Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 7th December 2019 - 14:10:47

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus review

« AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive reviewAlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveThe Adventures of Merlin - Series 1 reviewThe Adventures of Merlin - Series 1 »

Score: 9.2/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 3176 - SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Brand: King of Shaves

SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Price:
$10.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by King of Shaves

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers, and via the online store

SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus product reviews

New SuperGel by King of Shaves combines the ultimate in smooth shave performance with a SuperFresh Citrus fragrance for a galvanizing skin zing. Don't just shave, enjoy the King of Shaves with SuperGel, our best shave gel ever!

    •  Dermatologically tested - ideal for sensitive skin.
    •  Moisturises and lubricates giving excellent blade glide.
    •  The low foam formula means you see exactly where you're shaving - perfect for shaping facial hair.
    •  For the ultimate shave, partner this SuperGel with the King of Shaves Azor system razor.

Important: Enjoy!

www.shave.co.nzClick out to an external site

Check out King of Shaves onlineClick here to see all the listings for King of Shaves Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
aloe vera   citrus   gel   shave   shaving   tea tree
Other listings you may be interested in:
Primal Earth Refresh Shave GelPrimal Earth Refresh Shave Gel
Rating: 9.0
Shaving SoapShaving Soap
Rating: 9.5
AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol
Rating: 8.4
AlphaGel Shave Gel - SensitiveAlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Rating: 8.9
Kinexium Shaving OilKinexium Shaving Oil
Rating: 5.5
Azor 5 Sensitive System RazorAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Rating: 8.3
Azor S Sensitive RazorAzor S Sensitive Razor
Rating: 8.6
SuperBalm Ultimate Face BalmSuperBalm Ultimate Face Balm
Rating: 8.8
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
Schick QuattroSchick Quattro
Rating: 8.0
Chux Cleaning Cloth Magic EraserChux Cleaning Cloth Magic Eraser
Rating: 9.6
Lip BalmLip Balm
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 6th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was my favourite King of Shaves product overall. I saved the review of this to last to make sure I used it well enough to be sure that of the three gels I tried, this one was the best for me. And it was. I found the citrus burst of be refreshing, without being caustic or too powerful to put up with, and it just made my skin smell so good. All the whanau agreed it was such a pleasant aftersmell, it was simple to convert many of the lads, and a few of the ladies, to becoming new customers. My Brother-in-Law now owes me a new tube, since he snagged the last of mine to take home and remove his forest growth. Wink Icon

All in all, though it has a moderate price tag on it, and doesn't last as long as the same dollar value's worth of a can of shave foam, the results are so good I would be happy to pay for this again. And in fact I already have.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 5th of February, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Another great product from the King of Shaves range however on personal preference this would rank third of the three gels I have sampled.

For best results follow the instructions and shave either during/after showering, and like the other gels in the range do not expect the foamy lather that you are probably used to from competitors brands. While the citrus fragrance was pleasant enough, I didn't feel that it gave me the same 'wake me up' kick as the menthol, and really offered nothing in addition to the unfragranced sensitive gel. Having said all that, the results are still impressive, particularly when combined with a King of Shaves razor, and my skin always comes out feeling soft and supple.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 23rd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This was one of the shaving gels I took on a recent trip to Beijing and so gave this a better trial than I may normally had done.
My normal shaving routine is to shave alternate days (monday, Wednesday, Friday and not at all over the weekend. In Beijing, I had to shave every day and get those hairless chops without drying out, feeling tender or getting barbers' rash, spilling claret or any of the other shaving related problems.

The Citrus shaving gel has a lovely delicate citrus scent that isn't overpowering, and provides good lubrication for the impending shave. As with the other KoS shaving gels, this one does not foam up, allowing one to shave to great detail, should you be into that. The low foam does still confuse me a little having been brought up on shaving foams (either from a can, or more recently from a shaving soap, or shaving cream to be whipped up on a badger brush) however, once one gets past this, it is a good shaving gel.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love a good citrus smell, it makes me think of cleanliness though I don't really know why. This gel works as good as the others I have tried, but for some reason (i don't know of it was the smell or not) but it felt as if it gave a smoother shave than the others, but after some extra comparitive shaving I determined that it was just my imagination and that I was most likely losing my mind.

That being said the smell of the citrus wafting into my nasal cavity as I gently ran the shaver over my face was quite nice initially, but after a while it got slightly irritating, but thankfully I wasn't far off finishing the shave so I just bared with it (yes that pun was intended).

So this gel is just like the others, it works great, and is the perfect compliment to a manual shaver, however if the smell of citrus is not to your liking, then I suggest you try either the menthol, or the regular shave gel.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Like the other gels in this range, this was an excellent gel that did just as promised. It worked well and didn't cause any itchy skin or problems. Using this, it is easy to see where you have shaved which even us women find a big benefit plus you don't need to use too much.

I loved the citrus smell of this one and while it felt like it didn't leave my legs as smooth as the tea tree gel, I would still purchase this one again just for the yummy smell. I think both men and women would be very happy with the performance of this product.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 1st of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Thanks for letting us review this product...its our favorite.

The smell is absolutely divine...its just gorgeous, not only when using it, but the lingering smell afterwards is so fresh and yummy! We are definitely loving this product.

Its light, refreshing, glides on nicely, ya dont need a massive amount so it will definitely go the distance meaning excellent value for money. As I've already stated it smells gorgeous. And best of all no clogging up the razor...perfection in a bottle.

Oooo and its smooth and leaves your skin feeling soft and supple...not sure thats something men want in a product or not, but man it seriously leaves a wonderful feeling on your skin.

Most definitely recommending this product to everyone. We are yet to try out the other gels, but will do soon and see how they compare with this one, but at the moment, this one is definitely tops.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 31st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Thanks for letting us review this product. This was hubby's outright favourite. He loved the smell and the ease of use and it left his skin wonderfully smooth and not irritated. I wasn't as keen on the smell, but is still a fantastic product. These gels are a fantastic product and with the handy clear tube, you can see just how much you have and can avoid running out. This will definitely be on our shopping list, at hubby's request.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 30th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another gel in the King of Shaves shaving arsenal. It isn't too much different to the other gels, with the only noticeable difference the lovely citrus smell and the yellow lemon curd like colour of the gel.

If you are used to a shaving foam while you shave, going to a gel is a big step, and will feel strange. But don't let this put you off. I've always found any foam to smell very similar to all the other foams out there, and this is where King of Shaves really make a difference - with products that smell different.

Super gel goes on nicely to the skin, and allows it to be easily supplied and makes less mess then foam, it also has the great benefit of being able to see where you are going, which is quite handy if you have a rugged face

The thing I like about this is the generous size of the container, which to me lasts a lot longer then other products, smells nice, and really helps the King of Shaves razors give a nice close clean shave.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

King of Shaves Supergel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus is a great product. It smells deliciously like lemon curd. It looks suspiciously like... lemon curd. And afterwards, you smell lemon fresh, which is not an unpleasant smell to have lingering about you.

The texture of the gel was good. If you add a little water you can get a bit of a lather going, if a lather is what you prefer.

Similar to our experience with the Kinexium Shaving Oil, I liked that the gel was clear once on, so you could easily see what you were doing. My skin didn't have any bad reactions to the gel, and after the shave I had hardly any stinging sensation which is unusual even with some sensitive skin products.

The pack was easy to use too. I love tubes because once you are struggling to get the last of the product out, you can clip open the top of the tube and get the last remains. Makes for an economical product as well, since too often you haven't got the ability to get every drop out of a container.

If I was to purchase another shave gel from this range, I would pick this one over the others. The ease of use was similar across the board, but this one just smelt more appealing and then for sensitivity of the skin, I think this one blitzed the others. Sting free shaving, always a winner!

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was the first product of the trial pack that i used. I found this to be excellent and in fact was my favourite of all the king of shaves ,that we had to review.

It had a very pleasant citrus smell, which was not too over-powering, felt great on my skin, and left me with a nice clean shave,and smooth skin.

I am used to using a foam, so this was new to me and indeed I liked being able to see where i was shaving,and i would certainly consider using this product on a daily basis,despite the increase in price to the product i currently use, I felt this was worth paying a bit extra for.

All in all a good quality product that was easy to use, smelt great and I was impressed with the end result.

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 26th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been a brush and shave soap user in the past, and then more recently a can of Shaving Foam Cream user for many years. So now something new to try out and this time it doesn't come in a can so its eco friendly. And comes in a man sized tube with a seal-easy flip top lid.
I often wondered if I used a shave Gel would I be able to see what I had shaved and what I needed to shave next. As I am used to seeing thick white foam. which is more easily seen on my skin than shiny Gels.
So was quite pleasantly surprised when I was given the opportunity to test out King of Shaves Gels that I could see exactly what I was doing. So first up to test was Super Fresh Citrus which comes in a nice sized flip top lid tube. I reached for this tube first as the Lemon coloured gel appealed to me , so I applied to my face and the gel felt quite cooling and I liked the lemon fragrance. Using the Azor Sensitive razor with 4 blades, i shaved the first strip and it did a nice clean close shave , so I proceeded and enjoyed shaving the rest of my face. My face felt well moisturised, super smooth and fresh smelling like a zesty lemon. I like this shaving gel so much i think this will be the one I use from now on ,so i give this product a 10/10 and a thumbs up from me. Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 24th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Call me strange, awkward or somewhat cynical... but I have always enjoyed the feel of a foaming shave lubricant. No idea why - maybe it goes back to childhood days playing "Old Man Santa" in the bath with the froth from the bubble-bath mix. A no-foam gel... it just didn't feel right when I thought about it. However, shaving is a necessary evil in my book - I only wear a full beard because I can't really be bothered shaving every day, and I'm no Don Johnson able to get away with the stubble look.

My first reactions to this gel were amusement, trepidation, and then back to amusement - you see, a squirt of this in my palm looked so very much like I was about to smear a dollop of St Andrew's Lime Curd all over my face... I couldn't shake that feeling right to the end... the citrus smell didn't do anything to ruin the illusion. It does make me wonder, actually, whether trying the curd might be just as effective...

However, I don't want to sound negative about this product, it actually worked a real treat... I ended up with a nice smooth shaved area around my neck and under my chin - the only areas I can shave with a regular blade at present thanks to a heavy growth of beard. It was soothing and cool on application, stayed slippery and allowed the blade to slide effortlessly. All good things.

I tried this with a regular blade first, since I wanted to test each element as individually as possible, and it gave a much better result than my regular foaming gel formula. If nothing else, this scores it big points in my book, since it has taken me over a decade to find a shaving product that gave me as good a result as the one I have stuck with for over 3 years straight. For this citrus gel to utterly cream a long-standing winner... well, it's impressive indeed.

Overall, an gel... I just wish I could get over the feeling I ought to be spreading it on hot toast in the morning...

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4886: Earthwise Oxygenated Whitener Lavender and Eucalyptus -  Brand / Manufactured by: Earthwise

Product image for Earthwise Oxygenated Whitener Lavender and EucalyptusEarthwise Oxygenated Whitener is a low suds laundry soaker for heavily soiled garments and cloth nappies, infused with essential oils and plant based cleaning agents to remove most stubborn stains and odours. Also suitable as a laundry booster in front and top loading washing machines. It is grey water and septic tank safe and contains biodegradable surfactants.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Are there specially reserved parking spaces for 'fully-abled' people at the Special Olympics?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream