Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 23rd July 2019 - 19:01:58

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Pop Tarts - Frosted Cherry review

« Fifty Shades 3 - Fifty Shades Freed reviewFifty Shades 3 - Fifty Shades FreedPop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores reviewPop Tarts - Frosted S »

Score: 7.2/10  [16 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3427 - Pop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Brand / Manufactured by: Kellog

Pop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Price:
$2.99 per 2-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Pop Tarts - Frosted Cherry product reviews

With cherry-flavored filling, pink frosting and sparkly red sprinkles, it's a cherry on top of a cherry, if you can imagine that.

Pop-Tarts are fully baked and ready to eat straight from the pouch, but if you prefer a warm snack, you can pop them in your toaster or microwave. Perfect for those cold Winter mornings!

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
american   cherry   pastry   poptarts   snack
Other listings you may be interested in:
The Coffee Club, BethlehemThe Coffee Club, Bethlehem
Rating: 10.0
Jelly Belly Fruit BowlJelly Belly Fruit Bowl
Rating: 9.0
Avocado SpreadAvocado Spread
Rating: 9.5
Meyer AmsterdammerMeyer Amsterdammer
Rating: 9.0
Nut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut ButterNut Brothers - Salted Caramel Peanut Butter
Rating: 9.3
Sids Crazy LemonSids Crazy Lemon
Rating: 9.5
Spreadable Fruit - Seville OrangeSpreadable Fruit - Seville Orange
Rating: 7.9
Hog's Breath CafeHog's Breath Cafe
Rating: 10.0
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.3
Pop Tarts - Frosted S'MoresPop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores
Rating: 8.0
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Homebake Gluten Free Pancake MixHomebake Gluten Free Pancake Mix
Rating: 10.0
Graeme's GourmanderieGraeme's Gourmanderie
Rating: 4.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 27th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Pop Tarts and when I went to America for a holiday a few years back the first thing I wanted to eat when I got off the plane was a pop tart, I had memories of eating these when I was a child but up until now these haven't been readily available to buy in New Zealand. I was completely blown away by the amazing selection of Pop Tarts that America had to offer, there must've been over 50 different flavours. I also happened to be visiting at just the right time as Pop Tarts World was due to open so I was lucky enough to experience this and all the quirky Pop Tarts food they had in the cafe such as Pop Tart Sushi and Pop Tart Shakes.

Out of the many different flavours of Pop Tarts I've tasted the cherry frosted have to be up there as one of my favourites. The yummy, fruity cherry flavoured filling, encased inside a pastry case and topped with pink frosting and sparkly red sprinkles. It is definitely a tasty treat which looks appealing too. Though these can be eaten as is they in my opinion are definitely best served warm, either heated in the microwave or toaster. A great quick breakfast on the run or a tasty mid-day snack. They also make a great ice cream topping when crumbled.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 29th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I love pop tarts. I think they are a fun, tasty, and convenient snack or a handy breakfast for the teens when running late in the morning. I know they are not the most nutricious food and I would imagine they are jam packed full of sugar and other rubbish (this is one foid item I chose not to read the boxes on lol). But as I said they are fast and convenient.

And not just convenient in terms of ease of use (pop in the microwave, or toaster to heat or eat cold) but they are handy to pop into a lunch box or bag. And they are even okay with a little ice cream on top as a quick an easy dessert. My boys like poptarts both hot and cold, much like myself. And until we tried these ones, we had not tried a poptart we did not like. Unfirtunately though, three of us are not fans of cherry flavoured poptarts.

The other let down is the price. Priced at around $2.00 - $4.00 per pack of two depending on where you shop is completely crazy and really not justifiable at all. Not for something with no real nutritional value that is just convenient. But yet these facts aside I am still suckered in to buying them for my kids haha I would recommend any other flavour but these though :)

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 20th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 2 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 2 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Well, where do I start? Upon opening the packet are what looked like corrugated cardboard with pale pink frosting with little red/pink sprinkles.

There were no instructions as to how one would actually cook or serve this. So I tried in in the toaster... FAIL, it melted the icing, and turned out like BOARD!

Like other reviewers have stated, it had what appeared to be a strawberry jam (supposedly cherry?) between two biscuits. Taste wise it was sweet, but because the Pop Tart had broken into lots of pieces and was like board I don't feel like a got a good bite of it.

I will not be having again as far to sweet and does not taste like cherry, just tastes like strawberry with red coloring added to it.

Certainly nothing like the PopTarts they sold back in the mid 90's Sad Icon

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 18th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.8/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 2 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

As I said in my other review of the S'more poptarts, I had a little problem with the crumbled tarts, but carried valiantly on.
It was with some trepidation I tipped out the red and white crumbly bits onto my plate as I've never been a big poptart fan.
To be fair the biscuit was lovely and crumbly and tasted great, but then someone went and put "cherry" flavouring into it! I cannot understand the American fascination for this taste as they never end up tasting like cherries, just yucky, artificial aftertasting gook!
Again I wouldn't class this as a breakfast food; nor would I toast or microwave it, but as a snack it would be ok if you could get past the taste.
The S'more's were far tastier and whereas I mught buy one of those again, there would be no way I'd pay for these.

Click here to read the profile of chugga

Review by: chugga (Yolande)
Dated: 11th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

These went down a treat in our house - so much so I barely got a taste! I remember pop-tarts from when my children were young, back then they were really thick and dry and left this dreadful combination of paste and pastry in your mouth, and advertised as a breakfast product - what I did get to try of these was a big improvement.

I am not a fan of Cherry flavour or sweet cherry products in general but these actually did not taste much like cherry at all from the taste I got and certainly my grandson was under the impression they were raspberry flavour.

He absolutely loved them and scoffed them down with all the enthusiasm of a 6 year old at Christmas! I think the price is a little expensive for what you get but, might consider them for a very occasional treat.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 10th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I was so excited to get these .... i really wanted to like them, but i am not a cherry fan. Upon opening the silver packet they looked really appetising, a nice pink frosting, but the artificial almondy/cherry smell escaped out to me and immediately put me off.

So i heated this up for my Mr in the microwave for 30 seconds as there is no instructions on the foil wrap apart from not to microwave in the packet. I nibbled a little but this was not one for me...i handed the reviewing reins over to him. He said it was very sweet but very artificial tasting. He suggested it would perhaps be nicer with vanilla ice cream so it wasn't so dry on its own.

On the other hand my 4 year old enjoyed this, but taking all aspects into account it is not a product i would purchase again, i think that with weighing up the cost (2 for 2.99 plus postage from the online store) and the type of product and the satisfaction gained its not worth it. I remember getting pop tarts in NZ years ago and they were a lot nicer than this ... or perhaps that's my memory!

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 1st of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I'm not really a cherry person, but in the interests of fairness I decided to give these a go. Well for starters they weren't quite as cherry tasting as I was expecting, but it didn't really seem to have any taste to it really at all, just a very sweet taste, which I felt was just too much for a snack such as this. Now I know that pop tarts definately do not pretend to be a healthy snack option, but with this particular offering the extra sweet taste really wasn't my cup of tea, in fact most of the family agreed with me and said it wasn't really that great tasting at all, and they didn't want us to buy anymore of that particular flavour.

On the plus side though, even though I wasn't fussed about the extra sweet taste of the filling the rest of the pop tart was very tasty and quite more'ish, so I knew i'd most likely like the s'mores (well as long as I beat my family to them that is.)

So basically the idea is a good one, but the flavour isn't quire right for me, maybe a raspberry pop tart, now that's a good idea worth investigating..... Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 30th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

these were quite artificial tasting to me but that didnt really put me off too much as i am still found them very yummy. first one i tried just toasted and it was very tasty. the second one i tried chopped into small bits and microwaved then i threw some french vanilla ice cream on top. that was amazing. seriously though this did not taste like cherry unless your cherries taste like almonds. these were a bit thinner that i expected so in terms of value for money i dont think the price would be ok for a local market but since these are an imported luxury snack the price is within fair limits if you really want to try this. i think this might not be the best flavour in the range so i think i will have to go and place an order through their website to get some other flavours.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 25th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Opening the packet I fell in love - its like looking at fairy food. The pink frosting with the little red/pink sprinkles looks devine. (Yes I have two girls).

I heated in the toaster and once it popped it broke into lots of pieces so bit of a mission to get out of the toaster in the end just turned the toaster upside down and all the parts fell out. Looked like strawberry jam in between two biscuits. Thought we were going to be in fairy heaven.

The first taste was too sweet and had to force myself to take another bite. The more you ate the better it tasted. Unfortunately because the Pop Tart had broken into lots of pieces don't feel like a got a good bite of it.

My husband only could have one mouthful and that was it for him but my daughter loved it and wanted more. In the end she virtually ate a whole one by herself.

I will not be having again as far to sweet and does not taste like cherry, just tastes like sugar with red colour added to it. I love cherries and could eat them all the time but this did not taste like cherries.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 20th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

So I have been looking forward to trying the Frosted Cherry Pop Tarts so much that I held onto them until after the school holidays thinking I would enjoy eating them all by myself. I didn't... I pretty quickly offered them up to the kids to have.

I really loved the Frosted S'mores and was expecting to enjoy these just as much. As with the S'mores I heated these in the microwave and they were yummy and warm. As with a lot of cherry flavoured items I found these Pop Tarts a bit sweet and artificial tasting and was happy to pass them on to the kids after I had tasted my share.

The kids Loved this flavour! Much more so than the Frosted S'mores which I pretty much got to myself. They were clamouring for more of the Frosted Cherry.

So even though I wouldn't rate this flavour highly, the kids did and overall its all about personal taste preference. So I guess even though I wasn't a fan of this flavour, I was of the Frosted S'mores and would buy both again. I would definitely buy in a variety pack or if I wanted a quick snack that I knew the kids would definitely eat.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 16th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I remember trying pop tarts during a short stayover in the states many years ago. Maybe it's my memory playing tricks on me in my old age, or maybe today's economic times are rougher than I thought, but I would have sworn they used to be thicker and fuller than this. Even so, this was a tasty bit of kai for me to share with the mokopuna, who seem to be visiting their old Koro a lot more these days. As soon as they see the courier van leave, it's time to pop over the road to see how the old fellah is doing. Wink Icon

As much as I wanted to have a play with these and see what could be made with them, the fact is I was not allowed to. The young ones grabbed the packs and slammed them into my old toaster so quick I would almost swear on the bible I hear the air clap into the vacuum they left behind them as they moved. At least they remembered who these belonged to, so I did get manage to get a small piece off one plate without losing any fingers.

This didn't really taste like cherry at all to me. It reminded far more of marzipan icing. Luckily, this is a flavour I have loved for many years and will be immediately familiar to many as either an icing, or a cough medicine I think. Whichever way you remember it, you probably will remember it fondly as I do. This made it hard not to wolf it all down in one bite!

I am not too sure I would be happy to pay the going price, $2 would be about as far as I would go really, so I am hoping there are better prices for buying them by the box load. 16 tarts for $24 is a bit steep for me to consider as more than a Christmas treat, but I would happily buy them by the boxload for around$20 or less. I think some of the ideas I have seen written here are wonderful and well worth giving a go.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 13th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As a kid, growing up with a Mum who did cake decorating as a small 'cottage industry', I always got to have a scrap of the leftover icing. My favourite was the yellow 'almond icing' that always came in the big square white tubs. I could never get enough of that wrapped around a rich fruit cake. Ever since then, even the smell takes me back to happy memories making tiny icing flowers with Mum on the weekend.

These cherry pop tarts taste just like that icing smelled... which sounds a bit wacky really, but it's surprising just how many 'cherry' products don't taste anything like cherries! However, in this case I wasn't going to complain. I loved them, simple as that! But... I didn't want to just toast them and scoff them down. I wanted to try something different... so I did.

Grabbing a pack of these to work with in the #FoodLab, I took a leaf from Heston Blumenthal's modern take on Tiramisu - I also used some Whipping Cream and Macarpone from Tatua and drinking chocolate instead of coffee - since I am not a coffee drinker and can't stand the taste in general. Carefully making chocolate sheets and cutting them to disks the same diameter as the coffee mug I planned to serve them in was by far the hardest part. By comparison, cutting the poptarts was a doddle! I used the poptarts as a separator between the drinking-chocolate-soaked sponge cake that I had popped in the oven to dry it out a little, and the layer of cream made with some whipping cream, mascarpone and a touch of icing sugar.

Layering was interesting to plan out, but I ended up placing these layers in this order, from bottom to top: Spongecake soaked in rich drinking chocolate, strawberry poptart, cream, chocolate disk, cream, strawberry poptart, cream and a sprinkle of finely grated dark chocolate mixed with a pinch of finely ground sea salt. (Yes, another Heston trick that really, REALLY works!)

Topped with a sprig of fresh spearmint and a small squirt of Barker's Lemon and Passionfruit Patisserie Filling, this looked amazing, tasted stunning, and is something I plan to make more of! The only problem I encountered was that I couldn't take a photo thanks to my camera having low batteries and corrupting the files on the card, which wasn't discovered until the goodies were all gone and I attempted to load them into Photoshop. Other than that, it was tricky in places, but so very worth the effort! It was easy to taste the strawberry poptart amongst the chocolate and cream, because I left the cream basically unflavoured. I also did one of these using the Frosted S'Mores pop tarts but found that a little too rich when combined with all that chocolate. Strawberry was definitely the better of the two flavours experimented with.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 7th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love that you can eat these straight out of the pack, or pop them in the toaster if you're after a warm treat. I was concerned about the icing and my toaster not getting along but they did and the icing stayed put. Having this nice and warm was great, didn't take much, only issue was that it got a bit crumbly when taking it out of the toaster and as a result I lost some of it to the floor.

With my 2nd one, I cut it up into small squares and decorated my children's ice-cream with it. They loved it and it was gone before the ice-cream was even touched.

While I don't think that I would spend $2.99 just on a 2 pack, it's a great treat, and one that I will be getting again in the future.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I opened the frosted cheery pop tarts this morning for breakfast. Back when I was a University student, I use to get pop tarts from the local supermarket and it would be my breakfast of champions. It has been years since I have eaten one though.

These are conveniently packaged in lots of two. The foil baggie is easy to rip into, and has enough information on the pack to tell you what flavour you are about to enjoy. The pop tarts in this packet are rectangles, covered in pink icing with pink sugar sprinkles.

I put them in the toaster, and was a little concerned that the frosting might melt off or go all over my toaster. I didn't need to worry, the frosting stayed put. The pop tart itself has a crunchy thin pastry crust, which reminds me of a commercial sweet pie crust. The filling is cheery, but it has that almondy taste to it. It's not like fresh cherry, but if you like glazed cherries, you'd enjoy this flavour,

With the frosting, these pop tarts are super sweet. The pastry helps to not overpower the sweet though. Also recommend enjoying with a coffee. A nice walk down memory lane this morning for me.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 4th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This one is my least favourite. The reason I didn't enjoy the taste of this pop tart was because there was too much of the sharp tingling sensation on my tongue, and there was a strong taste of bitter almonds. Even though there were two in the pack, I couldn't finish a whole cold one, but the tart was a little bit more tolerable when toasted.

The portion size was okay, they are not so big that you could call them "pop pizzas" but not so small as to be considered a stuffed and frosted biscuit and take up only a small fraction of your stomach. The price is good, very cheap and it fits the size, value and taste of the product well, and so it is a great thing to bring to a picnic or have as an on-the-go snack!

The artwork on the box looked good, it makes it look like something worth buying, and for those who enjoy the bitter almond taste it would be! Also, there is a good amount of 2-packs in the box, So if you bought a box of tarts then you could enjoy the flavours they have to offer for a longer period of time! With every aspect taken into consideration, I would say that this is a great product that those with certain tastes would love, so enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 4th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I was given the Frosted Cherry Pop Tart to review I wasn't sure whether I would like it. Although I love cherries I am not usually a fan of cherry flavoured food. I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed these although not as much as the frosted s'mores variety.

I looked on the pop tarts website for serving suggestions. I chose to use a cookie cutter to make a shaped addition to ice cream. It wasn't as easy as I thought it would be, but that was possibly the shape I chose. I then froze these shapes. The frozen pop tarts weren't any different in taste or texture to what it was a room temperature.

I also toasted the a pop tart. It was nice to eat warm and the cracker layer was lovely and crisp. The taste reminded me of almond icing. My daughters also tried these toasted. My 2 year old inhaled it, whereas my 3 1/2 year old wasn't keen on it.

Having sampled a couple of varieties of pop tarts I am keen to try more. The price means that it isn't an everyday treat but is cheaper than a slice.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 6004: Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine Oats -  Produced by Cecile's Creative Kitchen

Product image for Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit and Nuts with Seeds and Fine Oats

Classic and homely is the best way to describe the Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit and Nuts with seeds and fine oats. The soft fruits seem to melt in your mouth and the oats, quite literally, roll over your tongue. Serve with cold milk or ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream