite of toast. A few weeks back when the colder weather kicked in I wanted something that was nice and warm for her to eat in the mornings firstly to warm her up and secondly for a filling breakfast to keep her going until morning tea time, well it turns out that she just loves the sachets of Uncle Toby's Quick Oats.

Uncle Toby's Quick Oats are so convenient and easy to compare, I love that they come in individual search pouches as it means there is no second guessing how much oats to pour into a bowl, and it makes it doubly great that if we are running late to daycare I can quickly just grab a pouch pop it into my bag and make Miss 3 her breakfast when we arrive, saves all the hassle of finding a container, pouring in the cereal etc, all things which are not ideal to be doing when time is an issue.

The oats are so quick to prepare, you simply pour the sachet into a bowl and then add water or milk to the empty packet (up to the line shown), pour it into the bowl, mix the 2 together and then microwave for 90 seconds. The oats do come out super hot but adding a bit of extra milk I find does help cool them down. Miss 2 and I divide the oats between 2 bowls to feed the 2 of us and then add various different things such as brown sugar, yoghurt and sliced or canned fruit just to add a bit more flavour, although they do have plenty of flavour eaten as is

It's great that these are made from wholegrains and that they contain no artificial flavours or colours, and I also love that there are so many flavour varieties available, I really like the apple and cinnamon, while Miss 3 likes the berry variety, though all are tasty. These are going to be a staple in our house over Winter I am sure.

Click here to read the profile of gterore

Review by: gterore (Glenice)
Dated: 19th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

So once upon a time I had a toddler who used to love her porridge every morning, would love to try and feed it to herself and get it every where in the process. As her stay at home mum (with no other children I might add) I took great pleasure in cooking her porridge and taking my time to clean her up afterwards (and the table, the chair and the floor).

Time has moved on and that toddler is now 14 years old with two younger siblings and this mum now works. Miss 14 still loves her porridge but breakfast is now not as important to her as straightening her hair and sniff-testing her PE gear. The great thing about this product is that not only can she do it herself without dirtying a pot but it can be done last minute as she waits for the bus. Sometimes she even makes it just by boiling the jug and not even microwaving it, of course it doesn't taste as good made like this but it is just as filling and nutritious.

In my opinion the flavours with the dried fruit and seeds etc taste way better than my porridge made from scratch anyway. In terms of visual appeal it isn't a pretty product but does anyone care? Its porridge.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 26th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I remember when I was younger staying at my nanas house and every morning she would make me porridge, heaped with brown sugar and a Milo. When I asked mum to buy porridge she did and I had no idea how to make it - she made a couple of times but didn't taste anywhere as good as my nanas.

I still to this day love my porridge. But I do not have the time to stand over an oven top to make it. Instead I buy these little sachets and in little over 90 seconds have a plate of yummy porridge waiting for me to eat. So easy empty the sachet into a bowl, add half a cup of milk and stir. Place in microwave for 60 seconds stir again and then reheat for a further 30 seconds. Let stand for a couple of minutes and then eat.

The instructions do say to microwave for 90 seconds but when I do that find that it does not cook all of it or add to the milk even though I have previously stirred. It is a perfect consistency and tastes divine. Depending on the flavour I do add more brown sugar and sometimes raisins.

It comes in various flavours, although I have to admit not a huge fan of Creamy Honey or Golden Syrup, much prefer Brown Sugar with Cinnamon. The whole family love them and they are so easy to make. Leaves you feeling content right through to lunch time.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 12th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum I am totally addicted to Uncle Toby's Oats Honey flavour! I'm not quite sure if its because I'm pregnant or just the cold weather but either way they are simply perfect, a great taste with the bonus of quick n easy - I couldn't ask for more! 90seconds is all it takes to make a bowl of porridge and its so easy even the kids could do it themselves. Not only a perfect breakfast solution but also a quick n easy snack.

I think its great that this product is available in so many different flavour options and I'm sure there must be something to suit everyone out there. When I first tried this product I loved the fact there was variety packs available meaning that I could try several different flavours in one purchase, I'm sure this must be great for families where more than one person is eating the porridge too.

I love the fact that these come in individual sachets as it makes it all that more easier (as everything is all measured out) and I can easily keep a sachet in my lunchbox or the pantry at work. Another great factor is once you have ripped the top off the sachet and tipped your porridge into your bowl the sachet acts as its own measuring jug with a line on it where you pour the milk or water too - great idea which means less dishes!

Definately a product I will be continuing to buy and will recommend to others!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 2nd of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Uncle Toby's Quick Oats Sachets are brilliant for a couple of reasons. They come in a variety of flavours, so there is always a flavour to suit the consumer. If you can't make up your mind, then they even have a variety pack. The box is a good size and shape, so it fits well on the shelf. And inside the box, the little baggies of porridge mix, are in waxed paper.

So the waxed paper is my favourite feature of the packaging, because they are so easy to rip open. But this also has the added bonus of portion control. Far be it for me to say that a company should have say over your serving size, but the fact is if I was pouring it myself I would serve myself more. I would rather buy these serving size pouches and know I'm not over-eating for breakfast.

The flavours themselves are really good combos. I'm not a huge fan of apple, but I could appreciate that the apple is paired with cinnamon. This flavour tasted exactly as expected. The apple had that slight chewiness, but otherwise was like diced steamed apple and the cinnamon flavour was nicely there. While it wasn't my favourite flavour, it was acceptable to my taste buds.

The berry ones were my favourite by far. But then I am a berry fiend. I served these sachets with a little Greek yoghurt on top. It helped to cool them ready to eat. These are great in winter, but I eat porridge year-round as well. Plus I will also use these in cooking and baking. They make a great addition to my fruit crumble desserts.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

We love Uncle Tobys Quick Oat Sachets, especially on a chilly southland morning. My kids love that they can have porridge for breakfast on a school day even if they are running late, as 90 seconds is all it takes to prepare.

We get the variety pack, which is perfect for families where everyone has a preferred or favourite flavour. And the pricing is not as over-whelming as so many of the sugar laden products filling our shelves these days. In fact a box of Uncle Tobys oats sachets is cheaper than a large box of cocoa pops or similar style cereals, and yet Uncle Tobys lasts longer (goes further for the money), and is much better for you. I am glad my children would prefer I buy these instead of the other horrid cereals.

The convenience is fantastic, the ease of making even better. Even children can do this: Tear open the packet, pour into a bowl, add some milk (or water), stir, pop in microwave for a wee minute, remove stir, return to microwave and when the ding sounds...serve! (be careful of heated plates, best get an adult to remove from microwave if you are concerned). Even though these are very easy to make, I must admit my hubby has yet to get it correct. I do not know what he does wrong, and even though he uses a measuring cup and measures perfectly....his oats are always a watery mess lol so there is room to fail (keep that in mind)

These come in a variety of great flavours too, but even so my kids still like to add a sprinkling of brown sugar or a twirl of golden syrup Smile Icon Yep we really do love Uncle Tobys in my house Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 17th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Quick, convenient and tasty...what more can you ask for??!! Uncle Toby's Oats are so super easy to use that young children are able to make a bowl of porridge in 90 seconds all by their own. Whether it be eaten for breakfast or a quick and easy snack throughout the day you can rest assured that one bowl will keep you full for hours to come.

My favourite flavour has to be the apple and cinnamon....my oh gosh delish!! The aroma of the cinnamon is out if this world, and the taste is even better than the smell and nothing else is needed in the bowl, so added sugar or milk even as the porridge is just so rich and creamy and that is with me using water instead of milk!! So it just seems to get better as it can be such a healthy option for breakfast or snack.

The individual sachets allow me to throw one in my lunchbox and have as a quick and easy lunch or breakfast once I am at work. The individual sachet is a great portion control option as well so all the guessing goes out the window and I can rest assured I am not over eating and filling up on carbs.... so this is a great weight loss option breakfast or snack.

The variety box is a great pack to have in the cupboard because there is a flavour to suit everyone! I mean come on with the option of nine different flavours that must keep everyone happy!! Of course though all nine flavours aren't in the one pack but that just means you have to buy more porridge and that isn't a bad thing!

I love using the sachets when baking cookies too...with half a cup of oats in each pack I don't even have to measure it out I tear open the pack and pour the oats right into the cookie dough and yup you guessed it using the apple and cinnamon in anzac bikkies are just heaven!! Made from wholegrain oats, with no artificial colours and no artificial flavours these oats are just amazing!

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 1st of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I love porridge, but sadly my kids cant eat oats so buying oats in the big bags to make my porridge is too risky for them incase it tips over etc. Having one box with 12 single sachets work so much better and keeps the oats in my bowl and no way of them flying all over the place which makes it safe around my kids.

These single sachets are so yummy, and so easy to make which makes it worth the while to buy them, just open the packet tip into bowl, use the packet to add milk or water up to the line on the back saying "pour milk to here" then tip that into your bowl...how easy is that, use the spoon your going to eat with to stir it, put spoon on the packet until the 90 seconds is up to re-stir and add whatever else you want to it. Now anyone i know loves the less dishes thing and doing your porridge this way really does down size the dishes, you have your bowl and spoon and that's it...as the packet acts as your measuring cup for milk or water.

This porridge is full of flavour but you can still add fresh fruit to it if you like, brown sugar and milk. So quick and easy just before you run out the door to head to uni, school, work, dropping kids off or your just late for a meeting. Being so easy you could make it at work etc without making a big mess too, work mates will love that. I would be lost without my porridge on cold mornings and I love oats and their awesome single packets and quick, easy and less mess methods.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 18th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

As far as porridge goes this is the most expensive way to enjoy warm porridge for breakfast but I buy them as I find them so convenient and perfect for the busy mornings we have in our house. When I was working I often ran out of time and was able to just throw a sachet in my bag and eat it during my morning tea break.

The other bonus is they are quick cooking it only takes 90 seconds in the microwave so they are ready quickly when you are in a rush. The handy thing about the sachets is they have a marker on the side so you can use it as a measuring cup for the milk by just filling up to the line on the packet which makes things so much easier.

I buy the variety packets as there is usually a flavour that everyone likes. The fruit ones are my sons favourite he likes the apple and cinnamon. I love the smell of this one it reminds me of apple pie and it has a nice taste although I prefer plain old porridge with just a small sprinkling of brown sugar. The sachets are perfect size for me and Cai, although my partner could probably eat two of them.

I feel confident when Cai has one of these for breakfast that he will have a full tummy for most of the morning, because I know when I have one I get that feeling of fullness you get from high fibre oats.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 4245: Writing Fudge
Brand / Manufactured by: Queen Fine Foods

Product image for Writing FudgeRich Chocolate and White Chocolate Fudge writing icing ideal for decorating cakes and cupcakes.

INGREDIENTS
Water, Sugar, Glucose, Fructose, Modified Tapioca Starch, Colours: Titanium Dioxide (171), Curcumin (100); Flavourings, Thickener: Carrageenan; Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Preservative: Potassium Sorbate; Natural Vanilla (0.1%).

ALLERGENS
No listed allergens
Gluten free

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A torn jacket is soon mended; but hard words bruise the heart of a child."
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 - 1882)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream