Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
We don't support IE - For a better browsing experience, find a better browser!
Welcome visitor. Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 25th April 2014 - 03:21:04

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fiction > The Ideas Man review

« Milkshake reviewMilkshakeThe Inbetweeners Movie reviewThe Inbetweeners Movie »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.8/10  [1 review]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 3313 - The Ideas Man
Written by Ian Austin

The Ideas Man
Price:
$30.00
Supplier:
Click to search for all products supplied by
Available:
February 2012
Buy it:
Search for this on MightyApe.co.nz

The Ideas Man product reviews

David Peerman works long hours for New York's Department of Sanitation but the rest of his life is devoted to caring for his 13-year-old daughter Trisha. Stricken with a rare condition, she is a captive in their home for the sake of her health and maybe her life.

To maintain a standard of living for both, David relies on his intelligence and ingenuity to create an environment which keeps Trisha safe, educated and entertained.

But he does have a flair for observing problems and identifying solutions. Against a backdrop of the city's daily grind, the devoted father must use each one of his personal attributes and every ounce of his will power to keep alive the possibility of a miracle curing treatment, however distant the dream seems.

When David's latest idea to help a friend out becomes the catalyst for a series of amazing events, it appears their lives may be changing for the better. Then, in the midst of new hope a freak accident suddenly threatens everything and in the space of one afternoon their dilemma becomes a life-or-death race for Trisha as David faces their biggest challenge yet.

www.ianaustin.orgClick out to an external site



Tags:
fate   health   ian austin   improvisation   innovation
Other listings you may be interested in:
Tobias and the Super Spooky Ghost BookTobias and the Super Spooky Ghost Book
Rating: 9.0
Black's Veterinary Dictionary 21st EditionBlack's Veterinary Dictionary 21st Edition
Rating: 9.3
Dirty BlondeDirty Blonde
Rating: 8.3
Supernatural - The Work of Ross LovegroveSupernatural - The Work of Ross Lovegrove
Rating: 8.5
The Grand DesignThe Grand Design
Rating: 9.5
The Complete Cartoons of The New YorkerThe Complete Cartoons of The New Yorker
Rating: 9.5
Cuzzie and Bro - The Story of Twin PigletsCuzzie and Bro - The Story of Twin Piglets
Rating: 9.0
Phoebe and the Night CreaturesPhoebe and the Night Creatures
Rating: 9.6
Feersum EndjinnFeersum Endjinn
Rating: 8.5
The Silly Goat GruffThe Silly Goat Gruff
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwireviewer-00

Review by: kiwireviewer-00
Dated: 31st of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review Score:
Score 10 out of 10

Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 10 out of 10

What if MacGyver had never really been too sure of his skills... and had a sick daughter... and was a lot more of an urbanite... he might have been called David. As an avid and active practitioner and promoter of the power lateral thinking and upcycling - where you find new uses for products and packaging, rather than disposal or just recycling it back into the system - has to provide a better future for us all, this book struck a real chord with me. I only wish I had half the fictitious David's abilities.

I was particularly taken with the direction David's talent were forced to take - needing to provide a whole world in a single room, for the sake of his sick daughter. An uphill challenge even for someone with a lot of money to throw around, it seems almost insurmountable for someone on a barely-above-minimum wage... and yet, David does it in ways that are not only quite plausible, but inspirational. This makes it very easy to "fall into" the story and become so engrossed it almost feels like you are watching a movie, rather than reading a book. I foresee movie rights being negotiated in the not too distant future... Wink Icon

As a reader, every character we encounter *must* engage us deeply enough to be relevant - the background characters must play their part then vanish cleanly, moving the plot along as naturally as possible. Protagonists must play the key moves, all the while being assisted and uplifted by the supporting cast that gives them depth and reality, as well as a reason to move to the next step in the plot. Without this delicate ballet of entities, dancing in perfect sync and rhythm, the book will often seem flat and lacking any real content - it may as well be a reference book for all the emotion it will wring from you. However, in "The Ideas Man" the cast dance such an intricately choreographed weave of sub-plots and individual challenges that the pattern as a whole that emerges is not only surprising, but also immensely satisfying and complete.

Do I have any "favourite" characters, other than our heroic and struggling protagonist? Yes, I certainly do... the commercial giant, Mr George Seabourne is a major player and also a hell of a boss that any blue-collar worker would sell his left kidney to work for... Izzy, tutor, love interest and all-round sweetheart, who sticks in there when the going gets *way* beyond tough... and lastly, Miss Patty, who manages to take the hardest of knocks and turn it into an opportunity for young Trisha.

Overall, this is a stunning debut, one that sets such a high bar for Ian to jump over with his next offering. Please, don't let this new author - capable of building a world so unique it could easily be real - become a one-hit-wonder. I want to see more from this chap... and may it come soon. Would I read this book again? Well, I read it twice before I started this review, and I am already into it for the third time, which is why the review is a little later than I wanted it to be... but I had to be sure the praise was justified. If I can actively turn away from other new titles in order to re-read a book - causing a cascade of backlog to build - then it has to be something pretty amazing. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you something quite amazing... "The Ideas Man" by Ian Austin! Now go find a copy for yourself, this one is mine! Wink Icon

Guest comments...

comments powered by Disqus

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4646: Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery -  Author: Jo Simmons

Product image for Pip Street - A Whiskery MysteryA hilarious new series, perfect for fans of MR GUM.Quirky black-and-white line illustrations throughout as well as fun activity sheets at the back. Bobby Cobbler's family have only just moved to Pip Street when his beloved cat Conkers goes missing. As a mammoth-sized search begins, Bobby makes friends with the tiny and fizzy Imelda who lives next door.

The friends soon discover that a lot of cats from Pip Street are missing. In ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream
Visit our about.me pageVisit our
About.Me page
Visit our LinkedIn profileVisit our
LinkedIn profile
Follow us on foursquareVisit our
Foursquare page