Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 24th September 2019 - 06:07:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > Stomp! review

« A Song of Ice and Fire 3: Part 1: Steel and Snow reviewA Song of Ice and Fire 3: Part 1: Steel and SnowDinosaur Rescue 1 - T-wreck-asaurus reviewDinosaur Rescue 1 - T-wreck-asaurus »

Score: 8.4/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3072 - Stomp!
Author: Ruth Paul

Stomp!
Price:
$19.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
September 2011

Stomp! product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA dinosaur follow-the leader story!

Follow Ruth Paul's colourful dinosaurs as they HOP, STOMP and ROAR their way through the pages of this beautifully illustrated book. On the outward journey the largest dinosaur leads, until they can go no further - then on the way back, it's baby dinosaur who gets to lead the way!

Perfect for littlies with few words, but lots of sounds and 'doing' words for them to act out.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dance   dinosaurs   nzmade   ruth paul   scholastic
Other listings you may be interested in:
Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy TinkletrousersCaptain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers
Rating: 9.4
The Secrets of Freemasonry - revealing the suppressed traditionThe Secrets of Freemasonry - revealing the suppressed tradition
Rating: 8.8
Lionwolf : 2 : Here in Cold HellLionwolf : 2 : Here in Cold Hell
Rating: 8.8
Planet Earth - Up Close!Planet Earth - Up Close!
Rating: 9.3
The GiftThe Gift
Rating: 8.1
The Demon Child #1 - MedalonThe Demon Child #1 - Medalon
Rating: 9.8
Extinction - 1 - The Day the World EndedExtinction - 1 - The Day the World Ended
Rating: 9.1
The Meaning of TingoThe Meaning of Tingo
Rating: 9.3
Amazing Dog Facts and TriviaAmazing Dog Facts and Trivia
Rating: 9.4
Grandpa is GreatGrandpa is Great
Rating: 10.0
Jack and the Flumflum TreeJack and the Flumflum Tree
Rating: 9.0
Mixed MagicsMixed Magics
Rating: 8.0
Ken Ring's 2013 New Zealand Weather AlmanacKen Ring's 2013 New Zealand Weather Almanac
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 12th of January, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Stomp is one of those books that for me I did not immediately like, but it grows on you.
It is one of Miss 7s favourite books at school, and when it came up for sale in the Scholastic book club, she begged me for it. I had never read it and it was a fantastic club offer, so I did not mind buying it at all.

Stomp, a large, bright, colourful, glossy book about dinosaurs..very inviting! My girl likes a story when shes in the bath, so the day this arrived, it was her book choice for bath time. Probably not the best parenting choice I have made lol She smiled and read along with me happily :) but then she decided she to wanted to follow the dinosaurs and do what the dinos do....not a good idea when in a large bath of water lol

For kids this is an awesomely presented book that grabs childrens attention and holds it. Its colourful and fun and interactive, which is perfect for a kids book. Initially it did not really appeal to me and I thought I would only read it the once with her, and most likely never read it again. I was wrong, lol, I think we have read this book every day and at times even I have participated in follow the leader with the dinosaurs. Just goes to show first impressions can be wrong. I personally would not pay the RRP for this book though.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 6th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love this book and so does my husband and kids. We don't own a copy but have had it out of the library a couple of times. I first came across it when the librarian leading our playgroup read it to us. She read it with such expression the children were all captured.

When I took my eldest for her school visit the new entrant teacher read it to the class. It was obvious it was a favourite with all the kids as they recited it. On the second reading they played follow the leader just as the dinosaurs in the story did. This was great to get the kids moving after a session on the mat, following instructions and increasing their vocabulary.

The story is short and simple enough for a young child yet is still enjoyed by a five year old. Dinosaurs are a huge draw card for many children and they were definitely the focus of the illustrations. They were on a simple background and were so bold. They also had great facial expressions and body language.

This book would make a great gift for a preschooler or baby shower although it is so popular many household already have it. Perhaps that is why we haven't got been given one as everyone assumed we had our own copy.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 5th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

All young children are into dinosaurs, so reading a book about dinosaurs is the perfect way to spend time with children while having fun at the same time..and having a new book to read at mat times is always a hit with the children!! Stomp has a way about it to keep the children interested and engaged, and the bright colourful pages and illustrations within the book have the children super excited to turn to the the next page to see what was going to happen.

With the repetitive story-line the children were able to join in and read along with the story or finish the sentence off which they loved and this unique feature within the book kept the children listening because they wanted to stay their line within the book when it came up.

Plus the children love it when there is a cute cheeky little character within the book, and always love guessing what is going to happen next and the roars of laughter when they guess right, they always feel so proud of themselves. I like the way Stomp! has the dinosaurs playing a follow-the-leader type of game! Reading this book helps the children develop their imaginations and encourage them to play games like follow the leader while out in the playground.

The children love pointing to the colourful dinosaurs as they HOP, STOMP and ROAR their way through the pages of this beautifully illustrated book.....and will quite often jump up off the mat and copy what the dinosaurs are doing in the book and HOP, STOMP and ROAR throughout the book...it can get pretty loud but the children all have to show off their dinosaur imitation!

Stomp! is requested by the children all the time to be read out at mat times and is always a hit, and to keep 25 to 30 2 to 5 year old interested and engaged it must be a great book....so if your little one loves reading or loves dinosaurs this is the book for you, go and and get a copy now.

Click here to read the profile of happyfrau

Review by: happyfrau (Ilona)
Dated: 17th of July, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My four year old daughter and I chose this book on our last book buying trip to the local bookstore. She was instantly attracted to it with it's bright illustrations and the friendly looking dinoaurs on the front cover. A quick flick through the pages while we were in the store convinced me that this was an appropriate level book for her and that it was going to keep it's appeal and not be lost to the dusty dark corners of the bookshelf after one or two initial readings.

On getting home, we curled up to read it. My daugher instantly identified with the character of the baby dinosaur and looked for him on each page straight away. I loved the descriptive text that helped to extend my daughter's language as well as the clear progress of the story. We both loved the way the words were part of the pictures at times and it was easy to follow for my daughter. Her 7 year old brother joined us for the second reading and he loved the variety of dinosaurs illustrated. Both children loved the fact that the baby dinosaur changed the game to suit itself in the latter part of the book and both wanted to read it again, plenty of times.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good new book for a 2 - 5 year old child, especially ones who have enjoyed things like "we are going on a bear hunt" as this has some similarities to that. I can see plenty of games of follow my leader being initiated by a reading of this book, and there are lots of opportunities for language development and talking about movement in the book. We all enjoyed acting out the book and moving ourselves around the house like the dinosaurs.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We received this book to review as apart of the NZ Post book awards, i was so looking forward to reading it. When it arrived i was really impressed with the quality of the paper and the feel of the book. It's very glossy and there is texture to the cover page.

I sat down and read this book to my 3 year old son who enjoyed the book, he got the hang of the words used and was able to join in, so that to me is a bonus as he loves to be able to 're read' the book to himself. The pictures are colourful and my son asked questions about the dinosaurs (although not related to the story itself)

Overall i cannot see how this book made it to be a NZ Post finalist, for me the story doesn't hold enough detail and doesn't really go anywhere. I have read many other New Zealand children's books that have come out this year that far surpassed this one. The quality of the publishing however gets a 10/10 it is beautiful - but really what three year old really cares about that at the end of the day. I feel that the publishing quality overrides the storyline and that shouldn't be the case.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 16th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is a really cool little book, I read it to both Miss 5 and Mstr 1 and both of them were entranced.

Mstr 1 was really captured by the colourful pictures and the rhyming rhythm of the story. Not normally one to sit still for long he was happy on the sofa beside listening to the words and looking at the pictures.

Miss 5 also loved the rhythm of the story as well as acting out what the dinosaurs were doing through out the book. She's at an age where she loves to get up and do things, so perfect! As she is also learning to read it's a nice simple book to sit down with her and help her sound out the words.

All in all this is a nice short, easy to read (perfect for bedtime story!!!!) interactive book.

A very big hit here!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 13th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

STOMP! is a very glossy, colourful and delightfully simple book. The illustrations are lovely. It has very few words (each page has approximately four words ie "Rock to rock hop" ) and is a big sized book. Even without reading the words the pictures tell you what to do which is a great support when assisting your child to learn to read. The words are large with the action word ie "Stomp" being in large bold type.

I would put this book at an age three and below level and it is a great book for action play getting the children to do the actions and noises as you read the story.

I think this book would be great to use in a setting where you want to amuse and involve lots of children ie Creche, child care centres, Kindy or if you just want to get your own littlies in fits of laughter.

The dinosaur theme is always a popular choice for girls and boys alike and my Miss Three really likes this book. I think this would make a lovely birthday or Christmas gift for a one or two year old.

Unfortunately, Miss Four didn't like that when following the big dinosaur the dinosaurs went over the blueberries and when they came back following the baby dinosaur the blueberries had creepers over the top. For this reason she now wont read the book!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 2689: Mindfulness for Dummies -  Written by Shamash Alidina

Product image for Mindfulness for DummiesTake control of your life and achieve a happier and more focused state of mind.

Whether you're suffering from stress, fatigue or illness, or simply want to regain some balance in your life, mindfulness meditation can help you attain a more confident and calm outlook.

Using mindful breathing and selef-control ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I like this place, and willingly would waste my time in it."
William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616), As You Like It

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream