Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 15:46:50

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Meat and Poultry > Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato review

« Chop Chop! Chicken - Sweet Chilli reviewChop Chop! Chicken - Sweet ChilliMy True Story: Give Us the Vote! reviewMy True Story: Give Us the Vote! »

Score: 8.7/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3069 - Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato
Brand: Chop Chop!

Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato
Price:
$1.79 for 85g can
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Davies Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at local supermarkets

Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato product reviews

Bite-sized chunks of premium chicken breast in a herby Italian tomato sauce.

    •  Premium cooked chicken breast
    •  Cage free, sustainably farmed chickens
    •  Gluten free
    •  Halal certified

Check out Davies Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Davies Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chicken   chop chop   italian   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chop Chop! Chicken - TeriyakiChop Chop! Chicken - Teriyaki
Rating: 8.4
Corn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Act II Popcorn - Light Butter FlavourAct II Popcorn - Light Butter Flavour
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3
Mexican Creations: Chilli Con CarneMexican Creations: Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.9
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite MayoChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo
Rating: 7.3
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Smokey Chipotle SaltSmokey Chipotle Salt
Rating: 9.5
Bennetto Raspberry Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Raspberry Dark Chocolate Mini Bars
Rating: 8.8
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain MustardChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain Mustard
Rating: 8.9
ViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant PowderViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant Powder
Rating: 9.5
Chop Chop! Chicken - Sweet ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Sweet Chilli
Rating: 9.0
Bakels Premium Pettince Icing Fondant RangeBakels Premium Pettince Icing Fondant Range
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 5th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I used to watch the adverts on TV and think "no way, chicken doesn't belong in a tin" until another mum bought some into the playgroup my youngest and I go to so I took a taste and was a little surprised, it wasn't as bad as I thought and I have bought some of the other flavours as well but to be totally honest it is not something I buy often.

I did lie the taste but tuna belongs in tins not chicken so I will not buy it often but do recommend to others that don't mind and want convenient sandwhich fillings or salads. I have tried some on pizza, some in a sandwhich and some in a salad so I feel I have given it a good chance but still not 100 % sold on the idea of chicken in a tin.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 1st of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I really got into the Chop Chop Chicken range when they were released, much to the horror of my friends and family. "Urgh! Chicken? In a tin? No way! Yuck!"

After being very sneaky (taking said chicken out of tin and putting into a ramekin along with the cheese and crackers) they sampled, they swallowed and asked for more! *insert evil cackle now*

Anyway, back to the review.... they are convenient, they are tasty, they are versatile and they are good value for money. AND the Italian Tomato flavour is the lowest in fat and all that malarkey so if you are following a diet plan, this little tin will help you along.

Having said that, it isn't my favourite flavour, I'm a Wholegrain Mustard fan. This is just a little too tomato'y for me, but still is a great snack with a couple of crackers and a nice piece of brie. Works well on a pizza too.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When it comes to chicken in a can, I would have to say this is the best flavour for our house.

We like to use it on pizzas, in wraps, in pasta dishes, in sandwiches, the list is endless, and it is so handy. It saves the preparation time of cooking and dicing the chicken, and it has a subtle flavour, not too strong to overpower other ingredients, but enough that it isn't bland.

I think this could be added to a dish in our house at least twice a week, which makes it quite a handy wee ingredient.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 27th of October, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

There has to be one that just doesnt quite do it and this flavour would do it for me.

I cant quite put my finger on it. It was lovely and fresh but I just didnt enjoy the flavour.

The convenience of this range of chicken is fantastic! The possibilities of ways to enjoy them is endless. Its so easy to just pop in your bag for a snack on the run or in the kids lunch box.

Fantastic and thank you :)

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 17th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having been lucky enough to try all the flavours, how do I rave about this without using the same superlatives as before??

What may come as a surprise to many is just how fresh the chicken is, it doesn't taste like something out of a can. If you use a fork to pull it apart as you mush it into a sandwich, it still looks like real chicken. Honest to goodness fresh tasting chicken in a can!

I now love having cans of these in the pantry, they are very handy for whipping up a fast meal. I used this particular one in sandwiches for me and Miss 5. Given she actually ate all of hers, that alone is testimony to the flavour and freshness! This would also be perfect as a fast meal stirred through pasta.

This has a really lovely and pleasant Italian taste to it, one that is subtle and enjoyable, not at all overpowering, I think they got the use of the right herbs bang on!

The only thing I don't like about the chunks as much is that I don't feel it goes as far as the shredded flavours so I would probably prefer to buy this in the larger size unless I'm making a meal just for me.

Definitely one to keep in the pantry.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was one that I was really hoping for a lot from, and though I wasn't reallt let down, it didn't quite live up to my hopes. I say this in all honesty - it is NOT in any way unpleasant or substandard - it just could have been so much more than it was.

The tomato and spices came through so clearly, but it seemed to be missing the herbs that true Italian cooking carries with it. Where was the bite of sweet basil, the touch of thyme? Alas, these were some of the key flavours I really wanted to find coming through, but just didn't really make it past the tomato.

However, I wasn't the main sampler. Being another "chunk style" it was fated to be enjoyed by my party guests, and enjoy it they did. Served on plain rice crackers with shaved Parmesan cheese and a freshly torn basil leaf, this was a hit with everyone who tried it. In fact, I should have gone out and bought a few more cans, because I had not even made it half way through the gathering before the plate was empty. I am certain I saw hands sneaking back for seconds!

All praise was heaped upon this, as well as other flavours, and no-one made complaints other than "Where's the rest? Why isn't there more?" which is always music to a host's ears. On the basis of what I heard, this is certainly going to be a flavour I keep on hand for parties. In fact, I am very glad to see that it is available in larger cans.

In summary: Another excellent option, if not quite as good as I was dearly hoping it would be.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 15th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Long long ago I was made aware of the joys of Italian cuisine, REAL Italian cuisine... and though it would send a million Italian mothers spinning in their graves to even think of fine Italian food in a can... I have to admit, this was pretty darned tasty!

Each 85g can has enough chicken to cover two slices of toast, or a single serve if mixed through 3/4 cup of freshly cooked Penne pasta. Add a handful of freshly steamed mixed veges and a small green side-salad (drizzled with some seriously tasty Black Raspberry Vinaigrette) and you have a lovely meal for two.

OK, so there wasn't a lot I could do with this, mainly due to the portions I had to experiment with... but experience and imagination lead to all sorts of wonderful possibilities. With enough of this stuff I could see some wonderful cannelloni, a tasty dish with steamed rice (as I did actually do with the Teriyaki version), some interesting ideas involving steamed dumplings... the list is quite extensive really, and limited only by your taste preferences and imagination.

The larger, 130gm cans are slightly better value, and would offer you more to 'play with' - I may just have to get some of those and see what can be created in #Foodlab. And no, there are NO plans to try a "Chop Chop Chicken Cheesecake! LOL Icon #FoodLab DOES do more than just desserts y'know.

Overall, this was my favourite of the samples tried... and certainly one I plan to try more of.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 2994: Roshen Wafer Rolls
Manufactured by Roshen

Product image for Roshen Wafer RollsAvailable in three varieties:
    •  Dark Wafer Rolls with Chocolate filling (Red pack)
    •  Vanilla Wafer Rolls with Vanilla Cream filling (Orange pack)
    •  Vanilla Wafer Rolls with Hazelnut Cream filling (Green pack)

Great as a guilty snack, always welcome as a treat for the kids, amazing for stirring your hot drink, or just as something to leave on the coffee table for guests to enjoy.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do banks charge a fee on 'insufficient funds' when they know there is not enough?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream