Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 22nd October 2018 - 10:57:06

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend review

« Jelly Belly Fruit Bowl reviewJelly Belly Fruit BowlJames Mays Man Lab - series 2 reviewJames Mays Man Lab - series 2 »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.2/10  [11 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3522 - Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Manufactured by Jelly Belly

Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend
Price:
$4.99/100g
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
Via Online store and Retail Outlets

Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend product reviews

Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend jelly beans in 100g bags. Real tropical flavor. Great candy for a party, gifts or giveaways.

Once again we bring you flavors you just won't find anywhere else. The Smoothie Blend features five creamy delicious tastes:
    •  Strawberry/Banana
    •  Pineapple/Pear
    •  Cherry/Passion Fruit
    •  Mandarin Orange/Mango
    •  Mixed Berry

Because we used real juices from purees of bananas, blueberries and oranges, as well as fruit juices from concentrate to bring them to life, you'll think they came right from your blender.

All Jelly Belly jelly beans are certified OU Kosher by the Orthodox Union.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
confectionery   fruit   gourmet   jelly bean   jellybean   lollies   sweet
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raglan Coconut YoghurtRaglan Coconut Yoghurt
Rating: 9.3
Alexandra's Moroccan Couscous - Olive, Sundried Tomato & Moroccan SpiceAlexandra's Moroccan Couscous - Olive, Sundried Tomato & Moroccan Spice
Rating: 9.5
Ass Kickin' Bacon Hot SauceAss Kickin' Bacon Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.0
Palat-a-Bull Sauce PackPalat-a-Bull Sauce Pack
Rating: 9.8
Jelly Belly Fruit BowlJelly Belly Fruit Bowl
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
House of Dumplings - Prancing PorkHouse of Dumplings - Prancing Pork
Rating: 8.8
Pods - TwixPods - Twix
Rating: 8.8
M&Ms - Peanut ButterM&Ms - Peanut Butter
Rating: 7.6
Crema ai 5 FormaggiCrema ai 5 Formaggi
Rating: 8.7
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Mexican SeasoningSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Mexican Seasoning
Rating: 9.1
SpiceCraft Chicken Salt RocksSpiceCraft Chicken Salt Rocks
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sezb72

Review by: sezb72 (Sarah)
Dated: 12th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

These were the second Jelly Belly flavours our family tried and while they were tasty, they didn't quite get the same resounding yes as the fruit bowl ones.

There are less flavour choices, with only five different ones. But in saying that, each one has a mixture of flavours within the one jelly bean. So it's not like you're losing out. Sadly in our pack, despite much rummaging and sorting, we didn't have any of the Strawberry Banana flavour (which probably would have been my first choice if I'd been choosing on specific flavours).

Like other Jelly Bellys, the flavour is strong and distinctive, though possibly a little more muted (I guess because of being mixed flavours) but still tasty. Mixed Berry was the agreed favourite out of the four choices in our bag. (the others were Mandarin Orange Mango, Pineapple Pear, Cherry Passionfruit, and the missing in action Strawberry Banana)

Great resealable packaging which means you don't feel forced to eat them in one hit. And good strong packaging, so it doesn't just rip open completely (which can be the case with other confectionery products).

The overall price is pretty reasonable for what you get, but only because of the quality. Compared to run-of-the-mill jelly beans Jelly Belly's are more expensive, but the novelty and taste factor makes it a worthwhile treat.

These are marked on the packaging as gluten-free, nut-free and gelatine-free. They are also dairy-free, making them a good 'safe' party food option for kids (and adults!).

One fun factor is that each of the flavours is written on the packaging in English, French, German and (we think) Dutch. This makes it fun for the children to learn common fruit names in a different language while enjoying a treat - always handy to make learning fun!

Altogether Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend is a tasty treat, but would be the second choice compared to the Fruit Bowl option based on both taste and the fewer colour varieties from the kids perspective.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 28th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This was the first bag of jelly beans that I opened to review. I gave each person a wee handful to try and the reaction was rather mixed, my partner was impressed with the amount of flavour out of the rather small beans which he initially screwed his nose up asking why i was only giving him a few! My son commented that some were really nice, and others were "yuck".

For me I felt rather the same as Mr 4....I LOVED the mandarin-orange/mango and mixed berry flavours but the other 3 (strawberry/banana, pineapple/Pear and cherry/passion-fruit) I did not like. It was a real shame that as I felt that I would of liked strawberry and passion-fruit flavours together, but as they are called smoothie blend they represent normal flavours I guess you would mix together.

What was unique was that despite my personal dislike of 3 of the flavours, they did taste like a smoothie drink - very clever Its a pretty neat and unique idea.

As there were only 5 flavour blends I opted to use the rest of the beans in a rocky road and I mixed them with the Fruit Bowl beans that I also got the chance to review, this worked really well and it was nice to find different flavours within the chocolate/marshmallow mix and it took away the dominance of flavours I didn't enjoy.

Overall this a good idea from Jelly Belly, but for me I disliked more than I liked flavour wise in this bag of treats, but it was good to bake with, although expensive! The product design of the bag is great as its re-sealable - no handbag spillage! I class these as an adult sweet due to the gourmet element and the price makes me become selfish and hide them out of the hands of little ones (not to say I don't share sometimes!!) This would also be a good item to make a game out of - guessing all the flavours perhaps at a hens/baby shower type event.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I wasn't too sure about these jellybeans as I'm not usually a fan of anything that says it is smoothie flavoured.

I had a taste of each flavour, a couple at a time so I could get an idea one taste, and whilst in general, I did like them, I probably wouldn't buy these, but if I was given them then they would be munched on and finished off (though not as quickly as the fruit bowl bag)

The strawberry/banana flavour was nice, neither flavour was too overpowering and the flavours went really well together. The pineapple/pear one was ok, but not my first pick. The cherry/passion fruit was really nice, and I was digging through the pack to eat them all.

The mixed berry wasn't too bed. The flavour wasn't too strong, and it was easy to tell what it was. The mandarin orange/mango I didn't like at all. I thought that perhaps the mix of the two would be nice, but I didn't like it. The kids were happy to eat those ones though.

All in all, I would eat this, but I wouldn't buy it.

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 21st of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I received the packet of these tasty wee morsels while walking out my door on the way to work, so I thought why not, what a way to start a Friday by tasting Jelly Belly's with colleagues.

I explained to my work mates what I wanted from them, they were only too pleased to participate of course.

The orange color of the Smoothie Blend - to me said smoothies. To me smoothies are a mixture of 'smooth' flavors together with milk - and that is exactly what the orange looks like. The window in the packet only makes you want the product more as you get a snippet of what you are about to eat.

We have an array of people at my workplace who suffer from food allergies so we were pleased to read the beans are gluten free. I lay them out on a plate and everyone helped themselves. Some were more structured than others ie made sure they had one of each flavor.

The general consensus was YUMMY! The flavors are lovely and you can actually pick them out - although flavors that are naturally quite strong (ie Cherry and Banana) don't overbear the others. Most people said the Strawberry/ Banana was their favourite - and they all commented on how they didn't expect to like the combination. All bar me didn't enjoy the Pineapple/ Pear.
The comment was the flavor was enjoyable and easy to eat - not tart or sharp.

Price I think is good - I would definitely pay that to get what I would class as a gourmet jelly bean. Have already informed my parents that they need to get some of these ASAP.

Thanks KIWIreviews I really enjoyed this product.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 19th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have never tried gourmet jelly beans before. I don't think I have tried gourmet anything actually LOL Icon But I am definitely loving the Jelly Belly Smoothie Blend jelly beans.

OK packaging - an attractive little packet with a clear 'sneaky peak' window so you can see the product you are buying. Bright colorful and easy to understand/read. The packet has a tear off part at the top that you tear off to access the snap lock top to the bag. This is a great idea, as it means you can share a few, then re-close the bag with minimal fuss for the ultimate in prolonged freshness. Now don't get me wrong, the snap lock closure is awesome, but I did have a bit of trouble tearing the top of the bag initially. It does not tear in a clean straight line and I did worry that I was going to tear the whole bag...but I did not Smile Icon

Aroma - Now if like me, you are trying these jelly beans for the first time, I seriously suggest opening the bag and having a good whiff off the contents because OMG I have never smelt anything so delicious in my life. These jelly beans smell like pure heaven lol. Its just like the ultimate 'smoothie' (as the name suggests) right there in that packet. I sat for quite some time indulging in the scrummy aroma before actually tasting the jelly beans.

Jelly beans - The jelly beans are slightly smaller in size to the standard sized jelly beans we get here in NZ, but do not let this bother you, as these little mini morsels are packed full of serious flavor. Its hard to believe that so much yumminess can come from something so small. Some of the flavors are hard to decide going by the colors of the jelly beans, and some of the colors did not match the descriptive pictures on the back of the packet anyway.

Flavors - I enjoyed all flavors in these tasty little morsels, but there were a couple my children did not like. As they were trying each one at a time, and guessing the flavors (which miss 5 did better at than anyone), one poor jelly bean was described by my daughter as tasting like fish, my son described the same one as tasting like an old sock (not that I know how he knows what that tastes like)...Yet for my husband that same flavored jelly bean was his favorite one. So as we all know everyone has different perceptions of things, and it seems that even when it comes to jelly beans, everyone is different.

Final words - I think these are simply fantastic, and even for the size of the bag you still get a good amount in them. All five members of my family tried these last night, and there is still well over half the bag left, and it wasn't just a case of tasting just one or two. So although the bag is small, you do get a lot. I'm not sure I could pay the suggested retail price for them though, but all in all these are fantastic!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 18th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Well I was looking forward to tasting these as I am a defiite Gourmet Jelly Bean fan.

We all tasted all the flavours and thought they all tasted roughly of the flavours they were supposed to be. Having said that it was tricky to identify the flavours without looking at the packet! The taste wasn't as strong as other gourmet Jelly beans I have tried but these are definitely a change from the normal jelly bean. They are smaller in size than normal jelly beans and a little harder but that is not a negative.

We tasted these before I looked at the ingredients.

Ingredient wise I was pleased to see the first ingredient was sugar rather than a chemical. These are gluten free, gelatine free (so suitable for vegetarians) and nut free. These Jelly beans contain fruit purees and juice concentrate which I imagine contributes to the "natural" flavour. However these jelly beans do have artificial flavours and unfortunately contain artificial colours, such as Tartrazine, which is a banned colouring in many countries and in our house. (So yes the kids weren't allowed to eat any more!)

A product of Thailand, it is disappointing that these colours are used as it definitely puts them on our banned list of household foods and I would not purchase these. Had natural colours been used I would have rated these more highly and would have purchased these in the future.

Price wise $4.99 for 100gs is expensive and I would prefer to spend that sort of money on a product that was more natural than these.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 16th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

It has been a very long time since I have tried Jelly Belly gourmet jelly beans, and I was lucky enough to try the smoothie blend flavoured pack.

Now the gourmet jelly bean has been around for a long time, and the thing that sets them apart from other jelly beans is the word gourmet thrown into the mix. Now they can state that, as these really are a step above a bog standard jelly bean.

They are slightly smaller then your normal jelly bean, but don't let that put you off, what they lack in size they really make up for in flavour. This is achieved by using real juices from real fruit.

You get quite an intense flavour from just a small item, and it really does taste great. Now not everyone will like all the flavours, and that only comes down to personal preference. But give them a try, you wont be let down.

I also like the chewiness of the jelly bean, a little bit harder then a standard one which makes it just that little bit better. The price is right for the size of the packet, and the taste you get.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I don't know if I've ever tried GOURMET jelly beans before, but now that I have, I WANT MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORE!!!!!! The flavours were truly unusual and interesting, I never knew that you could pack more than one flavour into a jelly bean. The mixed berry one was interesting, I couldn't tell it was berries as I was more focused on eating the damn things instead of reading the flavours, only now as I write my review do I take time to see what the flavours were, and I had to borrow my Dad's packet to do so as I threw my one in the bin before the idea came to me.

The pineapple pear didn't taste like what I though it would, instead of being a combination of pear and pineapple it tasted more like the banana lollies you get in the Pick'n'mix at the supermarket I think my favourites were the Mandarin Orange Mango, Strawberry Banana (and now that I think about it, maybe this one was what tasted like banana sweets, I can't recall, I ate them too fast to see what colours they were), and the Cherry Passion Fruit as they all had that pleasant, fruity taste that just the thought of makes my mouth water, oh no, now as I write the review my mouth is going all watery!

Price is great, perfect for bags of this size, and the taste factor gets a whopping big 100%! These are great jelly beans that I absolutely love, so Dad, can I have some more...? LOL Icon.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Seriously sad about these ones. Of the five flavours, only two were tolerable, one utterly horrible, and the other two were just -meh-.

This style of flavour really didn't resonate with me at all. Too 'creamy' and not enough 'sharp' flavours which I really enjoyed from the Jelly Belly Fruit Bowl. I really don't know how they figured out the 'pear' flavour, but it doesn't taste like any pear I would be willing to eat, sorry.

Overall, though I love the concept of Gourmet Jellybeans, and have found some that are well worth the effort to hunt down and try, this particular variation is one that I doubt will ever get on my "buy it" list. While I can certainly understand some people finding them crave-worthy, I'm just not one of those people.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 13th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I brought these out for dessert last night, my husband's eyes lit up. He is a sucker for gourmet jelly beans as well and he was literally bouncing in his chair. I gave him and my daughter all 5 flavours each and made them blind test what each one was.

My daughter refused to try them at first. She said they looked mouldy and off. Once she was reassured, we got down to testing.

Mixed Berry
My daughter said this flavour tasted like grapes. I think she only thought that because of the colour. My husband said berries of some kind. To me, this tastes of classic mixed berry, with a creamy milkshake quality as well.

Mandarin Orange and Mango
My daughter said this tasted like Orange. My husband immediately yelled "Mango!" and then afterwards said there was something else there that he couldn't place. When I said there was citrus in there as well, he agreed with my daughter about the orange. The Mango in this one is very strong, with a subtle following flavour of the orange and mandarin.

Pineapple Pear
My husband guessed Pineapple with this one immediately, but he knew there was another very strong flavour there as well. When I said there was Pear in there, he clicked. When I bit into this bean, the pear was overwhelming and the pineapple was the final flavour. My daughter liked this one.

Strawberry Banana
Both of them immediately tasted the Strawberry in this, but couldn't place the other flavour. My husband said it had a creamy taste that he couldn't place. When I told them it was banana, he agreed that was the flavour.

Cherry Passionfruit
This one confused both of them. To me the cherry was the stronger flavour but passion fruit came through quite quickly as well.

All of these had a creamy aftertaste as well to go with the smoothie theme. My daughter was gutted when I said that was all for the night. She requested some in her lunchbox and declared them "Delicious". Thanks KIWIreviews and United Sweets for letting us try these yummy beans!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 13th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love gourmet jelly beans are was looking forward to reviewing these. The pack said the smoothie blend was five different flavours. Our pack didn't contain and cherry passionfruit. There was a note on it that said " Contents are randomly selected and may not contain every flavour," so I won't be complaining about it especially as cherry flavoured things don't appeal to me. There seemed to be equal amounts of the other four varieties.

My favourite was the mandarin orange mango with its citrus tang. I also enjoyed the mixed berry and pineapple pear. The strawberry banana didn't appeal to me as I don't like bananas. The children were happy to eat all these after I had tried one.

My pre-schoolers loved all the varieties of these. As a parent I loved that they were tiny so I could give them one and they felt they were getting a treat without the sugar high. It should have meant the packet lasted a long time but some how the rest of the packet disappeared while they were sitting next to me last night.

I am now keen to try some of the other Jelly Belly packs especially bean boozled which has weird flavours like toothpaste.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 187: Takaro Takeaways
Located : Botanical Road, PN

Product image for Takaro TakeawaysLocated in the Takaro Shops, on the corner of Featherston Street and Botanical Road, you can't miss us.

Open Tuesday to Sunday, from 11:30am - 1:30pm for lunch, and 4:30pm - 8:00pm (7:30pm Sundays only) for dinner.

We carry a wipe range of European fast food, a range of flavour choices and now owned by the original creators of the Grumpy Burger and the T-Rex Burger.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Political language... is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind."
George Orwell (1903 - 1950)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream