Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 9th December 2019 - 09:39:00

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > Madame's Special Blend review

« Grey De Luxe reviewGrey De LuxeMint Lavender Tisane reviewMint Lavender Tisane »

Score: 7.5/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3603 - Madame's Special Blend
Brand / Manufactured by: Madame Flavour

Madame's Special Blend
Price:
$6.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Madame Flavour

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected Countdowns

Madame's Special Blend product reviews

This special blend is also familiar, shades of my English Breakfast but a little stronger, a little maltier. The leaf teas are from three of my favourite estates in Ceylon and Assam; two organic, the third, Ceciliyan Estate makes just wonderful honey-like tea.

It is my special blend. I drink it daily. Enjoy the loose leaf experience.

Check out Madame Flavour onlineClick here to see all the listings for Madame Flavour Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
assam   ceylon   drink   english breakfast   honey   leaf   malt   special   tea
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sultry ChaiSultry Chai
Rating: 8.9
White with RoseWhite with Rose
Rating: 7.7
Grey De LuxeGrey De Luxe
Rating: 7.4
Mint Lavender TisaneMint Lavender Tisane
Rating: 8.2
Green, Jasmine and PearGreen, Jasmine and Pear
Rating: 7.9
e2 Energy : Berry Blaste2 Energy : Berry Blast
Rating: 5.6
Nature's Energy : Supa ShakeNature's Energy : Supa Shake
Rating: 5.0
Fresh Up Big Fizz Soft Drink Feijoa BurstFresh Up Big Fizz Soft Drink Feijoa Burst
Rating: 9.3
Aroha Sauvingnon Blanc and SaffronAroha Sauvingnon Blanc and Saffron
Rating: 7.9
Vitafresh Fruit Drink - Apple and BlackcurrantVitafresh Fruit Drink - Apple and Blackcurrant
Rating: 9.3
Green & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & MintGreen & Co Spring Water - Watermelon, Jasmine & Mint
Rating: 7.4
Granite - Turmeric GoldGranite - Turmeric Gold
Rating: 7.2
Pete's Natural - Ling and Zing Raspberry KolaPete's Natural - Ling and Zing Raspberry Kola
Rating: 7.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 26th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I tried this tea in place of my coffee, which means it was truly put to the test, the morning coffee is my ritual, but when I go away I don't like motel coffee so I will drink breakfast tea. Reading the reviews on Madame's Special Blend it sounded like an upmarket cup of breakfast tea, so the morning cup was definitely the time to try it.

The tea bags are presented in silken bags, this allows the flavour to really seep out, and also makes the presentation of the tea just a little more up market. I put the tea to the sniff test, and was rewarded with the rich scent that is similar to the smell of English breakfast. Now for the taste test, yes the tea is very similar to the flavour of English breakfast, it definitely satisfied my morning craving. The taste itself is a little more complex than standard tea, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I took the rest of the tea to work - teachers are discerning tea drinkers, and like me the rest of the staff were delighted by the presentation of the silky bags. They described the flavour as rich, rewarding, distinguished, and satisfying, high praise in deed from teachers in need of refreshment. They asked for the brand so they could purchase them, and when I stated the price they felt it was reasonable, and asked if we could get some for work!

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Compared to the rest of the flavors in the range I guess I would call this the more normal tasting one of the lot. By that I mean this is the one that was more of a regular cup of tea taste. The tea leaves contained in it's little bag does look good, and it feels a bit more upmarket then your standard tea bag.

I liked the flavor and had no problems with it, although next time I will try it with milk and see how that goes. It is an enjoyable tea which if you aren't adventurous enough to try the other more herbal type flavors but want to try something a bit special and not the norm, then give Madame's special blend a whirl.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have never really been a fan of the English Breakfast flavour of tea, but I thought to myself, well the other ones i've tried have all been different to what I expected so maybe this will be the same. So I brewed up a drink and having learnt from the other flavour I took this one black with a little sugar and a touch of cold water. Well it was okay tasting, but I could still get a hint of the English Breakfast flavour so it didn't really do it for me.

So while I wasn;t a fan of this one, I stil have to say in terms of value for money, and price it's not too bad, so it's managed to gain a few points there. I will have to now find someone who likes English Breakfast so that I can pass this on to someone who is mre likely to apperciate it far more than I.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 10th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I thought that I would give this a try, and this was the least appealing to me out of the remaining 5 that I had to review. My husband and I both had a cup and we both agreed that it has a very strong taste, but also a strong after taste which wasn't particularly nice. Unfortunately it wasn't a taste that either of us liked, so the chance of us having this tea again is very low.

We did put this in, just for 3 minutes, but the flavour was just to strong, the concern being that if we put it in for less time, or use it a second time (which we did eventually) was that it would then taste too weak (which, for us, it did). I do love watching the tea leaves slowly unfurl and fill up the tea bag. The tea bag itself is a great design, and I LOVE the design on the box. But, I would not buy this again.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

English Breakfast is hubby's favourite brew so I thought I would get his opinion on Madame's Special Blend as he is a seasoned tea drinker. He is also the best tea maker so I got him to make me a cup just in case my own tea making had affected the taste! Unlike some of the other Madame Flavour Teas none of the tea in this blend is organic and it is blended from three estates with black leaf tea. Unlike the other Madame Flavour Tea's this packaging's instructions does not recommend reusing the infuser pods. I did however and still got a decent cup out of my second bag. I would use one pod for a cup of tea for two.

Hubby liked the pods, "these are a bit flash". He thought that this was better than the average cup of tea but not spectacular given the cost. I really liked this tea however and enjoyed drinking it. I enjoyed it more than normal tea (and much more than the Earl Grey). It is more expensive than our usual English Breakfast or tea brand so I am not sure I would purchase this but it is a nice full bodied flavour that is definitely enhanced with my usual milk and one sugar. This makes for a very enjoyable cuppa!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 18th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Anyone familiar with regular English Breakfast tea is going to find this immediately comfortable to drink. Unfortunately, I found the flavour no different than the regular teas which lowered its appeal a fair bit.

I like my teas weaker than most, which means that I can get 4 and sometimes 5 cups out of a single pod, depending on the tea variety. Because of that, this box of 18 pods is of cups-made value equal to around 90 regular bags for me, which makes it great value for money, and to be quite blunt about it, that is really the only reason I plan to keep buying it.

It is a lovely tea, and all of the whanau who tried it agree it is a tasty drop, even if they do prefer theirs steeped a lot longer than I do, but there just wasn't anything really amazing about it other than the clever pods that really let the flavour out so much more effectively, allowing you to get more than one cup per pod.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I'm used to the style of an English Breakfast tea. Its what my mother would usually drink. So when I had a cup of this, with milk it tasted like home. That said, it didn't wow me with it's flavours like the other teas. It just tasted like tea ought to and that's all. I shared a pot of this tea with friends. They all enjoyed the tea hot with milk. But as with me, they raved about the other teas they were trying and had little to say about this "everyday" tea flavour.

I decided to see what it's versatility was like. I made a custard from scratch with egg yolks, cream, milk and castor sugar. I flavoured the mixture by boiling a tea bag in with the cream and milk before the yolks and sugar were combined. I then set the mixture with gelatin for the evening. The flavour of this dessert was subtle in its tea qualities. But it tasted very much like a creme brulee without the toffee on top. My husband was impressed, as was I.

I managed to make quite a few cups of tea as well as the dessert out of the same tea bags. This product range is great for the fact that you really do get multiple uses out of the same bag. That makes it economical. The bags look great. You have that loose leaf look, with a very elegant looking tea bag. The string is nice and long too. Even though this was probably my least favourite tea in the range, it was still a good tea. It was just a bit too ordinary after all the amazing teas I have tried in the range.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4512: Gourmet Hot Chocolate -  Brand / Manufactured by: Organo Gold

Product image for Gourmet Hot ChocolateA unique blend of smooth rich chocolate taste and authentic Ganoderma warms your body during cold days. Highly requested, OG is proud to present a great tasting drink that everyone can enjoy.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream