Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 18th September 2019 - 21:29:08

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Kinexium Shaving Oil review

« The Adventures of Merlin - Series 1 reviewThe Adventures of Merlin - Series 1Azor 5 Sensitive System Razor reviewAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor »

Score: 5.5/10  [12 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 3178 - Kinexium Shaving Oil
Brand: King of Shaves

Kinexium Shaving Oil
Price:
$12.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by King of Shaves

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers, and via the online store

Kinexium Shaving Oil product reviews

Award winning King of Shaves Kinexium Shave Oil employs SSE, v4.0 of our unique Skin Surface Enhancing technology, to deliver our best shave ever. It protects, moisturises and lubricates your skin throughout the shave giving superlative razor performance and glide. Your face will be left smooth, supple and moisturised.

Up to 100 shaves from one bottle. Use instead of gel / foam or to prepare your skin before an electric shave. Ideal for sensitive skin. Advanced ST (Silicon Technology) formula. Dermatologically tested and unfragranced.

The totally clear formula means you see exactly where you're shaving - perfect for shaping side-burns, goatees and for avoiding problem areas."

www.shave.co.nzClick out to an external site

Check out King of Shaves onlineClick here to see all the listings for King of Shaves Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
basil   clove   lavendar   oil   orange   shave
Other listings you may be interested in:
AlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveAlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Rating: 8.9
Earthwise Nourish - Tahitian Lime & Sandalwood Hand WashEarthwise Nourish - Tahitian Lime & Sandalwood Hand Wash
Rating: 9.7
SuperBalm Ultimate Face BalmSuperBalm Ultimate Face Balm
Rating: 8.8
Closer to Nature Electric SteriliserCloser to Nature Electric Steriliser
Rating: 9.3
SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh CitrusSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Rating: 9.2
Specsavers Lens BrightSpecsavers Lens Bright
Rating: 10.0
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
Azor 5 Sensitive System RazorAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Rating: 8.3
Nivea Visage Young Wash Off Effective Cleansing GelNivea Visage Young Wash Off Effective Cleansing Gel
Rating: 10.0
AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol
Rating: 8.4
Azor S Sensitive RazorAzor S Sensitive Razor
Rating: 8.6
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
NZYME BBQ CleanerNZYME BBQ Cleaner
Rating: 9.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 5th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Shaving with oil was definitely something new for me. Like the other products I used this on my legs in the shower. It is true that a little of this does go a long way, while it doesn't have any added fragrance it does smell a bit of tea tree and a spicy smell which I personally quite liked. It was also easy to use, particularly as I was in the shower so keeping the right moisture level wasn't a problem.

However I didn't like the oily sheen left over everything else like my hands and somewhat on the shower floor too! This was a big factor in my low score. Yes my skin did feel smooth afterwards but the oily feeling was extremely off putting. Not a product I'd use again I'm sorry.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 5th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

This product is designed for use as alternative to gel or foam for a wet razor or in preparation for an electric razor. As I don't own an electric razor I can only comment on it's use with a wet razor.

Following the directions it can be used on it's own or in conjunction with a shaving gel/foam. To give it it's best shot I sampled it on it's own so as not to give it a distorted rating through the use of another product. Unfortunately the results were decidedly average doing this and I was left with an oily residue on my skin. Really this product just wasn't for me.

I have however come up with an alternative use for the product - noticing the silicone component in the ingredients I thought I would try it out on my squeaky toilet door hinges. Result - no more squeaky toilet door.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was a bit unsure about this product, I mean an oil can't work for shaving can it? Well in my case, no not really. Don't get me wrong it does work, however it just took longer for me to shave with the oil, and it was a bit tougher as well as I received at least a couple of nicks from the razor whilst using this product.

The smell was also a slight bit off putting, and I had to thoroughly wash my hands, the wash basin and my face afterwards to get rid of the smell, and the oily residue that was left in the basin, not to mention having to give the razor a good rinse to get the oil and hair build up out as well.

As a preparation for an electric shave it faired a bit better and did make the shaving process a bit easier, but again I had to spend a bit of time cleaning the razor to get rid of the oil/hair build up.

On the plus side though it did leave my skin nice and smooth, but unfortunately this isn't enough to fully redeem this product in my eyes and I will stick to the other King of Shaves products for my shaving duties.

Click here to read the profile of filmguidenz

Review by: filmguidenz (Jonathan)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 1 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 1 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I'm sorry, but I have to be blunt - I think King of Shaves Shave Oil is crap. I do like the concept of only having to take a really small container when you travel - and in-fact it's smaller than a razor! And I don't doubt it's claim that you can get up to 100 shaves out of it.

It did sound a little too good to be true however, and in reality it is. It's pretty much like shaving with oily water. It's a frustrating and painful experience, and if this was all I had to shave with, it would force me to grow a beard. I think it's a total waste of time.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 17th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 3 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to review this item. We have given this one the longest trial as we wanted to give it a fair go. It was our least favourite trial product. On first inspection, the small size made us think that it was a travel size but it claims to do 100 shaves so we thought it must be very concentrated. It felt very oily and had a strong odour that while not terrible, was quite over powering on the face. While a little did go a long way it did require some getting used to as it was difficult to see if you missed covering an area and had to re-apply as it made everything slippy to handle. Shaving with this product was okay and it left skin smooth but we applied quite a bit as we were worried about missing a spot and getting razor burn. All in all, not for us at all. I am sure that some would find it fantastic though and would suggest that it would definitely have a market for some, just not for us.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

ok not a personal choice for me. the oil feels nice on the skin, but kind of reminds me of shaving in water, its hard to know if the oil is still there or if you are gonna end up dry shaving and causing a rash...hubby felt the same.

the bottle size is great, obviously for travel, and/or for keeping in your car if you were that kind of person/or had that kind of life style that required your shaving products to be in your car LOL Icon

the size of the bottle however does have an effect on the instructions, they are small and very hard to read, but reality is most shaving products are self explanatory anyway, but as this is an oil and most use foams or gels then being able to read the instructions may be something people would like to be able to do.

all in all its a great idea, and for those who like oils im sure it will be popular. i was surprised to see the RRP on this one though. I dont pay large amounts for shaving products, and def would not pay that much for this but if the bottle is right and you do get 100 shaves from it then i would imagine many would pay the RRP for it..

not a personal fav for me, i do prefer their lovely gels.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 31st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am not used to using an oil as a shave aid so this was something utterly new to me. As the nearly impossible to read instructions claim, a little goes a long way. A few squirts were all it took to cover the areas of my face that needed to be shaved, however the end result after a shave was impressive. A bit uncomfortable though due to the rash because I forgot to follow all the instructions.

The oil can be used as the sole lubricant, but it is also allowable to use it as a skin conditioner working in concert with another shaving product. It is assumed that other product will be a King of Shaves gel of some kind but this is not stated as gospel anywhere.

If used solo, it is important to keep the shave area wet throughout the shave, to give a glide surface for the blades to slide over. I neglected to maintain suitable moisture levels and ended up giving myself rather rosy cheeks thanks to that perennial hazard, razor burn, where the top layers of skin are removed along with the hairs. This isn't too bad, considering our skin is around 50 layers thick, but it can make for some severe discomfort as the nerves suddenly finds themselves missing their protective blanket and greet the air head on.

All in all, not too bad actually. The only real problems were caused by user error rather than product failure. I had to use a couple more than the recommended 2-3 squirts to cover my face to a level I was satisfied with, but in hindsight I think it is as clear as the oil itself that 2-3 squirts would have been plenty if I had kept the moisture level up. I also agree that the text on the bottle itself was quite small, however even with faulty vision I had no problems reading it in a good light. The writing on the cardboard sleeve in the pack however was a total nightmare. Perhaps they would be better served by a removable paper slip instead, with larger text.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 30th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 5 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

King of Shaves Kinexium Shave Oil is different to the shaving gels that King of Shaves produce.

It comes in a very small compact bottle which would be great for space saving while travelling, with only a few drops needed per shave, it is stated 100 shaves can be achieved from the bottle. While I can't say with certainty of that, it does seem likely.

The instructions on the bottle are very small to read, and will require some hawk like vision, or maybe even a chance at pretending to be Sherlock Holmes and whipping out a magnifying glass.

It is apparently unfragranced, which I take to meaning no artificial fragrances were added to it, as it definitely smells, probably of the tea tree oil it is made with. While the gels have a good smell that anyone can use, the oil won't be to everyone's taste.

As it is an oil, it is clear which allows for easy sight while shaving, which is true, but I find it a bit too clear, and I have to put heaps on to make sure I cover everything.

It worked well for me with the razor, but I do prefer the consistency if the gel, it is just my preference.

At the end of the day it does what it is supposed to do, and i would recommend it to anyone that wants a good product that doesn't take up much space while travelling. For everyone else, check out the gels.

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 1 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

This review is written on behalf of my husband who tested this product.

The shaving oil comes in a small compact container with real small print of instructions of how to use on the back. So it was a little hard to read.
I pre-washed my face in warm-hot water as per instructions and put 3-4 drops of oil onto the palm of hands and gently massages onto area to be shaved. The smell of the oil was similar to Tea Tree oil I thought and its not exactly a very nice smell. Then had to wash hands thoroughly to remove the oiliness so I would be able to hold the razor without it slipping. Had to wash the bathroom sink also as it left it oil coated. I thought this product was way too messy to use and couldn't see myself using it again,but continued and went slowly as I was not quite as confident using this oil compared to the Gels. shaved a small area and stopped as I felt the razor dragging, luckily no cuts or nicks, put a bit more water on the area as I felt it had enough oil and had another go this time it did not drag. The cut hair sticks to the blade cartridge so after each stroke of shaving I had to swish razor in the water to clean. finished shaving but took me way longer than I normally take time wise. Overall face was soft so the oil is good as moisturiser, but I would not purchase or use again. I personally like the King Of Shave Gels.had to clean the sink again on completion of shaving one bonus of using oil is 3-4 drops goes along way and coats everything. I give this 0 /10 and sorry but it gets the Thumbs Downthumbs down from me.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The Kinexium Shaving Oil is listed as odourless, though we smelt some very subtle hints of tree tea oil or perhaps menthol. The smell was not off-putting, and gave the oil a nice freshness. The oil itself was light to the touch. Very little of the oil is actually needed to get a good lubrication. Even a drop, easily allowed easy movement of fingers against skin. However, following the instructions on the bottle I used 1 - 2 sprays from the applicator on wet skin.

The shave was really good using this product. I usually use a foaming shave gel or just straight shaving foam. But with this product it was way easier to see what I was doing and any bits I had missed. With foam, basically if you see foam you missed a spot which isn't always a guarantee of a good shave.

The oil did moisturise my skin. Though my one complaint was that it did leave a film of oil on my skin which wasn't pleasant after the fact and took some work to wash off - more so than a normal gel or foam. That said, I have used this regularly all week and my enjoyment in using it has only increased.

With the ability to get over 100 shaves out of it, the convenient size of the package and possibilities of taking it travelling etc. I still found this a great product. I would definitely consider purchasing this again, and instead of my normal shave foams.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 25th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

We were excited to try this product as had not seen anything quite like it before, we both liked the compact container, and as pointed out,would be ideal for taking on holiday.

When my husband first opened it, he said he was not very keen on the scent , i have to agree i found it rather unpleasant and overpowering, however he continued to use the product, although it did give him a nice clean shave, he preferred the other King of Shaves products we had to trial and found them by far superior.

Curiosity got the better of me, and I decided to try the product on my legs, and as Tim Finn would sing 'THAT WAS MY MISTAKE' however i stopped after just a few strokes of the razor, as i found it was not working well for me, just as well i did as i ended up with razor burn, and for two days afterwards my skin was itchy,sore and ended up with a rash, which was not the same as razor burn.

I do have sensitive skin, which is prone to dryness,(which is also why I thought the oil would be beneficial to me).

I felt that possibly i had some sort of allergic reaction to the oil, however it has been dermatologically tested, so therefore the chances are it will be safe to use for most people, just not me.

In hindsight, i should have perhaps used a shaving gel or foam as well, and I felt this is a product best used on the face only.

On the negative side, the instructions on the bottle were so hard to read, one had to use a magnifying glass.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 19th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I had used this product before, a long time back when I used to live in UK, and also in New Zealand. I've never been a consistent user of this product, but I don't really know why. When I use it, I enjoy using it, but then I tend to forget to buy it and then miss it when I don't have any.

I've been a wet-shaver more than I have been a user of an electric razor, and then when I found a site that specialises in wet shaving I dumped the Gillettes and went to vintage razors that use single blades and never really looked back.

I bought the shaving oil because of the silicones that are used to give that nice slip when used in conjunction with old style shaving foams, and to this end, it works exceedingly well with most products, and with one product not at all (which is no great loss because I am no fan of that shaving cream anyway).

I have used the shaving oil on its own, and this works well enough, but with the shaving habits I have, I do like to use shaving creams whipped up on a vintage badger brush before deciding whether to use a vintage double edged razor, or a straight razor (cut throat). I do love using the shaving oil in conjunction with shaving creams.

Just wet your face with hot water, rub in two to three squirts of the shaving oil and massage in thoroughly. And that is it, you are ready to shave. It really couldn't get any simpler. The lack of the foam allows you to shave cleanly without any foam to obscure any facial sculpting you may have. I'm probably not metro enough for this use, for me, facial hair is all on, or all off with nothing in between.

If you've never tried this product, it is well worth a go. One small bottle really does offer such value for money as it will last for around three months if shaving once a day, longer if you are like me. I'm sure you will love it too.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 3175: AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive -  Brand: King of Shaves

Product image for AlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveKing of Shaves AlphaGel Shave Gel employs SSE, v2.0 of our unique Skin Surface Enhancing technology, with DDS (Dual Delivery System) that helps protect, moisturise and lubricate your skin throughout the shave giving excellent razor performance and glide. Your face will be left smooth, supple and moisturised, not dry and tight.

Dermatologically tested and unfragranced. Ideal for sensitive skin.

The low foam formula means you ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in binoculars to look at things on the ground?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream