Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 04:34:06

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > White with Rose review

« Sultry Chai reviewSultry ChaiGrey De Luxe reviewGrey De Luxe »

Score: 7.7/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3601 - White with Rose
Brand / Manufactured by: Madame Flavour

White with Rose
Price:
$6.49
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Madame Flavour

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected Countdowns

White with Rose product reviews

Peony White tea. As rare and luxurious as it sounds.

One unopened bud and two leaves are hand-picked in spring-time only, then naturally withered in the Fujian mountain sunshine to coax out the qualities so prized by Chinese royalty for centuries - silvery buds which give subtle sweetness and are rich in anti-oxidants.

Studies are now showing that white tea is higher in anti-oxidants than green tea.

Check out Madame Flavour onlineClick here to see all the listings for Madame Flavour Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
antioxidants   buds   chinese   luxurious   peony   rich   rose   sweet   tea   white
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pure EnergyPure Energy
Rating: 8.3
Slimmer's DelightSlimmer's Delight
Rating: 9.3
Green, Jasmine and PearGreen, Jasmine and Pear
Rating: 7.9
Mai'a Coffee Straws : EspressoMai'a Coffee Straws : Espresso
Rating: 8.1
Apricot - Still MediumApricot - Still Medium
Rating: 7.9
Mint Lavender TisaneMint Lavender Tisane
Rating: 8.2
Blueberry White TeaBlueberry White Tea
Rating: 7.3
Grey De LuxeGrey De Luxe
Rating: 7.4
Movenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee CapsulesMovenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee Capsules
Rating: 9.6
Apple Cider with ElderflowerApple Cider with Elderflower
Rating: 9.3
Sultry ChaiSultry Chai
Rating: 8.9
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 26th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Sometimes life calls for a little elegance and Madame Flavour's White with Rose is decadence for the bargain price of $6.49. I was introduced to this tea at a high tea party, and it was such a delightful surprise. The flavour is unlike anything I have ever had before, and it was enchanting.

There is such a touch of class in the presentation of each tea bag, the contents are presented in a silk bag that makes your tea break special. This is one of those products that is handy to have in the cupboard, for a special pick me up when you need a quick dash of decadence in your life. Or if you want try a high tea with some special friends, I recommend having Madam Flavour's White with Rose tea on the menu, teamed with some cupcakes and strawberry dipped chocolates you can't go wrong.

The price is very reasonable when you consider the quality of the product, teamed with the presentation of the tea inside. I think perhaps the only thing that lets this product down is that the packaging really doesn't hint at the excellence of the product inside. But perhaps that is a positive? I was happily surprised when I opened the packet, and the tea bags are so easily distinguished in their silken bags, that I instantly recognised the tea as the one I had tried at my high tea.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was really eager to give this tea I try after reading that it could be even higher in antioxidants than green tea! My mother in law always tells me I should drink Green Tea but I mostly don't like the taste. I thought if this tasted good enough it could be an alternative that I could drink regularly.

I opened the box and the smell of rose hit me straight away that is one thing Madam Flavour Teas are not lacking in they all seem to have such a strong aroma. I love how you can see into the infuser pods to see all the little bits that make up the bag. They seem just a little bit fancy and would make great entertaining teas. The box too is a little bit special and I love the little write up on the side of each box that tells you a bit about the origin of the tea and the combination of flavours.

I made myself a cup of tea, leaving it to infuse for the 4 minutes I think it was that the box suggested. I am so used to making my partner normal teas which he has two tea bags in and them being almost as dark in colour as a cup of coffee. So when making this I though I was doing something wrong as it didn't have a lot of colour no matter how much I swished and squeezed the bag.

Although the colour didn't really come through at all, the flavours definitely infused in the water, you couldn't really taste rose as such and the whole flavour was very delicate but I quite liked that. Just with the green tea I wouldn't drink this very often but I certainly didn't find it unpleasant. I would drink this from time to time when I need a break from coffee later in the evening.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 4th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.3/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 2 out of 10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

The box is a pretty pink and the smell of roses were strong and made me want to taste it. I always try it as a hot drink first, if I don't like it hot then I'm not always willing to try cold as I prefer hot or warm tea. I had about a quarter of one cup, I like my tea strong (my family always say to make it as battery acid for me) and that was probably my mistake but I found it bitter and the nice yummy smell disappeared which was a bit disappointing.

I was going to try this as an ice tea but my first taste really put me off trying this tea again even with all the health benefits. I'm hoping that some of the other flavours will be good as I want to try a tea cake recipe I have but just need a good tea to try it with.

I know there will be people who really like this tea, unfortunately I'm not one of them as I prefer my drinks to be a little bit sweeter.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I didn't know what to expect with this tea, but it was a promising sign when the box was opened the smell of rose was quite strong, excellent I thought. The packaging as with the whole range in Madame Flavour really does put other teas out there to shame.

It looks good, has a lot of information which is what you need when checking out a new product and really makes you feel that it is a single person who has come up with all of it. Each infuser pod has loose leaf tea in it, which does make it seem a bit fancy, but also means you can actually see the bits that make it up.

You get 18 infuser pods in each pack and for the price that might not seem a lot, but this is a premium product, something that you can treat yourself with. With this flavour you can use the infuser pods up to 3 times, which triples the value of one box.

Flavour wise I found this to be one of the weaker tasting teas for me, It was enjoyable and with no bad after taste is a nice calming tea, it just wasn't as flavoursome as I would have liked.

But, I would recommend this tea as the health benefits of a white rose type of tea is apparently really good, even better then some green teas.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 19th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Okay lets be honest here, I was a bit unsure about this one, I have never been one to even contemplate drinking any tea that has any hint of roses in it (and yes I know that the soaking of rose petals in hot water to make a drink has been happening for hundreds if not thousands of years) as to me a rose is a flower and you don't drink flowers, boy how wrong was I?

This had to be one of the nicest and smoothest teas I have had in a long time, either with or without any milk it has a tender taste to it and whilst the aroma of the roses are quite prevalent, it only made the tea seem more luxurious and up-market, a special tea for a special occasion if you will. The flavours were also very gentle and certainly didn't try and overpower your palette as some teas I have had in the past have tried to do.

I had never heard of white tea before, but I am now glad I have as this was a delightful cuppa and quite possibly one I will consider getting more of.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Out of all the packets I have, this one would have to be my favourite. Yes, it is the exact same design as all the other 5 boxes, but, I like the colour the of this particular box the most.

I had this as a tea first, nothing added, and it was a nice enough flavour to drink, but nothing amazing. Then I had another cup, this time with a little bit of milk, it didn't affect the flavour, just made it milky, but it was still nice and a lovely subtle taste without being weak.

Then, feeling addicted to Iced Tea, I made up another batch, but using this tea. It's such a quick drink to make, 4 teabags soaked in 4 cups of hot water for about 5 minutes. In another container mix 1 cup of sugar with 4 cups of cold water till dissolved. Remove teabags, combine and then cool. This was a little too sweet and needed a little extra water added to it, but still a nice drink overall.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 19th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like my tea to be a subtle flavour most of the time. There are a few exceptions but as a rule something like a mildly tea-flavoured sweet water is quite my scene. This was such a wonderful delicate flavour it suited me perfectly.

As a hot drink it was remarkable, with a soft almost velvet-smooth taste that had just a hint of sweetness. After a few sips to appreciate its natural flavour, I added just a little manuka honey to it and that gave it a stunning new dimension. A rich warmth that added to the white tea without totally killing it.

What really surprised me was that, after making a second cup from the same infuser pod, I was distracted by some of the whanau popping in for a visit. By the time they left, the tea was stone cold. Taking a sip to see what it was like, I found it was actually still quite pleasant, and became better after being popped in the fridge for half an hour to cool right down. It was very refreshing on it's own, but also was wonderful as the base for a little cocktail I make for my friends when they pop over to play Bridge every Friday evening.

Quite the remarkable new addition to my shopping list, when the budget allows for something really special. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was the first tea in the Madame Flavour range that I experienced. White tea is considered the most tender and expensive tea on the market. It's also really good for you, much like green tea. Rose is a flavour that feels exotic (think Turkish delight) and elegant. Together it feels like a very special type of tea.

Opening the box, the smell of roses hits you in a wave of deliciousness. I made up a cup of this and had it black. The smell was stronger than the flavour in the cup, which was quite subtle. I also tried this with some milk. The milk didn't ruin the drink, but added some creaminess to the flavour. Again, its a pretty subtle taste of tea with the rose smell taking over your senses. I also tried it in lemonade for something a bit different, but the lemon flavour was too strong. It might be nice in a soda water though.

I dreamt of rose flavoured meringues one night, and so in morning I got to work. I took 3 egg whites, 3/4 cup of castor sugar and blended til it was meringue. I then added a little liquid from the teabags. The mixture looked okay so I baked it. It didn't quite come out right. It was soft and chewy on the outside and marshmallowy on the inside. Still, the taste was really nice. They tasted lightly of rose and they came out a cool pink tea colour.

The next day I baked up some cupcakes using the tea as a subsitute for the milk in the packet mix I use. The cupcake came out with a subtle taste of rose. I made a buttercream icing using the tea as a flavouring as well. This came out nice and I coloured it to look pink like a rose petal. I think they would have been even more rosy if I had made a syrup up first to use instead of straight tea.

Lastly I made a quick iced tea up for afternoon tea. It was super sweet and rosy. I ended up having to add more water and a splash of lime juice to cut the sweetness back. This is a nice tea, I love the flavour and I found plenty of ways to experiment with it which was fun.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am loving the Madame Flavour teas and this is my favourite of all the teas!

Firstly I love the packaging of these teas. The whole concept of the Madame Flavour tea drinking experience is one to just enjoy and luxuriate in. I actually feel guilty if I drink any of these teas standing up on the go. For the first time, with a packaged tea, I actually find myself just wanting to sit and savour and enjoy the experience. Well experience the experience really. So anyway to begin... the packaging tells Madame's experience of this particular tea with a little story. The side panel tells you where the tea was sourced and the ingredients of the tea and how to prepare.

Inside is a sheet with a lovely little blurb also about Madame Flavour. The tea bags are sealed in a bag which is best opened with scissors. The little tea sachets (pods) are just beautiful. These are just so pretty. I love them!

I hadn't known what to expect with this tea and thankfully tasted it before adding milk (it is amazing without milk). I usually drink Earl or Lady Grey but this tea is just a whole different level in sophistication. It reminded me very much of Rose Turkish Delight but more subtle. There was no bitterness at all in the taste. I just sat and savoured this tea and it just made me feel very sophisticated and lovely. This is just the most delicate and amazing flavour.

I would most definitely serve this at a "tea party" or any time I wanted to add a bit of specialness in my day. I think this is best sipped from your best china tea cup, sitting in the sun when you have a few moments to feel calm (yes, away from the children!)

I am a Madame Flavour convert! This has introduced a whole new level of tea drinking for me and this particular flavour is one that you simply have to taste - especially if you are female! Try it Smile Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 5452: Avalanche Duo - Dark Roast -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Duo - Dark RoastDuo is our innovative new product.

We've combined 15% finely milled fresh coffee into our super premium freeze dried instant coffee, giving you the intense flavour of a plunger coffee and the convenience of an instant coffee - wow!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Focus 90% of your time on solutions and only 10% of your time on problems."
Anthony J. D'Angelo, The College Blue Book

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream