Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 24th September 2019 - 05:46:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Toys > General > Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles review

« I Don't Know How She Does It reviewI DonThe Vitality Code reviewThe Vitality Code »

Score: 6.2/10  [8 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 3282 - Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles
Brand / Manufactured by: Crayola

Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles
Price:
$5.99 per bottle
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by FW Cave Ltd

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Crayola Outdoor Colored Bubbles product reviews

Put on your play clothes and fill the great outdoors with amazing bubbles in awesome Crayola colors! Blow 'em, chase 'em, catch 'em and pop 'em for imaginative and active outdoor play. The Next Generation of Colored Bubble Fun!

Our Outdoor Colored Bubbles come in 3 vibrant colors - Unmellow Yellow, Purple Pizzazz and Fuchsia - that are bright and bold. And now these amazing colors magically rub off of skin!

While they will leave colorful marks on outdoor surfaces and clothing, they are designed to clean up from most outdoor surfaces and clothing. You'll enjoy hours of colorful bubble fun by following our handy preparation and clean-up tips!

Check out FW Cave Ltd onlineClick here to see all the listings for FW Cave Ltd They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bubbles   colours   crayola   outdoors   outside
Other listings you may be interested in:
Plus-Plus - Mini BasicPlus-Plus - Mini Basic
Rating: 9.6
Iron Man HelmetIron Man Helmet
Rating: 8.8
Laugh and Learn - Learning Letters Postbox ReviewLaugh and Learn - Learning Letters Postbox Review
Rating: 9.0
Black Swann RC Stealth HelicopterBlack Swann RC Stealth Helicopter
Rating: 9.3
Magnetix - 150pc X-treme Combo CaseMagnetix - 150pc X-treme Combo Case
Rating: 9.5
Flexo - Bag of Assorted BricksFlexo - Bag of Assorted Bricks
Rating: 9.8
N-Strike Raider Rapid Fire CS-35N-Strike Raider Rapid Fire CS-35
Rating: 9.9
Plus-Plus - Mini NeonPlus-Plus - Mini Neon
Rating: 9.4
Wooden Train with Spinning BlocksWooden Train with Spinning Blocks
Rating: 8.5
Playskool Cool Crew Dusty the Talking Vacuum CleanerPlayskool Cool Crew Dusty the Talking Vacuum Cleaner
Rating: 9.8
Power Launch Fighter - Hornet F-18Power Launch Fighter - Hornet F-18
Rating: 9.8
Magic TwistyMagic Twisty
Rating: 9.5
Maisto Eggs : Fresh Metal seriesMaisto Eggs : Fresh Metal series
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of karee.bell

Review by: karee.bell (Karee)
Dated: 6th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Age Suitability:
Score 5 out of 10
Durability:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 10 out of 10

Well this is a different type of bubble mixture thats for sure.

We have the Purple Pizzazz coloured Bubble mixture. My two younger child just love bubble and their favourite thing to do is tip it out, but this mixture stains clothes Sad Icon So outside with it, it was. The mixture was very runny, to the point you need to let it drip a bit before blowing bubbles. This is a downfall for excited kids who just want to blow the bubbles.

Ok. The reaction of my kids was amazing especially at the colour of the bubbles and that when the 'popped' they were purple!! The cleanup was easy in my opinion, purely because I supervised the bubble blowing, knowing my kids they would have tipped the whole bottle over them!

I think that if my kids were not so overexcited at the idea of Bubbles it would be a great idea to use in combination with water play and/or messy play outside.

We did manage to get some decent sized bubbles out of the mixture. In my opinion, the product is more suited for older children and more likely in the use of a bubble blowing machine. I don't think I would be rushing off to buy it from the shops in a great big hurry tho Sad Icon

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Age Suitability:
Score 7 out of 10
Durability:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 4 out of 10

After fretting about where i was going to 'let' the kids play with these, we finally went to the park and let the bubbles loose - i read everyone else's reviews below before to get some tips on how to get the best bubbles. Shaking the bottle really helped as the mixture must separate in the bottle.

My 3 year old loved the idea of the pink so the novelty factor was there for him - the colour was ok, but not amazing. I think as the YouTube clip shows, a bubble machine may be the best way to get value out of these bottles - but then it takes away the fun factor of blowing them out! The bubbles seemed to be more durable and heavier than normal bubbles, so in that aspect it worked well.

To be honest, the amount of time i spent thinking about where to use these so no stains were on the house/fence *just in case it didn't come off and we have just painted!!* was more trouble than the bubbles were fun. The small amount of mixture that ended up on my sons top washed out fine with a good laundry detergent, so perhaps it's true that they don't stain!

For the price, we could buy a whole lot more normal bubbles without the stress of the colour! But these were good for a one time special bubble session, but I personally wouldn't buy again.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.8/10
Age Suitability:
Score 6 out of 10
Durability:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 4 out of 10

Miss nearly 3 and I were VERY excited to try the Crayola Outdoor Bubbles - especially as she loves bubbles, and the colour we received was the Fuschia - again a favourite!

As per the bottle instructions - we went outside on a suitably gorgeous day to have fun, unfortunately it was a bit of a let down ...

The bubbles were not as colourful as I expected they would be from the colour in the bottle, and it was a very runny solution - which is maybe why they say it is so messy? The bubbles, to their credit, did last quite a long time without popping - which Miss nearly 3 squealed with delight at! They looked pretty darn cool when popped on the fence and the concrete too!

We did get some on us - but it was quick and easy to clean, on both skin and clothing. We had darkish clothes on though (me in green and Miss nearly 3 in dark pink) so possibly would still avoid white/light colours - but common-sense should prevail Smile Icon

I do not think I would purchase them unless they improved them to be honest - Miss nearly 3 gets more entertainment from bigger bubbles, and more of them, than ones that last and have a slight bit of colour.

Fun to play with though - and worth having a go, at least once!

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 26th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Age Suitability:
Score 7 out of 10
Durability:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 8 out of 10

I was very excited about the idea of coloured bubbles!! I got to try the Unmellow Yellow which was a little disappointing. They werent as yellow as I imagined they would be, maybe the purple and fuchsia colours will be brighter and I would be willing to buy them at some stage to find out.

I was a little wary of the idea of it staining my outdoor furniture so made sure we were in the middle of the yard :) there was a slight wind so they flew quite nicely around the yard and Mr 3 loved chasing them and stomping them, note to other adults though, don't let them blow the bubbles and chase them, you lose some mixture :) After a little chasing I decided I needed to wash Mr 3 as his feet were very yellow. The colour washed off straight away... phew!

Overall verdict would be from my sons point of view would be they were awesome but the colour meant nothing to him. We will try the other "flavors" one day :)

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Age Suitability:
Score 10 out of 10
Durability:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 7 out of 10

My pre-schoolers love bubbles, so I was excited when I was chosen to review Crayola Outdoor Coloured Bubbles. As I waited for the parcel to arrive I watched the You Tube clip and read the reviews other KIWIreveiwers had posted. They all commented about how messy it was. I wondered if I would be relaxed enough with the children for us all to really enjoy it. I was wrong. We had loads of fun.

I tried the Purple Pizzazz with my two daughters (2 & 3 1/2 years) They didn't care about the colour of the bubbles they just loved chasing the bubbles. I held the bottle and blew most of the bubbles but the girls blew a few too. I found the solution dripped quite a bit so would leave it to drip for a couple of seconds back into the bottle before blowing. The bubbles didn't tend to fly very far or high but they did last longer on the grass than the detergent solution we usually use. The bubbles were generally quite small but there were lots of bubbles joined together too.

We made some impressive bubble art by blowing bubbles onto white paper (see photo). I was very disappointed to find that when it dried the vibrant purple had changed to a dull brown (see inset). The lovely art that I was considering using to cover books is now so bland that it will probably be thrown out.

I was amazed that the bubble solution really did rub off skin as it claimed. The marks on the clothes faded quickly and disappeared when washed. Although we played with the bubbles on the grass we got some on our plastic slide but this wiped off easily too.

It was a novelty thing for us and since the girls didn't care about the colour I think we will save our money a just use detergent.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 19th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Age Suitability:
Score 10 out of 10
Durability:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 6 out of 10

Having emptied two bottles of this - one purple and one fushia - I have to say I wasn't quite as impressed as I hoped to be. The impressive nature of the official YouTube video linked above gave me hope for better results if I stuck with it... but I just could not get the same spectacular results. Here's what we got...

The bubbles were quite varied - the first ones to come out when we blew on the wand were heavy with colour, which immediately sank to the bottom of the bubbles and caused them to fly erratically and head for the ground pretty quickly. If not for some very crafty camera angles and short cuts in the footage above, you would have seen that too. The later bubbles flew better and longer, but were scarce on colour. It seems that the 'mid-stream' bubbles were the best, with swirls of colour and good flight times, but were in the minority.

After much practice, we did come up with a way to get the best from this product. Here's what we came up with:
    •  Shake the bottle well before use - to mix the colour in, and to partially aerate the mix as well. Bubble-seeds. Wink Icon
    •  Use a wand that has no small holes - as these will collect the colour and just drip it all over you and the ground in front of you. A wand with 1 or 2 large rings only worked best.
    •  After you withdraw the liquid-soaked wand, let it drip surplus mix back into the bottle for a few seconds before you raise it to blow. This will again reduce the mess factor, and allow the mix to settle before being blown.
    •  Blow gently in a solid stream. Hard puffs will burst the membrane and just make a splash, not a steady stream of light bubbles, which is what you want after all. Also, slower-moving air will be warmer, giving the bubbles more lift.
    •  Cooler days will give better results than scorchers. Really hot days will make the bubbles cooler by comparison than the air around them, causing them to sink, while blowing bubbles on cooler days will make the bubbles relatively warmer than the ambient air, giving them more lift, thus flight time.

After all that... what's the overall verdict? Mixed. As with many American products, the hype far outperforms the reality... careful study of the footage above gives a strong impression these bubbles are really colourful, stay colourful, and fly like the bubbles we all know and love. This is, alas, not quite as accurate as we could hope. None the less, these bubbles are still fun, do provide some colour, and at worst fall back on being about as colourful as dishwashing liquid bubbles. I think where they will prove to be at their best is when the mix is used in bubble-machines that can put a steady flow of warm/hot air to counter the loss of lift caused by the added weight of the colourant.

Overall... this may or may not be what you are after. We did find that the flight and colour retention was enhanced by using about 10% of the mix, and then topping it up with a quality dishwashing liquid. The bubbles seemed to last better - staying intact after landing - and also managed to stay aloft longer. As to the stain-aspect... despite getting it on skin, clothes and concrete, it cleaned off very easily, as per the video. Just don't let it get on very delicate fabrics such as silk... but then, who plays with kids while wearing silk?!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Age Suitability:
Score 8 out of 10
Durability:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 7 out of 10

We got a bottle of the purple to try. I was pretty excited to try this product out. My daughter is really creative and into art, add to that her love of blowing bubbles - this looked like it was going to be really promising. Unfortunately, the product wasn't quite what we hoped.

We read the instructions and realised that blowing these bubbles anywhere but on grass was going to be a bit disastrous. So out onto the grass we went. I decided to let my daughter do some of the blowing to see what the ease of use is like. She is very good at spilling bubble solution out of cheaper bottles. She also doesnt have a lot of patience.

As predicted, she opened the bottle, pulled out the wand and immediately started blowing really hard on the wand. The mess was incredible. And very purple. It went all over her crocs and amazingly missed her teeshirt. At this point I decided Mummy needed to step in. So I did, taking back the power. I tried blowing some bubbles, being careful to get rid of the excess solution back into the bottle.

The bubbles came out nicely, but I didn't get lots. Often they came out joined together as well. My daughter jumped after the bubbles, dancing under them and getting a bit messy. She really loved the way the bubbles looks purple in the sun. I can't say I even noticed the colour when I was looking at the bubbles.

Lastly we tried doing some art with the bubble mix. I put a piece of white paper on the ground and blew some bubbles at it. The effect was actually pretty neat. If we had other colours I would have liked to see what we could have created.

However, overall I wasn't all that impressed. I like to be a parent who says yes, and I try to follow the Persil saying about dirt being good. But this product did make me nervous about our clothes. I did love the art possibilities, but not enough to buy heaps of colours of this. We'll finish the bottle and probably won't look to purchase in future.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 18th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Age Suitability:
Score 4 out of 10
Durability:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
'Cool Toy' Factor:
Score 3 out of 10

Hah ha!! I have just watched the video clip above before I wrote my review. Two things to say - firstly, yes it is very, very messy and secondly although our clothes looked like the kids above our bubbles did not!!! Did I get a dud batch....?

So we had a bottle of the yellow and a bottle of pink. We did two trials. One at home with a heap of five years old and under and one at kindy with a heap of 3 and 4 year olds.

The verdict was the same from both lots of kids and attendent adults. Firstly at home I was so stressed about the stuff staining our wood and concrete that I pretty much decided it was best in a wide open space (that didn't belong to me!!) Hence the Kindy experiment!

The kids had fun with this and enjoyed the colour that dripped on them but our bubbles were not great. They were not colourful and the colour seemed to instantly drip to the bottom of the bubble leaving a clear bubble with a big blob of colour at the bottom that dragged the bubble down. As a result our bubbles didn't fly far. They just sank to the ground and burst.

We compared these bubbles with bubbles made with a popular brand of dishwashing detergent. The dishwashing bubbles were superior in that they floated higher and further and were just as colourful, if not more so, as the sun caught the bubbles making them rainbow coloured.

Verdict from kids was that the Crayola bubbles were messy (though the colour did wash off) and not great at floating. Verdict from adults was that the Crayola bubbles were not colourful and the stress at worrying about the colour dripping everywhere obliterated any ability to enjoy using the product!

I would not buy and would not recommend.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Toys'...

Score: 8.7
Product reviews for listing 1883: Magic Ball
Brand / Manufacturer : Baby First

Product image for Magic BallThis very exciting wooden bead frame will encourage little fingers to explore all of the different ways to push and pull the beads.

A very popular toy.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're both dogs!"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream