Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 15th December 2019 - 13:00:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Fantasy > The Hobbit : 1 : An Unexpected Journey review

« The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Christmas! reviewThe Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Christmas!Matiatia: Gateway to Waiheke reviewMatiatia: Gateway to Waiheke  »

Score: 9.1/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3692 - The Hobbit : 1 : An Unexpected Journey
Directed by Peter Jackson

The Hobbit : 1 : An Unexpected Journey
Price:
 
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Hoyts NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
in cinemas from 12th December 2012

The Hobbit : 1 : An Unexpected Journey product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Sorcerers.

Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain, first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever... Gollum.

Here, alone with Gollum, on the shores of an underground lake, the unassuming Bilbo Baggins not only discovers depths of ingenuity and courage that surprise even him, he also gains possession of Gollum's "precious" ring that holds unexpected and useful qualities... A simple, gold ring that is tied to the fate of all Middle-earth in ways Bilbo cannot begin to know.

Check out Hoyts NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Hoyts NZ Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
adam brown   aidan turner   andy serkis   barry humphries   bret mckenzie   cate blanchett   christopher lee   conan stevens   dean ogorman   elijah wood   graham mctavish   hobbit   hugo weaving   ian holm   ian mckellen   james nesbitt   jed brophy   john callen   ken stott   lotr   manu bennett   mark hadlow   martin freeman   nzmade   peter hambleton   peter jackson   richard armitage   stephen hunter   sylvester mccoy   william kircher
Other listings you may be interested in:
The Lord of the Rings Location Guidebook - Rev. Ed.The Lord of the Rings Location Guidebook - Rev. Ed.
Rating: 8.8
Peter Jackson : From Prince of Splatter to Lord of the RingsPeter Jackson : From Prince of Splatter to Lord of the Rings
Rating: 8.3
The Lord of the Rings : Return of the KingThe Lord of the Rings : Return of the King
Rating: 7.5
Gollum : How We Made Movie MagicGollum : How We Made Movie Magic
Rating: 8.5
The Lord of the Rings : 1 : Fellowship of the RingThe Lord of the Rings : 1 : Fellowship of the Ring
Rating: 8.9
The Lord of the Rings : 2 : The Two TowersThe Lord of the Rings : 2 : The Two Towers
Rating: 9.1
The Lord of the Rings : 3 : Return of the KingThe Lord of the Rings : 3 : Return of the King
Rating: 7.9
The Art of The HobbitThe Art of The Hobbit
Rating: 9.3
Mr Peabody and ShermanMr Peabody and Sherman
Rating: 8.0
DemonicDemonic
Rating: 5.8
The 5th WaveThe 5th Wave
Rating: 8.5
Suicide SquadSuicide Squad
Rating: 8.0
Palm BeachPalm Beach
Rating: 5.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 30th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 7 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This movie had far too much hype. After the success of the Lord of the Rings, Peter Jackson was certainly going to have trouble keeping to the standard that he has set. So when it was announced that this would not be a single movie, but be split into a trilogy, I knew that this would either be the greatest thing ever, or the worst.

Unfortunately, it is looking like its going to fall short. The first installment is rather an unadventurous one in my eyes. It does a satisfactory job in introducing the characters and the history, but there is little action to keep me truly interested. The end of the film had me disappointed as it looked like something interesting was finally going to happen, but no we have to wait another year.

Visually, it looks nice. There is a lot less blurring when the camera moves, which takes a while to get used to, but it is very much the style of environment that we have come to expect. There is too much CGI for my liking, but I suppose that is to be expected when the movie is about dwarves and hobbits.

My flatmate has it on DVD, but I couldn't bring myself to watch it again. Once was enough. At least until I can watch the entire trilogy at once.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When it comes to watching all the BIG movies that everyones talking about, I am always a bit behind. So it is of no surprise to me personally, that I only hired out the Hobbit finally yesterday. I am not sure why I myself had not seen it yet, because my entire family have. Anyway so now I have too. I expected big things from this movie if the LotR trilogy was anything to go by. My biggest concern however was that I would get bored and restless part way through (as I did for all LotR).

Unfortunately my fear of getting restless and bored was true. Not because the movie is boring. I just do not have the attention span personally to watch really long movies, and scenes that are long and drawn out, which could have been portrayed just as effectively in half the time do bug me lol Luckily though once these scenes were over I was once again able to enjoy the movie.

Another thing I was worried about was that the movie might be less than enjoyable because I had already seen the LotR trilogy. In my mind movies set before ones I have already seen can easily annoy me due to portraying stuff we already know. For example Gandalf has some pretty close calls, but the edge of the seat concern is not as huge as it could be because we know he does not die in any of these movies as hes in the later ones lol Speaking of Gandalf I did feel for 60 years younger he looked terribly terribly older and better make-up may have been beneficial.

These gripes aside The Hobbit is an awesome movie. Many times over the scenery made me marvel and gaspand feel super proud of little old NZ. I admit though I have read other reviews here on KIWIreviews and in doing so learnt that many scenes were shot or taken from different areas around NZ and then joined together, reading this made me super impressed. I would never have known this otherwise.

It was awesome to watch the movie though and learn about Bilbo Baggins and how he came to be part of this little group and even more awesome to learn how he found the ring. Hobbits rule and are so clever. I love Hobbiton and the homes are just so super cool. Id love a human sized Hobbit house lol. All in all an awesome movie. I didn't expect it to end as it dud, just hanging, but because it did, we went and hired the next one out lol

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 1st of February, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Ever since Lord of the Rings, I have been eagerly awaiting The Hobbit. When I heard it was being filmed and finally scheduled for release I was so excited.I have always enjoyed all of the books, but The Hobbit was my favourite. Firstly, I was so happy that Elijah Wood only had a small part in this movie, and that was just to tie it in to the Lord of the Rings trilogy, cause Frodo's character just gets on my nerves now. LOL Icon

Right from the start the scenery is just what you would expect. It's beautiful, it's gorgeous and man oh man wouldn't I love to wander through the forests, live in a hobbit hole etc. -sigh-

I love that Jackson used the original words written by Tolkein for the two songs that the dwarves sing whilst staying at Bilbo's home. They fit in perfectly, of course, and they sound fantastic, I would happily have those two on my music playlist and could listen to "Misty Mountains" on repeat, I am in love with this song, and am even listening to it as I write this review.

I think Martin Freeman did a perfect job as Bilbo. Naive when needed, but plucky when he has to be. He's on an adventure and his whole attitude about it makes him so loveable. Had I had the money I would have gone to this a second time in a heartbeat. As it is, I know without a doubt, that as soon as it comes out on DVD I WILL be adding this to my collection and watching it as soon as the kids are in bed.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been looking forward to The Hobbit being given the same treatment as LOTR since LOTR first was announced. The Hobbit being a prequel should have by rights, been made first. But it wasn't. I wondered how this would be addressed and I wasn't disappointed to see Frodo and the Shire brought back to life as Bilbo Baggins looks back on his past as well. I liked this, it made sense even though it was not strictly part of the book. In fact there are quite a few things in the film that aren't from the book, but then its a novel on the short side. Jackson is drawing from the LOTR appendices as well as the Hobbit to flesh out the story and give us a Hobbit trilogy. There is as always some creative license as well.

The movie itself was breath-takingly beautiful. This is something we have come to expect from Jackson. It has all the elements that made LOTR great. It is a masterpiece, though I can guarantee the man himself is not 100% pleased with it. I understand that he is never satisfied even in the final edit. Still, that perfectionism serves him well and allows him to bring us these epic tales. The film is also shot in 48 frames a second. Usually film is 24 frames a second, but they went with double that in order to smooth the images further. Plus it makes for great 3D apparently. I wouldn't know because I only saw it in 2D but what I saw was impressive in any case.

Last night after watching the film, I opened up my copy of the Hobbit and had a quick read through some of it. I was pleasantly surprised to see how many of the scenes had come right from the book, dialogue, songs and all. Right down to the pipe smoking and games. It's not essential to follow the book so closely, but it shows that Jackson was committed to doing right by the book and by Tolkien himself. I found this first film to be much lighter in style to LOTR. There was more slapstick, more fun and more music. This gave it a jaunty feeling, which I enjoyed. That said I don't believe this is a family film. There are some scary bits in it and its long! So I wouldn't take my 5 year old.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having had the pleasure of being an extra in the first three "Lord of the Rings" movies, I was dead-keen to see one where none of the magic had been spoiled by the gritty, and grotty, reality of filming a movie. Nothing saps the joy like seeing a scene and being reminded of the 14 hours of standing in the rain freezing cold, that it took to shoot those precious 3 seconds of footage. I am very pleased to say that seeing this ONLY from the 'right' side of the camera did wonders for my enjoyment of it.

Having seen Martin Freeman only in his role as Dr Watson in the modernised interpretation of "Sherlock" with Benedict Cumberbatch , I was very taken with his offering of a younger, less cynical Bilbo Baggins. His somewhat reluctant acceptance of his fate, but willingness to see it through no matter the odds, really brough depth to a character who was really only roughly glimpsed in the first three movies. However it was wonderful to see all the other familiar faces from the previous titles coming back again - Elijah Wood, Cate Blanchett, Sir Ian McKellen, Hugo Weaving and Christopher Lee... though I must admit, I found that knowing what Saruman the White was to become, I found his portrayal quite creepy in this title.

As expected, the movie showed off a lot of really wonderful scenery, but what really blew me away was how well Weta Digital did their job of splicing scenery -both real from all over the country, and virtually-created - into a seamless panorama that fooled the eye as well as one could wish. I suspect that had I seen this in 3d I would have been doubly impressed. The special effects were up to the peak standards we have come to expect these days, especially from our own award-winning, internationally-famous digital magic studios in Wellington. They have set the bar so high, it is always impressive to see them nudging it a little higher with each offering.

Overall, the movie was brilliant, and with my posterior resting comfortably in the Hoyts cinema at Te Awa, there was little to do but sit back, relax and enjoy the show. Even in regular old-school 2D this movie was impressive to watch, but one thing will nag at me until next year... the story basically went from "Hi Bilbo, we need you..." through "the big scary journey to the Lonely Mountain"... and ended with "Well, we're almost at the door..." so unless there is a LOT of really full-on action between where the party is now and the doorway to the Dwarven Stronghold's door, I am curious to see how Peter Jackson is going to stretch this out into 2 more movies! There's only a "sneak down tunnels" and "fight the dragon" left to go! The anticipation and tension is almost thrilling! Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of nighthawknz

Review by: nighthawknz (Marc)
Dated: 15th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

What more could I say, The Hobbit brought to life the land of Middle Earth once again, this time focusing on Bilbo Baggins' journey and how things became in LotR. I loved how we got to find out how Bilbo came by the ring of Golem and loved the little game that saved his life (smart little hobbits). The music was well chosen and the song that they sang around the fire early in the movie before the journey, was both amazing and heartfelt. The only thing I didn't like was the smoking around the fire as can always send a wrong message to the young kids, especially when Gandalf gives Radagast a puff and has a calm and mellow look on his face.

The one thing that I found funny which I guess most parents can relate their child to would be when the dwarfs were in the elfish city and the elves were trying to prevent them from completing their goal, they decide to not tell anyone and go anyway, without waiting for an answer. I also love the action that followed through the way through the movie the only disappointing part was with being 3D nothing really leaps off the screen at you, however it did give you a 3D environment of the depth in the movie.

Overall the visual effects were amazing, the soundtrack was perfect and the scenery and action was amazing. I would love to see this movie again and can't wait for the rest of the series to come out.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 1703: Ratatouille
Director: Brad Bird

Product image for RatatouilleFrom the creators of Cars and The Incredibles comes a breakthrough comedy with something for everyone.

With delightful new characters, experience Paris from an all-new perspective. In one of Paris' finest restaurants, Remy, a determined young rat, dreams of becoming a renowned French chef. Torn between his family's wishes and his true calling, Remy and his pal Linguini set in ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why is it that people say they 'slept like a baby' when babies wake up every two hours?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream