Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 23rd October 2019 - 15:35:30

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Wonka Spree Original review

« Wonka Sweetarts reviewWonka SweetartsWonka Laffy Taffy Minis reviewWonka Laffy Taffy Minis »

Score: 7.9/10  [16 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3484 - Wonka Spree Original
Manufactured by Nestle

Wonka Spree Original
Price:
$4.49 / 170g box
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Wonka Spree Original product reviews

Tangy fruit-flavoured candy discs - it's a kick in the mouth!

Flavours include: Orange, Grape, Green Apple, Lemonade and Cherry

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   candy   cherry   grape   lemonade   orange   wonka
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chicken PelmeniChicken Pelmeni
Rating: 8.9
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla
Rating: 9.4
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - TamarindDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Tamarind
Rating: 9.5
Pitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea CurryPitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea Curry
Rating: 8.6
Cumberland SausagesCumberland Sausages
Rating: 10.0
Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc PorkSlow-cooked Pulled Duroc Pork
Rating: 8.5
Orgran Molasses LicoriceOrgran Molasses Licorice
Rating: 5.3
I Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli CookiesI Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli Cookies
Rating: 9.1
What BarWhat Bar
Rating: 9.1
Red Pepper RelishRed Pepper Relish
Rating: 9.3
Disco's Cheesy CheeseDisco's Cheesy Cheese
Rating: 8.9
Creme Brulee PufflesCreme Brulee Puffles
Rating: 7.5
Tamarillo ChutneyTamarillo Chutney
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 25th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.0/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I love Wonka, usually EVERYTHING and ANYTHING Wonka, But these would be something I would happily never ever eat again.

The box is awesome, bright and attractive. Looks like a typical American candy cinema box - I was so excited to try these as some of my favourite lollies are made by Wonka (Nerds, Laffy Taffys, Shelbert Fizzs) - However for some reason these did not appeal to me at all.
It was not because they were sour, I do enjoy sour lollies, and I also enjoy sweet lollies - These just had a very very unpleasant flavour. They were also sort of stuck together and sticky, and also stuck to the sides of the box.

My partner tried these too, and we each had one of every colour but to be completely honest we ended up throwing the box away because none of them were any better. They all tasted awful. I find it hard to believe there is a market for these lollies. I would not recommend them, and I would never buy them again.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Wonka candies are something i will forever be happy to review, and was pleased to be chosen to review some recently.

I love the bright colorful packaging i find comes with all wonka lollies...eye catching and easy to read. I love the size of the portions. Most things these days cost the earth but when you open there is next to nothing in there. With wonka you get what you are paying for, and these original spree lollies are no exception.

The box is 170g and is packed full to make sure you really do get loads, not just a wee few in the bottom. Like the sweetarts i had a little trouble with the easy to open tab, i dont know if it is just me or what, but both tabs were not easy to open, but are a good idea :)

The lolly itself is a tangy fruit lolly. So if your not a big fan of tangy, you may not like these. I love them, and so did my children, we all love tangy things, as we love the funny faces that comes with them, it turns a simple lolly into a real box of fun.

Each little morsel is bursting with juicy fruity tangy goodness...definitely worth your money and definitely worth trying some today. Go on you know you want too :)

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 10th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I absolutely loved these. They are a delicious cross between M&M's and sherbert fizz, where have these been all my life?

Admitedly whilst the different colours of the sweets were meant to represent different fruits, they weren't quite up to the level of other fruit flavoured sweets, but they still had a good taste to them, and they were most decidedly moreish.

Personally the purple 'grape' flavoured ones were my most favourite, but they were all good tasting and full of sugary goodness. I think these would work wonders as decorations on a birthday cake as they look like M&Ms and people would expect them to be M&Ms and it would be a pleasent surprise to have that fizzy rush occur instead of the chocolate rush.

These are great sweets and I highly recommend them to others.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 8th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Looking at the box I was expecting Pebbles or M&M flavoured candies. I thought the casing was just a colour and the inners were going to be chocolate - boy was I wrong!!!!!

The box is so easy to open and has a flap that you can close so can be kept in the pantry for when you are peckish.

After opening I hurriedly threw one into my mouth and a second later my face was contorted and my nose was screwed up and I was absolutely repulsed. My husband was asking me what was wrong and so was my three year old daughter and I could not say a word. The funny thing was my husband then tried a lolly and did exactly the same thing and I have to say it is extremely funny to watch someone else react the same way. I was very hesitant to let my three year old try one but she insisted and she loved them.

I definitely will not be buying as really do not like tangy and not sure why but had a major reaction to these. They look really good on the outside and they are a good size but way to tangy for me!

The box looks so good and you definitely want to eat them, it screams out "Chocolate Factory - made from Wonka himself" but unfortunately no chocolate was to be found!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

As much as I wanted to really like these, they just didn't strike me as much as the Sweetarts did. These were more or less Sweetarts wrapped in a candy shell, in a similar style to M&Ms. This did mean no messy fingers, but it also changed the taste enough to make these very sickly after more than a few. On top of that, I don't know what the purple flavour is supposed to be (Grape?) but it really did not agree with me, giving me a nasty acid reflux every time I ate them. (I have a habit of tipping out all the lollies and eating them, by colour, so I can check out the flavours one at a time.)

Keep in mind, all the issues I have with these are only to do with my personal tastes. My ever-willing volunteers - my Mokopuna who always seem to be "just popping in to see how I am" after a courier has been - were quick to test a few of each flavour (leaving me none at the end of the taste testing) and give their opinions. Orange won out for all 6 of us, followed by Yellow in second place (5 out of 6), Green and Purple tied for third (4 out of 6) and Red came in a dead last with only 2 of the 6 of us being willing to eat even a second one.

The amount you get in the pack is great for the price, when you take into account these are American lollies imported in smallish lots, meaning higher unit prices. Would I go and buy more? Yes, certainly I would, but mostly as gifts and special occasions.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

First of all, I loved the box size and shape! The tab was easy to open and reseal and the lollies dispensed easily. It's an original sized box too, would really stand out on the shelf.
The lollies were nice and hard and didn't appear to have suffered shaking around in the box; no chips or half bits came out of the packet.
I started off by trying an Orange flavour on it's own; sucking away on it, it had a very mild taste, but after a minute I crunched it and got a real burst of flavour. the same with the Grape, although I found that had a little bit of a chalky aftertaste. The Lemonade was lovely and refreshing, as was the Green Apple; the apple had the best "fruit hit" as it hit my tongue. My least favourite was the Cherry, I found that quite artificial. It was nice mixing all the flavours together too.
I think this box would last me quite a long time as the lollies were surprisingly nice; they remind me so much of a lolly we used to have in England when I was a kid, called Fizzers, and although I'm sure they used to cost me about 5p for a tube, I think $4.49 for a box of these is very reasonable and I would buy them again.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I really loved the box, i loved that it was cardboard and not plastic and although the tab was a bit confusing, it works well once you work it out! The packaging is nice and bright but some of the lollie looking shapes are hollow like life savers on the box, which the lollies are not. Anyhow...

When i first tried these, they reminded me of runts apart from the yellow is lemon in this box. I really thought the flavour range was average, the green apple and cheery are revolting. The lemon(ade - although its lemon in my opinion), and orange are quite nice though.

I shared these with my family, my 4 year old spat them out as he wasn't keen on the hardness, or the flavour and my partner wasnt over fussed (there are still some on the bench so i guess that speaks for itself)

Overall this isnt a product i would buy again. I thought that it was pretty good value as the box is never ending in that great wonka fashion! Fantastic if you were a fan of these! - or need to keep the kids quiet in the back seat :) !!!

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 1st of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Wonkas has always been a lolly brand of choice since I was young. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the box at 170g there is more than enough to have over several sittings made easier by a resealable box. The bright purple box and yellow writing makes the box stand out and appeal to the eye.

These bright coloured morsels of tasty sherbet hard covered goodness, each colour a different flavour are very sweet that you only need a few of to satisfy your sugar craving. And an added bonus is no mess left behind on your hands or fingers.

The price of these I think is good value for money, and would buy these again to enjoy, they get a huge thumbs up from me!
Thanks United Sweets and KIWIreviews for giving me the chance to tantalise my tastebuds with these.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 28th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It was time to try Wonka original spree, my impression from the cover with its bright purple and multi coloured circles, and the sound in the box when I shook them was that these would be like tangy fruits. The colour of the lolly inside was bright and bold, and I will admit I was a little nervous about popping these in my mouth as I have never been a tangy fruit kind of girl.

The resulting taste was pleasantly surprising! For anyone who made assumptions based on the packaging these are not in any way close to tangy fruits. The bright coloured coating was sweet, and then under the sweet coating was the fizzy lollies or in Wonka terms a 'sweetarts' inside. This gave them quite a distinctive sweet and sour taste, with the sweet covering and the fizzy sherbet filling contrasting in taste.

I would definitely buy these again, the price is good value for money - and I can say that these would appeal to most members of the family, I can particularly see ages 8 - 15 year olds enjoying the sweet / sour aspect of these lollies. As a parent I like that they are not messy lollies, they are not 'sticky' like the mixed lollies you often buy and the cardboard packaging makes them fairly spill proof, and great for sharing.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 26th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

The box of original spree from the Wonka family of products sure does stand out, and want you to try them, and try them I did.

The box has a handy opening hole thing, which I found out about after just ripping the end of the packet open, as I had a man look, and may have overlooked the correct opening procedure.

I don't know if it is because it is in a box but there seems to be a lot of them contained within, fans of sherbet type lollies will like these as the centre of them has a great sherbety filling.

The outside consists of a hard shell, with a flavour that matches the colour and shouldn't surprise anyone who is familiar with the flavours used in lollies. And for some reason, I could only eat a couple at a time and that was it. For myself the packet would last a very long time, and is well worth the price.

Personal choice, they are a well made, great tasting lolly, just not that I would want to get again, and that is purely down to personal choice, make sure to try them, and if you are a fan of sherbet type things, you will love them.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I grew up on Nerds, Dweebs, Runts, and other fabulous Wonka sweets, so the chance to try more in the range could not be passed up. Spree comes in a handy cardboard box. It is easy to store in the cupboard compared to bags of lollies and easier to see in the cupboard as well.

The box is nice and bright The tab for opening and closing the box seemed to work pretty well. For $4.49 a box, it's not too bad value. This is because the candy itself is not overly moreish. Its delicious, but you don't feel like sitting with the box and monstering the lot. A small handful and you have had enough for the evening.

The candy is like a sherbert disc with a hard candy shell. They are all different fruit flavours. I tried them all individually by colour. The orange shell tasted a bit like sucking on an orange cordial ice lolly, or orange kid's cough syrup. The inside is an explosion of orange flavour that assaults your senses.

The grape shell was a nice subtle grape flavour, which again took over your whole mouth once you crunched in. The Green Apple shell was a subtle apple flavour. The Lemonade shell was yellow and tasted a lot like lemon zest and the cherry shell tasted like glace cherries. But with all of them the moment you bite in, the flavour is so intense. Its also quite bitter and has a slight salty soda taste. So really a few and you are done.

The box is going to last a long time in my house, even though we are all sherbet fans. These are just so intensely flavourful!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 19th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have loved Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory since I was a child and this makes Wonka sweets appeal to me. The Spree box has a quote from Roald Dahl's famous book and magical fonts. It just screams out buy me. The box also has a handy dispensing hole which can be closed so you don't have lollies rolling everywhere.

The lollies themselves are a fizzy sherbet with a thin candy coating. They come in five bright colours: red, orange, green, purple and yellow. Each colour has a different fruity flavour. We played a fun game as a family trying to guess which colour would come out of the box next which was great for my youngest you isn't secure with her colours yet.

The box is great value at $4.49 for 170g. All four members of the family have enjoyed plenty of them and there are heaps left. I was surprised that these have been so popular with us as I don't remember the girls ever trying sherbet before and that aren't a sweet I opt for. I like the lingering tingle that the Spree lollies leave on my tongue. We all loved them and there are lots of smiles and best behaviour when Mummy produces the box.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 19th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love any lolly that has a sherbet like centre. So when I got these to review I was stoked.

The box itself has a great design and would catch my eye any day. The brightness of the box alone, would have me grabbing it off the shelf to try it (which I guess is the aim).

I shared these mainly with my husband, though of course the kids had a few for themselves. These are sweet enough that you don't need to eat too many in one go. Hubby first realised this when he shoved about 6 in his mouth in one go and then complained it was too sweet.

The kids really liked these, especially since the lollies are nice and bright. But sticking to just two each seemed to satisfy their yearning for sugar.

I really liked them, though I did find that about half of them were a little tart. All in all though, I would buy this, as even though it is just over $4 for 170g it still lasts well and gives you a decent little sugar buzz.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I absolutely loved these! So clean and easy to eat, but full of intense flavour. I was cheeky and decided to take this box into the movies with me recently, fully expecting to be dropping the empty box in the bin on my way out. How wrong I was.

The flavour really is intense, and after a small handful of these I had to take a long break to let my mouth recover from the sherbet shock. Considered individually, these sweets are pretty tame, but when they gang up on your tastebuds you will soon surrender. Seriously, they are incredibly moreish but with a built-in "thou shalt snarf no more!" alarm that lets you know it's time for a break and a long drink.

The box lasted well over a week... that's about 4 days more than the previous longest survivor record for a comparable quantity of sweets in this household. I really was impressed at what great value for money these proved to be... but that's just me. Those with a really high tolerance for sour sharp confections will possibly find these far more edible in bulk amounts than I did.

Overall, a stunning sweet, but an acquired taste for sure. Beware, your tastebuds may thank you, or rebel! LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

At $4.50 a box these are good value. 170 g goes a long way! The whole family kept raiding the pantry to eat these. They are incredibly moorish and a fantastic taste sensation in your mouth. I had to ration them out with the kids because, as with the SweetTarts, these are very artificial although they do contain corn syrup (not that that is a great thing). They are crisp on the outside and then sherbety and a taste explosion on the inside. Yummy.

They do leave the inside of my mouth feeling a bit raw though if I have more than about 5 at a time. For that reason (and that they are so artificial) I don't rate these highly personally.

I would not buy these for my children to eat because of the ingredient list but would use them to decorate cakes etc. The colours are incredibly bright and shiny. Ummm the yummyness of artificial!!

The box is very colourful and I love the design. The brand is very "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" . This line of Wonka sweets references Roald Dahl and has the "feed your imagination" blurb. I can totally see the Oompah Loompahs making these Original Sprees!!

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 15th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well, out of the three Wonka candies I've tried, this one is my favourite! I found it was like a cross between sherbet candy and M&Ms, as there was a nice, crispy shell on the outside, and a yummy compacted sherbet centre, it was a combination of textures and tastes that made this a great candy to eat, in fact I was a bit disappointed when I finished the box as I was still eager for more!

The artwork on the box looked awesome, it had plenty of bright colours that made it look exciting and yet the purple background was dark which contrasted with the bright colours and made the artwork less sore on the eyes.

The quantity was okay, it is small enough to be used as a perfect movie snack, but big enough to not be considered "a petty amount". Price is excellent, $5.00 is a perfect price when taking into consideration the quantity and taste value of the product. All in all, good product, great taste, BIG thumbs-up from me. Enjoy!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 5534: Cuisine Scene Asian-Style Sauce -  Produced by Cuisine Scene

Product image for Cuisine Scene Asian-Style SauceA delicious mix of soy sauce, lime Juice, sesame oil, garlic, ginger and chilli bring beautiful Asian flavours to any salad or stir-fry. Add extra herbs, chilli or sesame to tweak the flavour to suit your dish.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
Albert Einstein

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream