Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 03:29:59

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Sultana Bran Buds review

« Fireman Sam Mountain Rescue reviewFireman Sam Mountain RescueUncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets reviewUncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets »

Score: 8.0/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3979 - Sultana Bran Buds
Produced by Kellogs

Sultana Bran Buds
Price:
$5.89 per 340g box
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

Sultana Bran Buds product reviews

Breakfast is no longer a struggle with Kellogg's Sultana Bran Buds cereal.

It is Very High In Fibre and tastes GREAT!

In fact one 45g serve contains 20% of the recommended daily intake of fibre, making it a great breakfast choice because fibre can help keep you full between meals.

With Buds light crispy shell and a fine layer of tasty sultana, your kids won't want to wait until breakfast for their next bowl!

Sultana Bran Buds cereal is also great for snacking, making it an excellent choice for school lunch boxes.



Tags:
breakfast   cereal   kellogs   sultana   bran
Other listings you may be interested in:
NZ Blueberries with CranberriesNZ Blueberries with Cranberries
Rating: 9.7
Fabulous Feijoa Yoghurt TubFabulous Feijoa Yoghurt Tub
Rating: 9.3
Little Quacker Baby Biscuits StrawberryLittle Quacker Baby Biscuits Strawberry
Rating: 8.3
Chocolates Are Us - Ginger BrittleChocolates Are Us - Ginger Brittle
Rating: 9.4
Ready-to-Eat Vermicelli - SeafoodReady-to-Eat Vermicelli - Seafood
Rating: 8.4
Station Grill Rubs - Smokey Honey ChipotleStation Grill Rubs - Smokey Honey Chipotle
Rating: 9.0
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - PinkDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Pink
Rating: 9.4
Mini Gingerbread Men Mini Gingerbread Men 
Rating: 8.5
Costa's Costa's 
Rating: 6.8
BAKED Pizza - Make and BakeBAKED Pizza - Make and Bake
Rating: 9.8
Farmland Thin-Sliced SalamiFarmland Thin-Sliced Salami
Rating: 8.3
The People's Pasta - Pork & Fennel MeatballsThe People's Pasta - Pork & Fennel MeatballsFluffFluff
Rating: 9.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 29th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

It is when my kids are with me doing the weekly grocery shop that I realise just how much TV they do watch :( I am not a TV person. I find the TV obnoxious and annoying lol and because of this I probably spend a lot of time living in the dark ages, none the wiser to what new things are available, or what the latest craze is. This TV aversion is the reason I had no idea what miss 7 and master 12 were asking for, when they tried to explain this cereal to me one shopping trip. I say explain because they could not recall the actual name lol

Not having a clue in the world what cereal they were talking about, we made our way to the cereal aisle. I stood back and watched while they hunted out the illusive cereal. Five minutes later (man there are a lot if cereals on the market lol) they successfully located what they were searching for. I took one look and immediately said no. Not because of the price tag or high sugar content. But because of the name 'Sultana Bran'. My kids are super picky, there was no way they were going to like a cereal with sultanas.

After many pleas and comments of 'but we love it', 'its our favourite' (not sure how they figure that when they had never had it before lol), and explaining to my daughter that she would only be allowed a small bowl as a treat, I caved and we got the cereal :/ So turns out they do love it, it is one of their favs lol and even fussy master 14 doesnt mind it ← that is saying something! It is not a regularly purchased cereal in our house, but it is an occassional treat cereal now and then.

Click here to read the profile of juliettenz

Review by: juliettenz (Julie)
Dated: 20th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

I enjoy a nice bowl of cereal in the mornings as long as it's tasty, filling and most importantly healthy for my family. While I enjoyed the taste of this cereal I found the buds were a rather strange texture in my mouth, and upon looking at the sugar content it is what I would consider reasonably high at 11.3g per 45g serving (as an example mini wheat's mixed berry is only 4.4g of sugar for a 40g serving).

The upside is that it is an attractive option to children both as a breakfast with milk, or as a snack in their lunchboxes or while out and about. There is also the fact that these are a great source of calcium, fibre, iron and other essential vitamins and minerals plus it has received the heart foundation tick and contains no artificial colour's or preservatives.

I do feel that for these more special types of cereal you do end up paying more overall for a smaller box, and as such I don't think it would be on my weekly shopping list but rather be purchased when on special only.

To conclude not a bad option but perhaps one to limit rather than appear on a daily menu.

Click here to read the profile of manthamoo

Review by: manthamoo (Natasha)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 5 out of 10

Our household are big Sultana Bran Fans, I love nothing more in the mornings than I big bowl of Sultana Bran with ice cold milk. So when I saw Sultana Bran Buds out shopping one day, straight away I thought the kids will love these. Just the name Buds make you think of cute little cereal characters and something exciting to eat.

But how wrong was I, I found this to be unappealing, taste-less little squares of disappointment. I was expecting to bite into a little package to find that yummy sultana taste inside, but there was nothing but a barely there smudge of paste. Truthfully I felt like I was eating squares of cardboard. Not wanting to believe my disappointment I was certain my children would love them, especially my son, but the reaction was the same, and we all know when kids don't like something they don't like it! I tried to get him to eat them like a snack with no milk instead but the same response was no.

The packaging looks good and inviting and price wise average, for all cereals. I tend to buy my cereals on specials and multi offers. But taste wise it just wasn't there. In the end disappointing but at least the sparrows outside got a good feed on a winters day.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 1st of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Sultana Bran Buds are a great product. Not only is it a cereal but it is incredibly versatile in the way it can be eaten. For me, I would have this in a bowl with cold or warm milk. I would let the buds go a little soggy and enjoy a bowlful for my breakfast. I found these to be really filling and a good breakfast to get me through to lunchtime.

For my baby, since we are doing Baby-Led-Weaning, I found these to be an ideal finger-food. She would have approximately 10, with or without a little breast-milk to soften them. She could easily pick the cereal pillows up, and it helped her perfect her pincer grip. Not only could she eat them, but she seemed to really enjoy them. She would often make her "more" sound once they were all gone and they didn't last long at all.

For my eldest daughter, she really enjoyed eating these dry. She would request a baggie of these in her lunchbox in place of her usual chips. I found that to be an easy choice for us, because cereal is going to be a bit more healthy than chips. She enjoyed making the choice to have fruity cereal pillows as well. So for us, this was an ideal box of cereal with multiple uses.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Sultana Buds are a huge hit with the members of the family and we always have them on the shopping list. My three year old has it for for breakfast with milk most days. They don't go soggy like most cereals and I can hear the crunch as she chews them. The natural sweetness of the sultanas means that nothing else needs to be added to them.

My husband will have the original Sultana Bran for breakfast for most mornings to keep him regular and fill him up for the day working on the farm. Although the Sultana Bran is much more economical he likes the buds for a change and the idea that he will get sultanas in every bite.

Both my girls love to have a handful of buds in their lunch box. It is nutritious snack and because of the small amount they need for this the box goes a long way. It probably works out the same price as the little boxes of raisins. There are never any left in the the lunch box at the end of the day. I often see them eat these first before any of the other items I've packed.

As a Mum I am pleased to see the Heart Foundation tick on the box. I often keep a small container of them in my handbag for a healthy instant snack for the kids. Sultana buds are a great way to get fibre and other nutrients into your child without the added colours and sugars that many of the children's cereals and snack foods contain.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 18th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Since my son started eating breakfast cereal our main choice has been sultana bran as it is a healthy choice and still tastes nice and as a bonus it keeps him regular when he is having trouble. He loves the original Sultana Bran but has just got to the age where he wants to feed himself and was finding it difficult to manage with a spoon.

I decided to give these buds a go as I thought they would be easier for him to pick up and eat which they are. He does use his fingers at the moment and try with the spoon but the fingers always win because it is the quicker option. They are good because they hold their shape so he can pick them up with his fingers and pop them in his mouth.

They have the bran outing with a sultana puree type inside so they still have the nice taste. I do personally prefer having actual sultana's but Cai doesn't seem to mind having it this way. I think these are great for kids and I think it is good to have something that is aimed at children that isn't chocolate flavoured or coated in sugar.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 6935: Loaf Mini-Bites - Gooey Caramel Bites -  Brand / Manufactured by: Loaf

Product image for Loaf Mini-Bites - Gooey Caramel BitesChocolate biscuit base, gooey caramel filling, topped with solid chocolate.

Share them around, or keep them for your own stash.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream