Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 24th November 2017 - 18:22:18

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Mac Snack - Golden Roasted review

« Mac Snack - Lite Roasted reviewMac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Bar - Milk reviewMac Bar - Milk »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.3/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3370 - Mac Snack - Golden Roasted
Brand / Manufactured by: Mac Snack

Mac Snack - Golden Roasted
Price:
$4.50 - $6.00
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mac Snack

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via the company website, at selected quality retailers and Farmers Markets

Mac Snack - Golden Roasted product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur Macadamia Nuts are grown chemical-free and naturally fertilised, giving you a safe, healthy, nutritious and flavourful nut.

Macadamia Nuts are rich in beneficial Omega-3 polyunsaturated oil. Macadamia Oil has the highest level of C16:1 (Desmethyl) of any known plant oil and the lowest levels of Omega W6 fatty acids of all culinary vegetable oils. 5 to 20 Macadamia Nuts a day has proven to lower cholesterol levels.

Golden Roasted are well roasted and salted.

Check out Mac Snack onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mac Snack Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
macadamia   nuts   nzmade   roasted   snacks
Other listings you may be interested in:
Mac Snack - Lite RoastedMac Snack - Lite Roasted
Rating: 7.8
Costa's Costa's 
Rating: 6.8
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla
Rating: 9.4
O'nuts - Raving CajunO'nuts - Raving Cajun
Rating: 9.5
Mac Bar - DarkMac Bar - Dark
Rating: 7.3
GEM Moroccan Spiced Lamb HotpotGEM Moroccan Spiced Lamb Hotpot
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
O'nuts - Raving RoastO'nuts - Raving Roast
Rating: 9.3
Mac Bar - Dark & MilkMac Bar - Dark & Milk
Rating: 7.6
Roshen Candy NutRoshen Candy Nut
Rating: 7.3
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8
Howler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Cheesy DogsHowler Hotdogs - Gourmet Mini Cheesy Dogs
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 4th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

OMG!! These are the best thing since sliced bread :) Hands down the best flavour of the three that I have tasted.

The flavour is so creamy and tasty and warm (if that is possible) I am actually pleased that these are only a small serving as I would not be able to stop myself. They encompass everything... healthy, tasty, moreish and Kiwi!! Heaven in a bag :)

I have been recommending these to everyone, they are put off by the price but I tell them that it's worth it.

Thank you Mac Snack for some of the best nuts ever!!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have never tried macadamia nuts ever before, so was really excited to be picked to review a selection of Mac Snack goodies, including these golden roasted macadamia nuts.

First off the packaging...Simple yet elegant and easy to open. So that is a plus.

Not knowing what to expect with these, I was a bit unsure, but am happy to report that they are absolutely divine, I have never tasted something so good. They are literally to die for, and I just could not get enough of them. I shared them (well two each) with my very picky children (3 children aged 5, 10 and 11) and equally picky husband and as expected they all loved them, but sadly for them the sharing stopped there.

So being in love with these new tasty treats I needed to do further research, where to buy them and how much. So a quick squiz on the KIWIreviews website showed these range in price from $4.50 - $6.00, and just like that my love dwindled. No matter how absolutely amazing these taste, and believe me they really do, I can not justify the price of them for such a small packet, and I was so very disappointed. So unless I needed something classy for a gift basket, the sad fact is I would never buy these for myself Sad Icon

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

First off, considering the huge amount of labour involved in getting macadamia nuts to the retail shelf - walnuts are a breeze compared to these babies - I think the price is actually quite reasonable when purchased direct from the grower. The higher end of the scale is more what you would be expected to pay at some High-Street deli or cafe... and frankly, they aren't the sort of venues I normally frequent, so it's not an issue for me. Wink Icon

These nuts were my favourite of the three I tried. The rich, golden roasting gave them a wonderful depth of flavour which was perfectly set off by the sea salt. And there endeth the ingredients list! A perfect example of what can be achieved when one applies the "Keep It Simple" policy to organic, hand-crafted food products.

As you can see in the photo, I used these in a batch of chocolate-chip and macadamia cookies and they were some of the best cookies I have made in years - a fact I put down to the ingredients, organic macadamia nuts, organic chocolate, and fine grade wholemeal flour. I *will* be making more! LOL Icon

Overall, these are great as a snack - healthy and tasty - but they are also great additions to many favourite baking recipes. Due to the cost, they probably won't become regular shopping list items, but if you want something a little different, with minimal chance of falling flat, then these are great alternatives to consider!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 27th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Firstly, it's an ok sized packet, though for the price, not one that I would typically go out and buy, just as for myself, it could get a little pricey. I've never been much of a fan of macadamia's, more so I think due to cost than anything else. These though, were delicious.

It was also the perfect amount to make up some basil pesto sauce, I mean it was literally the perfect amount. I could eat 3-4 just as they were, and still have enough to create enough sauce for three adults and 2 children. And I must say, having had a pesto sauce with macadamia nuts, I can say that I've been converted.

The taste, wonderful, the price, average. But as a treat (and yummy pesto sauce), this will end up in the shopping cart.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 21st of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well these were so good we were literally fighting over the packet! There are allegedly two servings per packet with each serving being 15 nuts (30 grams). This is probably about right as Hubby and I ate two packets between us rather quickly and felt a little ill so in future would stick to one packet between two or eat them over a longer time period. But they are so good you just want more! If you like Macadamia nuts (and we do) then you will love any of the Mac Snack range of nuts.

Interestingly for "Golden Roasted" these nuts didn't have any added oil. They are simply slow roasted to get the amazing flavour with sea salt. That was a huge bonus to me as I love roasted nuts but always feel guilty at all the extra oil and salt I am consuming. These really are a guilt free treat especially as these nuts are so incredibly good for you. In moderate quantities of course Smile Icon

I would buy these at $4.50 as an occasional treat food but I wouldn't pay $6.00 for these as that works out an awful lot per kilo!!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 18th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I can't recall ever trying macadamia nuts on their own before. I have only ever had them in a chocolate bar or a cookie. I love nuts so I was sure I would like macadamias.

I shared this packet with my husband and daughters. My 3 1/2 year old ate her nut but didn't ask for more. My 2 year old couldn't get enough. As soon as she had one in her mouth she was asking for another. My husband really enjoyed them but said he couldn't describe the flavour.

I wish I hadn't shared them. I loved them. They were a great snack and I think the packet (60g) was the ideal size for one person. The nuts are just the right balance of sweetness and saltiness. I could have easily made the packet disappear without assistance.

I was given this packet to review but I think the price would probably discourage me from buying them especially if I had to go out of my way to find them. They would be great in a gift hamper with other gourmet foods, beer or wine.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.1
Product reviews for listing 6413: Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi Seasoning -  Brand / Manufacturer : Simon Gault

Product image for Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi SeasoningSimon Gault's very own special selection of Kiwi herbs including native grown Horopito. This amazing seasoning has to be tasted to be believed!

Simon's Horopito seasoning brings a uniquely New Zealand flavour to traditional favourites like lamb, steak, seafood, veges and turns everyday sauces like tomato into sumptuous experiences.

Add it to burger mince, meatballs, bolognese, breads, roast veges for a result that's a unique taste of New Zealand.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"WindowsXP is like Microsoft and AOL had a baby, then AOL dropped the baby on it's head."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream