Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 18th October 2019 - 19:19:55

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fiction > Mr Chen's Emporium review

« Living to Write the End reviewLiving to Write the EndThe Hydrogen Sonata reviewThe Hydrogen Sonata »

Score: 9.5/10  [1 review]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 3622 - Mr Chen's Emporium
Written by Deborah O’Brien

Mr Chen's Emporium
Price:
$38.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Penguin Random House

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
October 2012

Mr Chen's Emporium product reviews

'The smell of exotic spices enveloped her in a fragrant cloud. Taking a deep breath, she stepped into the shop. Above her strings of brass bells tinkled like fairies' laughter.'

In 1872, seventeen year-old Amy Duncan arrives in the Gold Rush town of Millbrooke, having spent the coach journey day-dreaming about glittering pavilions and gilded steeples. What she finds is a dusty main street lined with ramshackle buildings. That is until she walks through the doors of Mr Chen's Emporium, a veritable Aladdin's cave, and her life changes forever. Though banned from the store by her dour clergyman father, Amy is entranced by its handsome owner, Charles Chen.

In present-day Millbrooke, recently widowed artist Angie Wallace has rented the Old Manse where Amy once lived. When her landlord produces an antique trunk containing Amy's intriguingly diverse keepsakes - both Oriental and European - Angie resolves to learn more about this mysterious girl from the past. And it's not long before the lives of two very different women, born a century apart, become connected in the most poignant and timeless ways.

Check out Penguin Random House onlineClick here to see all the listings for Penguin Random House Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
asian   deborah obrien   family   fiction   gold rush   historical   history   romance
Other listings you may be interested in:
Edward and the Great  DiscoveryEdward and the Great  Discovery
Rating: 9.3
Fishtales Far-Fetched and FoulFishtales Far-Fetched and Foul
Rating: 8.0
Spiral Ops : 1 : SpiralSpiral Ops : 1 : Spiral
Rating: 9.3
Dragon Knight #1: Fire!Dragon Knight #1: Fire!
Rating: 9.4
Captain America - The Movie StorybookCaptain America - The Movie Storybook
Rating: 9.3
Dear Mum, I Love YouDear Mum, I Love You
Rating: 10.0
Secret Agent Derek 'Danger' Dale: The Case of Animals Behaving Really, REALLY BadlySecret Agent Derek 'Danger' Dale: The Case of Animals Behaving Really, REALLY Badly
Rating: 10.0
Fluffy and Scruffy: A Tale of Two KittensFluffy and Scruffy: A Tale of Two Kittens
Rating: 10.0
Be Brave, Pink Piglet!Be Brave, Pink Piglet!
Rating: 8.5
KiwicornKiwicorn
Rating: 10.0
Rascal and the CheeseRascal and the Cheese
Rating: 9.1
The Super Hero SquadThe Super Hero Squad
Rating: 8.3
Ghosts of the PastGhosts of the Past
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

The cover on this book is very catchy and definitely piqued my interest. I won't explain the plot as this is well covered above.

Told in the third person this is the story of two women over two different centuries in the same town. The story begins with 17 year old Amy and I immediately wasn't sure I was going to enjoy this book but within a few pages I was captivated. Thankfully I was having a rare escape so was able to read this over a couple of days as I was totally engrossed in this story. I especially enjoyed reading the story of Amy, as I am a bit of a historical novel buff, but Angie's story was enjoyable also. Both stories held me and I really wanted to find out what was going to happen. There is nothing like a good romance novel and this had all the elements of a very good read. The stories of Amy and Angie were incredibly well woven together and are both very believable.

I would have loved this story to continue in this book but the author has a sequel in the pipeline so I will be eagerly awaiting this for the conclusion of Angie's story. I don't want to ruin the book by writing too much about the development of the story but it is just so believable and enjoyable. At the end is an author's note, Q&A with Deborah O'Brien, and reading group questions so this is a good book if you have a book club.

I would recommend this if you like a good romance or historical story and it is a very absorbing read so brilliant to take on holiday or on a plane or train trip (or just to curl up and read). A fantastic first novel and I look forward to reading more!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6672: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In -  Author: James Dashner

Product image for Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-InThe second book in the Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. This special movie tie-in hardcover edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is a curious thing... that every creed promises a paradise which will be absolutely uninhabitable for anyone of civilized taste."
Evelyn Waugh (1903 - 1966)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream