Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:27:17

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box review

« Reece's Pieces Theatre Box reviewReeceEarthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking Soda reviewEarthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking Soda »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 7.9/10  [14 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3610 - Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box
Manufactured by Angry Bird Snacks

Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box
Price:
$4.90
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
Via Online store and Retail Outlets

Angry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box product reviews

Cherry, Lemon, Raspberry, Apple, Grape and Strawberry. Fat Free. Nut Free. Gluten Free. Made with Real Fruit Juice. Contains natural and artificial flavours.

Collect All 4 boxes (red, yellow, green and blue). 99g.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
angry birds   fruit   gummies   jube   mexican   sweet
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raspberry VinegarRaspberry Vinegar
Rating: 9.8
Mr HangiMr Hangi
Rating: 9.0
Eggplant KassoundiEggplant Kassoundi
Rating: 8.1
Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - CinnamonMrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon
Rating: 9.0
Awesome Naturals - Fizzy BottlesAwesome Naturals - Fizzy Bottles
Rating: 9.0
Jelly Belly Smoothie BlendJelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Rating: 8.2
Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut SoupTasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup
Rating: 8.1
Mexicana pizzaMexicana pizza
Rating: 8.5
Sauce for Fruit - Maple & WalnutSauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut
Rating: 8.5
Veggie Delights - Casserole MinceVeggie Delights - Casserole Mince
Rating: 9.8
Verkerks Traditional Aged SalamiVerkerks Traditional Aged Salami
Rating: 10.0
Tegel Party BitesTegel Party Bites
Rating: 8.4
Quick BBQ MarinadeQuick BBQ Marinade
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 25th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have purchased these twice now and I have to say that they do have both good and bad points about them. So I will start at the beginning, I like the packaging. It is bright and the "Angry Birds" appeal to kids and adults alike. I also LOVE the that when you open the box the lollies are sealed inside a separate plastic package. Unlike some Wonka candy boxes where the candy often sticks to the inside of the box, this prevents that issue.

The lollies themselves were stuck together and quite hard to pull apart, my partner pointed out that this was just a great excuse to eat more of them. They actually have quite a nice flavour to them, they do not taste "artificial" and they are nice and soft. They are not something I could sit down and eat the whole box of however, although my partner and son disagree so I guess that comes down to personal preference.

I have to admit I did purchase these for my son purely because of the "Angry Birds" branding, but I think this is quite cool and hard to come by in New Zealand. Would recommend, especially to Angry Birds fans.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

A visually appealing package to Mr 3 and Mr 4 who both instantly recognised the Angry Bird image and wanted to see what was inside.

The box was easy to open unlike the scissors-needed package inside, letting out a very sweet pleasant aroma. Once opened the boys eagerly sorted the gummies , once pulling them apart and putting them into colour piles then the best part taste testing and even letting me share. We all enjoyed the flavoursome gummy lollies. I could tell the different flavours apart but the boys just decided they were all YUM! while chewing their way through the box full.

I would not personally buy these unless it was a present for an avid Angry Birds fan. Thank you KIWIreviews and United Sweets for letting us try these popular morsels of sweetness.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 26th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Anyone who has become addicted to this crazy craze will love these wee treats and not mind paying $4.90 for them. I personally wont. The packaging is eye catching and easy to open which is always a bonus but the bag inside was a little tricky especially if you gave the bag to Mr 4 to open :)

Once open I had to remind Mr 4 not to greadily shove them all in his mouth but to take one at a time and tell me what he thought. Lemon... yum, apple....yum, grape....yum and so on Smile Icon Mum's turn to try. I found quite a number of the lollies were stuck together and once pulling them apart found it hard to see the wee faces, if I was a fan that would bother me. All the flavours were quite nice especially the lemon and grape, the texture was nice and chewy and very moreish.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 25th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The Angry Birds Fruit Gummies came in a cool looking box that my elder children told me depicted them as American sweets. This is obviously very important to them as the intonation on AMERICAN was strong.

The box was only half full, which is common with most packaging these days, but putting myself in the position of a child I would be a little disappointed. The jellies themselves were so cute! They were all shaped like the angry bird characters and the different colours were different flavours. I found the colours aesthetically pleasing and I liked the ideas of different flavours. The kids liked them, saying they were chewy and yummy. I found them like gummy bears, and I enjoyed them as something different. The red ones were my favourite!

Would I buy them again? I wouldn't buy them as a regular lolly for the family, but I would buy them to put with birthday presents as I think they are quite a neat treat.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 15th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I opened the packet all I could smell was the artificial scent of cherries I don't know if it was because this is such a strong smell or if I am so opposed to that particular scent but I could not smell much else other than the cherry. I love cherries but not the artificial flavour of cherry. I held each individual flavour up to my nose for closer inspection but the scent that kept coming through was definetly cherry so other than having the box to correlate flavour with colour I was completely in the dark as to which was which.

I tasted each individual flavour separately having breaks in between so as not to mingle the flavours together. My favourite was the lemon, it was the one that tasted the most like what it said it was. After that was probably the grape which again I thought tasted most natural which is probably because the sweets themselves are made using real grape juice. Once you got past the cherry scent the cherry flavoured one also wasn't too bad but would definetly not make first choice.

The texture is much like most gummy lollies like gummy bears or coke bottles, soft but a little chewy at the same time. I'm more fond of the real soft fruit lollies as I have terrible teeth but these weren't so chewy that they hurt my teeth like some sweets do so that is good. I liked the small size and the cute little shapes.

The box is very appealing to young children as it has the angry bird characters and is a nice bright yellow. When I first looked at it I thought it would make a good addition to the Christmas stocking as it is something a little different and I like to put things in the stockings that my daughter wouldn't of seen before in stores like the warehouse or the supermarket. The box is really clear and displays all the nutritional information and ingredients so you can see it straight away.

Overall I would give these lollies a 7 out of 10. I would buy them for my children but I probably wouldn't eat them myself, I do have a sweet tooth but more for chocolate! However I did like the fact that these said they were fat free always a bonus and to make it even better they were nut free which meant I could feel safe to let my daughter who is allergic to peanuts eat them too.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 15th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

WOW when these turned up I put them on the bench and thought I would check them later on, 10 minutes later the box was opened (not sure how that happened) and then a packet inside was also opened again have no clue on how that happened. I was hit with a yummy smell, a sweet smell, almost like cherries, lemon and grapes together.

This smell was just so good i had to try the lollies, I pulled them out and played with them like I do with gummi bears, nice and soft and each lolly taste good. Each one had its own smell and flavour. I love the cherry and lemon ones, oh who are we kidding I love them all. The words Fat Free make me feel better that they are all gone now though, and I didnt even share with the kids even though they are Gluten Free as well.

So if you want something with full flavour with a great smell then have a go at these, they are full of it all.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Surprisingly, I was able to overcome my hesitation to engage with anything "Angry Birds" related and give these a serious try. Upon opening the packet - no mean feat to accomplish cleanly, I assure you - I was presented with a few clumps of assorted coloured jelly bits... which, after careful teasing apart, revealed themselves to be the jelly characters!

Telling some of them apart was a mission, but the easy way was also the best way - pop them in your mouth and chew. The flavours were subtle in some cases, not so subtle in others. My favourites had to be the lemon and apple, as they had flavours that felt more familiar. My least favourite would have to be the grape, as it is a flavour I have never been a huge fan of.

After eating one of each flavour, I was left with a small pile, so I added these to some melted dark cooking chocolate along with a couple of handfuls of mini marshmallows, some shaved coconut, and some chopped dried cranberries, to make an almost-but-not-quite Rocky Road block... which disappeared so quickly I didn't get a chance to take any decent photos!

Overall, these were fun candies, but not ones I would probably buy again. The same, or better, flavours are available in far less costly candy, even at the supermarket pick'n'mix bins. What makes these so unique really is the merchandising aspect of them in relation to the Angry Birds meme. If I was to buy these again, it would be as a gift for someone who holds a special place in their heart for a bunch of mutant sparrows on a revenge kick! Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 1st of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As soon as I saw these I was immediately reminded of the good old Gummy Bear gummies from years ago, only I saw that these ones were technically a healthy option (if you ignore the artificial colours).

I liked the Raspberry, Grape, Apple and Strawberry as they had a great taste, but I'm not a huge fan of Cherry or Lemon sweets and so I really didn't try them, but I convinced my other family members to try these and they were of the opinion that they were okay in flavour (they must have been as they all vanished soon afterwards).

Each company that makes these Gummy sweets has to have a gimmick and in this instance they have chosen a mobile game that has taken smartphones and tablets by storm. And I think in this instance it will work for them as the Angry Birds merchandising is really taking off.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I must say, these sweets were actually quite nice, they had a nice variety of flavours, and they tasted pretty good, the downside is that they are a bit too chewy. The gummies had a nice appearance, though it would have been cooler if they were a bit more 3D, they were just a flat design that had just been made thick.

The design of the box was well done, and I liked how there was a cut-out of one of the Angry Bird characters on the box, so when you collect the other 3 types of boxes that are available you can have a nice little assortment of characters to display in any manner you wish! The price is good, $4.90 is a great price for a small assortment of snacks like this. The value is perfect, price is good, taste is great and therefore it gets a 100% thumbs-up in my book. Enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As usual, I wasnt able to test these all to myself because the departure of the courier after delivery brought about the arrival of the local whanau, another of life's great mysteries. Even though the bag weighed in at a fair 99g that still provides a ball of gummies that disappeared in seconds once the mokopuna got their hands on them. I managed to get one of each flavour at least.

The flavours I enjoyed the most were Lemon, which wasnt very lemony but still tasted quite nice, and apple, which was quite pleasant and probably my favourite of them all. I wasnt really impressed by the grape or any of the berry flavours myself but if the reactions of the younger ones is anything to judge by, they were all very appealing to the target market.

This was a very American snack, from the extreme sugar to the highly commercial theme. The only way this could have been more tacky would have been if they had done them in just red, white and blue. But on the stern advice of the mokopuni, I have been instructed to buy these to hand out for Halloween. I suspect I will be the target of many tricks, because I don't give out candy on that night. Call it a cultural preference if you like. Wink Icon Still, these could be worth getting as Christmas approaches because the kids certainly seem to like the idea of me stuffing my home-made crackers with little bags of gummie fowl.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 16th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My daughter is firmly engaged with the Angry Birds franchise. She plays the game at every opportunity, and as a result we have just about every free game and update imaginable. They appear in her art and free play as well. So when I got this box of gummies I was very popular.

The cardboard box is bright and appealing. I got a yellow one, and it has Yellow Bird on it, which can be cut out to keep. I liked this because we were planning an Angry Birds party in the future so I can use it as a decoration. I also like that I can get the other birds on different boxes.

The box itself was easy to get into, but the bag inside was very difficult to open. I can't imagine trying to do that in a movie theatre. I was also disappointed that most of the gummies were stuck together.

My daughter sat and helped me pull them apart. She then proceeded to play with her food. She set up the piggies on some LPS play equipment she had. She made a slingshot and started firing the birds at the pigs. She then ate anything that "didn't make it".

The box did not last very long and I only got to try one myself (the joys of being distracted by baby). The taste was nice. The texture was chewy and a little tough. They were nice enough, but their entertainment value was excellent. We have already bought another packet, but I don't think we would have if it wasn't Angry Birds branded.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 16th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We aren't angry bird followers/fans so weren't looking at these for it's merchandising value. However if I was a fan I would like that this is a collectors type item. Collect all four boxes which are different colours and have a different bird to cut out on on each box.

Hubby thinks the gummies are nice. They don't taste fake like normal gummies so this is probably the "natural" flavours and fruit juice coming through. The texture is a little harder than normal so they are chewy but this gives longer to release the flavour. There are six flavours and they all taste as they should. The flavours taste a lot more natural than some gummies I have tried.

I didn't expect to like these but I did. The kids pretty much wolfed down most of the packet and LOVED them!! They are a bit junk food deprived but I think that these were a huge hit for them. At only 99 grams a box there aren't a whole lot to go around so you might just have to buy all four boxes!

These don't have palm oil in them. Yay! Well done. They do have some artificial colourings, so I won''t be buying these for my kids on a regular basis and definitely not at $4.90, but would consider using these if I was to have an Angry Birds party.

If you have Angry Birds fans in your household this would make a great stocking filler for Christmas or just as a random gift. If you aren't worried about the colourings then I think these are a great buy.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I haven't played angry birds and the characters don't appeal to me but one of the four year olds I teach loves angry birds. He is still struggling to learn his colours so when I saw these angry bird fruit gummies I thought this was just the learning tool he needs. It has his favourite characters and lollies. I can't go wrong here. His ears immediately tuned in when I mentioned I had angry bird lollies and his eyes lit up when he saw the box. I certainly got his attention now.

The cardboard box was easy enough to open. I think I could have done that in a dark movie theatre. Inside the box there was a plastic bag. I struggled to open this and was about to get some scissors when it finally opened. Thankfully the lollies didn't spill everywhere. Unfortunately the reason they didn't was because they were all stuck together. I was disappointed to see this but my young assistant didn't mind.

We carefully separated each lolly from the clump. I wanted to see what they looked like and to sort the colours. I thought the characters weren't very obvious by the shapes but again my assistant could see more than me (time to get my eyes checked I think) as he turned over any gummies I had put upside down. There were two flavours that were only slightly different shades of red and we found it difficult to distinguish them as we were sorting.

We sampled each of the flavours and junior enjoyed them all. I particularly liked the apple and lemon flavours. They were soft and chewy. They got the saliva going in my mouth which made them juicy. I did find it a bit strange eating a blue lolly that was supposed to be raspberry flavour.

These were a novelty and certainly engaged my young man in learning his colours but I don't think they are too exciting. They would, however, make a good stocking filler for your angry birds fan.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I won a packet of these from the supplier a short while ago and was very keen to give it a try, as I love all sorts of candy.

My first impression was that it was going to be something easy and quick to get into. And yes, the box was. The bag inside, however, was not. I ended up needing to get scissors to open the bag without sending the contents flying.

They all had nice flavours, and it was easy enough to know what you were eating. Yet as far as being Angry Bird's..... Not so easy to tell nor see the difference between any of them. While I did like these lollies, they all tasted nice, good texture etc. For the price of $4.90, I wouldn't buy them. As a gift, yum. But spending my own money, no.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7711: My Main Course - Thai Chicken Curry -  Produced by My Main Course

Product image for My Main Course - Thai Chicken CurryUsing lean chicken breast, we've created a mild but flavoursome Thai curry perfect for the whole family. Using delicious spices, coconut cream and kaffir limes, this My Main Course meal starter is so fragrant you'll find it hard to get it to the table before trying it.

    •  Gluten free
    •  Contains soy

Proudly made in NZ from local and ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Character - the willingness to accept responsibility for one's own life - is the source from which self respect springs."
Joan Didion (1934 - ), 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem'

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream