Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 19th August 2019 - 11:29:13

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Biscuits and Crackers > Cream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits review

« Contagion reviewContagionWhipple - Cupcakes reviewWhipple - Cupcakes »

Score: 7.9/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3153 - Cream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits
Brand: Roshen

Cream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits
Price:
from $0.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Roshen

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers and via online store

Cream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits product reviews

Crisp sweet wafers layered with a cream filling. Great for a naughty snack, as a special luxury when family arrive, or to impress friends.

Available in three varieties:
- Vanilla wafer with Chocolate cream filling
- Chocolate wafer with vanilla cream filling
- Chocolate wafer with chocolate cream filling

Check out Roshen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Roshen Visit their website Follow them on Twitter They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
biscuit   chocolate   layers   vanilla   wafer
Other listings you may be interested in:
Bellas CafeBellas Cafe
Rating: 9.0
Leena Spices - Rogan Josh MasalaLeena Spices - Rogan Josh Masala
Rating: 7.9
Lavosh Crispy Snacks: Sea Salt & Olive OilLavosh Crispy Snacks: Sea Salt & Olive Oil
Rating: 8.8
Mexican Creations: BurritoMexican Creations: Burrito
Rating: 8.6
GoBake Sprinkles CollectionsGoBake Sprinkles Collections
Rating: 9.3
Mexican Creations: NachosMexican Creations: Nachos
Rating: 9.1
Pork BolognesePork Bolognese
Rating: 8.3
Barrys Bay Coldsmoked Pohutukawa RedBarrys Bay Coldsmoked Pohutukawa Red
Rating: 7.4
Vege PrimaveraVege Primavera
Rating: 8.0
Watties Bit on the Side - Onion MarmaladeWatties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Rating: 9.8
Lightly Toasted Muesli Pineapple & CoconutLightly Toasted Muesli Pineapple & Coconut
Rating: 9.8
Barrys Bay Peninsula BlueBarrys Bay Peninsula Blue
Rating: 9.7
ViBERi Freeze-Dried Organic BlackcurrantsViBERi Freeze-Dried Organic Blackcurrants
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of bronnie

Review by: bronnie (Bronwyn)
Dated: 15th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was given 3 Roshen Wafer Biscuit flavours to try. This is the first time I have seen these kinds of biscuits. The packaging is very vibrant and colourful. It definitely stands out. I was rather taken aback by the foreign labelling, but there was the nutritional information in English and also the importer and consumer line to ring for New Zealand if you have any queries.

It took me a little while to figure out how to open the packet of biscuits but once i was in i was shocked, the wafers are HUGE! You can get 3 pieces to one wafer if you choose to cut them smaller. The Wafers are very compact and not crumbly so they are easy to cut up.

Right getting to the flavours.....

The Chocolate Wafer with Chocolate Cream Filling: This is the best choc hit I‚ ™ve had in a long time! The Chocolate flavour has a hint of bitterness as it‚ ™s quite strong; however the Chocolate Cream made the two flavours blend together perfectly. This is definitely my favourite flavour.

The Chocolate Wafer and Cream Filling: This one was more subdued than the first flavour. The chocolate wasn‚ ™t bitter at all. It seems like it was made with a lighter chocolate rather than the dark chocolate taste of the Choc wafer with Choc Cream filling. My daughter thought this one was her favourite.

The Classic Wafer: Has a strong Vanilla hint to it, but also has the classic chocolate flavour. This one is perfect for if you just need a little chocolate fix in your day. This was the least liked flavour but for some reason is still popular...Am thinking the Chocolate is definitely the key!!

These will definitely be going on the supermarket list. For 0.99c each you can't go wrong! These are great for lunchboxes too!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 31st of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was given two varieties of the Roshen cream wafer sandwich biscuits to try. The chocolate wafer with chocolate cream filling and the vanilla wafer with vanilla cream filling.

I found it hard to open the first packet. I realised as I went to open the second one that there was a little tear tab on it. It wasn't obvious (or maybe I was just having a blonde moment).

The portion sizes are very large for a biscuit but were easy to cut into smaller pieces for the children to eat. My pre-school daughters ate both varieties and loved them. They want them for their lunchboxes but they are so yummy I doubt there will be any left on Monday. My husband and I both enjoyed them too.

I couldn't choose a favourite variety. They were both delicious. The double chocolate biscuits are a lovely mix of bitter dark chocolate with the sweetness on the cream. I found it was gre at for satisfying my chocolate craving. The double vanilla biscuits were sweeter than the chocolate ones and were a nice after dinner treat.

I have seen these packets in the supermarket but had reluctant to buy them because there are too many cheap wafer cream biscuits on the market that are dry and stale. The Roshen biscuits are are not like these. They have a lovely flavour. I am keen to try the other flavours and will be popping them in the trolley on my next visit to the supermarket.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 29th of March, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was fortunate enough to receive 2 of the 4 flavours to try of these delicious biscuits. My eldest daughter LOVES wafer biscuits, and adored these! Her first comment was - "they are big ones Mummy" - clearly, the portion size is a hit for her! There are 3 biscuits per pack - but honestly - 1 is enough at a time, and perfect with a coffee - meaning you can save some for later... yeah... later.... As well as that - they are not spindly breakable biscuits - a big plus for little fingers.

Although they are internationally manufactured - one of my pet peeves was NOT a problem - there was nutritional information so I could work out how many WW Points! Yay - excellent - love that!

The packet is not clearly labelled as to where to "tear into it" - it was not till afterwards that I noticed a pull tab type thing... but they honestly are not difficult!

My favourite was the chocolate wafer with chocolate filling - very moreish! The vanilla one wasn't as nice - bit sweeter, but still yummy.

Would most certainly purchase these - perfect for snacks with an evening cuppa, or a small treat for a child (or adult!) and for things like birthday parties - great as they can be cut - offering very good value!

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 13th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have enjoyed all the Roshen products I have tasted and these treats were no different.

Firstly the packaging... wow! They need to make it a little more obvious how to open these. Took me a little time and I was impressed that it didnt crumble because I wasnt gentle :) but I soon forgot about that once I saw the size of each biscuit, very generous. Because I was sharing these with my family I decided to halve each biscuit. I liked how it wasnt a messy job to do.

Now the tasting verdicts.... we were all on the same page with this (even the 3 year old)

Vanilla wafer with choc cream filling... this was our favourite. It has a wonderful creamy after taste. It wasnt overly sweet, it was just right!

Chocolate wafer with vanilla cream filling... this one was ok, it seemed a little bland but nice enough. It didnt make us want to have more like the first one did.

Chocolate wafer with chocolate cream filling... would have to say this was our least favourite. It was a bit bitter. We are a family of sweet teeth :)

Price wise I'm very impressed!! I will be making these (well 2 flavours) a regular.

Thanks Roshen :)

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 12th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Had the privilege of reviewing these overall delicious wafer biscuits the other night. Was really impressed with the amount of packets we were given to trial. We are a social bunch, and had a group of people around so shared the biscuits around to get maximum feedback for the review.

The first thing you notice is that the packets are covered in another language. This didn't put me off, but intrigued me. I'm always up for trying something a bit different. It was good that the Roshen label clearly stated what was in the pack and some ingredients for those of us who have to be careful about what they eat.

The second thing we noticed about the packaging was that the biscuits were incredibly well packaged. So well packaged you would think they were meant to survive the Apocalypse. It was really hard to get into. Luckily, the wafer biscuits are pretty hardy and didn't crumble majorly when we forced our way in.

The packet contained 3 biscuits, but they were a really good size, snapped well for sharing and didn't crumble in the way other wafer biscuits tend to. This is a manly wafer!

But the most important thing about biscuits is not the colourful packaging, their hardiness against oppressive packaging or their size... it's the taste!

Out of the three flavours we had the pleasure of sampling, the Cream flavour (Chocolate wafer, cream filling) was the least appealing. The chocolate wafer itself was really good, but the cream filling had a slightly odd taste which threw us a little. They were still edible and disappeared soon enough, but the odd taste was a little off-putting.

Original flavour (White wafer, with Chocolate filling) was quite nice. Everyone definitely preferred the chocolate filling over the cream and these wafers disappeared a bit quicker as a result.

But the winner of the evening, or true chocolate heaven in a wafer biscuit was the Cocoa flavour (Chocolate wafer with Chocolate filling) was a really awesome flavour. By far the best in show!

Overall, good product. I wouldn't buy the Cream flavour again. But the Cocoa and the Original flavour could end up in my basket in future. 99 cents for 3 biscuits isn't too bad, especially when you can cut them up if you want.

Click here to read the profile of jewellnz

Review by: jewellnz (Carole)
Dated: 19th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Well what can i say, firstly was rather impressed by the amount of biscuits we were given to trial, but i was up for the challenge, and tried to entice the other members of the family, however as usual was left mainly up to me, teenage daughters input is recorded here, but as you can read is minimal.

1.CHOCOLATE WAFER WITH VANILLA CREAM FILLING:
Daughter claimed the biscuits had a nice texture but a weird taste, her words not mine. (I swear there is something wrong with that girl's taste buds), however had they been to her liking, i doubt there would be any left now, so i take it from that, they only just made the pass test and nothing more.

Now it was my turn, i found the biscuit to be a little on the dry side, one would certainly need a cuppa with these, size wise, rather large and filling, calorie wise a bit on the high side, but could well fit in to a weight watcher regime, being 3 pro points on the weight watcher programme.

I have to agree the texture of the biscuit was rather nice, however not quite the melt in your mouth kind, and comparing it with our griffins cookie bear party time wafers, I think these did not really offer any competition. However if you prefer a slightly less sweet option, then maybe these are for you.

As another reviewer mentioned, i found opening the package a nightmare, one cannot say they are not packaged well, but for people like myself with arthritic hands, this makes the task even more difficult and rather frustrating, I decided to open them all,with the help of a little vegetable paring knife, which resulted in crumbling a bit of the biscuit, but it survived long enough to make it to my mouth,then gladwrap them and put them in an airtight container.

I felt duty bound to try the other flavours,(despite the fact the waistline will be increasing,and pro points are taking a break for a day or two,still my sweet tooth was satisfied)

2. VANILLA WAFER WITH CHOCOLATE CREAM FILLING:
I thought this one was a bit on the bland side, and really i ate it thinking , yes that was ok, but nothing special, probably my least favourite of the three.

3.CHOCOLATE WAFER WITH CHOCOLATE CREAM FILLING.
This was really my favourite of the three, mainly because it was very tasty, it did almost melt in your mouth, it could be considered a little on the rich side for some people,but for me personally it was the chocolate fix for the day.

On summing up:
1. I would not go out of my way to purchase the biscuits.
2. They are not locally made, and i prefer to buy NZ made where possible, and always a bit wary of overseas food products. 3, The quality and standard of the biscuits were acceptable and they tasted rather nice.
4.The price is a little over priced in my opinion, almost three dollars for nine biscuits, i think i can get a better deal with locally made biscuits in my supermarket.
5.One biscuit is really all you need,two is just overkill.

All in all i enjoyed this taste trial, it did satisfy my cravings for something sweet, I don't think they were anything exceptionally different,and i wouldn't highly recommend them, and personally i would prefer to stay with the NZ versions of this particular type of wafer biscuit.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 24th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I will start with the negatives on this product as there were only two! The packaging of these wafers annoyed me. Must be a Roshen thing.... ! To get into the packet you rip the bit of plastic that undoes the top part of the wrapper but then it was difficult to extract the wafers without crumbling them.

The wafers (there are three per packet) are very thick and long and they were too big for my liking. This was easily resolved however by cutting with a sharp knife. They did cut easily without crumbling. I cut each wafer stick into four thus making 12 wafers per packet. These were perfect then for the kids and for me. By popping them into a sealed container they kept their crunchiness.

The kids and I rated these highly. Our favourite was the vanilla wafer with chocolate filling followed closely by the chocolate with vanilla. The chocolate with chocolate was a bit too cocoa powdery for my liking but still it all got eaten... Smile Icon

I liked that these were crunchy as some wafer biscuits can be a bit soggy but these were perfect. They also aren't overpoweringly sweet but still satisfy that need for a sweet kick.

I was impressed with these wafers as for 99 cents a pack they are good value and more'ish. I would definitely get these to have in the pantry (cut into smaller pieces of course) as a sweet treat for the kids - and myself Smile Icon These are the sort of item that you could easily impulsively buy a few of in the checkout aisle.....

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 12th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Oh boy, Roshen have totally come through yet again with these divine Cream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits.

I got given all three varieties to try out (tough job but I took one for the team and all) so Mr NZGG and I dutifully sat down and tried them out over a few nights. My personal favourite was the chocolate wafer with vanilla cream filling. It had the perfect amount of sweetness to it and I could have easily scoffed the lot myself. Of course I'm far too restrained. *ahem*. Vanilla wafer with chocolate cream filling was the very close second place getter, it was pretty darn close though. Again nice and sweet but not over the top sickly sweet. That left third spot the the chocolate wafer with chocolate cream filling. I still really liked it but I felt like it was almost a little too "powdery", sorry that's the only word I can think of! I think I would have preferred a more chocolate taste than cocoa as such. That said, I sure as heck wouldn't be turning down seconds if offered!

One biscuit is a serve and you can forget the usual small and skinny little wafer biscuits you see. These are large and calorie concious me was pleased that I could easily slot one of these into my day, preferably with a evening coffee or cup of tea. Price wise, I would also pick these up in a heartbeat.

Another big thumbs up to Roshen! Thumbs UpThumbs Up

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 4790: Cuisine Scene Smokey Stout Chutney -  Produced by Cuisine Scene

Product image for Cuisine Scene Smokey Stout ChutneyThis traditional tomato-based chutney is given a twist with a splash of real stout and natural Hickory smoke flavour. Delicious with any meat, or with cheddar cheese; adds depth to a casserole.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Sometimes only those who love you can tell you what you need to hear, instead of what you want to hear."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream