Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 02:15:11

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Wonka Sweetarts review

« Siroflex Water Miracle reviewSiroflex Water MiracleWonka Spree Original reviewWonka Spree Original »

Score: 8.2/10  [15 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3483 - Wonka Sweetarts
Manufactured by Nestle

Wonka Sweetarts
Price:
$4.99 / 170g
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Wonka Sweetarts product reviews

Sweet & sour candy - the best of both worlds in little tangy morsels of yumminess.

Flavours include: Blue raspberry, cherry, grape, orange & green apple.

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   candy   cherry   grape   orange   raspberry   wonka
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mac Snack - Golden RoastedMac Snack - Golden Roasted
Rating: 8.3
El Mexicano - Nacho cheese SauceEl Mexicano - Nacho cheese Sauce
Rating: 8.5
Pic's Boysenberry JellyPic's Boysenberry Jelly
Rating: 9.4
Honey, Soy & Garlic Chicken Stir FryHoney, Soy & Garlic Chicken Stir Fry
Rating: 10.0
Three Minute Mug CakeThree Minute Mug Cake
Rating: 9.8
Hellers Pumpkin & Smokey Bacon SoupHellers Pumpkin & Smokey Bacon Soup
Rating: 9.3
Birds Eye Vegetable FingersBirds Eye Vegetable Fingers
Rating: 9.1
The Edge CrustThe Edge Crust
Rating: 8.8
Maketu Steak & Mushroom - Single ServeMaketu Steak & Mushroom - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Kidscare Rice WheelsKidscare Rice Wheels
Rating: 8.9
JointFXJointFXBlack Cherry & Vanilla w/ Apple Fruit CompoteBlack Cherry & Vanilla w/ Apple Fruit Compote
Rating: 10.0
Swiss Deli Fine Liver Pate - Portion PackSwiss Deli Fine Liver Pate - Portion Pack
Rating: 9.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 14th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Now while I really loved the Wonka Sprees these were almost as good. Now I normally aren't really fond of the sweet/sour type lollies as usually the sweet ones are just way too sugary (even for me) and the sour ones just don't do it for my tastebuds, but these ones were entirely different, they were nowhere near as polar opposites as I am normally used to.

I didn't really notice that much of a difference between the various flavours in this one, but then again I didn't really care, as the flavours weren't terrible.

Now in saying that don't get me wrong, there is definitely a difference between the two types, but it's not quite as drastic as I have experienced before and so this caused my tastebuds to go into a feeding frenzy, however I also discovered that whilst these were still very yummy they weren't quite as easy to consume a lot of as after a few I knew i'd had my limit for the day.

Also as an added bonus these are also of the sherbert fizz type variety and so they also fulfil my need for sherbert fizz lollies (I just love those). So these are another lot of sweets that will get purchased at various occasions for a little treat now and then.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 8th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Now I am not a fan of tangy lollies and was actually dreading having to try these. I opened the other box (Original Spree) and after finding those absolutely revolting I really was not enjoying the thought of trying these. But I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. They are not as bad as I thought they were going to be and I amazingly am still eating them, well actually sucking them. I find if you suck these lollies they are great and the flavour slowly is released. Even if you do crunch into them they are not that bad.

They taste just like fizzy lollies the kind you get in a $1 mixture.

My husband and I had the same reaction with the Original Spree's and like me he was reluctant to try these but just like me he automatically sucked on it and said oh its just sherbet. My 3 year old daughter on the other hand had a couple and said she preferred the other variety.

Although we will not be buying either again, if we had a choice this would be the one we would get. The box is a great size and you do get your monies worth. The box is definitely eye catching and kids are automatically drawn to them. I don't think they need to have tangy candy on the box as to me the Original Sprees have a bigger kick.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I tried these after I tried the Original Spree and I had to say that these didn't look as attractive. They have a chalky finish whereas the others are glossy and shiny and look more appetising. Again the box looks fresh and eye-catching, easy to open and close and an original shape and size.
I started off with Cherry as that was my least favourite last time and I found it actually a little better; the sourness complimented the cherry flavour and made it palatable. I moved on to the Orange and wowsers, that was zingy in my mouth! I actually did the whole screw your nose and shut your eye business when crunching it! The Grape and Blue Raspberry had a medium tangy factor, but the Green Apple was up there with the Orange, although again, a little artificial aftertaste.
My next tatsk; crunch a small handful at once! They sure live up to their name! I think they may even be a little too sour for me; I've eaten ten in as many minutes and I don't think I could eat any more! But if you like tangy this is the lolly for you!
Again pricewise I think it is a reasonable price for the boxsize as it really will last you ages.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 5th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I really love the packaging of this product, its nice and bright and the tab is awesome once you work out how to open the packet. These remind me of fizzy lollies you use to buy at the local shop (2 for 5 cents!).

I disliked the taste of these, the choice of flavours was disappointing, i hated the cherry and apple, i wish they had been strawberry and lime. The blue raspberry wasn't raspberry flavoured at all.

I wasn't a big fan of these, I found them pretty mediocre and there is still some left in the packet. My partner was about the same as me on these and my 4 year old really didn't like them!! I thought that there was a good amount of produce in the packet, great if your wanting something to last for ages!! Would be fantastic for a car trip!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 4th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Sweet and sour lollies. Nothing really new there. We've had sour worms, sour gummi bears, sour boiled sweets. I my many years walking this world I have tried every sweet and sour lolly I could find, including these on a trip through America about 30 years ago. They were great then, and just as great now which really surprised me, as almost every other American snack I remember from that trip has long since either disappeared or changed almost beyond recognition.

Because these are so intense, I found my tolerance for them has shrunk a lot since my younger self, but my young Mokopuna were keen to help me dispose of the evidence of my failing appetite for sweets, polishing off the box in a single afternoon of Xbox gaming between the 5 of them. They all agreed these were some of the nicest treats they have had in ages, and were quick to suggest their old Koro buys more.

My only regret is that once again the Mokopuna saw the courier arrive. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 1st of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I got very excited about the name SweeTarts and wasn't let down, the are definitely sweet but also the right amount of tart for my tastebuds, I am so much of a sherbet lover that I had a bit of trouble putting these down and ended up with a bit of a sugar overload!

These are just the right size to pop a couple in your mouth and savour the tantalising tastes.

Another brilliant Wonka resealable box made these even more appealing as I wouldn't lose these everywhere if I put these in my glove box or handbag for a treat on the go, and I also wouldn't lose this bright sizable box under other junk I acquire.

The 170g size box and price is acceptable to me as these are definitely now a favourite of mine and I WILL be buying again.

Thanks again United Sweets and KIWIreviews for satisfying my tastebuds once more.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 28th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Sweet tarts, I was pretty excited about opening these. The packaging reminded me of nerds with its split coloured cover - half pink and half blue with a splash of Wonka purple! It said sweet tarts and so I don't know what I was expecting but they are what us older generation would call Fizzy lollies!!

The round shaped sherbety type lollies that come in pinks, purples, greens and blues. I tried one hyped with anticipation and I wasn't let down, these are yummy, and definitely live up to my childhood memories of 'fizzy lollies'. I had to try several colours just to ensure that different kinds didn't let me down, but I am happy to report that each colour is a sweet treat.

I would definitely buy these again, and I would almost say they are an essential for family road trips, or trips to the movies, as the box holds a good amount, and the lollies themselves last in your mouth. Nothing negative to say about this except I had an issue with opening the 'reseal able' tab I couldn't get it to work and had to rip it open, but this is more of a reflection of my opening skills, rather than the packaging!

As a parent I would be a little concerned that these are panadol size and come in a cardboard box, just like most panadol or that type of medicine. So I would chat to my younger child about the difference - colourful packaging and colourful contents.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 26th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Another box of candy from Wonka, and like the Spree candy, this is another great value for money box of candy, that should last a little while longer compared to other stuff you could be eating.

Now this box also has little opening flap to help you get the candy out, don't feel bad if you didn't see it, and just rip the end open like I did.

Now originally I wasn't a fan of these over the candy coated spree ones, but after giving them a second round of intensive tasting and reviewing, I am pleased to announce that I prefer these ones more.

This comes down to no candy coating, no waiting to get to the sherbet type filling, it is right there, to be sucked on, or chewed.

The flavour isn't the greatest, after awhile it seems a bit bland, and each one is very similar to the last. Bottom line, if you like sherbet type candy, you will like these, they are worth the money for what you get, go get them.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I usually hate sour lollies so when I was given Wonka Sweetarts to trial I didn't have high expectations. The lollies sat in my cupboard for a week unopened because they didn't tempt me. Finally last night the cupboards were empty of other temptations so I opened the box.

With a name like Sweetarts I was thinking they would be heart shaped but they were round and had an "S" stamped on it like a pill. The colours were lighter than I expected too and slightly speckled like the fizzy lollies I bought at the dairy when I was young. They were soft enough to bite into. I found I sucked some lollies and chewed others.

I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour. They are slightly tangy but not the strength of your usual sour sweet. I sat in front of the TV stuffing one after another of these lollies into my mouth. Once I had started I couldn't stop eating them. The box seems never ending. I still had some left to share this morning. My husband commented on the bland flavour. He too had expected a really tart taste. My four year old said they were yummy but agreed they were different than other lollies.

I am interested to read the other reviews to see what fellow KIWIreviews members have to say about this unusual sweet.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay, these candies were not as nice as the wonka spree, but they were still very nice! They had some pretty good flavours, and they delivered an interesting sour taste that reminded me a lot of sherbet. I think that the name of the candy is very clever, because they have a sweet taste, and a sour/tart taste, and when you say the name out loud it sounds like "sweet hearts".

I must admit that this product was a bit too sweet at first , but after a while I got used to it and they became quite enjoyable. The size of the box is good, it holds a fair quantity of candy, and it is also something you can take along to the movies. I just have one little problem with the design of the box, the flap that seals the box was a little tricky to work with, it's position meant that it was difficult to sometimes get the candy out, so I say that a little pull-open flap on the side of the box (like they have with the Wonka Nerds candy boxes) would make it much easier.

The price is great, as is the fact that it matches the value and quantity of the product, so those two aspects get a big thumbs-up from me. Other than that, I hope you enjoy this product.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 25th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I opened a box of Sweetarts today on the way home from the beach. My 5 year old was sitting in the back of the car feeling tuckered out. I offered her some of the candy discs and she gratefully received them. She ate approximately 6 of these. She said that they were very nice, sweet but a little salty. After the 6th one, she said that she would save the rest for another day when she needs more salty lollies.

The shape of these reminded me a lot of the Spree lollies. They are sherbet discs but without the candy coating that Spree have. However, the sherbet flavours for these discs are a lot more subtle than the intense flavour in Spree. I found that was a bonus because I could eat a few more.

The cherry tasted like cherry, the orange tasted like orange. You get the picture. But as my daughter said, they did have a salty soda like after-taste as well. I personally liked it, and found it easier to eat more because they weren't overly sweet. I loved the crunching, cool feeling of the candy against my teeth too. Made my mind go back in time to my own childhood, of fizzy fruits and candy necklaces.

Overall, I really enjoyed these. The box won't last for long once my husband gets home as well. We are both sherbet fizzy lolly-mad.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 20th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Ok so lets face it, when it comes to Wonka we all think candy, candy, candy and of course Charlie and the Chocolate Factory...it is a given! We also can not help but become like children.

We smile in delight at the sight and mention of anything Wonka, and that is exactly what happened when I received an exciting parcel of Wonka goodies to review.

The SweeTarts caught my attention straight away, the brightly coloured box doing exactly what it was designed to do...stand out in a crowd. The name was the second thing that caught my attention, very witty I thought, combining exactly what was in the box in to the name, sweet and tart sweets = SweeTarts...ingenious really, and so simple.

And its not a tiny box of candy either, you are actually getting your money's worth. It is not like some products with lots of packaging but when you open these 6 or 7 measly items inside. You're getting lots, and I mean lots of wonderful colourful candy.

Opening the box however is not as easy as it would seem. There is a tab at the top, complete with instructions on how to open, unfortunately its not as easy as 1,2,3...the box appears to be kiddy and adult locked. It was quite a mission in fact, and the end result was no easily lifted tab, more of a battle of wills and a forcefully punctured box. But that is where the disappointment stops.

Once you get it open you are met with lots of bright and colourful candy, just like the box. The box says there are a few different flavours to be found, but personally I could not tell which were which. There was definitely a notable difference in sweet and tart, but you are none the wiser until you eat them. They are yummy though and surprisingly you only need a few (not even the serving size) to walk away happy.

My children loved them, and they made for some wonderful 'funny face' moments. They were also a good addition on iced cookies, and to make the faces with licorice hair on a birthday cake, and the kids enjoyed making them themselves too LOL Icon Who knew you could get so much joy from one box of candy. Definitely 2 thumbs up from my family :) Thumbs UpThumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a total sucker for "sour sweets" so these were looking to be heaven in a box for me... and they came awfully close to being totally addictive. The only thing that let them down... the Cherry ones! OK, the Cherry and kinda the Grape too. Of the five or six flavours in the box, these two really took the shine off this for me, and stopped the product overall from getting a few extra points.

The texture is immediately familiar to anyone who has ever enjoyed a sherbet tablet - a hard pellet of flavour that breaks apart on biting into a sort of chalky, floury powder with a few slightly larger chunks scattered throughout, that fizzes on your tongue and dives into the gaps in your teeth to play merry havok with your tongue nerves. LOL Icon

The box itself was great value for money, lasting almost 4 full days, mainly because of the fizz overload these gave me. Though I adore the flavour, I am not a huge fan of the numb tongue I get if I eat fizzy confections too much in a short span of time.

Overall, though somewhat similar to the Spree but without the candy shell, these are quite similar to the sherbet lollies you buy from the dairy, but with some very different flavours. Given the choice, I think I would probably stick to the ones I grew up with, but these would be something I would occasionally tip into the mix to shake things up a bit. ;)

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I got given these to review (much to my joy. Candy = yum yum).

My first impression of them was that it was a really good sized box of candy. Open it up and just over half the box is full or yummy looking candy. The only thing that I didn't like about the box though, was the Tab. It was hard to get it open at first, and it seems that if it doesn't tear just right, then it's not going to close nicely. As a reult the 'tuck in to close' directions don't work, and if I forget, try and tuck it in and push it too far, then it gets stuck inside the box.

These have a nice flavour, though there wasn't a major difference in any of the different colours. The description above says that the flavours are blue raspberry, cherry, grape, orange & green apple. These flavours aren't strong, and if you don't know what the flavours are then you don't really notice it. Now that I know the exact flavours I can tell that I'm eating green apple.

The label says Tangy Fruits and I would have to say that these do have a slight tang to them. Enough that you notice it's there, but not enough that it's overpowering.

My 4yo and 3yo loved them, and kept coming back for more, had they had their way the box would be empty. In saying that, between myself, hubby, two kids and my dad, we've eaten about 1/3 the box already and there is still a lot left in the box. I would buy this, as it's a really good amount and I think the price is fair.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 17th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

The family love the box. Its very colourful . We have had these a week now and there is still about 30 left in the box despite us all raiding the box constantly. A serving is 11 of these but I personally wouldn't be able to eat 11 at once.

Each box has 170 gm in it which doesn't seem like much but the flavours are so strong that we all are happy just having a few at a time. My husband and I both think they make our mouths feel a bit funny and he found that too many of these made his teeth a bit sensitive.

I must confess to only now noticing that there was actually a tab to the box. I had opened it at the end. So do look for the tab opening!!

There are different colours and flavours but they all taste the same to me. There is nothing healthy about these and worryingly they don't even contain sugar!! I jokingly call these cancer pills and I am probably not far off!! They are of course not purporting to be healthy. I chuckle at the "feed your imagination" blurb on the box. This product is promoting "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" by Roald Dahl.

I would use these for cake decorating but due to the complete artificialness of them (Dextrose, maltodextrin, malic acid, and artificial colours) I would probably not purchase to just eat. If you aren't worried about fakeness in your sweets then try these! I am not sure if I would say they are good value for money having brought your attention to the ingredients but you aren't buying a multivitamin, that's for sure!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 8075: Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal Kit -  Brand / Manufacturer Farrah's

Product image for Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal KitFarrah's soft flame baked flour tortillas filled with tasty chicken, capsicum and onion cooked in a mild spice mix of cumin, smoked paprika and other tasty herbs and spices. Roll them up and drizzle over the sauce for a winning family fiesta!

Ingredients:
Flour Tortillas:
Wheat flour, water, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"You know you've read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend"
Paul Sweeney

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream