Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 15:01:18

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Barker's Lime Curd review

« Orange and Barley with Passionfruit Fruit Syrup 710ml reviewOrange and Barley with Passionfruit Fruit Syrup 710mlPaisley Pickle Horse reviewPaisley Pickle Horse »

Score: 9.0/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3532 - Barker's Lime Curd
Produced by Barkers of Geraldine

Barker's Lime Curd
Price:
$4.39
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At all leading supermarkets

Barker's Lime Curd product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur limes are grown in New Zealand and their squeezed juice (not from concentrate) is blended with butter and egg to make delicious lime curd. It's our twist on the traditional style of lemon curd.

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
curd   fresh   gluten free   juice   lime   local   nzmade   preserve
Other listings you may be interested in:
Tamarillo ChutneyTamarillo Chutney
Rating: 8.8
Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc PorkSlow-cooked Pulled Duroc Pork
Rating: 8.5
Muffin Bakes - Apple and BranMuffin Bakes - Apple and Bran
Rating: 8.8
Leena Spices - Harissa Spice MixLeena Spices - Harissa Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Sealord Tuna Express - Mexican SalsaSealord Tuna Express - Mexican Salsa
Rating: 9.4
Sids Crazy LemonSids Crazy Lemon
Rating: 9.5
Abe's Baby BagelsAbe's Baby Bagels
Rating: 8.7
Coconut Hot Chilli SauceCoconut Hot Chilli Sauce
Rating: 9.3
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Vegetable StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Vegetable Stock
Rating: 8.8
Tio Pablo Salsa VaqueraTio Pablo Salsa Vaquera
Rating: 8.3
In-Salt - Coco-locoIn-Salt - Coco-loco
Rating: 8.4
ProduceProntoProducePronto
Rating: 9.0
Beak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - ChineseBeak & Sons BBQ Pork Ribs - Chinese
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 24th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw the chance to review Barker's Lime Curd I got very excited, I LOVE lemon curd and was hoping this was just as good. As soon as it arrived, I toasted my bread and very generously spread on the curd, DELICIOUS but I had to have another try just to be 100% sure, yip, I was right, heaven. Without sounding too cheesy, the smell of the curd reminded me of summer. The price of $4.39 would be a little steep if it wasn't this yummy scrummy curd and is going to be a regular in my house.

It would have been very easy to finish off this jar of awesome on just toast but I had to do it justice and try it in another way. So what I decided was a lime curd cheesecake. The tanginess of the lime curd offset the creaminess of the cream cheese filling and the buttery biscuit base. Thank you Barker's for another fantastic product!!

ps Have you thought of bigger jars :)

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 24th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a little partial to curd so first up I had to try this straight from the spoon. This curd has a very velvety melt in your mouth texture that initially tastes of the butter and egg but is immediately is followed by the bite of lime. I really liked the contrast because you expect this to be sweet like a lemon curd but it's not! It is very more'ish and I can happily just have spoonfuls of this straight. I do prefer lemon curd to this lime but it is also delicious on wholegrain toast with just a little bit of butter. Yummy. I spread on pancakes also with some cream instead of my usual maple syrup and enjoyed the mix of the curd with the cream.

I was having a little bit of a baking spree a few days ago and decided to try this in some cupcakes. I made the cupcake mix using the Barker's fruit syrup ( the syrup replaced fresh orange juice) and then put a small teaspoonful of this curd in the middle of each cupcake with a little bit of cream cheese before covering with more mix and baking. They were really good. (Well I liked them, though not the kids!) I also spread some of this curd on a lemon cheesecake that I made last night and it was a nice contrast with the lemon flavour. The cheesecake was really more'ish. I have just found a cheesecake recipe that calls for limes so will try using this instead when I next make one.

There are probably heaps of uses for this curd. I often feel a bit limited in uses for products but am pretty happy with just having this simple as it is yummy and a nice spread for toast, pancakes etc. The use-by is July 2013 so this will keep well in the fridge I hope.

Click here to read the profile of mgslegaspi

Review by: mgslegaspi (Grace)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have tried two Barker's products and I love them so I'm expecting more yummyness from this Barker's Lime Curd. Thought I would save the best for last. Been addicted to baking for quite some time now but I haven't tried using ready made curd especially lime.

It has a pungent smell as soon as I open the jar, I tasted it straight from the jar and I am right, the flavor is so strong and it is very far from what I imagined. But I still decided to use this as my cake filling so I made a Lime curd cake 3 ways. I made a lemon sponge, poke it and drizzle Barker's Lemon and Barley Fruit Syrup to make my cake moist and to give it a lemon flavor, I spread the lime curd very thin because I knew it is strong so I can't use too much as I will overpower the whole taste. And put another layer of sponge and spread the top with lime curd again.

Then I use the lime curd again to sweeten the icing and it is successful. The taste was a hit! In fact I have eaten much of the icing before I finished putting it to the cake. Then I made a clear gelatin and put another quarter of a teaspoon to give it a lime flavor and it is a hit again. So I pour the gelatin on top of the cake to add another texture. And now the waiting game begins. As I need to wait for the gelatin to set and for the celebrant to cut her cake before I can give my verdict.

Too much anticipation happened but it was a great success! The celebrant loves her cake and the whole family loved the flavor. The lime curd marry the flavor of the whole cake, it is an awesome combination.

But I wasn't sure if the lime curd will be a good combination on everyday food like toast, scones as because the taste is strong, it feels like after eating it, I can still taste and smell it. But for baking needs it is a good value for money, as after making a huge cake; 8 inches diameter and almost 5 inches tall, I only used half of the jar.

For those who like to bake like me, I would definitely include this on my list to give my chocolate cake a rest. And I would definitely want to try more of Barker's curd range.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 8th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Now I love lemon curd so thought this would just be the same. I feel its a bit more of a bitter taste. I tried it on toast and a sandwich, and I ate it but didn't really like it.

Then I tried a little bit in some icing I made, just a small amount just in case. The icing tasted pretty good to be honest, I think with the icing sugar masking the bitterness of it.

Now its a good product, its silky, smells good and comes in a nice little jar. But its definitely not for me. But in saying that my daughter loves it. She has it on crackers, sandwiches, buns and more. The great thing about this it is safe for her being Gluten Free.

So as much as I cant eat it, and as much as my 4 year old can I still recommend it, if you like limes and you like that different type of taste. Go for it have a go.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always preferred the slightly sweeter taste of lemon curd (That feels so strange to say! LOL Icon) so trialling this Lime Curd was something I decided I had to approach carefully, so as not be be biased before I started. To that end, I started with the basics and worked my way up the scale.

First trial, on toast with a taste-neutral margarine spread. There was the expected citrus tang, the expected slightly bitter aftertaste, and the smooth velvet texture I had anticipated. However, what was lacking was a string backtaste that I sometimes get from certain spreads and curds.

Having tried other similar curds in muffins and icings, I thought it wise to run this one through similar hoops, to compare apples to apples... or curds to curds as the case may be. Wink Icon As it turned out, I was going to use this curd twice in the same set of muffins, as one of three "Barkers" ingredients.

The muffins were made using the Barker's Orange and Barley with Passionfruit Fruit Syrup instead of the milk in the recipe and I used some of the Lemon and Passionfruit Patisserie Filling and icing sugar to make the icing. This delightful curd was used as a filling, dropped in teaspoon-sized blobs into the raw batter before being popped into the oven.

The results - amazing! The sweetness of the syrup used in the batter was nicely offset by the tartness of the curd, which had become slightly caramelised by the baking process. The curd also helped to keep the cupcakes moist. The end results were a little overly sweet due to the amount of icing sugar I used on top - always be careful when making icing not to make it too wet by accident! - but by cutting them in half and smearing a bit more of this curd on them - perfectly balanced.

I also used some of this on some of the Marcels Sweet Crepes and it offset the sweetness of the whipped cream and fruit perfectly. A better complement, I could not have wished for. Thinned down with a little of the Lemon and Barley Fruit Syrup and drizzled over ice-cream and a slice of hot apple pie (courtesy of the local Burger King outlet) was also a blazing success!

Overall, this was another wonderful product from Barker's, and one that I will be keeping a jar of handy at all times over summer. I think this would be interesting stirred through a fruit-salad, and could be worth experimenting with in a marinade prior to some good BBQ scorching. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I really wasn't sure what to expect with this product - although the other reviews had said great things, i didn't have any idea what i would use it for. When it arrived i did the old taste test (dipping the finger in it!!) and WOW! This product is yum, its not exactly what i thought it would be like, i had imagined it to be quite tart. It has a sweetness to it, although a very 'real' lime flavour *made with squeezed NZ limes!!*

I love Barkers products, they are always made to a very high standard, their packaging is impeccable, it has a very retro/home-made "like nana does" feel to it but along with that maintains its gourmet value. The size of the products is always value for money when you consider what the product is and that it is local. I love that the jar is glass as it can be recycled or re used if you are into making relishes/jams.

I will admit i'm not a 'baker' i do try but i'm more a throw it together cooking type of girl! I planned on making citrus slice so i based my recipe on one from a magazine. I didn't really follow much of it, i used 1/2 malt and 1/2 wine biccys and about 1/2 cup of lime curd, a bit less than half a tin of condensed milk and extra coconut in the base. The icing i totally swerved off the recipe and used a basic cream cheese icing and added some more lime curd and the Barkers Lemon and Barley syrup. The result was heaven!! This was a super easy no-cook slice, made totally amazing by the two Barkers products.

I guess that the Lime Curd, although it tastes amazing, you would need to be a bit of a baker to use it, unless you wanted to eat it with ice cream. Perhaps i'm not thinking outside the square enough on its uses, but they do seem limited to me. BUT if you are looking for a special ingredient to use in baking/deserts i can assure you that this is it!!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I got given a jar of this to review, and was excited about it as it was the first time I had lime curd.

Looking up on the Barkers website, I had a look at the range of recipes that they have and decided to modify one that they had for using Lemon Curd. I mixed some of the lime curd with greek yoghurt, but then realised I didn't have any pastry cups, and since I couldn't be bothered making any from scratch I ate it as it was. YUM!

I can see the potential of other uses for this product, and it has a great taste, I ended up using my finger to clean the jar Pokey Tongue Icon

All in all this is a great product. I wouldn't usually spend $4.39 on a jar, of pretty much anything of this size, as I usually find it isn't enough contents or taste for that price and size. However, this has a great taste, and I'm a big fan of anything with lime in it, so this would be bought again. It would be a treat, more than a regular thing, but I'm already wanting more, so I know we will buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 25th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another great Barkers product to try, and with my Mum making lemon curd when we were kids, It was going to be great to try a curd with the great flavour of lime.

This was the first time I have tried a lime curd, and I really liked the taste. It is tangy and limey and well plain old good. It actually tastes so good, it seems a shame just to put it on toast.

With my recent decision to cut out bread from my diet, and my lack of adventure in the kitchen at the moment, I have been resigned to the dipping of a spoon into the jar to give it a fully fledged taste test, without any input from any other food groups.

I love the taste, and really recommend you try it if you are a lover of curd. If you have never tried any before, this is a great one to check out, it makes a really nice change from your standard jams.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 24th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have never tried Barker's products before, so was very excited to get selected to review the Barker's Lime curd. I have never had lime curd before either, so was not sure what I was in for, but I did know that lime tarts were certainly on the agenda.

The label on the jar is simple, yet somewhat elegant, but best of all it is easy to read. And as it is a glass jar and the label does not take up the whole jar you can easily see the curd inside. I must admit I expected it to be more green than it was.

The curd itself tastes like the green fruit burst lollies you can buy, it is quite tangy but leaves a pleasant taste. Not being a big inventor in the kitchen or when it comes to food we had decided prior to receiving that we would make lime tarts using the curd when it arrived.

My kids love making things in the kitchen, so they made a simple short pastry and then they added a little sweetener to the curd as only one of my three kids loves tangy food. But they all wanted to be involved. They filled their tarts with the lime curd mix and then topped with whipped cream...simple yet delicious. And the curd is thick enough that it set well within the pastry cases too.

All three kids enjoyed their tarts and I was very impressed with the outcome. If you are not a big fan of lime or tang, then this curd may not be for you, but I do recommend trying it as it is far better than you would expect.

I have rated this curd as a 10 for value for money, however please note this is simply because there is no N/A option available and I do not know the actual price to purchase. It does go along way though, so I assume it to be good value for money.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It should be noted that I adore curd. I already know Barker's to produce a superior curd when it comes to lemon or their passionfruit curd creation. So I was very interested in trying another curd by these guys, and lime it is!

Even just opening the jar was a treat for my senses. The smell of fresh citrus drifted out of the jar beckoning to me. This curd is delicious. That familiar buttery curd flavour and consistency goes on the tongue. Following closely is the tart burst of citrus flavour. At first you aren't sure if its lemon or lime, but that lime aftertaste is unmistakable to me.

I did a couple of baking experiments with this curd. It really is a pretty versatile product. I used it to fill vanilla cupcakes. This added a secret flavour, which was a pleasant surprise to those eating them. I could have also used it with icing sugar and butter to make a buttercream icing but I went with another Barker's product there.

I also served this as a side condiment with a cheesecake for some friends. That was delicious with everyone using it to add extra flavour to the filling. It also made my dessert looking really elegant. We played guess that flavour, which most people thought lemon. They were surprised when I said lime but then agreed it did taste more like lime.

This lime curd is a great product. It can be used in several different ways, as demonstrated above. The taste is delicious, though unless the taster is aware it is lime curd they often believe it to be lemon. I'll be looking to add this to my shopping trolley once it hits stores and especially in the lead up to Christmas for those summer desserts!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love lemon curd. My mum often makes it so I was bought up with the delicious taste and the tradition of taking a jar when we went to visit people. i have also made it several times myself. I had never tried lime curd. I was of course keen to try Barker's lime curd. I also mentioned to Mum that I had some to review and she had to try it too.

I served the lime curd on toast (no butter or anything else). My team of taste testers consisted of my parents, my two pre-schoolers and myself. The children and Dad ate theirs without commenting but came back for several more pieces. Mum and I both agreed that it had a lovely tang to it, stronger than what we expected. The tang was balanced with the sweetness. It was delicious. Half a jar was gone in an afternoon.

My four year old has had the same breakfast everyday for the last couple of years. It has to be peanut butter on toast. This week however she has been demanding lime curd on her toast instead. I have also changed to starting the day with lime curd. As a result the jar was finished in 5 days. The curd isn't as thick as jam so I was able to spread it thinly too. I was very good resisted the urge to stick my finger in the jar.

When I went to the supermarket last night I noticed the lime curd and all the other Barker's curds and jams were $3.99 which I thought was great value considering the quality of the products. I also expected the curds to be more expensive than jam.

As a result of reviewing Barker's lime curd my mum has purchased a jar and I have too. I will try making my own but until then it is great to know that I can get something that is just as good (or even better) from the supermarket. I am keen to try the other Barker's curds too. I also want to try using the curds in baking especially muffins.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 1.5
Product reviews for listing 5047: Old El Paso Mexican Sour Cream Topping -  Produced by Old El Paso

Product image for Old El Paso Mexican Sour Cream ToppingBring your dish to life with the new squeezy SMOOTH Sour Cream Topping. Easy and fun to use, always there when you need it and the perfect way to top off any delicious Mexican meal.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Small opportunities are often the beginning of great enterprises."
Demosthenes

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream