Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 23rd May 2019 - 06:54:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Mac Snack - Lite Roasted review

« Mac Snack - Natural & Crispy reviewMac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Golden Roasted reviewMac Snack - Golden Roasted »

Score: 7.8/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3369 - Mac Snack - Lite Roasted
Brand / Manufactured by: Mac Snack

Mac Snack - Lite Roasted
Price:
$4.50 - $6.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mac Snack

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via the company website, at selected quality retailers and Farmers Markets

Mac Snack - Lite Roasted product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur Macadamia Nuts are grown chemical-free and naturally fertilised, giving you a safe, healthy, nutritious and flavourful nut.

Macadamia Nuts are rich in beneficial Omega-3 polyunsaturated oil. Macadamia Oil has the highest level of C16:1 (Desmethyl) of any known plant oil and the lowest levels of Omega W6 fatty acids of all culinary vegetable oils. 5 to 20 Macadamia Nuts a day has proven to lower cholesterol levels.

Lite Roasted are lightly roasted and salted.

Check out Mac Snack onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mac Snack Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
macadamia   nuts   nzmade   roasted   snacks
Other listings you may be interested in:
Turkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic BreadTurkish Bread - Gourmet Garlic Bread
Rating: 8.9
Kaweka - Beef & Ale CasseroleKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole
Rating: 8.0
Leena Spices - Yoghurt DipLeena Spices - Yoghurt Dip
Rating: 10.0
Meyer Cumin GoudaMeyer Cumin Gouda
Rating: 8.2
Mac Snack - Golden RoastedMac Snack - Golden Roasted
Rating: 8.3
Mac Bar - DarkMac Bar - Dark
Rating: 7.3
Meatlovers Classic PizzaMeatlovers Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Mac Bar - MilkMac Bar - Milk
Rating: 7.8
Slow-cooked Pulled Duroc PorkSlow-cooked Pulled Duroc Pork
Rating: 8.5
Mac Bar - Dark & MilkMac Bar - Dark & Milk
Rating: 7.6
Kick Energy BarKick Energy Bar
Rating: 8.5
Anathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion RelishAnathoth Farm - Caramelised Onion Relish
Rating: 9.7
Mac Snack - Natural & CrispyMac Snack - Natural & Crispy
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 4th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This flavour would be my second favourite, golden roasted being my favourite.

I love the fact that its a Kiwi product :) and its got health benefits like eating 5 to 20 a day can lower your cholestrol levels!

Once again the packaging is great and easy on the eye. Still wish there were more nuts in the bag, in saying that, once you have eaten the whole bag you dont feel guilty as there was a nice one person serving.

This flavour leaves a lovely after taste that makes it so moreish that you have to have more. It was my intention to add some of these chopped up in a salad but before I knew it I had finished the pack.

Even though it is a bit pricey I would buy a bag occasionally for a treat or to try in some baking and cooking.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 9th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

The first thing that I generally do when buying is I look at the price and then I look at the amount in the packet. If I were to see this on the shelf in the store I would probably pass over it, simply because, for that price, I would hope that there would be more in the packet. However, it could well end up in a gift basket for someone.
I liked the taste, not too strong, wasn't bland, and the flavour lingered, but not for too long. The only downside was that the packet was empty so quickly, since I shared with hubby. It's the perfect size for one person, and just a tease for two people.
All in all a nice product, and if I had the spare money and hadn't already gotten a treat, then this would probably be my pick.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Another fantastic macadamia treat from Mac Snack, these lightly roasted macadamias are delicious. The golden roasted are definitely my favourite but these come a very close second.

Like others in the range, the packaging is simple and elegant and perfect for gift giving, but the price a lot more than most, myself included, would be prepared to pay, especially as each package only has 2 servings in them, or in my case 1 serving as like the golden roasted ones I just had to keep eating them. I did share (kind of) with the rest of my family, and we were all disappointed when suddenly the packet was empty. For the price it would be great to see a couple more servings per pack. Smile Icon

I loved the lightly roasted and salted flavor these had, not to intense and still lingering even when all gone.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After taking a small sample from each of the packs, I had to place this variety as my second favourite. The light roasting gives the nuts a slightly stronger flavour that really offsets the smooth texture of the nut as you eat it. It almost breaks down into a butter as you chew!

Though quite expensive, there is a reason: macadamia nuts are one of the most labour-intensive nuts to farm, with it taking months to go from harvesting, through drying and shelling, to final packing and sale. Literally, months from start to finish. Add into that the fact these are grown and processed here in NZ using certified organic methods, and the price isn't too unreasonable really. When you look at the health benefits... it's really not out of the ball-park at all!

Overall, though these are wonderful as a snack straight out of the bag, I have some ideas on using these in baking. The problem is, I doubt many will survive long enough unless I get my act together quickly! LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 21st of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well I am just finishing this packet now having had to share them not only with hubby but also with Miss Five who loves them!

As with the others in the range there are allegedly two servings per packet with each serving being 15 nuts (30 grams). If you like Macadamia nuts (and we do) then you will love any of the Mac Snack range of nuts. They are so good you just want more!

These nuts didn't have any added oil in the roasting process. They are simply slow roasted to get the amazing flavour with sea salt. These "lite roasted" Macadamia nuts do not taste as rich as the "Golden Roasted" but definitely still taste richer than the "Natural and Crispy". You do still get that roasted flavour and salt taste. Interestingly the sodium level is not huge with these at 0.3% That was a huge bonus to me as I love roasted nuts but always feel guilty at all the extra oil and salt I am consuming. These really are a guilt free treat especially as nuts are so incredibly good for you. In moderate quantities of course Smile Icon

As with the others I would buy these at $4.50 as an occasional treat food but I wouldn't pay $6.00 for these as that works out an awful lot per kilo!!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 18th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am new to macadamia nuts. Thank you KIWIreviews for introducing me to them.

These nuts had a great crunch and left a lovely taste in my mouth. I polished off the whole packet (60g) before I realised it. No one else had a chance to sample them.

I preferred the golden roasted ones. They felt like more of a treat food than these lite roasted ones. I found the lite roasted nuts had a much nuttier taste than the golden roasted ones. I found myself thinking more about the good that these macadamias were doing for my cholesterol levels. To me it was a healthy snack that I could eat without guilt.

I was pleased to see that these contain only nuts and salt. There are no nasty additives. It was also great to find out that these nuts are grown and processed here in Aotearoa.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7033: Alexandra's Dukkah - Piquant -  Produced by Alexandra's

Product image for Alexandra's Dukkah - PiquantA wonderfully spicy blend of hazelnuts, almonds, roasted sesame seeds and fresh spices including coriander, paprika and chilli. Alexandra's unique Piquant Dukkah is made with 14 ingredients.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream