Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 24th March 2019 - 18:24:32

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive review

« AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol reviewAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus reviewSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus »

Score: 8.9/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3175 - AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Brand: King of Shaves

AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive
Price:
$9.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by King of Shaves

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers, and via the online store

AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive product reviews

King of Shaves AlphaGel Shave Gel employs SSE, v2.0 of our unique Skin Surface Enhancing technology, with DDS (Dual Delivery System) that helps protect, moisturise and lubricate your skin throughout the shave giving excellent razor performance and glide. Your face will be left smooth, supple and moisturised, not dry and tight.

Dermatologically tested and unfragranced. Ideal for sensitive skin.

The low foam formula means you see where you're shaving - perfect for shaping sideburns, goatees and for avoiding problem areas.

Important: Enjoy!

www.shave.co.nzClick out to an external site

Check out King of Shaves onlineClick here to see all the listings for King of Shaves Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
aloe vera   camphor   eucalyptus   gel   manuka   menthol   shave   shaving   spearmint   tea tree
Other listings you may be interested in:
Primal Earth Refresh Shave GelPrimal Earth Refresh Shave Gel
Rating: 9.0
SuperSkin Ultimate MoisturiserSuperSkin Ultimate Moisturiser
Rating: 9.2
SuperBalm Ultimate Face BalmSuperBalm Ultimate Face Balm
Rating: 8.8
SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh CitrusSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Rating: 9.2
Dishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - LemonDishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - Lemon
Rating: 9.1
Azor S Sensitive RazorAzor S Sensitive Razor
Rating: 8.6
Shaving SoapShaving Soap
Rating: 9.5
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
Earthwise Laundry Liquid Orange and EucalyptusEarthwise Laundry Liquid Orange and Eucalyptus
Rating: 10.0
AlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling MentholAlphaGel Shave Gel - Cooling Menthol
Rating: 8.4
Azor 5 Sensitive System RazorAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Rating: 8.3
Kinexium Shaving OilKinexium Shaving Oil
Rating: 5.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was another really nice gel to use, you don't need a lot as a little goes a long way to doing the job. Because it's low foam, it's easier to see where you are shaving and your razor isn't getting overly clogged with foam! For me this probably wouldn't be my first choice as I felt my legs weren't as smooth as they were after using the tea tree gel, also the smell was a little more masculine so as a female, thieving off with the husbands share is probably less likely! However, it did do what it said and performed very well. I think any guys would be very happy with this gel (and yes probably ladies as well).

Click here to read the profile of filmguidenz

Review by: filmguidenz (Jonathan)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 5 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I currently use Nivea for Men Cool Kick Shaving Gel. It's a nice gel, that produces a nice creamy foam once applied to your face. After using the King of Shaves Alpha Gel - Cooling Menthol - I knew this Sensitive King of Shaves Gel wasn't going to stack up with my luxurious Nivea.

King of Shaves are focussing on a different approach and I'm still not used to a gel that doesn't transform into a nice thick cream.

As with the Cooling Menthol, it did the trick when it came to shaving with my own Schick Hydro, but again, it wasn't an experience I'd necessarily recommend.

Both King of Shaves gels that I've reviewed are for sensitive skin, but I've never had an issue with shaving gels before and am happy to report that my skin wasn't irritated at all.

The problem with this gel, is that unlike the Menthol gel, this offers me nothing I can't get better elsewhere, and based on this, I really can't rave about it.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 20th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I hate shaving, but I hate that itchy scratchy feeling you get after a few days of non shaving more, so it's something I put up with. Now I normally use a good old electric shaver as i'm generally in a rush and it works. I have shaved manually before, but that usually ends up in a bit of a mess as my skin is very sensitive and I usually end up with a terrible rash, no matter what foam I use. So with that in mind I was a wee bit sceptical as to whether or not I would end up looking rather red and patchy.

First off this like the other gels is very nice to the touch and you don't need much either as it goes a fair way. Also as it's clear it's very easy to see where your going and where you've been. Anyway off I went and after a few minutes I had a cleanly shaven face and not a hint of razor rash, I could not believe it.

After the shave my skin had a nice smoothness to it, that I usually only get when I use an after shave moisturiser, so this also saves me having to do an extra step afterwards when I want to do a spot of moisturising.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

There are many products on the market that promise they are for sensitive skin, but not many that actually leave you feeling like it really was for sensitive skin...it still stings, burns, maybe itches! But not this time, this time King of Shaves AlphaGel Sensitive has got it right...

This is a product that says is for sensitive skin, and it sure is! I suffer from sensitive skin, resulting in pain and itchiness if i use the wrong products. This gel has been perfect. It has not left any red patches, itchiness or caused any form of swelling, redness or tenderness.

Like the other gels it has performed just as it said it, and then some. Like the other gels it glides on nicely, you dont need to use huge amounts as a little goes a long way, and its not a thick horrible substance. Again the bottle sits upside down too, so you can get every last drop.

This is one of my fav shaving gels from king of shaves.

Hubby tends to get shavers rash when he does his face, i think because he leaves for work in the wee early hours that during the week he 'rush shaves' as a result..itching and burning, nicks and cuts, and of course...shavers rash! But since using the king of shaves AlphaGels he has not had any of the above happen and no rash either...so the products def do as they say they are going to do.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 5th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The AlphaGel Shave Gel - Sensitive comes in a cool blue tube and although it is called unfragranced, it still has the King of Shaves smell to it - tea tree oil. It is not an off-putting smell though, by any means. It makes you feel you are using a natural, clean and fresh product.

The texture of the gel was good. I stood it in the shower, and once it was time to shave, the gel was warmed and went on very easily. A little water, a little gel and rub. Its low lather again, like the other King of Shaves gels. This is great for high visibility. The other thing I liked was that when I shave in the shower I always end up with foam running off the shave area before I get to actually shave, and this happens with very little water interaction. That didn't happen with the shave gel. The gel clung to my skin nicely and I was able to easily shave without wasting product.

The shave was smooth. The clean up was easy. The only negative I found was that compared to the Super Fresh Citrus gel, there was a slight stinging sensation after my shave. However, it wasn't off-putting, as many products I have used in the past have given me more of a sting than this gel. I would consider purchasing this product again; the shave gels are great for ease of use and visibility.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiwests

Review by: kiwiwests (Susan)
Dated: 31st of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Thanks for letting us try this product! This has to be one of our favourites (for both him and her) as it offered a very nice smooth shave without any flaring of sensitive skin. Hubby loved this one as it left his face feeling very smooth and didn't clog up blades or smell too strongly. I found it the best for legs and underarms where often normal shaving gels and foams cause irritation. It also comes in a handy clear tube so you don't end up running out of shaving gel after only shaving one leg (yep, we've all done that!). This is one product going on our regular shopping list, you have converted us!

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 30th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Another great King of Shaves gel, this one has been designed for sensitive skin. As someone who doesn't have sensitive skin I can't truly comment on how effective it is to help with this.

But like all the other gels, it goes on well, smells great, allows the blade to slide across your face, giving you a nice clean shave with no nicks or cuts, and also moisturises your skin.

Low foam formula is a great idea, it actually allows you to see where you are shaving, unlike foam where you are sort of blindly doing it. Very helpful for grooming around existing hair to help you be the sexy person that you are.

To me all three gels are pretty equal, but if you do have sensitive skin, definitely check out this product first, combine it with a King of Shaves razor and you seriously will not want to use another product ever again.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being a chap who finds shaving to be a tedium of the highest order, anything that helps to do a good job quickly is already on a good stake with me. This was also only my second experience with low-foam shaving gels - prior to this is was a fine heavy foam, or longer facial hair. Up until 2 days ago, I had a full beard on that had grown a tad too long for comfort... so taking the trimmers in hand I shaved my face back to the equivalent of a 3-day stubble... normally about as long as I would leave it before shaving.

As with the other two KoS gels I tried, this one went on nice and smoothly - thankfully free of any hint of citrus so I wasn't constantly fighting the urge to lick my lingers - and left a cooling sensation that stayed long enough to help with the shave, but not so long as to feel strange or uncomfortable when I stepped outside into the wind. Some of the products I have tried in the past have given me a feeling I normally only get when I am up in the snowfields!

After shaving half my face with my regular foam, and the other half with this gel... I got a better, smoother, less irritating shave with this gel, and I had the advantage of not having to wipe my face clean before I could tidy up the edges and awkward bits - I could see them the whole way through. This made it so much easier. In the end, I decided to give my face the best job... and RESHAVED the other half with this product, and was shocked at the amount of extra fuzz I removed. What I thought LOOKED like a fairly good shave turned out to be anything but.

Overall, I think I have become a total convert. I kneel to my new liege - the King of Shaves. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Like using the other shaving gels, it did take a bit of getting used to something that doesn't produce a huge amount of foam - something the users of the wasteful canned stuff will be used to; but also myself, using the 'old fashioned' shaving creams and soaps whipped up with a trusty badger brush.

It was simple to use, wet your face, splosh out a nice blob and rub into the bristle. It does foam a little, but not so you look like Santa, and you can see where you are shaving.

I tried this gel with the Azor, but also with a single edge vintage razor (Merkur Slant, 1938 Gillette Senator, 1969 Black handle Super Adjustable) and a straight (cut-throat) razor. I got great shaves using all the above razors (I only mention this to show that the gel works with all the above razors) and certainly got 'baby-bum' smooth shaves.

One pass is never enough for me, I shave with the grain, but wet my face again and shave either across or against the grain to get ultra smooth face. I felt there was enough residual slip left after the first pass not to worry about re-lathering as I would normally do.

To sum up, this is a great product but without the strong menthol cooling exhibited by one of the other range. Good for sensitive skin. I think one tube will last quite some time.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 28th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This gel also gets the Thumbs UpThumbs Up from my Husband,he placed it as his second favourite of the trial products.

It delivered on all aspects as stated by King of Shaves,leaving his skin yet again supple, smooth and moisturised.

He is really loving the low foam formula and has been converted completely, i doubt he will ever use a foam product for shaving again.

The products in combination with the razors provided, did an excellent job, no nicks or cuts, and left his skin feeling great.

He has decided since we were fortunate to be given so many products to review, to take this one up to Auckland when we visit our son ,and let him trial the product as well,he has sensitive skin, so am hoping he finds them as excellent as we did and will start buying the product,it will be interesting to hear his feedback.

Click here to read the profile of christinedixon

Review by: christinedixon (Christine)
Dated: 27th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This review is written on behalf of my husband who tested the product.
After shaving all week and trying out new shaving Gels I have actually got used to the low foam.As It was really strange at first after years of shaving with a thick white soap foam, but now I am truly converted to this new way of shaving and now I shave with the confidence of a professional knowing I am in the safe hands Of ''King Of Shaves'' safety razor and their excellent cooling Gels.This sensitive blue gel in the flip top tube is formulated for extra sensitive skin and seems to deliver just that unlike the cooling menthol that I was sensitive to.so I actually enjoy using this gel and it helps make a really close clean moisturized medium to shave on and I don't get any cuts, nicks, or razor burn while using the razor and gels together and I would purchase again when this tube runs out.so it gets a 10/10 and the Thumbs Upthumbs up from me.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 24th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been using this while trialling the King Of Shaves Azor S razor and have been most impressed with the combination.

The first thing to know about this product is that it is a low/no foam gel. In Man terms that means that you don't get the lather effect that you've come to know over your many years of shaving so do not panic and think your doing something wrong the first time you use it. This thought, that I must admit I did have, is obviously very common as it is the first FAQ on the King Of Shaves website. The fact of the matter is that a low foam gel is gentler on your skin and allows for a smooth, comfortable shave. It also means that any of those tricky spots that often fall victim to regular cuts can breathe a sigh of relief - the gel offers a layer of protection and reduces the likelihood of an incident resulting in blood.

I am truly a convert to the King Of Shaves shaving system and would certainly recommend this for anyone that needs to ensure not being hirsute throughout the working week, or for that matter anyone who likes to shave.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 7.2
Product reviews for listing 4152: Shark Navigator Lift Away -  Brand / Manufactured by: unknown

Product image for Shark Navigator Lift AwayEnhanced Mobility - Upright power with lightweight portability for tight spaces, stairs & above floor cleaning.
No Loss of Suction - Keeps dirt and dust away from the filters and into the extra large capacity dust cup.
Sealed System Locks in Dust & Allergens: Traps over 99.99% of dust and allergens inside the vacuum.

10 yr loss of suction warranty in New Zealand

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream