Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 25th August 2019 - 12:27:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Mac Bar - Dark & Milk review

« Mac Bar - Milk reviewMac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Dark reviewMac Bar - Dark »

Score: 7.6/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3372 - Mac Bar - Dark & Milk
Manufactured by Mac Snack

Mac Bar - Dark & Milk
Price:
$1.75 - $4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mac Snack

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via the company website, at selected quality retailers and Farmers Markets

Mac Bar - Dark & Milk product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOrganic macadamia nuts chipped into a mix of organic milk and dark chocolates, and shaped into a 30g bar of healthy goodness.

Our Macadamia Nuts are grown chemical-free and naturally fertilised, giving you a safe, healthy, nutritious and flavourful nut.

Macadamia Nuts are rich in beneficial Omega-3 polyunsaturated oil. Macadamia Oil has the highest level of C16:1 (Desmethyl) of any known plant oil and the lowest levels of Omega W6 fatty acids of all culinary vegetable oils. 5 to 20 Macadamia Nuts a day has proven to lower cholesterol levels.

Check out Mac Snack onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mac Snack Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   macadamia   nuts   nzmade   snacks
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8
China Town RestaurantChina Town Restaurant
Rating: 9.5
Pitango Kids Organic Spaghetti BolognesePitango Kids Organic Spaghetti Bolognese
Rating: 9.6
Piako Gourmet Yoghurt - Spiced ApplePiako Gourmet Yoghurt - Spiced Apple
Rating: 10.0
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Mac Bar - DarkMac Bar - Dark
Rating: 7.3
Honey and Olive Oil Crispy Pizza BasesHoney and Olive Oil Crispy Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.6
Mac Snack - Golden RoastedMac Snack - Golden Roasted
Rating: 8.3
Barkers Cacao Nib Raspberry CoulisBarkers Cacao Nib Raspberry Coulis
Rating: 9.3
Delmaine Chicken & Basil SacchettiDelmaine Chicken & Basil Sacchetti
Rating: 7.5
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Tio Pablo Totopitos - FiestaTio Pablo Totopitos - Fiesta
Rating: 8.3
Mac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Snack - Lite Roasted
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 15th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

This is the second bar I tried, going by past personal taste, I tried the dark bar first and decided to end on the milk bar, hoping I saved the best til last.

This bar had me curious, a mix of dark and milk chocolate. Surprisingly there was no way to tell by just looking at the bar which was a little odd.

This bar still had the velvety texture and a great amount of macadamias (which I LOVE) but the dark taste is too overpowering for my taste buds.
Health wise, these are a great guilt free treat and the health benefits are appealing too, 5 to 20 macadamias a day can lower cholesterol levels.
If you are not a dark chocolate fan then I wouldn't suggest trying this one

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was the third bar we tried, because I wasn't too sure about how a mix of the smooth sweetness of the milk and the strong sharpness of the dark was going to come out. Seemed to me it would be not sweet enough to overcome the sharpness, so taste a bit like a half-arsed attempt. I was so very very wrong, as my young mokopuna was quick to point out when he swiped the remains of my share while I was deep in thought with my tastebuds.

Because I only got about 2 small bites of this bar, my opinion wasn't entirely solid in my head, so forgive me if I don't really cover all the points. The flavour was somewhere between the two bars as expected, some sweetness but with an edge to it from the dark chocolate. This was such a wonderful combination I can't figure out how it isn't done a lot more. The bittersweet taste would go really well in a dessert, but at the price these go for, I would not want to risk wasting it if my guess was wrong.

I originally had plans to grate this over a sundae or banana boat dessert, but after putting all three bars in the fridge I forgot about them until my little helper saw them when he came to visit and went to find a snack. I guess unless I find these in a shop or decide to try this buying online thing, I won't know if my idea would have worked.

This was a wonderful treat, and if I get the chance to get more, I will be sure to share them with the rest of the whanau. Maybe one of them will decide to be kind to old Koro and shout me a few bars back. :)

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Like Mizim, I too was keen to see what this bar was going to look like. I expected a dark chocolate bottom with a lighter chocolate top, or perhaps a swirl of light and dark. However sadly the bar is just the one colour, LOL Icon, kind of leaving you feeling slightly ripped off, as though it should have been two toned.

This one was my favorite of the three I tried. To be perfectly honest, there is not a huge difference between the three chocolate bars, other than the shade differences in the chocolate and the obvious higher cocoa in the dark chocolate there is not a huge difference at all. All three bars have the same amount of macadamias through out and all are very nice to eat. with the smooth velvety texture.

I admit that I did not share any of the chocolate with any one else, so these are definitely a single serve item. For the price, $1.75 to $4.00 depending on where purchased, I can honestly say that I would be quite prepared to pay up to $2.50 for this particular bar as I really did like it. All mac snack products I have reviewed would all make great additions to a gift basket also.

Oh and best of all, you can eat the entire bar without feeling guilty or sick!! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 4th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I think the thing that I was most curious about, was how this bar of chocolate would look. I expected it to be two slightly different colours, but it was all one colour. It has a nice and smooth texture, and the nuts add just the right amount of crunch to the bar.
I'm not yet convinced on the flavour of the bar as I found that every now and then I would get a little bit of slightly sweeter, and then a spot of slightly more bitter, which detracted from the overall taste of the chocolate itself.
This isn't something that I would pick for myself, but the price is not too bad, though again, for personal choice I would probably only want to spend about $2.50 max on it, it would still be a good choice for a gift basket.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When purchased direct from the supplier, these are actually as cheap, if not cheaper, than buying a chocolate bar from a petrol station or dairy. On that basis I felt they were pretty good value for money, especially when they taste so amazing. I don't know what it is about the mix of milk and dark chocolate and the macadamia nuts, but every bite had a flavour that hinted at a really smooth bourbon... and I loved it!

Hand-crafted and individually moulded, these are not 'pretty' bars by any stretch, but that makes them just brilliant in my book - machine-made chocolate has it's charms, but handmade has CHARACTER! I would not hesitate to put a few of these in any gift hamper I made up. They would suit even a corporate gift, the quality is that good.

Fully organic, and clearly marked as such, these are a great choice for anyone who wants to ensure they are eating food that is as free from unwanted additives as possible - and the rich, velvet smooth chocolate and crisp macadamia chunks prove it.

Overall, this was a real delight to eat. As much as I wanted to experiment with this in the #FoodLab, it just didn't last long enough. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 20th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Of all the Mac Snack products I had been given to review this was the one I was most curious about. I wasn't sure what it would look like because it was a dark and milk chocolate bar. I thought perhaps it would have two layers or swirly stripes. It was actually all the same colour. It was a delicious blend of milk and dark chocolate. There wasn't the bitterness of a dark chocolate yet it wasn't too sweet either. The macadamias added to the overall experience.

The bar is only 30g, so I savoured it more than what I would have with a larger bar. It was obviously designed to be eaten in one sitting as there wasn't the traditional brick shape of most chocolate bars.

The cost makes this a luxurious treat rather than a regular indulgence. It would be great in a gift basket too. Now I need to find out where I can purchase it near me.

ADMIN NOTE: All "Mac Snack" products can be purchased via the company website. See the link in the Product Information panel above for more details.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 8057: Pretzel Crisps - Gluten Free -  Brand: Snack Factory

Product image for Pretzel Crisps - Gluten FreeGluten Free Original Pretzel Crisps offer the wholesome goodness and simple ingredient list that our fans love while providing gluten sensitive snackers with a delicious and guilt free snack to nosh, top and share.

One bite and you'll Rethink Your Pretzel!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are flat?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream