Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 16th October 2019 - 10:54:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor review

« Kinexium Shaving Oil reviewKinexium Shaving OilAzor S Sensitive Razor reviewAzor S Sensitive Razor »

Score: 8.3/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3179 - Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Brand: King of Shaves

Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Price:
$12.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by King of Shaves

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers, and via the online store

Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor product reviews

The Azor 5 Sensitive Skin system razor is no ordinary razor. Designed for sensitive skin, it's pure in form, effortless in function and engineered without compromise. The Azor 5 features our patented 'Bendology Technology' for a close, comfortable shave and our latest slimline cartridge with 5 Endurium nano coated blades, is designed to last longer and cost you less. Don't just shave, King of Shaves with Azor 5 - the Future of Shaving!

    •  5 Endurium nano coated finer blades are optimised for sensitive skin and engineered to shave you closer, longer, for less.
    •  Patented Bendology Technology Soft-Flex hinge allows the Azor's head to follow every contour and curve of your face whilst pressing the blades gently yet progressively against your skin for a close, comfortable shave.
    •  The Azor 5's alloy handle is perfectly balanced and reassuringly weighty in the hand, giving you improved feel and control allowing you to shave effortlessly over the basin or in the shower.
    •  A larger, softer skin pre-tensioning 'beard bumper' lifts stubble during shaving and reduces the risk of painful nicks and cuts.
    •  Our latest slimline cartridge makes shaving under the nose and precision grooming even easier.
    •  Designed and manufactured in the UK, the latest Azor 5 handle incorporates new side creases for improved dexterity and grip.
    •  The improved and updated SoftTouch cartridge ejector release ensures swapping blades is simpler than ever!

www.shave.co.nzClick out to an external site

Check out King of Shaves onlineClick here to see all the listings for King of Shaves Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
azor   blade   razor   shave
Other listings you may be interested in:
M3Power razorM3Power razor
Rating: 9.1
SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh CitrusSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Rating: 9.2
NZYME Toilet CleanerNZYME Toilet Cleaner
Rating: 9.2
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
Fusion Power RazorFusion Power Razor
Rating: 9.5
AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol
Rating: 8.4
Simply Whiter PowderSimply Whiter Powder
Rating: 10.0
Quattro Energy razorQuattro Energy razor
Rating: 7.0
Kinexium Shaving OilKinexium Shaving Oil
Rating: 5.5
Azor S Sensitive RazorAzor S Sensitive Razor
Rating: 8.6
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
AlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveAlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Rating: 8.9
SuperBalm Ultimate Face BalmSuperBalm Ultimate Face Balm
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 24th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After shaving for a few weeks and loving the Azor S, I made the move to the Daddy shaver, the Azor 5. Upon first look there really isn't too much different between the two, however a closer inspection yields that not only has the Azor 5 snuck in an extra blade, but it has also developed a more sturdy feel to it thanks to a weighted metal handle. The Azor 5 still sports the unique D connector between the handle and the blade as well as the leading rubber bumper. So far so good.

The only real way to get a good feel for how well a razor works is to road test it for a number of shaves. I have been using this for the last 3 weeks now and I am well impressed. Like the Azor S I have had absolutely no nicks and cuts which is something that I have lived with for the past however many years I have been shaving due to the odd protruding mole/bump that tends to get in the way. I have used many of the other leading brands such as Gillette and Schick (even Wilkinson Sword when in the UK) and without fail have cut myself, in particular with straight out of the box blades. With the King Of Shaves products this has not happened. In terms of getting a close shave I find that the Azor 5 gives me the best results particularly when the advice given is followed.

The one downside that I will say for both the Azor S and the Azor 5 is the fragility of the connector between the handle and the blade. I am a shower shaver (something that is among the recommendations of King Of Shaves and if you can forgo a mirror, something I also recommend as a time saver in the morning) and as such I leave my razor in the shower caddy. Twice now (once with each model) my wife has knocked my razor off said shower caddy and the head has snapped off upon impact. While granted, dropping a razor is not standard best practice for care instructions, I have never had any issues with other brands being dropped. At worst the head pops off and can easily be reattached. Alas this is not the case with King Of Shaves razors. The connectors are attached to the handle so upon dropping them it effectively renders the razor useless

Overall I am very happy with the Azor 5 and look forward to continuing to use a wet razor that doesn't induce copious quantities of blood for some time to come. The wife has even promised to be extra careful around it in future.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Now having shaved my face smooth with the Azor S it was now time to try the Azor 5, however it did require a few days wait to allow for some growth to give this unit a real test. So after a few days of non shaving I was at it again.

This razor has a lot more firmer feel to it with its metal construction giving it a little extra weight which made it somehow feel more secure in my hand, and somehow made it easier to wield.

After the experience of the 4 bladed razor I knew this time to add a bit of pressure whilst I was shaving in order to get the best shaving experience, so after smoothing on some shaving gel, it was out with the razor and on to the face. AS recommended on the razor package I shaved with the grain so to speak, and although this seemed a bit counter-productive to me I stuck with it for the whole shave.

Well after the shave it was time for the touch test, so after rinsing off and drying the face I ran my hand over all the normally hard to shave spots and they felt quite good, in fact if I had to choose I would say that it was slightly better than the Azor S in results.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 5th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After trying the Azor S razor I wasn't sure how different the Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor would be. The Azor S is a 4 blade razor, and was easy enough to use with a new grip technology. After the first few shaves with it, I realized you needed to press down to get the full use of the blades and I felt the shave was really good. I couldn't fault it. So the idea of then going to five blades, just threw me. What was I going to say about this five bladed razor?

Well, I can actually say this - the extra blade does make a difference to the smoothness of your shave. It's not a HUGE difference. But it is there and is noticeable enough.

The razor itself is heavier and feels better quality compared to the fully plastic Azor S Razor. You feel like you are holding something a bit more powerful. The same technology has gone into the grip and how you use it. But overall I did feel this was a better shave.

The packaging was not difficult to get in to. But I have to admit I pretty much tore the packet open like King Kong. So it didn't have much of a chance. The razor has a better stand included in the packet. I will definitely be looking out for refill cartridges once the included one runs out. These are a great little razor.

Click here to read the profile of filmguidenz

Review by: filmguidenz (Jonathan)
Dated: 3rd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 4 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I was pretty excited to be able to review the The Azor 5 Sensitive Skin Razor. I'd heard a lot about King of Shaves, and had assumed it was a quality product.

The first thing I noticed about the Azor 5 was it's radical design - well, radical for a razor! I was pretty unsure as to how well it would work, being so different. But it started off great on the easy, smooth top of my head.

I should probably point out at this stage, that I shave both my head and face, that I only shave 3 times a week (call me lazy) but I always prep my head and face with hot flannels.

My smooth dome however is no test for the effectiveness of a razor, but the ideal place to come to grips with using the Azor 5. The sides of my head, around the ears and side of may face all went smoothly. but when I got to the back of my head, the Azor 5 started to show it's failings.

Now I don't go round checking out the back of other guys shaved heads, so I don't know if the back of my head is unique or common, but if I had to describe it, I would say something along the lines of it being similar to coastal Normandy farmland in the latter half of 1944.

On this bumpy territory the Azor 5 just didn't cut the mustard, leaving much stubble behind. Not to fear, I figured it was just because I was still getting used to the razor.

Onto my face and the Azor 5 did an average job, giving me a clean looking shave, but one where you could still feel the stubble. Where the Azor 5 did excel however is shaving against the grain on my neck/under my chin. Every other razor I've tried this on would give me razor burn and little nicks. But not the Azor 5, it handled the 'against the grain' shaving with ease.

Over the next two shaves with the Azor 5, I got a little better at shaving with it, though the back of my head was still problematic. I decided that I needed one more go before writing a review.

It was on this fourth shave that everything fell apart and the Azor 5 went from average to something I'll never use again. The razor was blunt and getting clogged, and no matter what I did I couldn't clean the five blades totally free of stubble, and the razor didn't seem to have the ability to cut through anything but the light fluffy stubble on my receding dome.

Even cheap Home Brand razors last more that 3 shaves, but the Azor 5 razor I was using for my holiday shaving needs had failed me half way through my holiday.

I would not recommend the Azor 5 to anyone.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 1st of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ok first and foremost thank you Azor and KIWIreviews for letting us review these products.

Now both the hairy beast (aka hubby) and i have used this razor, because as others have said, we all know women steal their mens razors when they are not looking, so it is of utmost importance that we know if these are suitable for us ladies too.

Am happy to report that yes, this razor works fine both on males and on females, lol...so thats some good news right there *winks* Wink Icon

The packaging is pretty much child proof, and somewhat adult proof too...in fact it is possibly totally open proof really...its a bit of a work out to get into it. But in the big scheme of things, that is ok, as at least you know until YOU open it, that no one else has been fiddly with ya razor there.

The style of it is actually very nice. I much preferred this style to the 4 blade Azor S. I think the other one looks a little on the budget side to be honest, perhaps somewhat simple...whereas this one has a nice style, it looks great and with the stand to put it in when in the bathroom, it really does look like the 'king' of shaves sitting there glistening away, waiting for someone to use it.

Ok now for the real honest stuff...the close shave possibly not as close as one would like. Hubby felt that if you were the kind of guy who liked the 5 o'clock shadow feel, then this is the perfect razor for you, as it doesnt seem to give a perfectly smooth and close shave like other razors he has used. Now dont get me wrong, it doesnt leave you lookin unshaven, you do look nice and fresh, but you can feel some light stubble straight after that shave. And i tend to agree there.

All in all though a very nice design, easy to use, and classy too.... I would recommend it at the end of the day.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 31st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Thanks for letting us review these razors. We both tried this razor and agree that it is both his and hers friendly. We preferred this razor over the other King of Shaves razor as it felt much more sturdy and heavy. It seemed a better quality and together with the King of Shaves Gels, left our skin very smooth with no nicks and cuts and no irritation. Not sure we're sold yet on the bendy head, it took some getting used to, and makes it seem a little flimsy. All in all, a great razor but probably not for us.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 30th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Though this shares a lot of the same innovative features as the "Azor S" it comes with the 5-blade cartridge, and a metal handle for added weight and balance. For the extra $1 in price, I personally would have been fine with a standard plastic handle, though the extra weight does strangely feel somewhat more 'real' and practical.

Once again, half my face was lathered with my regular foam, and the other half with the KoS blue gel. By now - being used to the 'backwards' feel of having the handle leaning the opposite way to traditional shavers - I was quite comfortable with the process and managed to get a pretty good shave in one easy session.

After a few splashes with hot clean water, it was time to check the job... my wife and I both agreed, this did an excellent job - better than my usual blades - however we also both agreed that the "Azor S" did a better job - which is strange in that it only has 4 blades. Upon later reflection I realised that every 4-blade shaver I have ever used has always given me an ultra-smooth shave, while 3- and 5-bladed variants have always left my face with a hint of roughness along the jawline and around the sideburns area.

Overall, though this is, for sure, an excellent razor - well suited for a wide range of men (and women, I imagine) - this came a very close second for me. The lack of a spare head and the slightly rougher finish for me just took it down one step on the podium.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I do have to state that quite some time ago, I got fed up with the expensive multiple blade cartridges in favour of using single blade double edges razors (the sort your dad or even grandad used to use) and had to learn a new shaving techniques where one uses a feather weight touch, does not press and use maybe one to two passes to get that baby-bum smooth feeling I wasn't getting from Gillette. I was happy to dump them and their expensive blades and go back to the 1930s (I had an 1930s vintage razor) - and never looked back.

So, to be presented with a razor where I had to press onto the skin seemed counter intuitive to me. I gave it a go and was pleasantly surprised. The shaving position is still taking me some time to get used to, and I am not sure I have yet got the best technique to use the Azor. Some parts of my face I managed to get baby-bum smooth, others I struggled with - particularly top lip, and the angle of the chin where I felt I didn't get the smoothness I desire. Again, I reiterate that this was probably down to my poor technique than a fault of the razor.

Knowing a little bit about shaving, and how jealously other companies protect their patents surrounding blades, blade angles, configuration and so on (something like 25,000 patents held by one company alone) developing any razor must have been fraught with huge difficulties; and yet to develop something so radically different and look so damned good must have been damned near impossible - and yet King of Shaves succeeded that they deserve to build a good following just for the sheer determination to succeed.

My young brother in law staying with us needed a razor, so I gave this one to him. His comment was "It's mean as", and that, from him is probably the highest accolade any razor can get!

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My first comment is why do they make it so hard to open these packages,? or maybe it is just me and my arthritic fingers that find it difficult,and again i want to recycle, or did i miss that magic number hidden somewhere,that allows me to do so.

First impression's are good, it looks a nice nifty little razor, that should be up for the job.

It is slightly heavier than the 4 blade razor,and a little more luxurious to look at.

I found it great for shaving legs,no nicks or cuts and in combination with the King of Shaves gels was ideal for my sensitive skin,leaving it feeling smooth and quite soft,however i did still need to moisturise as i have very dry skin, but i was very impressed by the after feel of my legs even before I used moisturiser.

This was far superior compared with the 4 blade razor.

I am not sure if this product is any better than the latest Schick or Gillette products also available. I have tried both razors and would say the King of Shaves matches them, but is not really any better than either of them.

However i would purchase this razor, if the price was lower than the other two products.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 26th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Because I am a wonderful caring person (and 'cos we all know us females thief off with the other halfs razors when they aren't looking) I felt it was of utter importance to put my hand up for this review and be sure that our thieving ways would not be in vain. I can smugly report that they won't be.

If it hadn't been informed that there is a Queen of Shaves range, I would probably just ditch my previous girly razor altogether. This is a ridiculously smooth shave including over all the knobbly bits (knees! for sobbing out loud - knees!). It's a really close shave and quick too, no having to go back over the same spot for missed bits (the 5 blade system also helps here, makes the razor much more effective than systems with less). The razor itself is comfortable to hold and while it wasn't designed with us females in mind, the "Y" shape further makes it comfy to hold giving you somewhere to rest a finger under the blade where the "Y" meets (or am I the only un-co who normally drops a slippery razor in the shower??). As well, it promises to be aimed at sensitive skin and I can happily report that my sensitive womanly legs were not at all irritated.

Over all ladies, big Thumbs Upthumbs up from me so you can thief your other half's razor with total confidence. Or buy your own and tell HIM to sod off from touching it!

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 26th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This review is written on behalf of my husband who tested this product.

After testing the other King of Shaves 4 blade razor I was ready to test run the 5 blade Sensitive razor out ,which comes packaged in a more impressive plastic package in Navy and a Green Aqua package with the King of shaves logo, that was a lot easier to open than the cardboard and plastic packaging the 4 blade razor came in.
This 5 blade razor has a similar design "Y" shape to the 4 blade razor but looks more delux in appearance with a heavier weight but well balanced razor that has rubber on the top for grip but also has a strip of polished metal like a racer stripe up the sides of the handle. It looks good but I would have preferred it not to have the metal but instead rubber up the sides of the handle for a better hold and comfortable grip. This did a really clean close shave and no cuts, they glide and bend and pivot as required to on all the tricky areas like upper lip , chin, and jaw line with ease and you can work quite relaxed with confidence that this razor wont cut you as it has a thin rubber bar at the top and a wider rubber bar at the bottom of the 5 blade cartridge to prevent this and when used with their shaving gels you get a well moisturised face and lots of slip so the razor glides smoothly. This was good and gave good shaving results so I am happy with it. I would purchase more blade cartridges and continue to use King of Shaves Razors along with their gels with exception to the cooling menthol which I had a bad reaction to. but the other 2 are good and I would use again . I give this Razor 10/10 and its a Thumbs Upthumbs up from me.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 20th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The King of Shaves Azor 5 sensitive system razor is a nice razor to trust with your hairy bits. By hairy bits I mean your face.

This razor comprises of a 5 blade system, with a thinner endurium nano coating, which sounds pretty fancy, but I must admit I have no idea what that means apart from it has fine blades.

It has been designed for people with sensitive skin, and achieves this with some great design ideas. It has a large soft pre tensioning beard bumper, which lifts stubble while shaving.

According to the back of the packaging the Azor 5's alloy handle is perfectly balanced and reassuringly weighty, which gives you improved feel and control. While it is heavier then a plastic shaver, I would liked to have seen it heavier than what it was. That is just a personal preference and doesn't take away from what is a easy to handle and manoeuvre shaver. This is in part to the Y type design which lets you rest your finger in the centre underneath the blade.

As a fairly hairy person at present, I shave around my beard and around my moustache, and getting in nice and close and removing unwanted hair is a breeze with the Azor 5 shaver. In fact while shaving it was so smooth I actually thought I had it around the wrong way and was rubbing my face with a bit of plastic, turns out it was shaving so smoothly I couldn't feel the blades at all. This was in part helped with using King of Shaves shave gel, and also the bendy head of the shaver itself, which keeps it really close to your skin at all times.

So when it comes down to it, does it do what they say it will, it sure does.

It does it in a very smooth way with no irritation to the skin, and as they say "Don't just shave, King of Shaves"

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 3592: 'Fresh Mountain Spring' Bathroom Cleaner -  Brand / Manufactured by: Dettol Power & Pure

Product image for New Dettol Power & Pure ~ Discover the Power of Oxygen!

New Dettol Power & Pure is a powerful household cleaner that utilises the power of oxygen to tackle tough cleaning, breaking down to leave just water and oxygen behind.

This innovative product is tough on germs, but gentle for the family. When sprayed onto a surface, the active oxygen formula kills 99.9% of germs by releasing micro bubbles, which penetrate and dissolve ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Forgive your enemies but never forget their names."
John F. Kennedy (1917-1963)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream