Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 22:44:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Abe's Baby Bagels review

« James Mays Man Lab - series 2 reviewJames Mays Man Lab - series 2Freya's Sandwich Thins reviewFreya »

Score: 8.7/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3524 - Abe's Baby Bagels
Brand / Source : Abe's Bagels

Abe's Baby Bagels
Price:
$4.99
Available:
At leading supermarkets

Abe's Baby Bagels product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAbe's Baby Bagels are locally made, steam baked and hand packed. Using only the finest quality ingredients - they're good for you!

98% fat free, dairy free, cholesterol free, no GM, no artificial flavours or preservatives.

Natural - 8 pack



Tags:
bagel   bread   breakfast   natural   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Funky Chicken PizzaFunky Chicken Pizza
Rating: 8.5
Le Meal - Cottage PieLe Meal - Cottage Pie
Rating: 8.5
Apple and Cinnamon HotcakesApple and Cinnamon Hotcakes
Rating: 9.6
Little Kids Wholegrain Cereal Bars Little Kids Wholegrain Cereal Bars 
Rating: 9.6
Sealord Tuna Express - Italian TomatoSealord Tuna Express - Italian Tomato
Rating: 9.4
Pics Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPics Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
SpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Kiwi Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.1
Farmland Fine-Sliced Smoked BeefFarmland Fine-Sliced Smoked Beef
Rating: 10.0
Spicy Fruit LoafSpicy Fruit Loaf
Rating: 9.3
RJ's Candy Coated Strawberry Chocolate BallsRJ's Candy Coated Strawberry Chocolate Balls
Rating: 9.1
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - BlueDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Rating: 8.8
Giapo GelatteriaGiapo Gelatteria
Rating: 9.8
Maggi Stir Fry Creations Recipe Base Chinese 5 Spice & Soy Beef Maggi Stir Fry Creations Recipe Base Chinese 5 Spice & Soy Beef 
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 26th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We love bagels, and while at the supermarket the other day looking for lunch box inspiration I saw these cute little baby bagels on the shelf in amongst all of the other bagels and they were just to cute not to buy, and with Miss 2 going through a I'm not going to eat bread stage they were certainly worth a go!

We regularly buy Abe's bagels at the supermarket and much prefer them to all of the other brands out there, not only is there texture of the bagel spot on, but they also have a nice lot of different flavours which is good to keep a bit of variety happening, other than having the classic bagels in there range they also have these amazing bagel crisps which come in a multitude of flavours and taste great with dips or as they are.

These baby bagels were the perfect size for Miss 2's lunch box (though I must admit that a few of them were gobbled down by my partner and myself so didn't actually make the lunch box, as we couldn't resist them). The first time I packed Miss 2 one of these baby bagels for her lunch box I split it in half and topped it with strawberry jam and then sandwiched it back together, usually she will only ever eat Marmite so I was interested to see how she would go with this. So as I walked through her room at daycare heading on my morning tea break I hear a "Mummy, Mummy look what I've got" excited voice from Miss 2, when I go over she excitedly tells me she got to have a 'donut' today. I was so happy to see her enjoying the bagel, and if I have to trick her into thinking it's a donut then so be it! Since Miss 2's jam donut experience she has also enjoyed a bagel toasted for breakfast with either jam or Marmite on it, such a quick breakfast food to prepare in the morning and perfect for on the go, due to the consistency of the bagel you don't really have to worry about a trail of crumbs being left behind as you do with toast which is a bonus.

Me and my partner enjoyed these sliced up and made into french toast, by dunking them in a egg mix, and frying until golden topped with banana, caramel sauce and bacon. We have also enjoyed them as little BLT bagels for lunch on the weekend and also topped with cheese spread, ham and tomato for work lunches.

At $5 a pack it's not the cheapest product out there but you do get 8 mini bagels and they freeze well, will definitely stock up on these when I see them on special and keep them in the freezer for when needed.

Click here to read the profile of beanie

Review by: beanie (Serena)
Dated: 2nd of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 7 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

First of all I just have to say that I love bagels!

I have tried a few different brands of bagels that are available at your local supermarket and I have also tried making my own and I have to say that the 'Abe's' bagels are my favorite! They have so many different flavors and they are all super tasty! And now I have discovered the 'Abe's Baby Bagels'.

These Baby Bagels are perfect for a smaller snack or meal and are especially great for kids as they are the perfect size for them. Great for lunch boxes and a quick to make snack to pack in the nappy bag (which is very important when you have two small children and are often running out the door in the morning in a big hurry!). I also found them really good as the smaller size meant I could cut them in half and use them in the place of a toasted muffin or toast when having homemade eggs benedict and it wasn't too big of a meal.

The only downside to this product is that I do find them a little bit too expensive for us so they have become a much looked forward to treat in our house. And I would also consider it a downside to have to share them with the kids now that they have discovered them :)

Click here to read the profile of 4possm

Review by: 4possm (Chris)
Dated: 3rd of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Abe's bagels and start most weekends with a BLT bagel for brunch, so was very happy to pick these up to use for some work lunches.

Size wise they are great for a kids or in this case, mans lunch box. Whilst a little tricky to cut with a bread knife, it's a bit easier with a good steak knife to slice in half. For lunches during the week I started with slicing a couple of bags all at once then putting back in a resealable bag. I tried two different fillings during the week, salmon and cream cheese and a ham, tomato and sweet chilli philly.

To save the bagels going soggy by lunch time it was as simple as not making them up until lunch time by putting each ingredient in their own small bag in my lunch box. Because of the size it makes it very easy to make them on the go with little fuss. The bagels themselves, due to the smaller size are a bit more dense then Abe's plain bagels, however popped in the microwave for 15 seconds this softens them up quite nicely.

Cost wise at $5 for a pack of 8 mini bagels it is a little high compared with the standard size bagels however the convenience is great and being able to simply pop in the kids lunch box has a great advantage. I would have 4 filled bagels for lunch so with the added ingredients it equals roughly $4-6 per lunch which is on par or cheaper with going out and getting takeaways but A LOT healthier.

Overall I think these may become a staple pantry product in our house, the biggest thing to bear in mind with bagels is that the fresher they are the better they are so they don't normally sit in our house for more than a couple of days. And if you are storing them for longer, a great tip is to slice them before you freeze them so they can go straight in the toaster or microwave for 15seconds to get them ready for eating again.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!!! If I could end the review there, I would! That is all that need to be said really! If you like bagels, and have kids, or a party/gathering where you need a plate to take along, or enjoy smaller portions, or in face just want to have something a little different - these are perfect!!

They are yummy, having the same quality and taste as their "grown up" version - whilst being perfect for little hands, people wanting smaller portions, snacks and the like. The choice for what to put with the bagels are endless - I am very partial to smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill, whereas our daughter like just ham and cheese on them, and are always happy when they see these in their lunch boxes!

Value wise - they are reasonably priced compared with other bagels - and are good for sharing with having 8 in the bag.

Taste wise - think I've covered that already!

Appearance - they are round, with a hole in them, look like a bagel.... Kidding - nice shape, texture and look.

Go on - try something different - these are delicious!!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 5th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Abe's baby bagels. They have the same great taste as the larger versions of Abe's bagels. The consistency is dense and heavy, and ready for you to top or fill with lovely things. The outer of the bagel itself is glossy and smooth. These are just the right size for a snack or to be taken as a plate to a supper or gathering of some kind.

In fact, that is exactly why I purchase Abe's baby bagels. I use them for shared morning teas at work. They are so easy to prepare. You simply slice them in half with a bread knife. Then you can pick any number of delicious toppings to add. These toppings then allow you to have a sweet or savoury baby bagel half for your guests.

My favourite topping to do is the flavoured cream cheeses available at supermarkets. I pick a smoked salmon flavoured cream cheese and spread this thinly over each baby bagel half. I can taste the sweetness of the smoked salmon, and the smoothness of the cream cheese right now. The bagel is spongy and just the right flavour to not intrude on the topping. The whole symphony of flavour is so moreish, that you can not just have one. But the bagel is so filling, that you really should stop at two.

Click here to read the profile of juliettenz

Review by: juliettenz (Julie)
Dated: 24th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I recently tried these after getting a hamper of Abe's bagel products off grab one. I love bagels in general but these were extra yummy and great as a little afternoon snack. I also tried them with my kids (2.5 years and 13 months) who quite happily munched away on them plain!

Freshness wise - I do find with bagels you need to consume them quite quickly as they are quite a heavy/dense type of bread and are therefore quick to go hard. I would use Abe's bagels ASAP as after a couple of days they are not as fresh tasting. Great tip - heat in the microwave for 15 seconds or put in the toaster and enjoy warm with butter and jam.

Price wise - they seem to retail for between $4.50 and $5.00 per packet of 8 baby bagels. (4 normal size Abe's Bagels are usually between $4.50 and $5.00). This is really a standard price for bagels from the shopping round I've done.

Great for something different than plain old sandwiches, experiment with fillings :)

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was really pleased when i found these in the supermarket this week, they looked perfect for the wee hands of my boys and im a big bagel fan! With 8 in the bag, they seem to be quiet expensive for what you get, but please to be buying New Zealand made and good quality products.

When i first tried these i toasted them whole, then cut them whist hot - they were a little bit tricky to cut due to their size and a full size bread knife is too bulky. I managed with a smaller knife and created a mini salad burger with cream cheese, basil pesto, tomato, cucumber, cheese and lettuce ... it was a fantastic wee size for an afternoon snack.

When i did these for my sons (4 and 18 months) i didn't toast them as i was taking them out for a snack, and one of them crumpled a bit when i attempted to cut it - so they were much easier to cut when toasted. This time a just put cream cheese and jam on them and sandwiched them back together. They held together perfectly in a glad bag in my handbag and were eaten an hour or so after i made them.

I plan on taking these made up with cream cheese/salmon and other assortments with brie/ham etc for a plate next time i am asked to bring something along to an event, as they are a great size to just snack on. This is a product that i will buy again, possibly not every week due to the price, but definitely when the occasion arises this will be top of my list!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 1211: Meatlovers Classic Pizza -  Produced by The Chicago Pizza Company

Product image for Meatlovers Classic PizzaJoey 'Beefs' don't like much - but he sure loves his Chicago Meatlovers. A former butcher's apprentice, Joey knows his fine cuts from the baloney.

It's fully loaded with wood-smoked bacon and ham, cabonossi, salami, onion and capsicum layered over the family's secret BBQ sauce - it ain't for the the faint hearted.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Education is what you get when you read the fine-print. Experience is what you get when you don't."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream