Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 18th August 2019 - 01:57:41

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Organic Cola review

« Sparkling Cranberry and Lime reviewSparkling Cranberry and LimeOrganic Ginger Beer reviewOrganic Ginger Beer »

Score: 8.2/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3138 - Organic Cola
Brewed/Bottled by Phoenix Organics

Organic Cola
Price:
$2.54
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Phoenix Organics

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Organic Cola product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFlavoured with natural cola nut and liberated from caffeine, this is one genuine gob-smacking good old time cola.

Certified organic, GE free, and packaged in a convenient and resealable 330ml glass bottle.

Ingredients:
    •  Carbonated water
    •  Organic sugar
    •  Natural cola flavouring (colour: caramel 150d)
    •  Organic lemon concentrate

Check out Phoenix Organics onlineClick here to see all the listings for Phoenix Organics Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cola   lemon   nzmade   organic
Other listings you may be interested in:
Green & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & LimeGreen & Co Spring Water - Raspberry, Hibiscus & Lime
Rating: 8.3
Organic Apple, Mango and PassionOrganic Apple, Mango and Passion
Rating: 9.1
Organic Ginger BeerOrganic Ginger Beer
Rating: 8.4
SodaStream T-Rex EnergySodaStream T-Rex Energy
Rating: 9.7
Grey De LuxeGrey De Luxe
Rating: 7.4
Passionberry CocktailPassionberry Cocktail
Rating: 8.0
Organic Apple & Guava JuiceOrganic Apple & Guava Juice
Rating: 9.3
Sparkling Cranberry and LimeSparkling Cranberry and Lime
Rating: 7.8
Organic Apple & PearOrganic Apple & Pear
Rating: 8.7
Goodbuzz Booch - Lemon GingerGoodbuzz Booch - Lemon Ginger
Rating: 6.3
Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ PearAddmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ Pear
Rating: 9.3
Organic Apple & Feijoa JuiceOrganic Apple & Feijoa Juice
Rating: 9.2
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 8th of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.5/10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 3 out of 10

I recently purchased this drink at a takeaway shop as they did not have the usual Coca Cola/Pepsi options for their drinks. I was a little unsure about trying it, but wanted a little something to keep me going for my staff meeting that night. Being a non coffee drinker I did like that this drink had no caffeine in it, sometimes it's just the idea of having something with a little energy boost in it that keeps you going (whether it be a caffeine hit or a sugar hit!).

As I opened it I took a sniff. Definitely quite different to standard cola drinks. This was probably the wrong way to go into it too - having bought it because I couldn't get my usual diet coke or pepsi max I was hoping this would taste similar. And it certainly does not! And I should have expected this having tried a number of natural products before there is always a slightly different taste to those who are not natural.

All in all I don't think I would purchase this again. I didn't enjoy it, and I think next time I would prefer just to buy a bottle of water (or drink tap water) than have the Phoenix Cola again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 7th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Sometimes you just get sick of Coke; the flavour gets boring and the acidity can certainly upset the stomach after a while. Which is one of the reasons why I like Burgerfuel. While they still stock the generic Coca-Cola range, they also supply other "alternative" choices. One of them being the Phoenix organic cola.

This product now has a more modern look than in the photo above, which gives a more retro/hipster look. It goes well with the general alternative feeling of the drink. Compared to other colas, this is much mellower; not in flavour, but in acidity. The flavour is strong, but also more diverse and fruity, while a lot smoother than the usual fizzy drinks.

This is now my new top choice, and I will always pick a Phoenix drink over a Coca-Cola range, if both are available to me. The price difference is really irrelevant to me, as I want to enjoy it, but there are very few drinks that I can really say that I enjoy these days. Most of the time I just pick a variety of things to stave off boredom and hydration, but this product I actually want to drink.

Definitely recommend this product. portable, flavourful, organic, and very tasty. If only it was more widely available.

Click here to read the profile of rachaelch13

Review by: rachaelch13 (Rachael)
Dated: 6th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a cola addict so I was sad to see when we stopped for a bite to eat on our travels today that they only stocked the phoenix organic cola. I have never tried a natural cola product before and was unsure anything natural could live up to my beloved cola taste. But as it was my only option I gave it a try,it was fizzy so that's a good start and the colour was the same as my normal cola however it has a very sweet honey taste that I felt overpowered the cola taste. I decided to add some lemon from my partner's plate and I must say I enjoyed it a lot more with the added tartness.

What I did like about phoenix cola is that it contains no caffeine! It's great to have a drink without feeling wired afterwards. I also liked that it came in a sturdy glass resalable bottle so I could finish the rest off on my travels.The price was more expensive than I would pay for a general cola however you do have to take into consideration that this is organic and in a glass bottle.So would I drink this again I would say yes! It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either would just take a bit of time to get use to.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I bought a bottle of this organic cola today. I've had a couple of days with every little sleep (thanks to sick kids) plus a lot of caffeine trying to keep me upright. Now I'm home and able to relax somewhat with recovering children, I felt like I needed a refreshing treat that wasn't going to keep me up all night. Enter Phoenix's Organic Cola.

This is a drink that has been specially made so you get the taste of cola, without any of the caffeine. That makes it a great choice for kids, pregnant ladies and those of us breastfeeding. Imagine finally getting to have cola if you are one of those poor "super sensitive to caffeine" souls as well! The presentation of this bottle is in clear glass. I love when a drink comes in glass. Its recyclable, and it doesn't taint the taste of the drink unlike cans sometimes do.

The smell of this drink is sweet like honey with a slight hint of citrus. The caramel tones come through as well. Drinking it is refreshing chilled. Its kinda like a watered down version of cola though. By that I guess I mean its not as boldly cola as some other types. The lemon addition is great because it rounds the flavour out and gives it a zingy boost. I love that I can give my daughter a try of this too because its safe for her.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

When I first drank this it was hard from me, not, to compare it to Coca-Cola.

It's not something that I would go out of my way to buy, but if there were only a coupld of drinks up for choice, and there was nothing else that I liked then I would buy this.

In comparison to other fizzy drinks I found this a bit flat, and the flavour was a little too sweet. I think I will wait a while to give this to my kids as it does taste too sweet.

This is a nice drink, I'm sure I will have it again in the future, but it isn't one that I will go out of my way to buy.

Click here to read the profile of archway77

Review by: archway77 (Brendan)
Dated: 12th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Do not open a bottle of Phoenix Cola expecting something of the Coca-Cola/Pepsi ilk. Phoenix Cola is a premium cola brewed from all natural certified organic ingredients and it's closest true competitors on the market would be Royal Crown Premium Draft Cola or Allganics Cola.

So how do you get true cola taste without all the nasty additives that are known by their number rather than their name? Simple kitchen chemistry (well for the experienced kitchen chemist it's simple) of blending organic cane sugar with natural cola flavouring derived from the cola nut and finished off with a dash of organic lemon giving Phoenix Cola a pleasant taste that is a great alternative on a hot summers day. It's subtle carbonation means that you don't get the same bloated gassy feeling as you do consuming Coke/Pepsi and adds to the refreshing nature of the drink.

Even though Phoenix Cola is a premium brand, don't be fooled into thinking that the only place you'll find it is at an expensive cafe. Phoenix Cola is also available in many dairies and also at most supermarkets around the country - the multipacks are a great addition to the weekly shopping as they provide a good portion controlled alternative to the 2.25l bottles.

For me Phoenix Cola is my first choice when I'm looking for something that refreshes that is not your normal, closely followed by their honey sweetened alternative.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 11th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

An excellent drink to be sure, but it lacked enough carbonation to really grab me 100%. The flavour was brilliant, the viscosity nicely balanced - not too watery but not a syrup either. The only thing that had me put off a little was the higher-than-idea sugar content. Even though it's an organic sugar, it's still sugar and I would have liked to have seen LESS than major brands renown for extreme sugar levels. Less sugar, and this would have been something I would have gladly served to the younger members of the whanau.

The bottle is a great size, so portion control is easy to keep track of. If I had liked it more, I think I would have hoped for bigger bottles, but as it is these bottles are a very acceptable size.

In summary, a pretty good alternative to regular colas, and a LOT better for you than the so-called diet colas with their horrible but well-disguised artificial sweeteners. If you want to know what I am talking about, try going a google search on Aspartame. It used to be called Nutrasweet - a name that found infamy in New Zealand back in the late 90's.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 6th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

If I had to choose between Coke or "Phoenix" organic cola, I would choose the Phoenix drink! Being a kid, I don't get to drink coke thanks to the high levels of caffeine and sugar, but this one is the ultimate drink, with no caffeine, about 90% organic ingredients, and it still tastes like coke! I would say that this carbonated soft drink should be sold more than coke, it's extremely delicious, and it's better for you.

I loved the fact that most of this drink was organic, it means that you get lots of natural flavours, all mixed together into 330mls of something you can take with you on a trip, like at the beach, it's the perfect thing to bring! If this is Phoenix's idea of cola, then I am busting to try the other exciting flavours they have to offer. The price is unbelievable, $2.54 is totally affordable, I love these phoenix guys!

I think that this drink should only be consumed by people over 11 years of age, this drink might have no caffeine, but it still has a fair amount of of sugar! I hope you enjoy this carbonated soft drink as much as I do, it is really something you should try.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 6th of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

As a dyed-in-the-wool Coca-Cola fan for as long as I can recall, it has to be something special to make me even consider drinking it. Pepsi has never managed to convert me, despite their billions of dollars of marketing hype, so I was curious to see if this was going to perform better. It did, surprisingly. After talking to some friends who have tried it, it sounded like it may be worth a taste-test if nothing else.

Upon opening it, I found the level of carbonation (fizziness) to be much lower than that of the larger commercial offerings. How many times has someone opened a bottle of Coke or Pepsi only to have it flood out and coat their hands, perhaps clothes, and certainly the bottle itself, in a frothy sweet film of sticky syrup? More times than I dare try to count, and that's just for me personally. This cola seemed almost to be flat, until I sipped it. Then, it revealed it's hidden depths of fizz. Still far less than one would expect, but just enough to keep it light on the tongue.

Checking the ingredients list and comparing with Coca-Cola, I was a little alarmed to see that it has slightly MORE sugar than even Coke - notorious for being little more than fizzy sugar syrup. However it contained absolutely no Sodium, compared with the 10mg per 100ml that Coke has... so for those on low-Sodium diets this is a definite winner in the cola stakes. (And yes, Diet Coke has even MORE Sodium, at 15mg/100ml)

Overall, I have to be honest... as much as this gave me a pleasant surprise, it didn't convert me. No fault of the product by any means - quite the opposite. That I praise it at all is a very high commendation really, considering my 25+ year preference for Coca-Cola. But that's also why it didn't convert me. After more than 25 years of high caffeine intake, and no real desire to cut that off (keeping in mind I now drink less than 1/4 of what I used to go through), it would take something very special and spectacular to wrench me free of the rut I live in. If I wasn't a total caffeine-hound, this would indeed be a front-running contender for the prime spot as my "Cola Of Choice". If nothing else, this is a pretty good option to consider for the kids... all the flavour, none of the all-night-buzzing. Wink IconThumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

Well I received this yesterday and chilled it overnight ... nothing worse than warm cola!! Organic Cola sounded interesting .... a bit posh like I should be sitting in a Ponsonby cafe!! But never the less I open it up tonight. At first I thought it was a little flat, I guess in comparison to 'other' colas, but the taste was great, it was strong and refreshing! The more I drank the more I enjoyed it. Its 'flatness' adds to the taste as when drinking, you're not overrun by bubbles and it feels like an adults equivalent to coke. On another note, the bottle and the packaging look great!

I will definitely be buying this again, and would purchase when out at cafes (alas ... not quiet in Auckland!)

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 6783: SodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon Lime -  Brand / Manufactured by: Sodastream

Product image for SodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon LimeSodaStream makes water exciting! Transform regular water into sparkling water in seconds, add your favourite Sparkling Water Mix, and enjoy!

Naturally flavoured sparkling drink mix.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream