Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 03:34:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > Green, Jasmine and Pear review

« Mint Lavender Tisane reviewMint Lavender TisaneForza Horizon reviewForza Horizon »

Score: 7.9/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3605 - Green, Jasmine and Pear
Brand / Manufactured by: Madame Flavour

Green, Jasmine and Pear
Price:
$6.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Madame Flavour

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected Countdowns

Green, Jasmine and Pear product reviews

For me, the scent of Jasmine evokes memories of the exotic tea salon tucked away in the Marais district of Paris where I had my first cup of this classic tea with my mother. We'd been happily wandering the streets of her childhood all day...

Green tea brings me back to earth. A smooth Chinese green, full of health-giving properties.

A cup to enjoy, to re-infuse several times.

Check out Madame Flavour onlineClick here to see all the listings for Madame Flavour Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chinese   exotic   green   jasmine   paris   pear   tea
Other listings you may be interested in:
Teza - Mango and GingerTeza - Mango and Ginger
Rating: 8.1
White with RoseWhite with Rose
Rating: 7.7
Grey De LuxeGrey De Luxe
Rating: 7.4
Peach - Still MediumPeach - Still Medium
Rating: 5.8
Sultry ChaiSultry Chai
Rating: 8.9
Mint Lavender TisaneMint Lavender Tisane
Rating: 8.2
Avalanche Kids Sugar-Free - Super StrawberryAvalanche Kids Sugar-Free - Super Strawberry
Rating: 8.3
Fruit Juice Pineapple With Fruit BitsFruit Juice Pineapple With Fruit Bits
Rating: 8.5
Ginger Beer With LimeGinger Beer With Lime
Rating: 9.1
Slimmer's DelightSlimmer's Delight
Rating: 9.3
Diet Snapple - Lemonade Iced TeaDiet Snapple - Lemonade Iced Tea
Rating: 9.8
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5
Goodbuzz Booch - Green JasmineGoodbuzz Booch - Green Jasmine
Rating: 8.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am not a big tea drinker as I am absolutely hooked on coffee but always wanted to try the Madam Flavour teas, so when I won a selection of the amazing teas in the KIWIreviews birthday month competition my wish came true! I will admit I have never liked green tea finding it far too bitter tasting but this sounded very inviting with the jasmine and pear. I love the smell of jasmine!

When I opened the box much like the other flavoured teas the aroma starting hitting my senses straight away and I really liked what I could smell. You can definitely pick out both the Jasmine and the Pear in the tea. I made myself a cup following the instructions it felt strange leaving the tea to infuse for so long as usually when I make a hot drink (coffee) I can start drinking it straight away. Leaving it to infuse though meant that all the flavours came through in the water.

Also leaving it for a few minutes meant that when I could finally drink it it was at a comfortable temperature to start sipping right away as it doesn't have milk so has nothing to start cooling it down. I probably wouldn't drink this tea everyday but I didn't find the taste unpleasant, in fact I quite liked how it had a little bit of sweetness to it which normally for me green tea just doesn't have.

My mother in law always drinks green tea so she was very impressed to find some green tea in my pantry when she came down for a visit recently. She loved this tea and now we know where we can buy it from she has bought herself her own box to have at home too. I guess I should drink more of this as it has such great health benefits but coffee is always my daily fix!

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I'm not a big hot drink drinker, but tea wins over coffee any day of the week for me. I have tried a couple of different ones over the years, and while not an expert in tea drinking, I am keen to try anything. Especially new stuff for my taste buds. For me the smell of this tea is really lovely, and it should be with the jasmine, pear and green tea that is all inside the infuser pod.

I found it really bitter, and just didn't enjoy it as much as I would think I would, so this is a bit of a downer, but I'm really sure it is down to personal taste and nothing to do with the product itself. My flatmate liked it, and was pretty excited to try it. So just like everything in life everyone has different tastes.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I wasn't sure what to expect with this one as i've never had Green tea before, but I do like jasmine rice, and I love pears so I thought - well two out of three ain't bad. Well I boiled up some water, dunked the pod for a bit and had a taste, not bad but not sweet enough, so after adding a spot of sugar I had another taste, and all I could really taste was the jasmine, there really wasn't much of any hint of pear, and as for the green tea, as I didn't know what it would taste like I really can't comment on that.

So I was a little disappointed by the fact that I really couldn't taste any hint of a pear flavour at all. Now that's not to say it was distasteful as the jasmine flavouring was really quite nice and I did happily drink the whole cup without any more complaints, but I don't think I will be looking at buying this one again unless it has more of a pear taste to it in the future.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 11th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've never been too keen to drink anything that has green tea in it, other than iced tea so that was the first thing I decided to do with the tea.

Iced tea is so quick and easy to make and as it was brewing, it smelled so nice that it was hard to keep myself away and let it cool down in the fridge. The nice thing about this tea is that it has a nice taste, and the green tea part of it isn't overpowering. There is just enough of the green, pear and jasmine that none overpowers the other.

I did find, when I had it as a hot drink that I did need to add a little sugar to it for me to recall enjoy it. Whilst I'm not a fan of the price, it is screen tea that I finally like. And I love the design of the box, just like the others.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 27th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This tea is grown by traditional farmers in China and is made with Madame Flavours women's touch. The packaging on this tells me that this is made from Green Jasmine leaf tea, jasmine flowers and natural pear flavour so this is a pretty clear indication that I should be expecting a very strong jasmine flavour. I think because the box is green however and the first word is green all I could think when I looked at this box was Green tea!

I am not a huge fan of green tea and have loads of tea bags in the cupboard that only ever come out when certain friends (who like green tea) visit. For that reason I have put off trying this and have just been enjoying the other Madame Flavour teas. Well silly me! I have had four or five cups of this Green, Jasmine and Pear tea now and am sipping a cup as I write this. I really like it!

The overwhelming smell and taste of this is the Jasmine. I can't taste the pear at all so it is a very subtle taste. The green tea also isn't as strong which is probably why I like this. I would buy this as Jasmine tea is such a refreshing drink and is lovely to have as a sweet iced tea as well as hot. I have only reused the tea Bags twice but have enjoyed the second cup as much as the first. One bag would definitely be great in a pot for two or three people.

Worth trying this especially if you like flower teas.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 16th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I generally drink a fair amount of green tea, and have tried many good and awful fruit/green tea infusions. I'm also a big fan of pear, when they get the flavour right. Enter Madame Flavour's Green, Jasmine & Pear.

The tea itself has a sweet floral aroma. I guess it was the jasmine, which filled my kitchen with its delicious scent. The taste of the tea was good. The pear was a little too subtle, masked largely by the jasmine. The green tea bitter finish was also present, but not unpleasant. I'm glad the pear was true to form though. So often other tea companies might add extra flavouring or other complimentary fruits, which doesn't work for me.

I also found this tea versatile. I made a sorbet with it, with two cups water, 1 cup sugar, some lime juice and vodka (to keep the slushy consistency). The sorbet came out great. It really captured the tea flavour well, though it was a touch sweet due to all the sugar. I was really impressed with it.

I also made a jelly. I used two cups of water to make the tea and then added 1/2 cup of sugar and gelatin. This worked really well. It wasn't as sweet, but the tea flavour was fantastic and it worked as a refreshing dessert. I could imagine serving it in between courses to cleanse the palate. All these desserts were made using the same teabags, so these are really economical as well.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

In all my years walking this land, I have never seen teabags like these. They are a strange, almost pyramid-on-its-edge shape, with the string attached along one edge. The string is quite long, longer than many others I have seen and used regularly, which means it leaves plenty to overhang the edge so it doesn't disappear into the mug when you pour water. For an old chap like me with arthritis, this is a very important factor and one I am very pleased to see!

I loved how you can re-use the pods 2, 3 or even 4 times and get nearly 60 cups of tea for the same price as 40 cups of regular 'flavoured' teas, so these are quite simply excellent value for money. On that aspect alone they had me sold. These days, the pension doesn't give you much disposable income, so every penny counts. If I can make a jug of tea for the same price as a single cup, then this is a selling point worth noting. Especially important when it comes to my ever-loving mokopuna whose "impulsive" visits are never more than a few minutes behind the courier van's departure.

My biggest issue with this tea was that it was a little bland taste-wise for me, so I had to add some of my sweetener, but once that was in I got a more complicated flavour, which unfortunately was more of a flowery taste than a fruity taste. I didn't get much of the pear flavour at all, it was really subtle. Too subtle for me, but I can see how some people would find that really intriguing.

An unusual flavour - one that would be classed as an enjoyable, but acquired, taste, and left a little more of a bitter aftertaste than some other green teas I have tried. Though it was enjoyable, I wouldn't put it on my try-again-in-a-hurry list. It's something I would keep around for the whanau, as there is a large spread of preferences, and I know a couple of relatives that would probably find this very much to their tastes.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 5679: Bennetto Drinking Chocolate Bar -  Brand / Manufactured by: Bennetto Natural Foods Ltd

Product image for Bennetto Drinking Chocolate BarPremium 70% cocoa, dark hot chocolate - specifically crafted for dissolving into hot milk.

Bennetto Drinking Chocolate is the healthier treat - It contains only premium organic cocoa beans, raw sugar and a little vanilla - that's all! The secret to dissolving the chocolate in milk lies in our own original ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Action may not always bring happiness, but there is no happiness without action."
Benjamin Disraeli

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream