Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 19th October 2019 - 00:59:24

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Pure Energy review

« The Promise reviewThe PromiseBrave reviewBrave »

Score: 8.3/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3398 - Pure Energy
Brewed/Bottled by South Pacific Brands

Pure Energy
Price:
varies
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by South Pacific Brands

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at retail outlets everywhere

Pure Energy product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPure Energy is a revolutionary new energy drink. We've taken an uncompromising approach to use natural energy sources and promise that there will be no artificial colours and no preservatives in this delicious drink.

With Pure Energy you'll get a cleaner, more natural energy boost. One more thing... It's developed and made right here in New Zealand. We're taking on the world with Kiwi ingenuity.

    •  Pure Energy is made, developed and owned right here in New Zealand.
    •  Pure Energy is an all natural energy drink with no artificial colours and no preservatives.
    •  Pure Energy's caffeine is derived from green coffee beans and natural Guarana.
    •  Natural energy source is from cane sugar.
    •  Pure Energy has more energy kJ than other popular energy drinks.

Check out South Pacific Brands onlineClick here to see all the listings for South Pacific Brands They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
caffeine   cane sugar   energy   guarana   natural   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
SodaStream Classics - Cream SodaSodaStream Classics - Cream Soda
Rating: 10.0
Harvest Apple Cider with BoysenberryHarvest Apple Cider with Boysenberry
Rating: 9.5
Avalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking ChocolateAvalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking Chocolate
Rating: 7.4
Sipahh Straws : Toffee AppleSipahh Straws : Toffee Apple
Rating: 7.4
Ranga Blackcurrant and Apple CiderRanga Blackcurrant and Apple Cider
Rating: 8.3
Sodastream Sampler PackSodastream Sampler Pack
Rating: 8.7
Aroha Sauvingnon Blanc and SaffronAroha Sauvingnon Blanc and Saffron
Rating: 7.9
Lift PlusLift Plus
Rating: 8.0
Lothlorien Feijoa and Honey LiqueurLothlorien Feijoa and Honey Liqueur
Rating: 9.0
White with RoseWhite with Rose
Rating: 7.7
Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler packSodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack
Rating: 8.6
26000 Vodka - Lychee26000 Vodka - Lychee
Rating: 7.8
Vitafresh Fruit Drink - Orange and MangoVitafresh Fruit Drink - Orange and Mango
Rating: 8.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

Pure Energy has a striking white can. The red star design stands out really nicely in the sea of other energy drinks on the shelf. I picked up a can of this while I was on holiday as my daughter came down with a bug. Being by myself, and juggling the two kids, early mornings, late nights and the constant changes of clothes and bedding - well I needed something to give me enough energy to cope!

I like that Pure Energy is NZ made and that it boasts natural ingredients. When you look at the ingredients on the can, everything sounds largely non-scientific with nothing artificial listed. This is important to me as I like to limit some things while I breastfeed. The can also does specifically say not for lactating mothers. I took this as being related to the caffeine and was very careful . I made sure I had just feed baby before her nap before drinking some (her feeds are limited in daytime to napping as she demands). I also broke the 568ml can down to several servings over the course of several days to limit any impact to us. However, I am a coffee drinker anyway so I already knew how my baby coped with caffeine (pretty well).

As far as serving size, I liked that the whole can is treated as a serve. Frankly other companies, pretending their consumers will only drink 100mls of their can or bottle is ridiculous. As far as the smell of this drink, it smelt like jelly beans or lemon jelly. It made me want Southern Comfort, hehe. The taste was super sweet, citrusy and with the telltale taste of guarana. A delicious reminder of my mis-spent youth. Though I must admit a little too sugary for my elderly self. I tried this watered down with lemonade and it worked a treat. Not as sugary and I definitely noticed an increase in awakeness and energy to cope with the workload!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 27th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

My husband and I have tried pretty much every energy drink on the supermarket shelves, so we were keen to give this one a try. Right from the start we were both impressed with the size of the cans, our only concern with the size is the price tag that comes with it may be a bit much to buy too often.

When it comes down to flavour this was great. Some that I have tried make me nauseous , others have left a bad after taste, and some you simply have to skull back, which isn't something I want to be doing with my drinks. Pure Energy, however, has a great taste and one that I'm happy to take my time enjoying. My husband says that it has a slight after taste, but in a good way.

The can itself is nice and simple in design, but there is another brand which looks similar so could be confusing, but this one is less cluttered, which is always a good thing. I can see us buying this in the future, but it will mainly be price dependant on how often we get it.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 26th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

this is one very appealing drink. it has a lot of flavour but i am sorry to say it is a flavour that didnt really sit well with me. when i opened the can i got a strong whiff of berry which was ok but the taste was more like raspberry cordial mixed with berocca. i got my sister to try some and she loved it and told me my taste buds must be tripping because she didnt get the same flavour at all but then she drinks some pretty strange asian drinks and thinks they taste heavenly. funny thing is though i would swear that this has that old-vitamin-pill taste of berocca there are no b-vitamins mentioned in the ingredients list. i cant explain it but there it is.
the size of the can and the cost of them is pretty good i have to admit. for the same money you get less of all the other brands i saw in the supermarket and if you spotted these on special they would probably make a great deal. i think my family appreciates them more than i do but i still thought it was fairly tasty once i got past the strange berocca flavour. even if i dont go out and buy more in future for myself i will probably buy it to have on hand when my sister comes to visit since she seems to really enjoy it. the biggest appeal factor for me is that its 100% new zealand product and has a great competition running at the moment.

ADMIN NOTE: This competition is on for a limited time and expires on 30th September 2012.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I am not usually one for energy drinks, getting too old to have ideas about running around or looking like the fella in the commercial. The closest thing I have to a six-pack of abs is when I hold the beer to my stomach to avoid dropping it in the rain! But I have to say, some mornings I feel my age and it's nice to get a bit of a spark again.

I don't like cold drinks at all, so I thought I would do something different with this and took inspiration from my top winter drink - mulled wine. I poured it into a saucepan and gently brought it up to a nice warmth. Not enough to be hot or make it boil, but enough to take the chill off it. Throw in a cinnamon quill and a few cloves and leave it for 10 minute to steep. The first sip had me convinced I was onto something here. Warm and soothing, it made me feel a lot more awake and gave me a nice little buzz of energy.

The smell woke my young iramutu who was visiting his old papara and he tried it too. Wasn't really his thing, but he cracked open the other can from the fridge and thought it was "...pretty solid, eh Koro!" I think that is a good thing, in his books, so I will vote it a win, eh. ;) Still, it has a down side too, I felt good enough to get out in the garden and get the weeds under control, which meant I forgot about my promise to a friend to join him for an afternoon of Bridge, and didn't hear the phone when he rang. Great drink, disappointed friend.

I have seen these in the supermarket plenty of times, the white can really sticks out from the rest. I think I will keep some around for the whanau when they come to visit, and to help me cope with the winter cold in the mornings. It may not be anyone else's thing, my mulled drink, but it works for me!

Click here to read the profile of mcawesome

Review by: mcawesome (Phid)
Dated: 20th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I lead a very busy and full on life, I work 7 days a week , Run a full time 24/7 business, and have been known to log off my pc at 2am only to be up at 7am to get the kids off to school before starting all over again. So when I was asked if I would be interested in trying a new energy drink I thought "Who better to give it a whirl?"

First impressions: nice packaging, a crisp white can with basic yet appealing branding. I got the impression straight away that this is a product derived from natural ingredients and is made in NZ. Pouring it into a glass I noticed a major difference between Pure and "other" kiwi energy drinks.... its colourless!

Taste: VERY SWEET! i did find the sweetness quite overbearing at first but after a few swigs it settled. i found it left a bitterish after taste. Not unpleasant however.

Energy: I tried Pure at around 7pm after a full days work, with still an hour and a half of work left and a 45min drive home to go. I only made it through half the can before I found myself feeling full of life and ready to do another 12hrs of work.

Thoughts:
Would I buy this drink again?: I'm not sure I would, not because I didn't like the flavour or imagery of the product. but only because I found the size of the can in relation to the sweetness of the product too much. If it was to come in a can half the size I would most definitely buy it again. But for value for money, YES! A huge amount of energy, and a refreshing drink in a HUGE can!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Having tried almost every energy drink out there, and finding very few that I can enjoy and not feel sick afterwards, it was a wonderful surprise to try this and find it joined the ranks of the acceptable ones. While most other energy drinks leave a bad, almost iodine or metallic taste in my mouth, this is such a clean taste I was able to sip it, drink it and even skull it back without any urge to go and brush my teeth with a power-drill afterwards.

Being a Kiwi product was a bonus, but being full of natural ingredients was even better. The taste is something I find really hard to describe without sounding like a tree-hugger having a bliss-out... but suffice to say it's a taste that would appeal to almost anyone who drinks energy drinks... it's just so tasty and inoffensive!

I wanted to try this in a cheese recipe, but alas it just didn't last long enough. The first can vanished in minutes of the boxes arriving, and being a good lad I obeyed the "One Can Per Day" ruling. Knowing I had a really early start the following day, it was destined to be slugged back as part of breakfast, rather than become part of dessert. None the less, I have it on my shopping list under the "If you have spare cash" section. As soon as I know I won't have any early starts, and thus need to drink them first, I will grab a few cans and have a play around!

Overall, WONDERFUL! I can't say I am a great fan of the advert, but I am a new convert to the drink! I can honestly say I haven't touched a can or bottle of my previous preferred drink - Lift+ - since this first passed my lips!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 6780: SodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle Lemonade -  Brand / Manufactured by: Sodastream

Product image for SodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle LemonadeSodaStream makes water exciting! Transform regular water into sparkling water in seconds, add your favourite Sparkling Water Mix, and enjoy!

Homestyle Lemonade syrup. Naturally flavoured, with no artificial colours or preservatives.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"There's more to a person than the things they have done"
from 'Eastenders' TV show.

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream