Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 16th September 2019 - 16:45:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Reece's Pieces Theatre Box review

« Earthwise Multi Surface Cleaning Spray Citrus & Mint reviewEarthwise  Multi Surface Cleaning Spray Citrus & MintAngry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box reviewAngry Birds Fruit Gummies Theatre Box »

Score: 9.0/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3609 - Reece's Pieces Theatre Box
Manufactured by Reece

Reece's Pieces Theatre Box
Price:
$4.90
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
Via Online store and Retail Outlets

Reece's Pieces Theatre Box product reviews

Grab a bag of REESE'S PIECES Candy for the deliciously unmistakable REESE'S Peanut Butter taste in a crunchy candy shell that's enjoyed by folks all over the universe.

Theatre Box - 113g

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
american   candy   hershey   peanut butter   reeses   shell
Other listings you may be interested in:
Kaweka - Field Mushroom RisottoKaweka - Field Mushroom Risotto
Rating: 7.6
Awesome Naturals - Fizzy BottlesAwesome Naturals - Fizzy Bottles
Rating: 9.0
Nando's - JohnsonvilleNando's - Johnsonville
Rating: 8.5
In-Salt - Rosemary and LemonIn-Salt - Rosemary and Lemon
Rating: 8.5
Mels Makhani (Butter Chicken) MasalaMels Makhani (Butter Chicken) Masala
Rating: 9.4
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Beak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - ChineseBeak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - Chinese
Rating: 9.6
Cafe ParadisoCafe Paradiso
Rating: 10.0
O'nuts - Raving CajunO'nuts - Raving Cajun
Rating: 9.5
Mel's Tandoori MarinadeMel's Tandoori Marinade
Rating: 8.5
Kennys Kumera ChipsKennys Kumera Chips
Rating: 8.3
Barrys Bay Wood Smoke Flavoured CheddarBarrys Bay Wood Smoke Flavoured Cheddar
Rating: 10.0
Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal)Down to Earth Organic Soup - Curried Green Gram (Moong Dal)
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 6th of July, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I absolutely love peanut butter and also chocolate, so the 2 of these together was obviously going to be something I loved! The combination of peanut butter and chocolate is such an American thing, and after a trip to the USA a few years back I was stunned by just how many products they had available like this, it was almost in absolutely everything you could think of, I saw it in dessert pies, in milk shakes, in ice cream, you name it they had it!

Reese's pieces are so so good, bite sized pieces of candy that come in orange, yellow and brown. Each candy has a yummy filling which I would describe as peanut butter flavoured chocolate, certainly a taste of it's own as it tastes nothing like that of white, milk or dark chocolate. The peanut butter chocolate filling is smooth and creamy and I just love it, the outer shell is nice and crisp and very similar to that of a M&M's shell. These are so easy to eat and perfect for a snack while watching a movie, best of all though no one else in my house likes them so when I buy them I don't have to share!

Although great on there own, they also go well in cookies, I like to add half Reese's pieces and half chocolate chips for a delicious treat, and fresh out of the oven in particular they are so so good. I've also added these as a topping to ice cream and as a decoration to cakes and cupcakes, the colours always make the end results of the baking appealing, nice and bright.

I love the style of the theatre boxes that these come in, so much better than that of a plastic bag, and much easier to recycle, best of all for in a movie theatre so that you don't have to disturb everyone rummaging into a bag all of the time. The price is a bit steep I must admit, being being a imported treat from America it is understandable. Yummy yummy candy that I will continue to buy.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Not really been convinced that peanut butter belonged in a confectionery form I always avoided Reese's Peanut Butter sweets, but now have found that I have been missing out on. Opening the box and tipping a few onto my hand a bit apprehensively I put one into my mouth and cracked it between my front teeth, and letting the inside run around my mouth, well I don't ever know why I never tried them sooner they were DIVINE and I was soon piling more into my hand and mouth.

The delectable sweet with its crunchy outer that gives way to a smooth melt in the mouth peanut butter taste is definitely a worthwhile experience for any confectionery lover. Would I buy these again? YES definitely and in bulk. These are a must try for any chocolate lover. Reese's Peanut Butter candy is probably more of a treat for a teen or adult than a child.

I am so pleased I was given the opportunity to try these as I'd probably still be missing out on this delicacy.
Thank you KIWIreviews and United Sweets for sending these my way.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 19th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've looked at Reese's Pieces so many times on the United Sweets website but wasnt sure whether i would like them or not! Recently i finally tried peanut butter through another brand and was quite impressed so when these came up for review i was definately keen! I like peanut butter on toast and aside from the recently tried peanut butter chocolate in a bar ive never had anything else peanut butter flavoured. I was quite excited to try these out as i have seen them advertised so much.

These little morsels are delicious!! First thing i did was chuck a handful into my mouth and yummo! Crunchy shell outing and smooth peanut butter filling. Totally worth buying just as a snack or treat or to add to other lollies when you have visitors etc. The next thing i did was make up a batch of yummo chocolate fudge cupcakes with toffee buttercream and added Reeses Pieces on the top of these.... YUMMM was the conclusion had by all eight people who tried these! The toffee buttercream balanced out the reeses peices so it wasnt to much peanut butter flavour all at once (in terms of cupcakes i didnt want it to be too over powering). The third thing i tried was making a caramel slice with these scattered on top of the caramel sauce before i iced, this also resulted in a yummy treat!!

Im now left with quarter to half a box and wondering what else i can try out with them, although i do keep eating a few every visit past the pantry where they are stashed away from everyone else's mouth. I definately will be buying these again in the future and highly recommend to others!!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 15th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When these arrived this morning I was so excited - sweet candy was exactly what I needed after a really early start with Master 9 months and dramas from Miss 10 going on 16. I didn't realise when I accepted to review them that they were peanut flavoured and my girl is allergic so once she was safely at school and baby was asleep I went out in the garden and opened them up. Felt a bit like a mischievous teenager having a sneaky cigarette at the bottom of the school field. I was pretty excited because I read on the box they were made by Hershey's and I love Hershey's chocolate.

Fair to say they didn't last long at all they were very delicious. I wasn't really sure what to expect as I hadn't tried peanut butter candy before but am a big fan of peanut m&m's. I thought that they might be salty peanut butter in a chocolate shell but they were nothing like that. The filling was a sweet creamy consistency with a sweet nutty taste. They were very similar in appearance to m&m's but so much nicer and with only 3 quite neutral colours so you felt like you weren't getting too much colouring. The shell was nice and crisp making the perfect accompaniment to the smooth filling.

In hindsight I wish I had of saved these for when I go and watch the latest episode in the twilight saga as they would be perfect to snack on during a movie perhaps that's why they are called theatre boxes and they are a perfect sized box. They are so moreish they might not last the whole movie though and although they are sweet they don't leave you needing a drink like chocolate candies do.

Also if the box had lasted longer they would of been nice to make cookies with, like the m&m's cookies you can buy at subway. I think they would be perfect for this use. They would also look nice on top of an iced muffin to add that extra bit of a treat. If I buy them again I would give this a try.

I liked the box it was nice and bright and the name is cool to as it rhymes. Overall these are a great sweet treat and I would definetly buy them again. It was nice to have a sweet for once that I didn't have to share with anyone else which doesn't happen often. If these were available locally my diet would completely go out the window as I wouldn't be able to resist buying a box when I went out to get my shopping.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 15th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Now im not a fan of peanut butter unless its on a sandwich, yup dont even like peanut butter biscuits so when I got these I was a little worried. But the box was opened and I tipped them out on a plate for a closer inspection. I even cut one open to see what it looked like.

They look very much like M&M's and feel the same as well but dont let the outside hard cover fool you, there is peanut butter inside. After cutting it open I had to smell it and yup that smell of peanut butter, i put it close to my mouth and very worried as well and it was gone, went in and down. WOW it was good, I got a handful and put them all into my mouth, followed by more.

The flavour of the peanut butter was good, it was a nice mix of the shell and inside, it wasnt too over powering. There was a decent amount in the box more than you would think. yes there are still some left because I couldnt eat them all in one go. They also have nothing in them to say they arent safe for my Gluten Free children so I gave some to them as well.

My 4 year old said yum mum can i have some more, my 3 year old son was a little more wary on this candy but it went down without a hitch. So i guess i can recommend this candy for peanut butter lovers

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After trying the Peanut Butter M&Ms and finding them pretty yummy, I was keen to try these. Having seen the adverts for these on the back of comics from as far back as I can recall, it was a strange feeling to finally be tasting them. I wasn't disappointed - these were yummy!

As part of a social gathering, where I was required to bring along a "fingerfood table snack", I decided to make a candy-bowl. Mixing them in a bowl with some M&Ms and skittles was an inspired decision, as it gave the bowl a bit of an extra "surprise" when people grabbing out "M&Ms" ended up eating peanut butter. (Of course, everyone was warned to avoid that bowl if they had peanut allergies. I enjoy giving surprises, but not anaphalactic shocks!)

The crisp shell was instantly familiar to anyone who has eaten any similar sweets, from 'pebbles' to 'M&Ms', but the filling is something quite different to anything I have tried before. Creamy, full of peanut flavour, and very very yummy!

Overall, other than just eating them, I can easily see them going well in cookies and cupcakes, as well as being used as decorations on larger cakes etc. At first, I wasn't too sure on the value for money - but considering the availability of them and their unique flavour, the price is fair and reasonable. Would I buy them again? Sure would! But probably more as a special treat of part of a gift hamper for a friend, than a casual snack.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 1st of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having never had Peanut butter flavoured candies before I was unsure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting to taste like a chunk of peanut butter with a hard shell around it, but instead what I tasted was a subtle taste, more like peanut cream than peanut butter.

They were particularly moreish and it wasn't long until the box was emptied (with the help of the wife and kids). This is one of those snacks that if you're not careful you can end up eating the whole pack in one sitting, and then end up wondering where they all went to.

These are some sweets that we will likely be getting more in the future, however it may have to be a case of 1 box per person otherwise there is little or no show that I will see any of them as they would likely all be consumed whilst I am out at work.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well, this box of sweets was quite surprising, I didn't expect peanut butter candies to taste this good, so I have to say that I am very impressed with this product. The cover design was well laid out, it had a nice coloured background that made the product noticeable yet not too sore on the eyes, so I would say that it came within the goldilocks zone.

The choice of colours for the crispy shells, the orange, yellow and brown were simple, but still had an appealing look to them. I actually found that these sweets were similar to the peanut butter M&M's, and so thanks to me preparing my taste buds for this taste by eating the M&M's, I was able to enjoy THIS product just as much, maybe even a bit more than last time.

The price is good, it has managed to reach the goldilocks zone as well, not too expensive, yet not dirt cheap either. All in all, I think that this is a great product, so enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Unfortunately because I wear false teeth some snack foods are rather unpleasant to eat. These were one of them. As much as I want to give my personal impressions, I am instead going to pass on the results of intense testing by my tamariki and mokopuna, who kindly suggested that since my dentures always give me trouble with such snacks, it was only smart to give the whole box over to them. Such wisdom from babes. Wink Icon

Generally, the biggest complaint was the lack of chocolate. "Just like peanut M&Ms Koro, but with smaller peanuts and no chocolate, eh." was the first comment, heartily echoed by all the rest. Though it's a small box, the candies are even smaller, about the size of regular M&Ms I would say, and with the same crisp shell design. This means that the box held many more of these than I would ever dream of consuming in a single sitting, which makes me think that if you can get past the noise, or transfer them into a better container before you go, these would be an excellent snack to share during a movie in the cinema, or to pour into a bowl with a few assorted packs of M&Ms as a nice centrepiece on a table at a party.

I did manage to crunch down one of these, and though I was immediately punished for my audacity by a sliver of shell stabbing up the edge of my dentures and into my gum, the flavour was fairly appealing. Unfortunately, as the only way to enjoy the taste would be to remove the shell, or blend it up into a paste, these are not a snack for me. Because of that, any future purchase is only going to be for the benefit of the whanau, and the cheeky buggers can go out and buy their own. If I can't enjoy it too, I'm not going to pay for it. Grin Icon

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 16th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Reece's Pieces are candy coated smooth peanut butter discs. They come in an array of autumn colours. They taste sweet and creamy, with a crunch of the candy. In a lot of ways they reminded me of M & Ms. The creaminess almost tastes like chocolate, but there is no chocolate in this product.

I was pretty sure this product was going to be a new favourite for me. I love the Reece's range. The peanut butter cups are my favourite, and I have them as often as I can. When I was pregnant I was trying to avoid peanut butter for baby's sake. Now I'm having the occasional taster. These pieces are delicious. I really liked their taste and their texture. I did miss the inclusion of chocolate though.

I thought the box was an excellent size and there was plenty in the box. The price was not too bad considering how much I pay for the cups. I decided to see what I could make with these as my husband really didn't like them (all the more for me!). I used these to decorate some cupcakes. They made the cupcakes look really cute. I also thought that they would make great Halloween cupcakes, and I could use them to make monsters eyes and noses.

Last night after school, I also made some chocolate chip cookies and squished some Reece's Pieces into the dough before baking. The cookies came out in soft chewy American style which was perfect for the pieces. I liked that the candy didn't split or shatter with the heat as well. Overall a really cool product and one I would happily purchase again.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I didn't expect that I would love Reece's pieces (although I love the name) as I think their peanut butter cups are OK but nothing fabulous. I was surprised how nice they are. The box disappeared very quickly with a little help from my two year old and a lot of help from my four year old who suddenly became my best friend.

The pieces are in the autumn colours of orange, red and brown. I immediately thought these would be great for Halloween (maybe because this time of year everyone is posting ideas for these event on their facebook page). I imagine a pumpkin cupcake topped with Reece's pieces.

These reminded me of peanut M&Ms. both in taste and appearance. I was surprised they weren't more like the peanut butter ones. The dominant flavour is sweet peanut butter. I didn't miss the chocolate that M&Ms have. The candy shell adds more of a crunchy texture than a taste.

At $4.90 they are not an everyday treat but still affordable as a movie snack. Thankfully United Sweets have a stand near my local theatre so I can sneak a box of Reece's pieces in my handbag. Perhaps will I be tempted to try one of their other snacks instead?

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Oh these are sooo good. Reese's can hold itself responsible for several kilos added to my frame whilst working at summer camp a few moons ago. My brother had to be a mule and supply me with the cups and the pieces when I came back to New Zealand so I am stoked that I can now just pop down to Te Awa and pick these up at the United Sweets Kiosk.

In nice autumn colours of brown, yellow and predominately orange these are little mouthfuls of bliss! They are peanut butter centred with a crispy coating minus any chocolate. They are crispy more than stodgy. If you love peanut butter you will probably love these.

Miss Five was horrified when I used these to bribe her "I will give you some chocolate if..." and then she discovered they had no chocolate in them but she still ate them and wanted more. She doesn't like peanut butter... so that just shows how good they are!

I am not a fan of artificial colourings, flavourings or palm oil but rather oddly I can ignore these principles for Reeses pieces! I wouldn't buy these often at $4.90 but if I get the urge for these at least I know where to go.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 7552: Sumrubthai Thai Black Cargo Rice -  Brand: Sumrubthai

Product image for Sumrubthai Thai Black Cargo RiceThai Black Cargo Rice is a long-grain black rice that is high in nutritional protein, dietary fibre, calcium, iron, potassium, zinc and antioxidants Vitamin B, Vitamin E, Anthocyanins and Proanthocyadin. Laboratory testing has determined this rice is up to 7x higher in nutritional content than white rice.

Though called "black rice", this grain has a deep purple colour which mellows to a lighter shade and it becomes soft and sticky ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream