Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 23rd October 2019 - 13:39:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > The Best-Loved Bear review

« Not This Little Black Duck reviewNot This Little Black DuckLondon Stories reviewLondon Stories »

Score: 8.8/10  [5 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3342 - The Best-Loved Bear
Author: Diana Noonan

The Best-Loved Bear
Price:
$19.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
May 2012

The Best-Loved Bear product reviews

Illustrated children's paper back book.

All the children in Tim's class are taking their teddybears to school to find out which one is the best loved. Tim feels embarrassed. What will everybody think of his poor old battered teddy?

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
childrens   elizabeth fuller   fiction   scholastic   teddy bears
Other listings you may be interested in:
Time VandalsTime Vandals
Rating: 9.0
The Rising SeaThe Rising Sea
Rating: 9.0
The Gobble Gobble Moooooo Tractor BookThe Gobble Gobble Moooooo Tractor Book
Rating: 10.0
SpellboundSpellbound
Rating: 7.8
Dog ManDog Man
Rating: 10.0
Geronimo Stilton Cavemice #1 - The Stone of FireGeronimo Stilton Cavemice #1 - The Stone of Fire
Rating: 8.8
Do Not PushDo Not Push
Rating: 8.6
Country Driving - Three Journeys Across a Changing ChinaCountry Driving - Three Journeys Across a Changing China
Rating: 10.0
DarkmereDarkmere
Rating: 9.8
Devon the Dog's Farm AdventureDevon the Dog's Farm Adventure
Rating: 9.8
The World WithinThe World Within
Rating: 9.3
The Witch's BritchesThe Witch's Britches
Rating: 9.0
DivergentDivergent
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 15th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The Best Loved Bear, whilst being a book that has been around for a very long time (first published in 1994, and then re-published in 2002), is a really really lovely story, and one that I have enjoyed reading to both my class (when I was teaching), and my two beautiful daughters now.

My three year old can has her "puppy" that is a bit like Tim's bear - missing it's nose, all grubby, but would not be without it!

What makes is a wonderful story is that it is something that most children can relate to - having a favourite, tried and true soft toy friend, that may not be in pristine condition, but is what makes it so special.

I like the ideas in the book that are gently indicated - about things not necessarily having to be new, clean and "perfect" to be wonderful!!. It also does not matter if other people do not like your toy/favourite special friend - everyone has different likes!

This story makes a wonderful gift - especially as it is a New Zealand book. A great idea to team it with is the sequel which has the same boy and bear - The Best Dressed Bear.

A great story, perfect for many ages - and one I can happily re-read day after day.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 13th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Best Loved Bear may not look as fancy and as bright and colourful and exciting as all the books on the shelves these days, but it is definitely one of my little girls favorite books (Thank you KIWIreviews).

A wonderful story of love, friendship and companionship in its simplest forms. Tim is embarrassed of his well loved tattered teddy bear, but what he doesn't realize is the state of his bear shows the wonderful friendship and life that Tim and his bear have shared. A sign of a happy content child is often the dirt on their clothes and faces, lol, if only Tim knew that before he took his bear to school.

A really lovely story, enjoyable and easy to read and one kids love, just as much as Tim loves his bear.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 20th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a book I bought for myself when it first came out of Teachers Training College 18 years ago. My copy is now very battered as it has read and re-read by most of the classes I have taught since then. Now I am a mother my children really love it.

My three year old can really relate to Tim. She has her precious Flower Bear that she is attached to. Flower Bear looks well loved and is missing an eye. Sometimes when I read the story I adapt it so it is about Eden and Flower Bear. She loves this.

I like the messages in the book that you don't have to have the newest flashiest things and it is important to take care of your special things.

We also own the sequel, The Best Dressed Bear, and my children enjoy that too. It is about growing up and having to part with your favourite clothes. This is a lesson we are learning about in our household with the change of seasons and discovering last years clothes are too short now.

This story is a timeless classic and I am sure that my grandchildren will enjoy it too. It is the ideal gift for a toddler especially one that has a special teddy. It is made extra special because it is a New Zealand book and so the classroom familiar Kiwi feel to it.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This book was originally first published in 1994 by the extreamly talented and well known Diana Noonan. I remember reading it as a child, and it was a really great book. It is a platinum New Zealand best seller, and due to its age, its really a classic children's picture book.

Personally, this book lacks the pizazz of the newer picture books that are quirky and fun, but the story itself tells an important one of love that is universal. I do think this is a must for all children, and my son really enjoyed the story as it was simple and easy to understand and really only contains 4 characters (the two teachers,Tim and his bear Toby.)

The illustrations are dated by today's standards, but this also gives the book an authentic feel. I like it, as it shows the children that not all stories need to be bright and cheerful to warrant a good story.

For $19.50 I personally wouldn't buy it, I would buy something a bit more fun, but if you have attachments to this as a child, its great to be able to get a new edition of it and its certain to bring back memories!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 6th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

A very cute story about Tim and his much loved bear. Tim has loved his bear so much he's a bit worse for wear but in the end he realises that looking perfect isn't really what matters when it comes to love!

Very simply illustrated with lovely drawings this is a delightful story. Miss Four and Miss Five liked it and certainly understood that Tim's bear was so well loved that he didn't look perfect and that was the point! It was nice to have the child subject in the book be a boy so this book will appeal to boy and girl readers alike. I think also every child has one object of their total affection in their possession, at some time when they are young, so can relate to this story even if their own object wasn't a bear.

This is a very cute book and the text is very simply and clearly written so great for Miss Five to try her reading skills on. It wouldn't surprise me if this book becomes a little bit of a classic.

A quite charming and brilliant book as a gift for a younger child i.e. pre-schooler or even as a baby shower present.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 6.8
Product reviews for listing 8411: The Gobbledegook Book: A Joy Cowley Anthology -  Edited by Gecko Press

Product image for The Gobbledegook Book: A Joy Cowley AnthologyThe Gobbledegook Book collects Joy Cowley's favourites in a beautiful hardback picture-book volume that will become a family treasure. It selects the best of Cowley's poems and stories to read aloud, including much-loved classics such as Greedy Cat and Nicketty-Nacketty Noo Noo Noo.

Fully re-illustrated with humour and energy by newcomer Giselle Clarkson, these short stories, picture books and funny poems will bring joy to a new generation.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Proof that God doesn't exist: If God created the earth for mankind, why is it that we can only live on a less than a quarter of it?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream