Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 18th August 2019 - 11:11:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Children > Tinker Bell and the Secret of the Wings review

« Chipmunks Playland and Cafe reviewChipmunks Playland and CafeA Wife on Gorge River: Raising New Zealand's Remotest Family reviewA Wife on Gorge River: Raising New Zealand »

Score: 9.5/10  [10 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 3528 - Tinker Bell and the Secret of the Wings
Directed by Peggy Holmes

Tinker Bell and the Secret of the Wings
Price:
 
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Walt Disney Studios (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
in cinemas from October 4th

Tinker Bell and the Secret of the Wings product reviews

Journey with Tinker Bell and her fairy friends into the forbidden world of the mysterious Winter Woods, where curiosity and adventure lead Tink to an amazing discovery and reveals a magical secret that could change her world forever.

A magical fairy adventure for the whole family, "Secret of the Wings" features a spectacular voice cast including Academy Award-Winner Anjelica Huston as Queen Clarion, Timothy Dalton as Lord Milori, Lucy Liu as Silvermist, Raven-Symone as Iridessa, Megan Hilty as Rosetta the Garden Fairy, Pamela Adlon as Vidia, Matt Lanter as Sled, Debby Ryan as Spike, Mae Whitman as Tinker Bell, and introducing the sparkling new winter fairy, Periwinkle, voiced by Lucy Hale.

Check out Walt Disney Studios (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Walt Disney Studios (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
angela bartys   anjelica huston   debby ryan   disney   fairies   family   jesse mccartney   jodi benson   lucy hale   lucy liu   mae whitman   matt lanter   megan hilty   pamela adlon   peggy holmes   pixies   ravensymone   timothy dalton   tinkerbell
Other listings you may be interested in:
NoiseNoise
Rating: 6.6
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
Rating: 7.8
Elephant WhiteElephant White
Rating: 8.3
Knocked UpKnocked Up
Rating: 8.3
The WolverineThe Wolverine
Rating: 9.1
FrozenFrozen
Rating: 7.8
TAGTAG
Rating: 10.0
Pirates of the Caribbean : 3 : At World's EndPirates of the Caribbean : 3 : At World's End
Rating: 8.3
Sleep DealerSleep Dealer
Rating: 8.8
Dragonheart:  Battle for the HeartfireDragonheart:  Battle for the Heartfire
Rating: 6.5
Star Trek I: The Motion PictureStar Trek I: The Motion Picture
Rating: 8.3
Percy Jackson and the Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson and the Lightning Thief
Rating: 8.4
Star Wars : Revelations (Fan Film)Star Wars : Revelations (Fan Film)
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

We are very firm believers of all things fairy in my house, so it is no surprises that Tinker Bell is one of our absolute favorite fairies. I do not know who loves her more, me or my daughter lol either way we were both so very excited when this movie was released and we could not wait to see it. Our local theater was not planning on showing it, but with some campaigning and persuasion they finally agreed to show the movie down here.

Tinker bell: secret of the wings is a computer animated fantasy film. Computer animated, because I am guessing when they did a casting call no fairies applied lol ;) As the title suggests the movie is based on the widely popular fairy Tinker Bell, who ventures to the winter woods and discovers Periwinkle, a frost fairy (I won't say why this is so exciting lol).

This is a wonderful fairy movie, with fantastic animation, beautiful scenery and colors sure to delight many a little girl or boy. I love how Tinker Bell movies a made in away that you can not help believe in fairies. the story lines are always easy to follow and this one is no different. Definitely an enjoyable movie to watch, and awesome on the big screen.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 10th of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

We have crazy tinkerbell fans in this house, I have a 4 year old girl and 3 year old boy. We have had tinkerbell and tinkerbell lost treasure watched over and over again. When this movie was advertised on tv my daughter really wanted to see it, sadly we couldnt afford to take her so entered a draw to win a movie, sadly we didnt win either. We had a early Christmas with the kids dad and he had bought our daughter Tinker Bell and the Secret of the Wings.

Since having this movie the kids have watched it in the last 10 days over and over again to the point it skips and jumps about LOL Icon. Never the less i finally was able to sit and watch it with my kids while my daughter was ill. I do have to say I love this movie.

The movie keeps with the other movies same voices and the same themes of it all. Fairies are always up to something different with Tinkerbell leading the way. My daughter was amazed when tinkerbell went over to the "cold" side my daughter would sit and shake pretending she was cold with the fairies. It brought another aspect out with the winter side being an active role. The features were great and watching the forest be joint as one.

The story line is great for any age, adults and children will both enjoy this movie, I was actually taken back when my husband enjoyed watching it with the kids the first time they watched it. This is a must watch movie.

Click here to read the profile of laugan

Review by: laugan (Selena)
Dated: 20th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

My kids have firmly attached themselves to everything Tinkerbell so I was pleased when this movie was released and we were able to take them to see it at the movies. My son is 6 and thoroughly enjoyed it, he even shed a few tears and my 3 year old daughter was completely taken by it.

Tinkerbell is such a loveable character and I think the kids can identify with her, she's mischievous and still trying to find herself which I feel kids relate well too. The range of accents, races and genders that are included aren't over done and as a result are far from being PC and more introducing different accents and such to the audience. The voice talents have remained the same across the series and they do an excellent job and fit each fairy remarkably well.

The Secret of the Wings introduces more of Fairyland to us and ties together things from some of the other movies such as the fairy dust tree. The only confusing part for me (after rewatching The Lost Treasure) was that winter fairies could only be in the winter part yet in The Lost Treasure there was a winter fairy represented at the end.

I think that this movie is a good all round movie and it doesn't matter what age or gender you are, you really should enjoy it. The soundtrack is also excellent and at the end all the little kids got up and had a dance party at the front of the theatre, what more can you ask for from a movie.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 18th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

As a mum to two boys, it may surprise some that Tinkerbell is a favourite in our house. I was very lucky to win two tickets from KIWIreviews, and this allowed me to take my eldest son (4) along and i paid for a friend's daughter as well. I secretly was super excited as the Tinker movie we own is a favourite of mine!!

The graphics in this movie are awesome - the snow, the sun, the fairies .... the magic dust - its all mesmerising! Im sure this is a movie my son will remember for a long time (and one i'm sure that we will buy on DVD). The story line was fantastic for the children and adults - a lot of jokes that go over the children's head but are entertaining for the big people. I loved the library scene where 'light' reading was talked about and the book worms were a great touch.

The love interest keeps the adults a step ahead of the children, but in no way is it predicable as to what is going to happen next. There is a lot of imagination used by the characters that allows the children to become thoughtful as to how machines etc are made and how the seasons work. The film held the attention of my 4 year old and the 6 year old the whole way through, i though the length was perfect as it seemed like value for money as it was longer than an hour, but not too long for them to get restless.

I definitely would recommend this movie to both little boys and girls, as usual Walt Disney have produced another magical tale that will live on in their minds for a long time!

Click here to read the profile of mgslegaspi

Review by: mgslegaspi (Grace)
Dated: 28th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a big fan of fairytale movies, especially the Tinker Bell movies, I have seen all three and now I am so excited to watch the fourth.

While watching this Secret of Wings, I feel like I am inside the movie itself, I can feel the thrill it's giving to the viewers. Specially how the characters move, it looks real, the colors are so well blended, the special effects are all amazing, especially how the pixie dust sparkle.

Now with regards to the story, oh well it didn't fail my expectations. It is full of adventure, as Tinker Bell always find ways to get answers to all her question even though a great risk might involve the whole pixie hollow. I like how Disney curled the story, from the adventurous Tinker Bell, to the secret wings that Periwinkle and Tinker Bell have as sisters and to the love story of Queen Clarion and Lord Milori.

Although this movie is supposedly for kids, it made my heart thumping, when it's in the height of the story, made my eyes teary when the sisters met, gave my lips a smile when all goes back to normal.

All in all, this is a movie for the whole family, not only for the young ones but also for the young at heart. I will never get bored even if I will watch it again. And will probably look for its dvd in the future for my baby.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 27th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

Thanks to the generousity of a KIWIreviewer, who had won tickets but wasn't able to use them, I was given a double pass to see Tinkerbell's latest movie. I took my eldest daughter with me and at four years of age she doesn't have a great attention span. This was also only her second time in a theatre.

We were given one of the other Tinkerbell movies on DVD and it is watched frequently in our home. Although the previous movies were briefly referred to in Secret of the Wings you didn't need to have seen them (and we haven't seen the other two) in order to fully enjoy the movie.

As a parent it was great to take my child to a movie that was good wholesome fun. I didn't have to worry about her having nightmares. There was no good verses bad. Sure Tinkerbell can't help her curious nature and ends up in trouble but her friends (old and new) join together to help her. A great message about friendship and cooperation.

When we got home from the movie Nana asked about it. Miss 4 jumped around in delight and told her that it was about Tinkerbell and a snow Tinkerbell and they had special wings.

Little Miss 2.5 would have loved to have gone too but was too young to sit through a movie. At 4 years old the movie was just right. I did notice the majority of the theatre were six and seven year old girls with their mothers and this age group got more of the jokes. There were a couple of jokes that only the adults laughed at which is a bonus for parents. It is definitely a little girls movie but it wasn't a chore for me to watch either.

Having seen this movie I am keen to add it and the other Tinkerbell movies to the Christmas wishlist. Santa if you are reading this I know two little girls who would love to see more Tinkerbell.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 21st of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 6 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

After winning tickets to see this movie I ventured out yesterday to take my 4 year old niece to see this movie. She loves fairies and loves Tinkerbell but hasn't seen any of the other Tinkerbell movies but that didn't stop her from enjoying this one.

Like a lot of four year old's my niece doesn't have the biggest attention span but mostly sat and watched this movie from start to finish as she was mesmerised by Tinkerbell and her fairy friends and their magic. They have definetly done well to cater to young girls and their love for all things girly like fairies and pretty dresses. For a change there were no evil villian's which makes a nice difference to other Disney films of late.

Definetly a movie for the little girl, for me myself it was a little simplistic although it did have the story line of Tinkerbell and periwinkle venturing into the forest to find the secret of the wings which was a very followable storyline it is definetly not a movie for adults like some of the other Disney films. It was a good little story and was not too long for young children to have to sit through. The visuals and graphics were great definetly brought smiles to my little niece's face!! I liked how it did not have anything in it that would scare little children this means that even the youngest girls can watch it and enjoy it. It is a really appealing movie to young girls as it includes the lovable character Tinkerbell and her original fairy friends but as they venture into the winter woods new fairy friends are added into the mix

The movie has a delightful message which is a really nice lesson for little girls to hear. It includes a beautiful moment of personal sacrifice by Tinkerbell. She "gives up" something she values greatly to save those she loves (I cannot reveal details without spoiler alert). This sacrifice provides a great example of what it means to be family and a member of a community. What a wonderful lesson for young ones! I would recommend this highly to any parent with a young daughter.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 10th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

We have been holding out for this movie for so long. We own the other 3 movies on DVD. We have a cat called Silvermist and my daughters room has a fairy theme so when we heard it was coming to our local movie theatre we jumped at the chance to go to it.

The cinema was filled with children of all ages and sexes and my first thought was oh no its going to be noisy but it was quiet for the whole movie which just shows how great it was.

Its fair to say we were not that impressed with the last movie TinkerBell and the Great Fairy Rescue but we LOVED this movie.

Tink is her usual naughty self not listening to the rules and even though warm blooded fairies are not allowed in the winter zone she disobeys the rules and hops over where she finds her 'twin sister'. Loved the new characters especially Silvermist's double and Vida's snotty double and LOVED the romantic scenes.

I have not heard of anyone that had anything bad to say about the movie and as soon as we walked out of the cinema my three year old daughter asked if we could go home and watch it again.

Originally there was only going to be four movies (not including Rosettas Pixie Hollow Games) and have heard they are going to make some more which has made my daughter and husband very happy.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 9 out of 10

It's fair to say my daughter isn't a girlie girl. She likes animals, dinosaurs, bugs, etc. She enjoys magic, but she is very practical and doesn't believe in anything she can't explain. However, as much as she doesn't play fairy princesses in the yard, she still adores Tinkerbell and her magical world.

I think that's because this Tinkerbell, is (and always has) been slightly flawed. She gets jealous, she daydreams, she is clumsy. But she is also smart, funny and can fix or make and design anything. She wishes for things but then goes out and makes them happen. She has moxy and resilience that we wish all children possessed.

This is the latest in the Tinkerbell movie franchise. It has all our favourite core fairy characters from before. We also meet new fairy friends. The other movies are lightly touched upon, but you wouldn't have to see them to enjoy this one.

The fairy world is beautiful. Things sparkle and nature enchants as much as any fairy dust on the screen. There were lots of ohhs and ahhs from the children around us. The film has it's funny moments, a bit of drama too.

It's a great family friendly movie. Possibly a bit more for the girls, but there are more male fairies this time as well. Fairy magic can be manly too after all! A great film for the school holidays.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Age Appropriateness:
Score 10 out of 10

This is the first of the Tinkerbell movies that I have seen. My 3yo had picked one off the video store shelf a few weeks back, and she along with my 4yo watched it several times, so I knew that they would like this movie.

We were lucky enough to be given tickets to this movie, otherwise with money constraints, would have had to wait till it came out on DVD.

I'm always a bit unsure when Disney takes a movie, or a movie character and give it their own TV show, as I have seen some that just seem to babyish to me, so I wasn't really expecting anyone other than my 3yo and 5yo to enjoy the movie.

The first thing I noticed about this movie is that it has a great soundtrack, it's actually has one of the few songs from a movie that I would want to download and listen to without the kids around.

It's got a great storyline and great characters. I liked the fact that there was no villain, no bad guy, it was something that everyone needed to sort out.

My 3yo and 5yo loved the movie. Throughout it you could hear them really getting into the movie with their giggles, and the occasional 'Oh No!' cry from my 3yo.

All in all a really fun film, that myself and my husband enjoyed almost as much as our children did, and one that I am happy for the kids to watch time and time again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 4.8
Product reviews for listing 4338: A Cinderella Story
Directed by Mark Rosman

Product image for A Cinderella StoryMake believe gets a makeover in A Cinderella Story. Every girl's favourite fairy tale - with a twist. Substitute a cell phone for a glass slipper, a convertible for a pumpkin, and an L.A. suburb for a kingdom far, far away and what do you get? A happily-ever-laughter twist on the Cinderella tale!

Meet high school student Sam, who scrubs floors at a diner, copes with her wicked stepmother and stepsisters, and all the while dreams ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"You know you've read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend"
Paul Sweeney

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream