Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 21st July 2019 - 01:41:08

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Baking Additions > GoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix review

« GoBake Sprinkles Collections reviewGoBake Sprinkles CollectionsOrana Wildlife Park reviewOrana Wildlife Park »

Score: 7.9/10  [23 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3677 - GoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix
Brand / Manufactured by: GoBake

GoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix
Price:
$4.99 / 100g
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by GoBake

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

GoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsGoBake Easy Frost offers you the ability to easily make a delicious frosting or a vanilla flavoured creme. Adjust the flavour to suit using some of our Flavacol range for that extra special touch.

Just add water and whisk to make a vanilla creme perfect for eclairs, donuts and desserts. Then add icing sugar to turn it into a delightful frosting, perfect for cakes and cupcakes, or use it as a base layer when covering your cake with rolled fondant.

Check out GoBake onlineClick here to see all the listings for GoBake Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
creme   frosting   gobake   nzmade   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
Indian 2Nite Bistro & TandoorIndian 2Nite Bistro & Tandoor
Rating: 9.4
Artisano Heat'n'Eat Ready-to-Pull NZ BeefArtisano Heat'n'Eat Ready-to-Pull NZ Beef
Rating: 9.6
Kahlua and White Chocolate CheesecakeKahlua and White Chocolate Cheesecake
Rating: 6.9
GoBake FlavacolGoBake Flavacol
Rating: 9.1
Beak & Sons Rosemary & Garlic LambBeak & Sons Rosemary & Garlic Lamb
Rating: 8.0
gftreets - Delicious Cake Style Donutsgftreets - Delicious Cake Style Donuts
Rating: 9.8
GoBake Sprinkles CollectionsGoBake Sprinkles Collections
Rating: 9.3
Bennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini Bars
Rating: 9.2
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple ChocTasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc
Rating: 8.6
Meal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati RiceMeal for 1 - Butter Chicken with Basmati Rice
Rating: 9.3
Cleaning Your Microwave with LemonsCleaning Your Microwave with Lemons
Rating: 10.0
The Elm CafeThe Elm Cafe
Rating: 8.8
Burger KingBurger King
Rating: 7.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love this stuff! I keep at least one packet in the pantry for baking with the kids! So simple and easy to follow.

The first time I used it was at my now Miss Eight year olds sixth birthday where we had a "Little Baker" theme the kids decorated their own cupcakes. I made this into frosting and put in about six bowls and used the Go Bake flavacol so there were different colours and flavours. It was easy for the kids to use and delicious. We have since used it to ice biscuits as well which worked well. You have to beat it for longer than recommended to get a firm frosting.

I have used this with a piping bag and was happy with the results it also tastes great, on its own or with the flavacol. Again you need to beat for a fair amount of time to get this to a firm state..

I do agree that butter icing is easier and better to work with but I think this is great for the kids and if you are on a tight schedule or have no butter. I like that the small packet seems to go a long way, you end up with a lot of frosting. Love this product.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 8th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I bought some of this recently and was very impressed with the price. Admittedly I got it on sale, but it seems to make about the same amount of frosting as a double mix of buttercream, but without the butter so there is a cost saving there.

However although I'd seen it demo'd as a frosting with icing sugar (and it tasted yum), this time I opted to make just the cream mixture which was easy - 100g of frosting (the whole packet) and 100ml of water.... what could go wrong! And it's easy to recalculate if I didn't want to use the whole packet.

Admittedly I do have a cake mixer, but I mixed it for only half the time the packet stated and it was definitely fully mixed and like a nice firm whipped cream. Taste-wise it was like a mock cream - yum!

I added flavorcols to make various tasting samples of icecream and they were yum! I just put it straight in the freezer and by night time we had delicious easy icecream in all sorts of flavours such as butterscotch (i added hokey pokey), mint (with choc chips), vanilla bean etc. It was very creamy icecream which we are not used to though - almost too creamy.

It didn't make heaps and heaps - like I say, we only had a sample of each one... but we did save enough for another night. (2 adults and small child). I don't think I'd use the easy frost for icecream next time, but it was a nice experiment.

However I'd definitely use these for frosting - they were so quick and easy - frosting is firm but pipeable and as it's perfectly white so easily coloured. I'll buy again for sure!

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 4th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 2 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

Actually a little confused by this product when I first saw it, A ready frosting mix the packaging states, just add icing sugar. After a bit of further investigating of the directions list it started to make sense. Just add water for a cream mixture and add icing sugar and water for a frosting. So I opted to give the frosting a go.

Following the package directions to make the cream frosting was relatively easy but I did find that to get it to the right thickness it did take a fair bit of mixing to get the consistency right. I opted to add Lemon Flavacol to this and the taste and colour was a wonderful thing. One would say that this product used as a frosting would think it was more like to a mock cream. And the flavor of it was lovely.

Overall I was impressed with the taste of the product but due to the cost of $5 a bag I am in the mind I would only get it if really desperate, as $5 for a small amount is over priced! In saying this, if this product was more like the the big packet of icing sugar you can get, that I buy then I would happily pay the $5 for it.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 30th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Before I used the Go Bake Easy Icing I made sure I read the directions well. I noticed all I had to do was mix icing sugar and water with the powder and you had icing. I regularly make my own butter icing for my baking so I found this a slightly longer way of doing it. As I didn't have a beater I hand mixed it, now whether it was because of this I don't know but I found it was very runny when I put it on my cupcakes, I left it for a while but it still didn't firm up as much as I would have liked. Plus I found it didn't set properly and on quite a few of the cupcakes it almost ran off, this was still noticeable a day or two later when it was still very soft.

I tried the icing after mixing it and found it quite sweet, I wasn't sure if I liked it or not so I mixed Flavacol and made three different flavours of icing to go on my cupcakes. This did improved the taste of it, but I still prefer the taste of my butter icing. I put the Fun Sprinkles on the top and found they didn't stick well to the icing, which disappointed me.

I don't think I would go and buy this to use as it didn't live up to my expectations and I know I can make a better icing than this. I do have some left so when I am able I will make something so I can use it as Vanilla Creme.

Click here to read the profile of esme

Review by: esme (Esme)
Dated: 22nd of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I made this up as frosting by following the directions and adding 700g icing sugar to go on top of cupcakes for my birthday. I didn't time how long I was beating the mixture for I just did it by look and feel. I made 36 cupcakes and there was still icing left over.

I found it just as simple to make as butter icing but I think I prefer the taste of butter icing. I coloured it black but didn't add any flavouring to the frosting. It held its shape well but when I tried to add sprinkles on to the top of the cupcakes they didn't really stick well, I wonder if maybe I didn't add enough liquid to the frosting but I don't think I would have wanted to add any more water because then it may not have held its shape.

The cupcakes were still a huge hit though. There were 24 people here (1 was just a baby so didn't have any) and only 3 cupcakes were left over at the end of the party. Personally with the price I would prefer to buy some butter and icing sugar and make butter icing but it was still nice to try out the product.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 21st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I'm usually pretty confident with icings so I decided to make this into the vanilla creme and fill some profiteroles as I have made profiteroles many times before but have always just cheated and filled them with whipped cream or a store bought creme patisserie. This seemed an ideal product to fill that gap.

The instructions were simple enough, add water and beat! The mixture came together really nicely and there were no lumps and bumps which was great. The consistency was nice and smooth, not too wet and not too stiff; I love instructions that actually work! The taste for me was a little artificial, just a hint of something at the back of the mouth, but not so much it was inedible. I actually added a splash of Cointreau and that seemed to do the trick. I think the Flavacol's would have worked too, but the three flavours I have didn't lend themselves well towards profiteroles.

This is a good product, not a great one though. A good standby to have in the cupboard but a little expensive for everyday use. It's great that it will keep well in the fridge too, I'm looking forward to getting another pack just so I can try out the frosting aspect of it. The only other downside to it, is it isn't gluten free when my normal homemade icing is.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 21st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is a great idea to use to make things easy as it comes in a small 100g bag. There is so much you could do with this like frosting cakes and cupcakes just add icing sugar it says. I decided to try it for a lime gelato which i got a recipe for with a purchase of more of these products on a deal site.

Now as much as i like the idea of this product sadly I cant use it for cakes or cupcakes as my kids will mistake them for Gluten Free food as this product isnt Gluten Free if go bake did a Gluten Free version I would be so into it. But since i got some to test I made the gelato for me using the go bake lime flavacol as well. Once i added the water and easy frost together it made a nice sweet smell, it was nice and soft and easy to use. The easy frost mixed into the water better than i thought it would by just looking at it.

I made the Gelato in a mixer and then popping into the freezer for the 4 hours because of the time of night i made it i left it overnight, gave it a test taste in the morning and it was yum, no stirring needed, was creamy, full of flavour and just a nice texture. The easy frost made it all happen. Even though only used 100mls of water it made a nice amount of Gelato.

Now yes i would recommend this product to others that like a quick easy way to make all their goodies, its a great idea. Good packaging and so easy children could do it.

Click here to read the profile of missangel

Review by: missangel (Alex)
Dated: 20th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Can we have this in larger packs? I've never encountered such a product before - I usually make my own frosting out of a tonne of butter and colours. When reading the packet, I was a bit confused about how to make it, but then realised that you didnt need to use the whole packet, only a small amount. I would suggest perhaps that GoBake need to add measurements for a smaller amount in tablespoons instead of grams, unfortunately not everyone has a set of scales. It is of course easy to look up on the internet to get the conversion, but having it on the packet would be a great idea. Even having single 50g use packets inside a larger packet might be a neat idea!

When I added the water and 50g of Frosting Mix, I did think to myself that it smelt really fake and didnt think it would be enough to frost 2 large cakes and 12 cupcakes, however oh boy was I wrong! I still have half of the mix sitting in my fridge waiting to be used! I LOVE that it keeps in a container for 7 days in the fridge. I also love that you dont need to use a lot to get such a massive amount of frosting. It didnt smell or taste fake once I had whisked it up to the right consistency. I did find it was a little bit grainy, but I dont know if that was from the icing sugar or from the product itself, so I wont let that influence my 5 star rating for this! Well done GoBake.

Click here to read the profile of wiggle34

Review by: wiggle34 (Trish)
Dated: 20th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have the pleasure of trying out this new icing product and man was I impressed. First the creme frosting icing was Yummy none of it made it to the cake, second one was when I made it in to royal icing, I used a tad bit more icing sugar so I could pipe it and man did it pipe so well, didn't split like I normally have happen when working with icing on hot days :) I also experimented to find out if it would split and nope it didn't not even when I over did the liquid gobake flavcols into it, it may have looked odd at the start but it came together, may have been runny as but still looked great.

I did find it a tad sweet when in royal icing state but then again I did add more Icing sugar for a more firmer icing to pipe and work with. And that small packet made up a huge amount of icing too I was shocked at how much I ended up with, and it keeps well in the fridge and the pantry opps sorry nothing lasted more than 3 days before it was all gone. I can;t wait to be able to get it at my local supermarket

Click here to read the profile of mgslegaspi

Review by: mgslegaspi (Grace)
Dated: 18th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was very eager to try GoBake Easy Frost as I am not so fortunate to make any decent icing. It's either to thin or too hard as it stand.

The first time I tried this, I made it a little bit runny as I didn't beat it with the mixer and i don't have enough icing sugar to put into, and have put the icing over the hot coffee mug cake that's why it drips all over the place, so I wasn't happy with the way it looks but it tasted so yummy, it made a big difference with regards to the boring taste of just plain sponge.

Then I tried it again, now this time, I properly follow the instructions and properly measured the water and icing sugar to put into. So easy to make, actually. And wow! it looks like magic, the vanilla fragrant powder had turned into a very silky smooth and thick icing, and it looked very shiny too. I had to taste it and yes I am so right, it tasted heavenly. I used it to frost my Christmas cake and topped it up with white fondant.

All the people I serve with the cake ended up asking what did I use for the icing, so there it goes, good timing to introduce the GoBake range especially the Easy Frost to family and friends. Would have to say that I will be forever to use this product as it is a no-fail easy frost that I have ever used. And even though I have some left overs, I still can use to some of my baking treats. Happy baking!

Click here to read the profile of 4possm

Review by: 4possm (Chris)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was actually a little confused by this product when I first saw it, a ready frosting mix that states, just add icing sugar. After a bit of further investigating of the directions list it started to make sense. Just add water for a cream mixture and add icing sugar and water for a frosting. As someone who LOVES his cream filled cakes I was very happy to try this product out on the Choc banana cake that we were making.

Using the included directions to make the cream for the filling was relatively easy but I did find I needed to add a little bit of icing sugar to get it to the right thickness. It did also take a fair bit of mixing to get the consistency right. With a couple of drops of the Choc Flavacol it did taste extremely nice and was a hit with Master 6 so a successful cream in the end.

As an Easy mix I found that I did almost as much work as I normally would when making a Mock Cream filling and more than I would making a Ganache as you still needed to mix for quite a while to get it to the right consistency as well as the water ratio being a bit different than stated. Topped off with all the artificial additives I don't think this is something I would personally buy myself. If it was easier it may be something I would consider, however it's pretty hard to make it easier than adding warm cream to Chocolate for a quick Ganache then adding icing sugar to make a frosting.

Overall I was impressed with the taste of the product but due to the cost of $5 a bag I am in the mind that it should be a lot more easier than it was to make. I think I'll stick with my natural frosting and Ganache recipes in the meantime. If this product was more like the ready to roll fondant I buy then I would happily pay the $5 for it.

Click here to read the profile of cat

Review by: cat (Catherine)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I made the Go Bake Easy Frost Frosting up last night and iced 40 to 50 biscuits to share with the classes I work with and 30 mini muffins for my daughter to share with her class. Tonight I will be using the rest of the icing to ice another 48 mini muffins for my younger daughters 5th birthday at kindy.

I started by reading the instructions. I assumed i was to use normal tap water due to the quantity, would have been good if they had stated hot/warm/cold as some icings require hot water. I beat it for 1 min then scraped it down and beat it for a further 5 minutes (as per instructions) and found it was a good creamy texture. I beat it for another minute and was happier with the texture, although not to my taste (but I don't like mock creme so I wasn't surprised.) I added the icing sugar and was surprised at how much icing/frosting I had, more than enough to do the 130+ items I needed to.

It tasted fine as an icing, spread easily onto both the biscuits and mini muffins. As I iced each one I dipped them into the GoBake Sprinkles I also received and was very happy at how well they stuck. They firmed up nicely and I stacked them into containers. I was pleased to find that they hadn't stuck together when I shared them out at morning tea time.

All in all a good result. I would definitely consider buying it or recommending it for a birthday cake. The key is to keep beating! I was left wondering if you could freeze any left over frosting or if you could frost your cupcakes for lunches and freeze them ready to go. If so whats the shelf life of the frosting in the freezer?

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

"Just add icing sugar" confused me at first, until I read the back! So decided to try both ways and see which I liked best.

Not realising just how hard it would be to combine it all, I started using the old hand whisk and quickly reverted to the stick blender...much better (I don't own a hand beater). As this was for my banana choc chip muffins (made with Banana Flavacol), I added some of the Flavacol mix to half of it...was delicious! Really nice and creamy, and piped onto the muffins really well. The sprinkles that I also received stuck very nicely to the icing.

I added icing sugar to the other half, and it was once again very yummy and more stiff, great for making shapes for the top of muffins and cakes. I thought I would have to try the one week fridge life that was suggested. I added a little water to it, and it came out just as it had a week prior.

Unsure whether I would actually purchase this again in the future though, as I tend to just use a simple icing sugar icing, but for more fancy cakes then I would!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 16th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I first got this I wasn't sure what to think but I liked the idea. The only frosting mixes I had bought before were already set and ready to go but with this one you are required to add water/icing sugar, dependent on if you want a creme or frosting.

I decided to try the creme first as none in this house are particular fans, though my kids aren't that discerning yet (if it's sweet they will eat it, 99% of the time). I mixed in the water and it seemed a little runny but before I could investigate further I was called away by the cries of sibling arguments. When I finally managed to get back to it,it had set a little bit and so was decent enough to serve with the jelly and fruit I had out and tasted nice enough.

Next up was frosting for the muffins I had made earlier and were now cooling. I did find that I needed to add more icing sugar than was suggested on the packet, to stop it from creating a big, sugary mess on the counter. I added some Chocolate Flavacol to the GoBake Easy Frost frosting and spread it onto the muffins. The frosting was devoured before the kids even tried my muffin.

All in all a nice product. I do want to experiment more, but I think that can probably wait till the next celebration.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 15th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always enjoyed baking so i was rather excited to try out this new product. I have always made a range of different icings depending on the occasion and what i want to use it for but never used mock cream so i decided i was going to make something new and exciting. I had also read others reviews on here and noted that there was very mixed responses to using this product as a icing so originally thought i may half the mixture n try both. In saying that to try a mock cream was something new, and I wasn't too sure about it to begin with...

Being Christmas i found a recipe to make snowmen using strawberries and cream which i thought would be perfect. I pulled out my mixer and poured the packet in n started to follow the instructions. Again i had noted on others reviews that there were issues with the right measurements so i added my water a little bit at a time ~ something i often do when baking anyway. Even with doing this the mixture didnt seem quite right so i ended up adding 2 tablespoons of icing sugar. The result was a marshmellow like mixture which i was easily able to put into my piping bag.

I then split it into two batches, and added different Flavacols to each batch and piped it onto my mini-cupcakes. I think the ratio of creme to icing sugar was a little off, as the frosting was quite fluid still, and made a yummy-smelling mess on the kitchen bench as it dribbled through the rack and onto the benchtop... but it stayed firm enough that the cupcakes still had a nice 'cap' after it set 5 minutes later.

The snowmen i made we gobbled up straight away an were delicious! The mock cream reminded me of when i was a child eating pavlova mixture (before cooked) or a marshmellow melted goodness. I had also brought some Profiteroles to try out so i filled these with mock cream and put some on the top before adding sprinkles too then put them in the fridge. While working with the mock cream mixture i found it quite runny an wasnt sure what it was all guna turn out like. The next day i was really surprised! Not only did they taste even better but the mock cream had totally set ~ awesome!

Overall, this is a great product and i definately want to try it out again now i know a bit more. Next time i would perhaps try half setting the mixture in the fridge so it is a little bit easier to work with/not so runny.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 11th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I was really looking forward to using this as i had never used a frosting mix before. I had made some cupcakes which a had added raspberry flavour to, so wanted to make some raspberry frosting. I first noticed that the directions on the bag are for a very large amount which i did not need. I worked it out in tablespoons (i also don't have scales that work at the moment, so the measurements were in grams which wasn't helpful)

I found i needed to add more icing sugar to get it to a frosting texture as the water ratio was too high. Once that was sorted these piped really well just through a glad bag. I sprinkled the cupcakes with various sprinkles from the GoBake range as i went so they stuck on well. My eldest son (aged 4) thought that the icing was too sweet and didn't like it.

I also made an orange/choc cake and iced it with this frosting, but added some orange flavour and cocoa. I again had the same issue regarding adding too much water, so i added some more frosting mix which made it very sweet. Once i had iced my whole cake i went to decorate it in sprinkled and found the icing in some parts was dry so the sprinkles didn't stick.

Overall, i really didn't see the advantage of using this product, it was very sweet and more work than its worth to get the amounts right since the directions on the back are not that easy when making smaller amounts. I don't think this is a product that i would purchase again.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I had a birthday party to cater the cupcakes for so I figured 36 taste tests would be pretty good.

I have only ever used butter icing or ganache as icing so wasn't so sure about using a product that lists its first ingredient as sugar and has a heap of numbers in it. The back of the packet gives a recipe for vanilla creme (Easy Frost and water) and for Frosting (Easy Frost, water and 700g of icing sugar).

The frosting was supposed to do 40-60 cupcakes so I initially halved the recipe but pretty quickly realised I was going to need the whole mix. Lucky I had a kilo bag of icing sugar in the cupboard. I had to mix it for ages (about as long as I would have with a butter recipe) so it wasn't a time saver. The mixture iced about 32 regular cupcakes so I was short for my 36. Although I had followed the instructions exactly the icing didn't hold its volume on my cupcakes so they were a little flatter as they dried. This dried really quickly so although I went to put the Go Bake sprinkles on they didn't stick. Having said that the cupcakes still looked good.

Everyone at the party loved the cupcakes, children and adults alike and I did like that because the frosting is so artificial they didn't melt on what was a very hot and sunny day.

I would use this again if I wanted a product that doesn't spoil quickly and will hold up in the sun (unlike butter) and if I wanted a dairy free option for decorating with. At $5 a bag - and with all the artificialness in it - I would rather stick to my butter icings or ganache for general decorating as that is healthier and more cost effective.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 6th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

GoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix - I love to try new products, and I was keen to try frosting in a packet, that hopefully would make me look like a professional cupcake chef! The instructions seemed to me like they would make a lot of product, but it was an easy one scoop to 7 of icing sugar, so I used a 1/4 cup measurer and this worked perfectly, and even this condensed down measurement went through 3 batches of biscuits and there was still left overs!

This product is easy to use and very versatile, I used it as it was, and I added some orange flavacol, to make some yummy Jaffa frosting in between some chocolate cookies. I would say the possibilities are endless. Probably the one thing that could catch you is assumption, it wouldn't have crossed my mind that I would need to have icing sugar in the house, I would have assumed it was an add water type product. Although you can make vanilla cream (which is also very yummy) and this is simply add water and use.

I think this will become a staple in most bakers' cupboards, it's just so easy! I wouldn't follow the instructions for the frosting, but I think most bakers would mentally work out that it makes a huge quantity and condense it down, the 1 - 7 mix makes it very simple. Yes I would buy this again, and I will definitely recommend this to others who enjoy baking!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 5th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always enjoyed baking, and for me there has really only been two 'toppings' - lemon/orange juice and icing sugar, and cream cheese icing. So to try a mock cream/frosting was something new, and I wasn't too sure about it to begin with...

Having had to try and mix various icings by hand, I thought I would try and save myself the wrist-strain this time and see if my Magic Bullet blender could help me out - so, pouring 50g of the mix and 50ml of milk - my choice instead of the water specified - into the blender, I whizzed this up into a very nice, smooth creme in seconds. It was a simple matter to then add 50g of icing sugar and whiz it up into "frosting" state.

I then split it into two batches, and added different Flavacols to each batch and piped it onto my mini-cupcakes. I think the ratio of creme to icing sugar was a little off, as the frosting was quite fluid still, and made a yummy-smelling mess on the kitchen bench as it dribbled through the rack and onto the benchtop... but it stayed firm enough that the cupcakes still had a nice 'cap' after it set 5 minutes later.

How did it taste? Wouldn't have the foggiest... at present, I have really bad hayfever and can't taste a thing... but my team of willing test-subjects - aka my family - all claimed that it turned out splendidly, and I am once again the Mojo King of the Kitchen... so I feel safe to put my backing to their impressions. They've not misled me about food yet!

Overall, a great product. Not 100% sure it's one I will stick with a frosting - but as a mock-cream I think it's one I will be exploring in more detail again in the future. One reason I say that is that, while trying out some Flavacol-enhanced ice-cream ideas, I noticed that the ice-cream was melting faster than ideal... so I added 2 teaspoons of the frosting mix when I blended it next time, and that solved the liquid issue, without ruining the flavour the way adding another thickening agent would! This makes it a great "trick" for turning milkshakes into thickshakes without plowing through all your ice-cream!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 1st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My daughter and I made Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes and figured this would be fantastic as the icing on our little creations. Since I had made 30 baby cupcakes decided to half the mixture as didn't want to have a lot of wastage. Really simple procedure. Use the same amount Frosting and Water and mix until its like a cream then if you want to have as a icing just add same amount icing sugar as you did with the frosting but you only add half at a time.

The recipe said it would take about 5 minutes but with my little hand mixer was done in less than two (maybe its because I had halved the mixture). I found it fantastic and nice and light. Put into a piping bag and felt like a pro as I did the little points on each cake and looked great! We also added the Go Bake Fun Sprinkles to a majority of the cup cakes as well and they worked great together.

It must of tasted great as I ate way to many of them! It kinda tastes like Mock Cream or though not as thick and more on the sweet side. Its so light and fluffy was impressed. A little goes a long way. I am not sure if I would use it again, possibly if I was in a hurry. I still have half a packed left and hope to use within the next week or so. Really is simple to use.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I thought this was a great idea to be able to buy a ready made frosting mix. I usually make buttercream icing and I always get the quantities wrong and end up with a pretty gross buttercream so having a mix that you just add icing sugar to is a great idea. I also like that it has two uses one for the frosting and one for a vanilla mock creme.

I decided I wanted to make both the frosting and the vanilla creme so I divided the bag into three quantities. Had to use my poor Maths skills a bit as the directions were only given to make the whole packet at once. Unfortunately I added too much water and ended up having to add the whole packet to the mix which was still too runny even after having added the whole packet.

I used the vanilla creme to fill a chocolate sponge and it was very tasty. I am not a fan of normal mock creme I find it to be sickly and quite a disgusting texture but this was really nice. It had a smooth creamy texture with a creamy vanilla taste. It did a great job of breaking up the chocolate of the sponge and giving something to drown out the richness of the chocolate. I served the sponge in bowls with some extra creme to which was really nice.

I think the price is great for a frosting mix and I would buy it again as I want to make up the frosting so I can try that too. All in all a good product I might just have to try adding the water slowly to make sure I don't add too much. It would also be cool to have bigger packs for when you are doing a kids birthday party where you have a cake and cupcakes to frost and fill.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 27th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I loved the idea of GoBake Easy Frost Frosting mix. The same packet can be used for both a vanilla creme or frosting simply by adding water and icing sugar. It also works well with GoBake's Flavacol so you can create a huge range of frostings and cremes.

I wanted to try this in a variety of ways so I decided to split the packet into three. This created a challenge. Firstly the instructions are for using a whole packet. Secondly the frosting and icing sugar is measured in grams and I don't have kitchen scales. I had to consult my Edmond's cookbook to convert the grams of icing sugar to cups. Between my husband and I we worked out how much was needed for each bowl. Thirdly the amounts I was making in each bowl was too little to use an electric beater. I used a stick blender and although it worked it splattered everywhere.

In the first bowl I made vanilla creme (just the mix and water) to fill eclairs. It took a while to beat up. I was grateful I wasn't doing it by hand. In the second bowl I also added icing sugar and chocolate Flavacol to make frosting for the top of the eclairs. This made up much more than the creme so many of the eclairs were filled with chocolate frosting instead of creme. In the third bowl I made banana frosting for some biscuits I had baked.

I was lucky to be given another packet of easy Frost. With this packet I made up the whole packet at once. I also used my food processor. It was so much easier. I used the frosting to ice red velvet cupcakes. The what was left I added butterscotch Flavacol to and used it to sandwich biscuits together. It was very quick to add the Flavacol to the prepared frosting in the food processor and because it was coloured I knew when it was mixed.

I did find the frosting needed to be thinner than the instructions suggested to use in a piping bag. The heat in the kitchen meant that the frosting didn't hold it's shape. I found it was best to put the baking in the fridge as I went. Once in the fridge it set. I have chosen to store my frosted baking in the fridge so I don't have to worry about it perishing.

I am still undecided about whether I would buy these. Frosting is so easy to make from scratch but it you are doing lots of baking it could save time and it does taste delicious. The adults that sampled my baking couldn't believe it had come from a packet.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 27th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was given a bag of this frosting mix to sample with my baking. I used to be a firm believer in store bought frosting. Then I started to experiment in the kitchen with butter cream recipes. Once I got my piping gun, and a tried and true buttercream recipe I thought I would never look back.

As I only had one bag of this easy frost mix, I split it in two to try making the vanilla creme and then the frosting itself. I had kitchen scales so I got to measuring out the right amount to make the vanilla creme. I measured equal parts water to easy frost and started mixing with the hand beater. It was a sloppy mess. After 5 minutes I realised that it wasn't getting any better and I started to spoon a little more easy frost into the bowl. Eventually it thickened to a creme and I was happy with the consistency. I used the vanilla creme to fill a lemon cake I made. It was easy to use and it had a great mock cream flavour to it.

I then followed the directions and measurements for making the frosting. Again the measurements seemed to be off somewhat and the frosting came out really quite hard. I ended up watering it down to allow me to pipe. I also flavoured it two different ways. I used lemon flavacol and then an orange one for special piping. I always had trouble icing cakes especially up the sides. I decided to give this product a real work out. I iced the whole cake, top and sides and it worked nicely. The icing stuck to the cake better than previous icings I have tried, which tend to be too buttery to stick to anything but itself. It piped onto the cake really well and stuck to itself nicely. It also was easy to add sprinkles to.

Flavour-wise the icing was ok. I like a buttery frosting, though this would be less calories at least! I also found that the icing came out a bit gritty. But it kept well and didn't sweat. Also it set hard which is something other frostings on the market don't really do. As a vanilla creme, this stuff was delicious and worth the money. I just wasn't as impressed with the frostings flavour, though it was very easy to work with.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4038: The Coffee Club, Bethlehem -  Located : Bethlehem, Tauranga

Product image for The Coffee Club, BethlehemThe Coffee Club, Bethlehem is located in Bethlehem shopping Centre on Bethlehem Road, Tauranga.

Shop H2 - Bethlehem Town Centre
Bethlehem Road
Bethlehem, Tauranga

Trading Hours:
    •  Monday : 8am - 10pm
    •  Tuesday : ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Sometimes only those who love you can tell you what you need to hear, instead of what you want to hear."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream