Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 7th December 2019 - 09:46:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Baking Additions > GoBake Sprinkles Collections review

« GoBake Flavacol reviewGoBake FlavacolGoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix reviewGoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix »

Score: 9.3/10  [27 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3676 - GoBake Sprinkles Collections
Brand / Manufactured by: GoBake

GoBake Sprinkles Collections
Price:
$4.99 / 120g container
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by GoBake

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

GoBake Sprinkles Collections product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSprinkle magic on your cakes, cupcakes, desserts and more!

Each container has four different sprinkles in a themed collection.

Check out GoBake onlineClick here to see all the listings for GoBake Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
decoration   edible   gluten free   gobake   nzmade   sprinkles
Other listings you may be interested in:
GoBake FlavacolGoBake Flavacol
Rating: 9.1
GoBake Easy Frost Frosting MixGoBake Easy Frost Frosting Mix
Rating: 7.9
Quick BBQ MarinadeQuick BBQ Marinade
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Steak & Kidney PieMaketu Steak & Kidney Pie
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Traditional Mince pieMaketu Traditional Mince pie
Rating: 8.5
Choc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
Chicken Capri PizzaChicken Capri Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Olive Grove Falafel MixOlive Grove Falafel Mix
Rating: 10.0
Pacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & LimePacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & Lime
Rating: 9.6
Sealord Tuna Express - Tikka MasalaSealord Tuna Express - Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.9
Marcel's Fancy BlinisMarcel's Fancy Blinis
Rating: 9.9
Innestyle Sauce - Double GarlicInnestyle Sauce - Double Garlic
Rating: 9.0
Rice Sticks: TurmericRice Sticks: Turmeric
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 5th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am yet to meet anyone who doesn't like sprinkles! They are always such a fun addition to any baked item, and dessert, they even make a plain yoghurt or ice cream look that whole lot more fancy! Sprinkles were something that I have always had in my pantry before having a child, and something that I now have even more of as a mother of a sprinkle loving 3 year old! I was really excited when I first saw the range of GoBake Sprinkles in store at one of my local supermarkets, I loved that I was able to buy a canister of sprinkles that looked so attractive and better still had a variety of 4 different themed sprinkles per pack! Being unable to decide whether to buy the girl or boy themed pack, I decided to buy both lots , after all the price isn't to bad for the time they will last and for the many uses I would have for them!

Obviously having new sprinkles to try out meant I needed to do some baking, after baking some chocolate cupcakes I whipped up some icing piped it on to the top of the cooled cakes and then decorated the cupcakes with a generous sprinkling of sprinkles, I have to say my favourites were certainly the dinosaurs as I loved the design of these and the colouring and not surprisingly these are the ones which appealed to my daughter the most also. The hearts were also a rather big hit, while the rest of the plainer style sprinkles were also eaten without any complaints!

Since using these on cupcakes I have added them to cookie dough before baking which makes a nice colorful cookie, used them to make fairy bread, and of course added them to ice cream for a special touch! These sprinkles are great for the fact that they do not bleed colours at all, and also as they have no real taste to them (other than the chocolate ones) so there's no need to really worry about whether the taste of them will ruin your baking!

The canister was easy to open and close and the smaller sprinkles sprinkled out without any effort, however I did find that some of the bigger shaped sprinkles required a little bit more effort to get out, as every now and then they would kind of get clogged up at the top of the canister while trying to shake them out.

Overall I can't really fault these sprinkles as they were such fun to use and brightened up so many of my baked products, these are something I will continue to buy as Miss 3 just can't help me bake without adding her special touch of sprinkles!

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Go Bake products are so kid friendly and so much fun! We love these in our home! They are great for so many thing! We have used them to decorate cup cakes, biscuits, cakes and who doesn't love Fairy Bread with a fun twist? My two year old id definitely the biggest fan and thinks he is having "Lolly Sandwiches"

It is great that there is a variety in each container and different themes to choose from the kids love seeing what creature we have when its time for a new container. My daughter loves the love hearts, the two boys adore the dinosaurs. Very clever marketing and perfect for birthday cakes and parties. The sprinkles are quite difficult to get out of the container, over the holes there is plastic that has holes in it for the sprinkles to come out I push these in so they can come out easier but with the big sprinkles it is often still a bit tricky to get them out!

I find these don't really have a taste, the chocolate ones do taste like chocolate but the rest to me just taste like sugar I guess. Still these are a great addition to Ice Cream Sundaes, Cakes, Cupcakes, Cookies and much more.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 22nd of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We love GoBake products in our home, they turn boring every day baking, into exciting creations, and we have tried a number of their options when decorating at home. Miss seven and master twelve are especially big fans, as they love the bright colours and fun shapes. I just love that my ordinary cupcakes look like I have spent hours decorating them, even though I have only spent two minutes lol

I love the GoBake sprinkles collections, because I like that each container comes with a variety of different sprinkles, from your standard 100s and 1000s, to cute ducks, bunnys, love hearts and more. And that you can buy ones suitable for girls and ones suitable for boys, which is very handy when it comes to birthday party baking.

I do however find that some of the sprinkles are easier to get out of the containers than others. We had the sprinkles that had the ducks in it, and I do not know why, but they were a nightmare to get out of the container. Maybe it was a faulty spout on that particular part of the container, because all the other sprinkles flowed out easily. In terms of the taste of the sprinkles, ummmm I am not sure. I do not think they really have a flavour as such. I often think that the love hearts will taste like strawberrys or raspberrys, and the ducks will taste like lemon, and the green shapes in the boys ones will taste like mint, but they all just taste the same...kind of flavourless to be honest. But they are still fun Smile Icon

All in all they are good value for the money, because you get a great range of sprinkles in the one container, and do not have to buy several different bags or containers of various sprinkles. We are huge fans in this house anyway Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 5th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With three kids I do bake a lot of birthday cakes and always try and do something a bit different to the usual round butter cakes with just icing sugar. I found these in the supermarket and thought it would be ideal, the boys have the dinosaur and boy shapes and colours and girls have pink and girly things.

The kids love it and asked if they could have just sprinkles. I have used them on cakes and cupcakes and find that they are value for money as you get so much choice and a little goes a long way, still haven't run out of any of them. Only thing I would prefer is being able to refill the containers instead of having to buy a complete new one every time.

I have bought a giant donut and a giant cupcake mold so guess that will be my next baking adventure, at least I can be confident that the decorations will be great looking and tasting.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 28th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to receive 2 pots of GoBake Sprinkles as a present from a friend!! I love the fact that four different kinds of sprinkles are in the one handy pack, but they aren't just ordinary sprinkles!! I like using hundreds and thousands and chocolate hail to decorate cupcakes and biscuits, but when I was given these pots they are something else, what a great product, the sprinkles are bigger, and have a larger range of colours compared to other sprinkle brands.

I have used them to decorate cupcakes and have been wowed as they have kept their shape and colour, usually I discover after sitting on the icing for a while other brands of sprinkles lose their colour and the colour mixes in with the icing, but not with these sprinkles they keep their colour and shape and give the top of the cupcake a professional look.

I made some cupcakes at work with a group of four year old children and the girls especially loved the pink, white and red colour of the sprinkles, they decorated their cupcake and said they looked very pretty and I must agree. The easy pour spout is perfect too as not too many sprinkles spill out at one time. The sprinkles land on top of the cupcake and not all over the bench etc. due to the extra plastic 'grill' type cover over the pouring spout, which means you need to shake hard-ish to get the sprinkles out which allows the user to control the amount needed, unlike other brands that the sprinkles seem to pour over everything besides the cupcake!

I can't wait until GoBake products are available in my supermarket because I definitely will be purchasing more of these sprinkles they are a great product. I love that they are Gluten Free which is great but the sprinkles contain soy which is a shame, as I have family members that have allergies towards soy. That want stop me buying them of course, they will just have a cupcake without GoBake sprinkles.

Click here to read the profile of kerilittle

Review by: kerilittle (Keri)
Dated: 18th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Having used a product that was packaged similar to these before I was very curious to know what their point of difference was. Firstly this price is cheaper than what I have paid before and secondly the types of sprinkles in the container all go together much better if you want to mix them up. I have used these little pots so many times over the last six weeks, they have been the ice cream/cupcake topping of choice from both my children and I. I just can't believe how far they go, the pots are still only half empty.

I love the fact that these sprinkles do not bleed on the butter cream topping. They taste great and they look fabulous. If I had one criticism, it would simply be to change the opening for the larger sprinkles, I had to break it manually to shake them out quicker.
In summary we have used these gorgeous little yummies on top of bread, cupcakes, ice cream, sponge cakes, fruit (eek) haha everything, and they are fab. I will certainly seek them out and continue to purchase going forward.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 4th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These GoBake Sprinkles Fun and Love Sprinkles are both lovely, bright and attractive to the consumers eye's. I found the packaging easy to read and the levels of the contents also easy to see, my children certainly had no issues opening or closing the tops on these unlike some other brands we have had.

We all agreed that a small amount goes along way and we still have plenty left they still look full so you will get heaps of use from them depending on how over generousness your children or yourself is with using them.
Overall the selection of different options and different colour mixes was a great advantage and compared to the price of buying each separately they are extremely well priced.

We did find that the large items such as sugar crystals and the little balls did not come out easily, they appeared to be needing a bigger hole in the opening. Having a nice mixed selection was good too, from small coloured balls to chocolate hail, to mixed coloured hail. Something to please all in just one purchase.

Would I purchase these products again? Most probably but it would only be if I was out of stock of them in the cupboard again :)

Click here to read the profile of esme

Review by: esme (Esme)
Dated: 31st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We have had so much fun with these little beauties... normally when I buy sprinkles I'm tight with them and they are for baking only but I have let the kids play around with these ones as well. We have had some interesting ideas come from them... Miss 5 wanted to have chocolate hail on her Vegemite toast and things like that. We have also had ice cream, berries and sprinkles, pavlova and sprinkles, sprinkles on cupcakes, sprinkles on their own, banana with nutella and sprinkles. We even had a few days were there were sprinkles on their breakfast cereal.

I love that there are 4 different kinds in each container so there is more to choose from. We have used mostly the "love sprinkles" as its mostly my daughter requesting them on everything and she wants the pink (or the chocolate hail). Considering how much we have used them they really are good value though as there is still quite a few left in the containers.

For some of the bigger things though I did have to operate on the containers and cut off the "grates" to be able to get the bits out as the sprinkles were bigger than the holes they were meant to come out of, but it was easily fixed with a small sharp knife.

Once again the Fun Sprinkles contain colourings 102 and 110 which as I mentioned in the flavacol review are highly dangerous to some people (including myself when I was a child) but in saying that it is almost expected to see these colourings in sprinkles as it is common to find them in these sorts of products. All in all though a great product and I will be buying more when these ones run out because they have been awesome fun for all.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 30th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a sprinkles fan from wayyyyyyyy back, so when i got my GoBake Fun and Love Sprinkles, I was really excited. I tried to taste them all without sharing them with my boy, BUT he caught me :(. I loved how unlike some sprinkles they actually had taste. The chocolate rain (as i call it) was so yummy I could have sat and had it all there and then. I am also a fruit rain fan so this had to be tried right away, I was amazed to find both the fruit and pink/red/white one had a great taste and it was pleasant to eat.

My main problems was with the size of the container, yes it was nice to see it all together and the lids were brilliant as each sprinkle had its own lid which meant there was no mixing, but for my crippled hands it was hard to hold and shake for any length of time. The other thing was most of the sprinkles came out easily, except for the big hard balls. No matter how hard I shook, they didn't want to come out. In the end i modified the lid and sorted out the problem.

The sprinkles got used on cakes, cupcakes, ice cream, iced drinks and Xmas pavlova. I am to say other than the two problems mentioned above, they passed with flying colours and this is a product i plan to use again.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 30th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I use sprinkles quite regularly so I was happy t give these a try. I love the fact you had four different varieties in the same jar, instead of having to buy lots of different products. I decided to try them today on a sherry log and a trifle; knowing I was making these early on in the day would be a good chance to see how they stayed the distance.

Love Sprinkles.
Love, love, loved the colour of the wee square ones, they looked like cute rhinestones and a lot like some Hawaiian sugar crystals I use quite often; these are lot easier to get hold of! The only problem I had with these was they didn't shake out of the container easily, the holes need to be a little bigger. It was quite an effort to get an even covering over the trifle. After many hours in the fridge the colours have bled a little, but nowhere near like some of the other brands available.

Fun Sprinkles.
Once again I liked the diversity of colours and shapes in the jar, however I thought the chocolate sprinkles didn't quite match the theme of the container. These were the ones I wanted to use however, to match the chocolate chip biscuits in the sherry log. Again, it was really hard to get the sprinkles out, but these chocolate ones didn't bleed at all; result!

Overall I like this product apart from the container openings, if the manufacturer could change that slightly that would help. The flavour is lovely, but they are made in China, which seems to be a little weird as they are promoting Gobake as a kiwi brand? But still, good price, good product, have posted a photo on the KIWIreviews FB page of the finished article!

Click here to read the profile of missangel

Review by: missangel (Alex)
Dated: 20th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm not a big sprinkles user, so I did have to think about what I was going to do with these. Firstly my husband and I sat down, opened both types of sprinkes and tasted them all. They were very nice! The chocolate hail actually tasted like chocolate. I've made biscuits and bits and pieces over the last couple of weeks that I've had the products and have added the sprinkles to the icing - they do not melt into the icing! That was the most exciting bit. I thought that with most types of sprinkles, when you put them onto wet icing, they melt and the colour runs, this didnt however happen with the GoBake sprinkles.

The small balls that were in the sprinkle mixes were hard, so I was a bit worried about how I would use them with small children that like to put things up their noses, but thankfully when added into a biscuit mix they softened up. Most of the sprinkles were used on icecream with friends to make the icecream that little bit more classy (choc hail on mint icecream made from peppermint flavacol yum yum!), but I plan to use the rest on my xmas biscuits when I start making them just before christmas.

Overall the price is good - they rival the other brands on the market, Good amount of sprinkles in the containers - no gaps in the top where more sprinkles could have been! Very tasty sprinkles, not bland and boring but they didnt interfere with the flavoring of the products they were put into, they held their colour and shape as one would expect and when husband left the lid off of one of them for a few days, they didnt go stale!

Click here to read the profile of wiggle34

Review by: wiggle34 (Trish)
Dated: 20th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Lovely, bright and attractive to the eye's including those small children's eyes. My extremely fussy 5yr old played and even ate these and that is saying something.

I found the packaging easy to read and the levels of the contents also easy to see, the children had no issues opening or closing the tops on these unlike some other brands we have, though they did struggle with their small hands to use them, my youngest more than anything but he is small for his age. We did find that the larger coloured balls did not come out easily, even I had problems with them, though the larger sugar crystals came out fine. Having a nice mixed selection was good too, from small coloured balls to chocolate hail, to mixed coloured hail. Something to please all in just one purchase.

A small amount goes along way and I still have plenty left they still look full so you will get heaps of use from them depending on how over generousness your children or yourself is with using them :)

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

FINALLY got a chance to put these through their paces - not being much of one for sprinkles it took some planning to work out where I could include them. In the end it was a fall-back "just dump a pile on top of ice-cream and thickshakes" plan that came about in time.

For me, not being a huge sprinkles fan, they passed muster but didn't really hammer me with any WOW factor - they are very much like the other sprinkles on the market. Where they DID impress me though was in the themed collections aspect, and the multi-compartment container. After taking a quick look, and making an executive decision, the clippers came out and all the little grids in the mouths of the dispenser went the way of the Dodo in record time. Shaking out the desired quantity then became a little trickier, but a lot less frustrating!

My boys both loved the "Fun Sprinkles" pack the most - Mr12 because he felt the pink ones were a little too girlie for his tastes, and Mr4 because he's naturally drawn to lots of riotous colours in close proximity to each other. I think is he got caught in the blast from a confetti cannon he would be lost in polychromic bliss! I had to giggle when I caught him trying to line up some multicolour sprinkles that had fallen on the bench, into a rainbow.

Overall, though you could go out and buy all these in larger, individual packets, this container offers you easy storage, and a convenient way to give a variety of sprinkle options without having to mess around with multiple bags/boxes/jars. -click- open one compartment, sprinkle, -click- it closed and make your next selection! Worth keeping around for the kids, for sure! Especially over holidays. And the "craft-hobbyists" amongst you may see many possible recycling options for this clever little container - glitter, more sprinkles, coloured sands, sequins, seed beads, etc.

Click here to read the profile of 4possm

Review by: 4possm (Chris)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Chocolate hail & Hundreds and Thousands are a staple in most people's baking pantries including my own and the idea of having such a great multitude of different options in two containers appealed to me immediately. With some baking on the cards over the last two weekends we made sure to make good use of as many of the different options available between the two containers.

On to the chocolate cake went the choc hail and a dashing of the pink & white hail and sugar crystals. The different colours and textures added that extra layer of greatness to the look of the cake. When I tried to add some of the larger coloured balls though is where I ran into a slight issue, unfortunately the holes cut in the lids were too small to allow the items to come out easily enough so it did take a lot of rigorous shaking to coax enough out. The container met the scalpel very quickly after this where I made the holes for the larger items slightly larger to make it easier to shake them out in future. The obligatory fairy bread came out to test the Hundreds and Thousands and brought back the childhood memories of birthday parties etc. My 6yo of course loved these and apparently they tasted good dipped in tomato sauce too (too weirded out to try it myself)

Overall the selection of different options and different colour mixes was a great advantage and compared to the price of buying each separately they are extremely well priced.

With my only real gripe being the hole size for the larger items being too small, this in itself was easily fixed with a scalpel or sharp knife so did not drop the score down too much. As a father of a 6yo boy the Love Sprinkles will most likely not see too many days out except for school fairs etc however I can see me reusing and repurchasing the Fun Sprinkles a lot.

Click here to read the profile of cat

Review by: cat (Catherine)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have 2 girls, Miss 6 1/2 and a Miss 5 tomorrow! When I opened the box up and they saw the sprinkles there was almost a fist fight over who would get the pink Love Sprinkles!! Craziness! They both look great and I love the idea of having options. The cross hatching is GREAT for the 100's and 1000's BUT make the other shapes all but impossible to get out. It was out with a sharp knife and off with the annoying plastic bits quick smart.

First up I sampled each one, I thought they were all great, good taste and texture wise but I would be wary about the coloured balls and the sugar crystal type pieces as they were quite hard.

I had made a lot of mini muffins and biscuits, which I iced with the Go Bake Frosting and then tried to shake all varieties of sprinkles on to. I found this wasn't a very effective method so ended up pouring each type into a little bowl (individually) and dipping the biscuits and mini muffins into them. This was a very quick and effective method. Everything stuck well, was nicely presented and stayed in place when stacked in containers, travelling to school this morning and being handed out so I was very pleased - as were the children on the receiving end.

I love these sprinkles, such a neat idea. I will buy again for special occasions I am sure. I'd love to see some blue and green colours done like the pink too.

Click here to read the profile of raz_1984

Review by: raz_1984 (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I opened my box and saw these...wow! I have been searching everywhere for reasonably priced pink sprinkles for my daughters party, and these are perfect! Priced at only $4.99, I would definitely be buying these again. The colours are vibrant in both containers, and with 4 different varieties in each container, it is great value for money.

I used the Love Sprinkles for different aspects of my daughters party. The normal sprinkles were great for Fairy Bread and on the cake like normal use. But I also tried dipping marshmallows after they had their ends cut off and dipped in the sprinkles, and I also did half of them dipped in chocolate sauce first then sprinkles. The coloured hail was also fun and looked great on top of piled high frosting. I did not like the coloured balls though, they are not very easy to eat and reminded me of those little silver balls, of which are also hard to eat. The only other problem I had with those and the crystal-type ones is that I can't get them out of the container very easy! The hole needs to be bigger. It is perfect for the 100s and 1000s and hail though.

Fun Sprinkles. The colours are certainly fun! The 100s and 1000s, chocolate hail and coloured hail are always standard in our house, so to have them in one container is excellent! Saves space in my pantry and I can't lose them very easily being a bigger container. Same problem with the coloured balls though, they do not come out of the container very easily. These fun colours make any cupcake bright and cheerful.

I would have no problem purchasing these, they should be a staple in any pantry!

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 16th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was quite excited when i received these! They look awesome and i loved that there were 4 different sprinkles in one container... Something i would definitely buy again as it seems such a better deal to get four different options in one! Ive used sprinkles (100's and 1000's as well as a pink/strawberry glitter dusting) in my baking for a long time but nothing like these goodies!

When i made Christmas tree brownies which i piped icing onto i used the big balls to decorate (i had the image in mind of balls on a Christmas tree) but i found these really hard to shake out, they keep getting stuck ... I ended up shaking them into my hand before putting them on one by one. After reading the other reviews im going to try cutting the plastic as i hadnt thought of that!

These taste great and definitely add that 'extra' special something to your baking! I let my niece go wild with some cupcakes (which i had previously made), the icing in a piping bag and some sprinkles which she totally LOVED! I loved that i could let her loose with this containers knowing i wasnt going to end up with a bag of sprinkles all over my kitchen floor!

I made my own set of cupcakes with different sprinkles on them which everyone raved about so i was pleased that they looked extra good for the special occasion of Christmas! I always find it nice being able to share baking with family and friends. Lastly i also used the choc hail on top of the Profiteroles filled with go bake easy frosting vanilla cream which made for the perfect match. It actually add a slight taste of chocolate!

I am definitely recommending these to others and will be buying more myself! :)

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 15th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When i saw these, they looked great, 4 different sprinkles in a container. Each having their own opening to sprinkle out. I dont normally bake with sprinkles etc so thought giving these a go might brighten up the baking and give it a bit of a jazzy look.

When my kids saw these sitting on the bench they asked for ice-cream and new sprinkles (we have 100's and 1000's normally). As i opened one of the 1 compartments to sprinkle onto the ice cream (the big balls) they wouldn't sprinkle out, they kept getting stuck so I have had to cut the top of it so they pour out a bit better.

This is so easy to use and the kids can do it too, they taste great and look great. We have popped them on cupcakes and ice-cream. I do have to say the balls are a bit hard to bite but have a sweet taste to them, and great for making faces on icecream cones. The hail looking sprinkles are another i had to cut the tops for but make the cakes looks great just with a few shakes also good on ice cream.

My daughter loves the pink range as she said "its for girls" . They are perfect for for any girls birthday, we recently did a cupcake decorating party with some girls and they all had a go with the love sprinkles, their faces all lit up as they mastered the art of sprinkling their own cakes (sadly my camera was flat)

The way the packaging is, gives you the impression of easy bake and it is, no more mucking around unscrewing lids, pulling packets open, just a quick flip of a lid and tip, though some may require a cut or two and off you go. Prefect to keep in the cupboard for those parties or wanting to make something different. For the price of $4.99 i would be buying once i run out of these ones, 4 different sprinkles in one place who can say no to that...

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When i first saw these I was really pleased, the packaging looks great, I love the variety you get for the price and that the container conceals them so they do not spill....the amount of times I've had sprinkles bags split open and them end up on the floor isn't amusing!.

I thought that the pink ones were fantastic if you have a little girl to decorate baking for. I love the colour combo and would love to see the same thing in greens/blues for little boys.

I used all the pink sprinkles for a cake we made my mother in law, my son suggested that girls like pink so we could ice and decorate it pink. All the sprinkles came out fairly easy, the wee rock candys took a bit more shaking but the lids stayed on the other kinds so it was ok. I also decorated some raspberry cupcakes which the kids loved!

The fun sprinkles are great to keep in the cupboard for every day use. I found the large balls were extreamly hard to get out, and not that nice to eat as they were very hard and didn't want my children to bite on them (or choke). I tried to bake these ones in some orange choc chip cookies and they balls melted down and just left wee blobs of colour through the cookie which was a hit with my children.

Overall both the fun and love sprinkle packs are great, for the price i think that these will be very popular in the supermarket and i can't wait to see and try other variations on the sprinkles.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I first got these, I thought 'these look so pretty!'. And they are. The 'Fun' pack are son nice and bright and colourful. Whereas the 'Love' pack as so soft and sweet. Having some on their own, they are sweet (as to be expected), but a little too sweet for me to eat straight, which is something that I do like to do with sprinkles and 100's & 1000's.

I used these to decorate my peppermint creams (made with peppermint flavacol) which suited the green perfectly. The sprinkles were nice and soft, which matched with the softness of the peppermint creams, and the colours looked beautiful on the green.

There was one that I didn't like at all. As I mentioned above, I like to eat these straight, and so I popped some of the bigger balls into my mouth and ouch! Couldn't bite them at all, just not nice at all, so I was at quite a loss as to what to use these for. I was making a batch of biscuits, so I threw these in the mix (along with mango flavocol) and shoved it in the oven unsure of the results. The balls melted nicely in the biscuits and added a nice taste to it.

Overall these are nice, and they're going to really brighten up any baking that I do. I don't like the big balls, but since I can chuck them in biscuits and let them melt away, at least I know that I can use everything in these packs up.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well by now its pretty obvious I like my natural products so the E numbers on this aren't going to get a tick from me. Having said that everything else about this product gets a big tick from me and the family.

We have a variety of cake decorating products and I must say the cost of sprinkles always stuns me. At $4.99 a container I think these are good value as in each container there are four compartments each with its own lid. The Love Sprinkles is perfect for anything girly. I loved the pink and white crystals which despite worrying they would crack my teeth didn't. The same as the hard balls which are a fantastic red, pink and white. They are a bit softer however than silver balls so I am more likely to use these instead I think unless I really need silver. My only issue with these was that the balls didn't come out of their grid easily and when I tried to get some back in it was really tricky (so I ate them instead...). My little misses absolutely loved this range so I imagine we will be having this as a staple in the pantry now and our banana splits are going to be pink themed from now on!

The Fun Sprinkles are much the same just different colours. Same issues with the larger balls not coming out easily and the odd bit going from one compartment to another. They are yummy to eat so I have to confess to eating them by themselves as a sugar hit! We used these on ice-cream which was cool as the colours all mix like a rainbow. On my favourite rice bubble slice they jazzed it up perfectly. I liked that this had the chocolate sprinkles as well (like chocolate hail) and they are a bit more'ish.

With both the Love Sprinkles and the Fun Sprinkles you are only limited by your imagination with how you use these. They are a brilliant staple to have in your kitchen cupboard to jazz up anything you can think of! I will definitely be keeping these on hand as it is so much more cost effective than buying bigger containers of all the different sprinkle options.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 6th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

GoBake Sprinkles Collections - are just gorgeous, there are four types of different sprinkles in each canister, for the low price of $5.00. These are the perfect product for taking your humble home baking into a work of art. Because I really wanted to give these a work out, my daughters and I used these on biscuits, ice cream, a cake I made and on their ice cream desert!

I did think I was better than the product and tipped it into a saucer to cover my biscuits efficiently, this is not recommended the shaker method or the design of the product is the best way to disperse these sprinkles! Occasionally you get one from the other selection come through your chosen design, but I think this just adds to the fun!

I really found the love sprinkles just so perfect and girly, they really were easy to use, and made the baking just look so pretty! There is a good variety of shapes and the larger circles we hadn't seen before and these were the ones the kids were keen to try as they wanted to know if they were like silver ball, - nope they are better than silver balls! I think these are wonderful value for money, and now I have started using them I won't stop, if in a few shakes of the GoBake sprinkles I become a world class baker in the eyes of my family and friends, then the $5.00 investment is gold!

Click here to read the profile of mgslegaspi

Review by: mgslegaspi (Grace)
Dated: 6th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Been lucky to received GoBake Sprinkles Collections to review as I have never bought these things before. But I have good memories of these sugar candy sprinkles from my childhood. My mum used to buy this for us and we love eating them as is, specially the rainbow color ones, what we're doing is we're melting it on our tongue so it will have blue, red colors. Funny but really enjoyed it a lot at that time.

I love to bake and make sweet treats so upon receiving this I thought to use this as soon as possible. I have made a peppermint marshmallow and use these sprinkles on top of it. It made the marshmallow more exciting as plain marshmallow looks dull and boring.

GoBake Sprinkles Collections are really good because in each container you get 4 different kinds in 4 separate compartments. My favourite between the two is the Love Sprinkles, as the pink and white crystals looks so pretty.

The price of each container is not too bad as you get 4 various sprinkles, which means you don't need to buy separate container to get different kinds. The packaging is very attractive, transparent container gives justice to it, however the first time I opened the lead of one compartment, it snapped and pulled apart from the rest. I noticed that the plastic used for the lead is very crisp so there are chances that it will break eventually. But nonetheless it's all good.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 1st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When my daughter pulled the sprinkles out of the box her eyes just about popped out of her head she could not wait to start baking. Unfortunately, she had to wait for two days and that was just to much for her so we had on ice-cream the first night.

I think the idea is fantastic!! Having four chambers with different 'sprinkles' is an awesome idea and works great for the small sprinkles but not so much with the bigger items. Unfortunately the holes are just too small for likes of the balls and the big chocolate flakes, you shake it and you are lucky if you get one or two sprinkles out of it which is not great when you have two girls jumping on your legs dying to taste all the different flavours. Saying that they do taste devine and absolutely no complaints from anyone!!!

We made cupcakes and a Vanilla Cake and we tried each item on a different cupcake (luckily I made 30 small cakes). You could tell what the favourites were as they were the first cakes to go. My three year old loves the Princess (Love) sprinkles where as my baby loved the chocolate sprinkles. My husband really did not have a preference and so ended up eating a lot of the princess cakes as that is what he was served where as I like the small rainbow variety sprinkles (reminds me of Mr Whippy).

The red/pink/white flavour which we have called the Princess Sprinkles are fantastic for anyone with little fairies or princesses. They look great on cakes, cup cakes and yes ice cream. I think they would work great on fairy bread as well. The Rainbow sprinkles which we just call Sprinkles are also great and really could use them anywhere also and they have the chocolate flakes which I love. I made a Vanilla Cake and used all 4 flavours on it and they work fantastically together.

For $5 I think they are a great price. I might have to operate on some of the container nozzles so they can flow more easily but for the fact you can cater for everyone in one pot is just fantastic.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was so happy to be given the opportunity to review these as I love sprinkles and these are a great collection of various different shape and size sprinkles. Certainly more exciting than your average container of hundreds and thousands. At only $4.99 they are much cheaper than similar products on the market so I would definetly make them a personal choice when it comes to buying more.

The packaging is great how they are divided into the four compartments with holes to pour on each compartment and seperate lids so you can use one at a time. The one thing I found was that the larger sprinkles like the candy balls where quite hard to get out of the holes how they had the grates across them so perhaps the bigger sprinkles could have a bigger hole. They were also hard to put back in after I had poured them out to pick out all the yellow coloured sprinkles for my yellow cupcakes.

I liked the love sprinkles these would be fantastic for a fairy party with the pinks and whites. I made pink fairy bread for my daughters lunch with the smallest hundreds and thousands and my daughter used them to decorate her icecream. The little sparkly candy rocks are really cool my daughter thought they looked like little gem stones. They are something different that I have never seen before.

The fun sprinkles were a nice variety too with your hundreds and thousands, and chocolate hail and then the larger coloured balls. I likened the balls to cachous but they tasted a lot nicer and were better colours. I used them to make eyes on my iced biscuits and they looked really good. I used the chocolate hail on icecream which looked great. I also used the sprinkles inside a chocolate sponge with cream as an alternative to jam which was really nice and gave a different texture to the sponge.

Again as with the other GoBake products I would recommend them to my friends and family and would love to see them on my local supermarket shelves. Was really impressed with the variety and would happily buy them again when I have cupcakes to decorate I perhaps won't go to the extreme of picking out a certain colour again though.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 27th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was very pleased to get the two packs of GoBake Sprinkles to try with my baking. I don't tend to buy sprinkles as they come in small packs and are generally pretty pricey. I have seen some multipacks like this on the market, but they can be $8 or more. I'm pretty frugal when it comes to baking goodies, so I'm pleased to see the price on these being under $5.

The Fun Sprinkles are a good all purpose Sprinkles pack. You get your classic hundreds and thousands, and chocolate hail. Then you get the rainbow hail which is another classic and lastly these larger rainbow balls. They look like hundreds and thousands for giants. The Love Sprinkles pack is quite girly in comparison, but I'm so glad they called it a Love pack. I have seen other baking items on the market that would have specifically called these sprinkles "girls" sprinkles. I just don't buy into that gender stuff. Plenty of little boys get excited about pink fairy cakes and my daughter's favourite colour is blue.

As for using these sprinkles I found the pack itself easy to get into. The safety seal came off easily. I could pop the lids open and they didn't get too in the way as I was pouring the sprinkles out. But the grate system on the holes was annoying. The larger sprinkle pieces didn't flow easily out and I had to keep shaking madly to get anything. Eventually I got what I needed though.

As far as versatility, the sprinkles were great. I used them to decorate a cake, I used them inside a lemon cake to give a confetti effect. I dipped sugar cookies in chocolate and then dipped the chocolate in sprinkles with my daughter. That made a fun activity for the weekend. We could easily have made some chocolate freakles as well, but we ran out of chocolate. The other thing we made was reindeer food with rolled oats and sprinkles. This worked really well and looked very effective. Overall apart from the openings for the larger sprinkles, I was very happy with the product.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 26th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love sprinkles and when I saw a pack containing four different types of sprinkles I was in Heaven. I knew that I would have fun with my team of preschoolers experimenting the different things we could do with them. We certainly did. Their eyes lit up when I produced them.

The container with its four chambers was great to select what I wanted. The lid contained flaps that sealed over each chamber. The theory is great but in practice the hole is too small to let the large balls out. I had to cut it to make it bigger. It would have been great if there was a dial on the lid with different sized holes like many salt containers have so whether I wanted a sprinkle or a huge amount I could select. I would also have appreciated the lid to be removable so I could return the sprinkles that were left on the plate.

I made confetti cupcakes containing fun sprinkles, large balls and chocolate hail and orange flavacol. The cupcakes looked very appealing and tasted great. Although the large balls come in several different colours the green and red colours were the ones that stood out making it look very Christmasy. This is due in part to the orange colour of the cupcakes. The chocolate hail looked like tiny chocolate chips.

I also added the sugar rocks and hundreds and thousands from the love sprinkles collection to a biscuit dough I made that contained chocolate flavocol. I topped them with banana frosting and repeated the sprinkles on top. The biscuits themselves were as hard as rock and the sprinkles weren't very visible. It just looked like I hadn't mixed the sugar in properly. The dark colour of the biscuits probably hid the pink and white sprinkles. I think they were so hard because of the sugar content in the rock sprinkles. The kids and my husband were more than happy to polish them off once they were decorated with frosting and more sprinkles.

I think these are a fun thing to have in the pantry to entertain the kids on a wet day. They would be essential for those cupcake parties that seem to be the fashion for little girl's birthdays at the moment. They are cheap enough that you could have a couple of each variety on the table and the kids will be very happy. I'll be making sure i have some in my cupboard.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 7551: ViBERi Cacao
Brand / Manufactured by: ViBERi

Product image for ViBERi CacaoOrganic freeze dried blackcurrants are rolled in organic premium Belgian 70% Dark chocolate to give your taste buds an enlightening experience, then dusted with powdered Cacao.

Beautiful Belgian chocolate followed by a crunchy zesty center will make any aficionado feel nothing but pure delight.

    •  Organic premium Belgian 70% dark chocolate
    •  100% ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Political language... is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind."
George Orwell (1903 - 1950)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream