Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd September 2019 - 12:42:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original review

« Donovans Feijoa Milk Chocolate reviewDonovans Feijoa Milk ChocolateDannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Garlic reviewDannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Garlic »

Score: 9.4/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3962 - Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original
Brand / Source : Danny's - The Real Pita Bread Co

Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original
Price:
$3.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Dannys Pita Breads

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOriginal is the original.

Pita Bread packed in our fully sealed packaging has a longer life than normal bread. It's packed in a protective atmosphere to maintain freshness and will keep well for at least the best before date stated on the pack as long as the packaging is not damaged. Once open, use within 2 days or freeze.

At Danny's we use a centuries-old recipe to make our pita breads. We pride ourselves on using only the finest, 100% natural ingredient - no preservatives, no additives.

Ingredients:
    •  Wheaten Flour
    •  Water
    •  Yeast
    •  Salt
    •  Sugar

Allergens:
Contains gluten. This product is made in the same bakery that makes other products and so may contain traces of poppy and sesame seeds.

Check out Dannys Pita Breads onlineClick here to see all the listings for Dannys Pita Breads Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
ge free   nzmade   pita
Other listings you may be interested in:
IAM Super Food - Souper: Chicken and SupergrainsIAM Super Food - Souper: Chicken and Supergrains
Rating: 8.2
ETA Salad Dressing Caramelised OnionETA Salad Dressing Caramelised Onion
Rating: 10.0
Farmland Fine-Sliced Smoked BeefFarmland Fine-Sliced Smoked Beef
Rating: 9.2
Coconut Chips - Smokin BBQCoconut Chips - Smokin BBQ
Rating: 7.9
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.6
Swiss Deli Spanish ChoritzoSwiss Deli Spanish Choritzo
Rating: 9.3
The People's Pasta - Pork & Fennel MeatballsThe People's Pasta - Pork & Fennel Meatballs
Rating: 9.5
Sids Raspberry VinegarSids Raspberry Vinegar
Rating: 9.5
Little Kids Cheesy RaviolliLittle Kids Cheesy Raviolli
Rating: 8.1
Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad DayTasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Rating: 7.7
RJ's Sour Twisters - SodaRJ's Sour Twisters - Soda
Rating: 8.6
Uncle Toby's Oats Quick SachetsUncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets
Rating: 9.5
Pretzel Crisps - Garlic ParmesanPretzel Crisps - Garlic Parmesan
Rating: 9.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 16th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love pitas and Dannys Real Pita bread has to be the best pitas that I have tried, and the fact that they stay fresh for even longer than all the others is a real added bonus for me as I do sometimes go out and buy 'special bread' products such as pitas only to find that they have gone off in a couple of days before I have got the chance to use them, always such a waste! Luckily for me the Dannys Real Pitas come in a convenient fully sealed package which last longer than normal bread seems to, what else I like about these pitas is that they freeze great meaning you don't have to worry about not using them all up in time.

There are so many great uses for these pitas, though my ultimate favourite way to use them is to recreate my favourite takeout Pita Pit - this is definitely a much cheaper option that's for sure. I start by spreading some yummy avocado spread over one side of an opened pita and then fill it up with shredded lettuce, tomato, cucumber, beetroot, corn, carrot, roasted chicken breast and yummy bacon, and of course you can't forget the aioli, mayonaise and bbq sauce. I wrap it back up by closing the lid over the filling and then place it into my George Foreman grill for about 1 minute just to heat it through and crisp the pita ever so slightly. These pitas also make fantastic pizza bases topped with all of your favourite toppings and grilled under the over for about 10 minutes, it doesn't take long as the pitas are obviously already cooked they also make yummy pita chips to serve with dips just by simply cutting them into triangles (I usually get about 12 per pita) and spreading them with butter (garlic butter is super yummy) or your favourite seasoning for that little bit of extra flavour, just pop them on a oven tray and you have fresh tasty pita chips in no time, my 2 year old loves them!

The pitas are preservative and additive free, with no unknown ingredients which means they've got to be good for you. The texture is also nice and light and so easy to open up if need be. 6 pitas for the awesome price of $3.50 is such a great buy I will definitely be buying more of these!

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 23rd of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Pita bread and have but hate how quickly it goes off once you buy it. I do freeze unused pieces but they are not quite the same. So when I had the chance to sample the Dannys Long Life Pita Bread I was delighted.

Dannys has always been a favourite of mine & I was not disappointed. The smell of fresh Pita has its own smell and I was delighted to fin I got a hit of this as I opened the packet. I decided to use it in a couple of ways. The first was as a pizza base, I made one mini pizza from the original and one from the garlic. The pizza contained, chicken, stuffing, onions, tasty cheese and cranberry sauce. Both were heaven on a plate. It was a quick and easy meal and just the right size for me. The second way I used it was for dips and a cheese ball. These were the ones I had frozen and I was very impressed with the way they looked and tasted after defrosting, in fact you couldn't tell which was the new packet and which was the old. I made some of the dips from the back of the cover, plus some Pate and I made my own cheese ball. No matter what I put on them, I wanted more.

My main concern is the packet, with my problem hands I couldn't open the top, yes I know it is meant to be peel back but it just wouldn't do it easily for me. The one I managed to peel, ripped right across the recipe, which was annoying, so I cut the other one off so I could keep it. Otherwise I was happy as anything with Dannys Original Long Life Pita Bread and I know I will keep using it.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 21st of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I wasn't expecting much after tasting the garlic pita first but I was pleasantly surprised at the texture, the freshness and great taste! I am not a fan of pita as they just aren't a nice experience to eat but Danny's Real Pita has completely changed my mind...they are a fantastic product.

The pita can be used in so many different ways, and no matter which way it is used it remains fresh and tasty. Used as a pizza base the pita stands the test, I love piling on the toppings and the pita doesn't turn soggy or sag under the weight, if anything it crisps up perfectly and is actually crunchy which is great.

I love the fact the pita can be toasted right in the toaster! How amazing is that, total convenience literally at the touch of a button. The pita is toasted just right on the outside but the inside is still soft and can easily be eaten right there and then with nothing added or can be filled with sandwich filling and enjoyed as a quick snack or lunch to take to work.

The pita has an added bonus of having no preservatives and no additives and being made from wheaten flour it is a healthier option that will full you up and keep you going, whether it be as a snack or a meal.

I will be buying more of Danny's pita bread because I like the fact that when left untouched in the original package they can sit on the shelf for weeks until they are eaten and when they are opened they still taste fresh as the day they where bought. How many other pita brands can say that?? It is great they don't have to be frozen to store them for long periods....even though they won't last long enough in my household to be stored they will be consumed quickly after purchase because they are just that good.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 21st of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have had dentures (false teeth) for more than half of my life, and that means some food is a pain to eat, and I mean that exactly as it sounds. Seeds that get under the plates feel like stones digging into my gums, and that has put me off eating almost any bread. The other thing about being my age is that you need to keep up your fibre intake. That means eating baked goods. Usually this means my friend coming over and baking bran muffins.

Pitas have been something I started eating a few years ago, after a trip to the Middle East on a guided tour with some of my friends from the bridge club. It's not surprising I enjoyed them, but what does surprise me is that it has taken me this long to try them. I have missed out on so much!

The pattern being what it is, the courier was hardly out of the driveway before a 'random' visit from my nearby whanau had the box being ripped open and plenty of Ooohhh's and Aaahhh's of anticipation coming from them. I really need to get my parcels delivered in plan wrappers, or done up like medical supplies. I hardly got many of these, in the end.

On the positive side, lots of people swiping my goods also meant lots of people being inventive, so we had these prepared a number of ways. After blasting through the garlic ones, everyone was a little less 'starving' so a bit more thought went into the ideas for these. Brushing a couple of them with garlic-infused oil and sprinkling some herbs, some finely grated cheese, and a light pinch of cayenne pepper on top, then grilling them until the topping was golden and a little crispy was a winning idea from one of the teenagers. Cut unto small squares, two of these allowed everybody to have a good taste and everyone thought they were amazing, except one person, who doesn't really go for spicy anyway.

We then turned two more into Quesadillas, toasting them lightly, splitting them open and stuffing them with capsicum, tomato, cucumber and cheese, then putting them in a sandwich press until the cheese was well melted. Once these had cooled down enough to eat, everyone was impressed, so we made the last two pitas into slightly different versions of the same thing, replacing the cucumber with some left-over roast chicken instead.

These are a real hit, and it's "Goodbye!" to buying the budget brands for me. I would much rather pay a little more and get a few slices of ham less, than go back to eating those bland, tasteless budget brand ones. These are also long-life as long as the pack remains sealed, so you can stock up a bit when you have spare cash, and they will happily sit in the pantry for a few months.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 20th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I did enjoy this pita, but it was only my 2nd favourite out of the two. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't as good as the garlic one. This is, in simple terms, the "white bread" of the two, so it wasn't great on it's own. I got to have one of the "pita pizzas" that Dad made, and I think that it was a very good use for these, because let me tell you, IT WAS DELICIOUS!

I found that I had to stuff this type of bread full of additional flavours in order to get a good taste, because unlike the garlic pitas, I had to focus on quantity rather than quality. When I had it with fillings it was very good, awesome for when I want a more filling meal and when I don't want to come away with garlic breath LOL Icon.

The packaging was great, it has an airtight seal, so the lifetime of the bread is extended while in the package, but then we had to plow through them as soon as the pack was opened. The label is great, it has a cool, simple design and layout, but there is only 1 problem. I think the people at Danny's got the pictures for the pitas mixed up, for the image looks more like the garlic pita rather than the original.

The value for money is good, 5 pitas at $3.50 is a great deal. The bread feels rather healthy, so I think that I should have pitas more often as a way of staying healthy. The taste is okay, it gets a 9/10 because it didn't taste great when I ate it, but only by a little bit. All in all, the folks at Danny's did a good job.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 16th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When these first arrived I considered all the amazing things that could be created using these pockets, the possibilities are endless! My Partner came home for lunch one day this week and I asked him if he wanted lunch, (which, of course he did!) The only bready item sitting in the cupboard was these pitas, I wasn't too sure that he would love them as I do, but I gave it a go.

I toasted them in the toaster, I love that they fit in perfect and don't have any splitting like other brands I have used in the past. I filled two of the pitas with salami, lettuce, cheese and mayo, Last night we both hadn't managed to have dinner due to other commitments and I asked what he wanted, his response was " Those pitas you toasted and filled the other day were pretty awesome".

If my Partner enjoys something its usually a goer in this house, so I will definitely be purchasing these again for us. The other pitas in the packet didn't last long, I used them as snacks with various spreads on the top for a super quick bite to eat whist I was busy.

I trialled these both in the toaster and the microwave and I was surprised that following the microwave directions on the packet they were almost as lovely as they were in the taster (and quicker!!)

On the downside I always find these types on packets an issue as I tend to rip into them without too much thought and when you don't use them all at once, the others go stale. I hate to admit but I open the packet and used it the first time and then bunged it back in the cupboard and the pitas were still fine the next day (big bonus! - phew!!) I would love to see some type of packaging that was re-sealable, but most important to me is the price which is excellent - so I wouldn't want to pay any more than that for a re-sealable package.

Overall I think these are awesome quality and a fantastic price, not forgetting their versatility and easy quick prep - a winner of a product!!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 13th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was going to fill these pita breads with falafel, veges and sauce, but being the day before shopping we only had enough ingredients for one, and so that shall be the plan for another day as I know I will be buying these again.

We decided to make mini pizzas today (seems to be a firm favourite) with the pita, and chose to have it thick base so there was no need for me to cut, that being said they aren't too thick. I lathered them with a garlic and herb cream cheese, some garlic pasta sauce, yummy yummy bacon and cheese. My husband and I ate one and a half each and my three year old had one.

Cutting them was a little hard but that was due more to my length of cooking time than anything else, and it still cut up nicely without falling apart. The size of the pita is perfect and my husband and I ate all of ours up without any worries and it was nice and filling. My daughter, who is usually very picky about her breads ate her whole pizza which gives this a huge thumbs up from us.

I really like the size of these and LOVE the fact that my picky child ate all of her pita, so this is one to add to the trolley.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love pita bread, I love how versatile a product it is and how many different things you can do with it. This pita bread was great, it had a really fresh taste to it straight from the packet and cooked also.

I made pizza's with the original pita bread for my children. They were great for this as they are the perfect size for children and they can each have their own choice of topping. My fussy daughter had plain cheese and her brother had ham and cheese. They stayed nice and soft when cooked and is a great alternative to a stodgy pizza base.

Trying to be more healthy I made myself a tuna salad pita pocket, and the pita was nice and fresh tasting, sometimes when you buy pita bread and eat it without warming it up first it is quite stale tasting and not very nice but this wasn't at all like that, the keep fresh packet does a great job of keeping it nice and fresh.

I loved the extra touch of the added recipes on the inside of the packet and would certainly try them out, as I will definetly buy this pita breads again as they were fantastic.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 10th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love pita bread. One of my favourite ways to enjoy pita is to cut it in half and then open the pocket inside. Then I stuff the pocket with some ham, sprouts, tomato, grated cheese. Mmmmm. I'm use to it being the case that when you cut into a pita they are quite tough. I've also found that often the pocket splits at the bottom.

Danny's Original Pita is a good plain Pita bread. I found that even though this is designed to be a longlife bread, it was not tough to cut into. The pocket split open okay, though I didnt have enough fillings to stuff it full. So I'm not sure if it would have split if I had more sprouts. Still, I was impressed. For dinner last night we had Pita Pizzas. We added pizza sauce, pineapple, bacon and cheese.

When the pizzas came out of the oven, they smelt fantastic. I used my pizza cutter on them and was a bit worried as that is always the part I suck at. I always struggle to cut pizza up. But I needn't have worried as these were so soft even heated up. The whole family tucked into the pizzas. My daughter loved hers and ate the whole thing. Baby loved the pita bread with some pizza sauce on it. This was very much the favourite of the two kinds we tried, though I perferred the garlic.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 9th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Pitas are great. No argument there. But these pitas are downright amazing. I have tender teeth, and tough, chewy pitas are not so much a P.I.T.A but more of a P.I.T.M (Pain in the Mouth) for me. I found these to be really tender, and though they were still a little chewy they didn't hurt my teeth.

I decided to make some mini-pizzas with these - anyone can stuff them with yummy, healthy fillings... but I wanted something I could tempt my youngest son with, and he's a very picky eater when it comes to "good" foods. So, I used these as the bases for some mini pizzas. A yummy sauce made from tomato puree and mustard pickle, chopped meats, diced onions and capsicum, topped with colby cheddar and some parmesan then grilled until golden.

No surprises, everyone thought they were amazing. But the credit isn't mine... it wasn't the toppings that garnered the applause, it was the pitas. Everyone was so impressed and how versatile they were. The garlic pitas were a hit, but as it was pointed out, even the plain ones, doused with a hefty smearing of garlic butter, maybe with some fresh chopped herbs mixed in too, would make the plain pitas just as good.

So, to test the theory, that's what I did with the last 2 plain pitas. A little butter, a dash of rice bran oil, some freshly crushed garlic, and a few decent sprigs of parsley finely chopped. Mixed well together and popped in the fridge until firm but not hard. (That's why the dash of oil was added! Wink Icon ) Leaving the pitas flat, they each got a good spread of the butter and a light sprinkle of paprika then grilled until golden and crisp. Chopped into small wedges, these were amazing in a dip of basil pesto and sour cream.

Overall, though these were not my utter favourite - the garlic pitas hold that title, these were so much more flexible in terms of usage, because they were unflavoured to start with. That gave them a lot more scope. Also, being slightly cheaper, and having an extra pita in the pack... pretty much unbeatable! No more budget brand pita for me!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 8th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always loved the taste of pita bread so I was keen to try Danny's long-life pita. The first time I tried it I was really hungry and needed something instantly so just cut open the packet and ate one straight. It was very satisfying and got rid of my hunger pains and gave me the pick me up I needed.

These are a bit out of my price range, we are more a budget bread family, so my girls had never tried them before. When I suggested I give them half each in their lunch box instead of the usual boring sandwich they were very keen. My three year old thought I was magic when I opened it up and stuffed it with a slice of luncheon and cheese. It was the perfect shape and size for the circular luncheon. I noticed that the pita was the first thing both my girls ate from their lunch boxes. A hit with them for sure.

I have never found a pita bread that I could open without it splitting. I had the same issue with this one too so I was careful not to over stuff it. For myself I filled it with halved cherry tomatoes and cheese. My home-based care kids watched me very carefully as I ate this strange sandwich hoping I would share it with them. I enjoyed it too much to part with any.

These are ideal for adding a bit of variety to the lunch box but would be great for pizzas too. I think we will be buying them a couple of times a month.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 6.0
Product reviews for listing 2520: Pork and Cabbage Dumplings -  Produced by Leanne's Kitchen

Product image for Pork and Cabbage DumplingsDumplings are popular for all occasions and eaten all year round.
    •  Fantastic as finger food
    •  Great side dish to rice, noodles or veggies
    •  Nice eaten cold in lunch boxes
    •  Party & BBQ ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream