Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th December 2017 - 11:39:36

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Corn Nuts - Ranch review

« Corn Nuts - Original reviewCorn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Chile Picante reviewCorn Nuts - Chile Picante »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.0/10  [14 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3406 - Corn Nuts - Ranch
Brand / Manufactured by: Kraft Foods

Corn Nuts - Ranch
Price:
$2.49 / 48g bag
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by United Sweets

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and Retail Outlet

Corn Nuts - Ranch product reviews

The zesty and tangy flavour of ranch adds a flavourful zip to the Ultimate Crunch. Definitely worthy of all the praise that these little guys give it. Yee-haw!

Check out United Sweets onlineClick here to see all the listings for United Sweets Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
corn   cornnuts   garlic   oil   onion   salt   snack   sugar   tomato   vinegar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Oxford Butter Chicken pieOxford Butter Chicken pie
Rating: 9.2
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Select Couscous MorrocanSelect Couscous Morrocan
Rating: 10.0
Hartley & Valentino Premium Belgian Milk Chocolate Toffee TrufflesHartley & Valentino Premium Belgian Milk Chocolate Toffee Truffles
Rating: 9.0
Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad DayTasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Rating: 7.7
Corn Nuts - Chile PicanteCorn Nuts - Chile Picante
Rating: 8.1
Lombardi Cafe & BarLombardi Cafe & Bar
Rating: 8.5
Fast & Fruity Chunky Pourable FruitFast & Fruity Chunky Pourable Fruit
Rating: 9.0
Abe's Baby BagelsAbe's Baby Bagels
Rating: 8.7
Fast Food HouseFast Food House
Rating: 4.6
Corn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Spiced NZ Apricot with Mango SauceSpiced NZ Apricot with Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Healthy & Fresh Crushed GingerHealthy & Fresh Crushed Ginger
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 20th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

not sure what to expect so was rather hesitant to try., but Because I had a bad encounter with the original flavour and my tooth breaking, I got the opinions of the kids instead. Miss 9yo said that it does not look very nice and looks kinda like a flat pop corn. But She ate one first off and I loved it. Claiming that is tasted like Sour Cream and Chives she then took a handful and the flavour still remained the same. My husband and I agree that this is more of a special treat than a regular lunchbox snack.

If we were to purchase in the future, it might be better of used in a mixed salad with a BBQ.

Thanks for allowing us to KIWIreview this.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 27th of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wow, I received a heap of KIWIreviews goodies today to review and these were the ones i opened first ... the courier rang the doorbell as i was half way through my lunch .. being a bit naughty i opened these ones straight away just to see what they were like. Initially due to the look of the packaging and the randomness/uniqueness of the product they didn't look that appetising.

Once i had tried, i had to go back and have a few more ... then a few more .... and then like magic the whole pack had gone. I couldn't believe how amazing they tasted! I *was* going to leave some for the family to try ... but i guess they will have to try the other flavours!

I loved the crunch...and i think that made them pretty addictive. The size of the portion was big i thought (bonus!) and the price is great. I hope that these are stocked at the supermarket as i really will be buying some to take away this weekend! They seem like a great snack for the car.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 25th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

To be honest I was not sure what to expect so was rather hesitant to try. Does not look very appetising kinda like a flat pop corn. I initially ate one first off and I loved it. It tasted like Sour Cream and Chives Pop Corn (if there is such a flavour.) I then took a handful and the flavour still remained.

I shared with my husband and my three year old daughter (although I was rather concerned about her as on the packet it states not to be eaten by children under the age of six which is rather weird as it is a lot like pop corn.)

We all really enjoyed them, the taste was very strong and the size was fantastic. But we all agreed if there was something else on offer we would go for that. I could not eat a whole bag by myself and was glad had my family to share with.

I think it was because of the 'crunch' factor it feels like you have to really bite it and is a bit of a work out on the jaw. I prefer softer items where your mouth just gets to enjoy the snack.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Of the three flavours of Corn Nuts we have tried this has to be my favourite of them all. It has a great taste, and just a hint of spiciness to it.

To be honest I really wasn't sure what they would taste like as the only real exposure to the 'ranch' taste I have had before is as the Ranch dressing on either Subway or Pita Pit Pita's. However once I had tried these I was hooked. They had a very pleasant initial taste, followed up with a great aftertaste, and lets be honest, it really is the aftertaste that makes a snack/meal. As we all know, a snack/meal may taste good, but if for whatever reason the aftertaste sucks, then the memory of the original taste is forever sullied. Well thankfully with this little beauty this is not the case and so I know I will be purchasing more of these in the future, well these and a few other items on the United Sweets website that have taken my eye and are now just begging to be tasted.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 9th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

After the original flavour, my improntu tasting panel were keen to try a flavoured version. What a disappointment! I always believed ranch was a spicy mayonnaise dressing but I'm not sure what this flavour conveyed! It tasted very artificial, quite musty even.
The look of this product is quite strange too; one guest asked me if I'd swept them off the floor, which wasn't a good start! They did appear to be covered with a film of the seasoning which looked quite pale and unappetising.
The guests agreed that a flavoured version would be better than the original, just not this flavour (unfortunately I'd already eaten the Chile flavour, as I think that may have won them over).
One girl did really like them and polished the bag off which was good; one or two was enough for me.
This is a niche product I think, you either really like them or really hate them.
If you do like them, the price is right and the packaging is very user-friendly which makes a pleasant change.
For me the flavour (or lack of) puts me off. The Chile Picante would be my pick of the three if I were to buy, but I do have snacks I would rather purchase.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Because I had a bad encounter with the original flavour and my dentures, I got the opinions of six of my mokopuna instead. I am going to ignore the opinion from the oldest tester because he always seemed to go against the opinions of everyone else, no matter what was said.

The youngest tester said this flavour tasted a little strange at first but he came to like it. He said it remined him a little bit of the sour cream and chives chips he tried quite recently at kindy. The rest all thought it tasted a bit like popcorn but with an extra flavour added on top but none of them found this a bad thing. When asked, they all agreed these flavour was the best in their opinions.

The packet size is good for a 1 or 2 person snack but it really didn't go far when spread around 6 kids. For the price, this is more of a special treat than a regular lunchbox snack but I am sure if you have a decent disposable income then this could be something your kids would enjoy.

I plan to buy more of these and keep them on hand for the special occassions when I have my mokopuna visiting. That is normally a very rare thing, but since I started getting more products to review I seem to notice the whanau visiting a lot more often. (Thank you KIWIreviews! Wink Icon)

Click here to read the profile of gorilla

Review by: gorilla (Indira)
Dated: 30th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This was the first one i tried. The packet size was excellent, just pick up and go, and easy to handle. When open i had no trouble holding them

I shared them with some of my work mates and they said they liked them. I liked this flavour I have no idea why. It is a flavour that i have not meet before. The crunch was a surprise, and so was the teeth workout. Had only two to three small handfuls and i was full.
I liked this as well as the chilli but not as much as the original.

I have read in other reviews that people have used then in cooking. I used the ranch cracked in my salad, i found that i used less dressing and the flavour was different. (gave the salad texture and crunch)

I would buy the again and use them in different ways.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Out of the three flavours that I tried, I liked these ones the least. To me it tasted more like someone had just doused them with mayo and left it to dry. It wasn't so bad that I wouldn't eat it again, but it would be the last option if the other flavours were available first. As it stands, I wish that I had eaten these first, and not last.

Still, a nice crunch, a good portion size, and due to the crunch it does take a while to get through such a small packet, which makes it worth the price tag. I did feel like I had eaten a decent amount since I had to take it slow to get through the packet.

Gave some to my husband and mum to try and both of them found that they didn't like the flavour of these corn nuts either.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 20th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

After trying the regular flavour of the corn nuts, I was keen to try the ranch flavour, I have no idea what ranch flavour is supposed to taste like, but it was good.

These things are pretty salty, and I can see how this would be an ideal bar snack: they are crunchy, and take a long time to get through a packet, which is a good thing in my books, as it tricks your brain into thinking you have eaten more, well I think it does.

I shared them out with my flatmate and workmates, and they all agreed the flavoured variety had it over the regular one.

These have been around for a long time, and if you haven't had the chance to try them before, do check them out if you see them around, they are different to anything else I have tried.

Click here to read the profile of charismcawesome

Review by: charismcawesome (Charis)
Dated: 16th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Mmmmm Ranch Corn Nuts - I had 3 packets to start with to trial, Original, Chile Picante and these Ranch Corn Nuts. I have half a full packet of Original flavour left, approx 6-8 nuts left in the bottom of Chile Picante while the Ranch Packet was stolen from me not long after I tested this yummy little treat and I've been hunting the culprit down ever since.

The flavour is typical of Ranch but its not overpowering and not underwhelming creating a perfect balance of flavour and crunch for which I am becoming to know this snack for. I recommended Chile Picante to accompany beer I recommend Ranch just for the sake of it!

So I was quite a fan - leading me to initiate the ultimate sensory test..my kids. They nearly started world war 3 to get some more so I suspect that they are also fans (as well as potential Ranch Flavour Corn Nut packet thieves)

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 15th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I opened my packet of ranch corn nuts surrounded by preschoolers (2 - 4 year olds). They were all eager to try them and kept coming back for more. I monitored them closely as the packet stated not for under six year olds. They were all fine and loved the taste and the loud crunch it created.

I enjoyed the taste (the little bit I got to eat with begging kids around). It was slightly too salty for me but it wasn't bland. I have tried the Chile Picante and I prefer the Ranch variety.

I had intended to use these corn nuts in place of croutons in a salad simply because the name ranch makes me thing of ranch dressing. Unfortunately the packet is now empty. I'm sure it would be great in a salad as long as the other ingredients in the salad weren't salty. It could also be used to flavour a bland vegetable soup.

I will be buying more to try with soup and salad and possibly for parties. A small bag goes a long way and it would be a great talking point.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I opened this packet of Ranch flavour CornNuts for my morning tea . Luckily my daughter was at school so I didn't need to share. Of all the flavours available I thought this one had the most attractive packaging. The green makes the yellow and orange of the logo stand out the best.

Out of the three flavours as I was convinced that this would be my least favourite. I'm not a huge fan of artificial tomato flavours. And that is part of what gives this flavour its zesty tang. I was correct - these were my least favourite out of the range.

That said, these corn nuts were still really nice. The tomato flavour was not the only taste in the packet, and it didn't overwhelm me at all. It just wasn't as appealing to my taste buds as the other two flavours.

I love the way these crunch. I'm so excited to know CornNuts are available for purchase. While I might not buy this particular flavour in future, I wouldn't say no to them if they were being served at a party. They are still pretty tasty.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Now, this flavour is my favourite! At first I thought that these nuts were given the same flavours as the ranch dressing they put on subs these days, but my dad convinced me they weren't. Since these ones were flavoured, they were much better than the original flavoured ones, and after eating the chilli nuts, this flavour has a mild, zesty taste that made me want to eat more packets of these.

The ranch flavouring went well with the taste of the nut, which had the taste of popcorn and the inner texture of pretzels, so I was very content with sitting down and chomping on these while I did my studies, it seems like 48g of nuts was too little for me. Despite the urges, the portion sizes were good enough for my liking, so it means that instead of having a pile of nuts in one go, you can get just little doses of the zesty crunch of corn nuts.

price is great, it means that this is a good affordable snack for use as something to keep your taste buds going and get rid of the small hunger pangs, or as another reviewer thought of, using these as ingredients in experimental cooking/baking. The flavour was great, as I'm sure you know already, so it gets a full thumbs up from me as well as all other aspects requiring a rating. I love this snack and hope to get more of it, whether the same goes for you I can't say, so I guess you'll have to try them and find out. Enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I wasn't too sure as to how these were going to be. I love Ranch dressing on my subs and salads but as a dry flavour? This turned out to be totally different to the flavour of the sauce, but just as delightful in it's own way. Of the three, this took an equal place as favourite for me, but for a different reason than Chile Picante - this was a milder flavour but had a depth and complexity I really found appealing.

Having used the Original flavour to make a muesli slice, I was reluctant to waste the flavour of this in baking, but wanted to try it in food as well as a stand alone snack. Taking a hint from a friend, I tried these broken up a bit and sprinkled in a tossed salad along with some toasted pine nuts, rocket, assorted lettuces, some spring onions, grated carrot and home-made toasted garlic croutons. They went brilliantly! I was able to taste the ranch flavour even when mixed with these others, and the crunch certainly told me I had found a piece. The salad was so good, I totally forgot to get a photo of it before it was all gone. Sad Icon

Overall, to be brutally honest, I think I like these more as a salad ingredient than as a stand-alone snack. They add something really unique to the array of tastes without adding anything unpleasant that needs to be masked somehow.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 6935: Loaf Mini-Bites - Gooey Caramel Bites -  Brand / Manufactured by: Loaf

Product image for Loaf Mini-Bites - Gooey Caramel BitesChocolate biscuit base, gooey caramel filling, topped with solid chocolate.

Share them around, or keep them for your own stash.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is a curious thing... that every creed promises a paradise which will be absolutely uninhabitable for anyone of civilized taste."
Evelyn Waugh (1903 - 1966)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream