Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 10th December 2019 - 03:58:17

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Meat and Poultry > Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo review

« Dirty Bertie - Bogeys! reviewDirty Bertie - Bogeys!Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain Mustard reviewChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain Mustard »

Score: 7.3/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 3064 - Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo
Brand: Chop Chop!

Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo
Price:
$1.79 for 85g can
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Davies Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at local supermarkets

Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo product reviews

Premium chicken breast, shredded and mixed with a delightful light mayonnaise.

    •  Premium cooked chicken breast
    •  Cage free, sustainably farmed chickens
    •  Gluten free
    •  Halal certified

Check out Davies Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Davies Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chicken   chop chop   mayonnaise
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain MustardChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Wholegrain Mustard
Rating: 8.9
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Chop Chop! Chicken - TeriyakiChop Chop! Chicken - Teriyaki
Rating: 8.4
Chop Chop! Chicken - Sweet ChilliChop Chop! Chicken - Sweet Chilli
Rating: 9.0
Chop Chop! Chicken - Italian TomatoChop Chop! Chicken - Italian Tomato
Rating: 8.7
Smoked Chicken FoldoverSmoked Chicken Foldover
Rating: 7.5
Squirts - JoostersSquirts - Joosters
Rating: 8.0
Garlic Shrimp pizzaGarlic Shrimp pizza
Rating: 8.5
Pre-Sauced Crispy Pizza BasesPre-Sauced Crispy Pizza Bases
Rating: 7.4
Toasted Muesli Feijoa & AppleToasted Muesli Feijoa & Apple
Rating: 8.5
Taste of India Goan Prawn Curry SauceTaste of India Goan Prawn Curry Sauce
Rating: 7.6
Snyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - JalapenoSnyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Jalapeno
Rating: 8.8
Howler Hotdogs - Original HowlerHowler Hotdogs - Original Howler
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Hmmmmm I wasn't to sure about the whole 'chicken in a can' thing when I first saw this on the supermarket shelves a few years back... to me chicken was something that it was utmost important to keep chilled and at safe temperatures because of the many sicknesses that can be caused by not doing so. I've never been a fan at all of other canned meats on the market especially not canned tuna, but I knew I needed to at least give this canned chicken a once over sample at least, so I went for the flavour I thought id most likely enjoy - shredded with light mayo.

Peeling back the lid from the can I remember my first impression being ahhhhhhh it looks like tuna (though different in colour the texture was VERY similar) however I was pleased by the amount of mayo that I could see coating the chicken and lived in hope that perhaps this may hide some horrid taste I was about to endure. I first tried a spoonful of this as is and found the mayo to be very watery which was the first of my disapointments really, the next was that the chicken which didn't taste much like chicken to me was what I found to be very stringy and also chewy that it took quite a while for me to swallow that first mouthful. I didn't want to waste the rest so popped it onto a sandwich with some cheese and salad, though I sadly have to say I just couldn't work my way through the whole thing so it just had to go.

Though this may suit some people as a quick snack or meal it's not one for me, and certainly not something that I wish to buy again.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 5th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Blerk! Sorry but this product for me is spew material! Yuck, one taste and to me it straight away tasted and felt (texture wise) like Tuna in a can which I cant stand! Tinned salmon is fine, love it, but tinned Tuna just makes me want to spew, even the smell is something I have to walk away from.

I was rather disappointed i had spent the money to try it but then you dont know unless you try so I think I was more disappointed in the fact that I didnt like it! I was totally wanting to like it ~ chicken in a can ~ who would of ever of thought they would come up with such an invention. I love chicken, could eat it every night of the week as well as for lunch too but unfortunately this did not even taste like chicken!!

Of course my review totally comes down to personal taste, so that aside if you want a quick easy meal then this product probably is worth trying. I know plenty of people that do like it and eat it regularly ~ although its cheaper to buy when its on sale which is quite regular at our supermarkets. I do wonder how many preservatives are in this to keep it fresh but then again its probably no more than other tinned products. Will cautiously recommend others :)

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo....what a great invention!! When I first saw the product advertised on the television I was like what!!! Chicken in a can...no way how can that be safe to eat?? The I thought well it won't be real chicken it will be processed somehow and probably taste yuck, but I was intrigued, so I had to buy some to try it.

It took me ages at the supermarket to find this chicken in a can and then when I did I wasn't expecting such a range of flavours and textures of chicken. I played it safe and chose the Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo, and it did not disappoint when I cracked the can open. My only complaint is there wasn't enough, it was so yummy I needed a bigger can, and I kicked myself for only buying1 can, but I didn't want to invest lots of money for something that may have been yuck.

On my next shopping list Chop Chop! Chicken - was first on the list, and I bought a few different flavours but Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo remained my favourite and my best flavour. It is perfect to match with bread, on toast or in a sandwich, on crackers, plain crackers or flavoured crackers, and prefect to pair with rice and vegetables as a small dinner, it is so versatile your imagination is your only barrier.

I totally recommend this product and I still buy it even now, so yummy! and a flavour to match any liking. Go out and buy some now if you want to try something new and exciting.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 5th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When my husband and I saw this on the shelf in the supermarket, like many others, we were dubious - chicken, in a can? How does that work - and how do they keep the chicken fresh?

We gave it a gamble and have not been disappointed! This is a great product to have in the cupboard, and is very very versatile. You can have it on a sandwich, with crackers, in a salad, heat it and have it with rice... and the list goes on.

I like that there are lots of different flavours - and have found this one to be my favourite, as well as the teriyaki - which is awesome in homemade sushi.

We always have it in the cupboard now at our house, but tend to buy the bigger cans when it is for the whole family.

I honestly can say I recommend this, and think you should give it a go, you will be nicely surprised!

Click here to read the profile of chops1986

Review by: chops1986 (Adam)
Dated: 4th of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Who would have thought Shredded Chicken with Lite Mayo in a can? First thing that came to mind when coming across this product was, is it real chicken? Well it contains 80% Chicken; the other 20% is made up of the Lite Mayonnaise. So I am convinced.

As a non-seafood eater, Chicken seems to be the major meat I eat, and I actually do like this product, has a great taste, great texture, just the right amount of mayonnaise and is easy to spread.

Only downside is the price, but it does get cheaper the bigger you buy. You can actually buy a 1KG catering pack from a wholesaler; this is great if you can eat it all within 2 - 3 days of opening. It's high in protein, which is great for people that are dieting or building muscle growth.

You can either have this on its own, or with boil rice, in a salad, on crackers, or spread on a sandwich. This is a must buy in my household.

Click here to read the profile of mcaennyl

Review by: mcaennyl (Lynne)
Dated: 2nd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Found hubby hadn't used two cans of the Lite Mayo flavour, so cracked one for trying on plain crackers. Firstly, a few with nothing else, only the shredded chicken. Then, a few with a butter substitute spread first, Then a few with a quick chefy-style swirl of sweet chilli sauce.

Each of the three were originally intended to test only one, but one became a few of each, as the shredded chicken is tasty enough to me. I've also since then made sandwiches using the lite may shredded chicken ChopChop. Tasty, pleasant change - but if sandwiches need to be carried and kept until lunch break, I'd want a slice of lettuce between the moist filling and the bread.

Other flavours are definitely going on the shopping list, but I'd be quite happy to have with this basic Lite Mayo flavour.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I first got this, I was quite dubious about eating it, but I needed something to spread on my crackers, and since fish isn't my thing I thought I would give this a try. I found that for the price, I thought it to be a little expensive, given the amount that you get, but when you factor in the convenience of it already being cooked, have flavour, and edible directly from the can, the price wasn't as much of an issue. The mayo was ok, but a bit too watery, so I needed to drain the can before I could use any of the chicken, otherwise it would have been a watery mess. The flavour wasn't fantastic, but it wasn't awful either. A good product, but I think that I will try a different flavour next time.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 10th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Chicken in a can .... ok so being honest i really cannot get my head around it. There must be some interesting additives to keep it ok to consume. When i tried this i was very bias and unsure about eating chicken from a can. When i put that aside, it really wasnt too bad. Similar to tuna i guess it was good in my sammy with salad and worked in my salad as well.

I found that this one held together well in my sammy because of the mayo, but it did lack flavour, so perhaps a sweet chilli and mayo one would be perfect for me!

I haven't re brought this, only as I'm not so keen on the whole idea of chicken in a can - but it is handy if you're into it! I like that the hens are cage free and that it is Halal certified. A guy i know eats this all the time for lunch - so can't be too bad!! I also think its on the expensive side and prefer to buy my chicken fresh.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 27th of October, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Chicken in a can! Who would have thought??

This wasnt my most favourite flavour but I still enjoyed it.
I added this in a sandwich...Yum!
No need for added mayo as this had just the right amount.

The texture was lovely.

I would like it if the cans were bigger so I could share :)

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is a wonderful "basic base" to use, and add your own "highlights" as the mood strikes you. For me, this was wonderful to add some freshly diced capers and some ground black pepper to, and put it across toast points for serving to guests. Though normally I would be horrified at the thought of using canned foods as guest nibbles, not only did no-one notice, but I received many compliments on the dish.

Emboldened by this success, other dishes made with other Chop Chop flavours followed throughout the gathering, and not a single complaint ensued. This, for me, is a very telling compliment to the product, as the people I had visiting consider themselves to have very educated palates, so it was a guilty pleasure to have them raving about how "it simply must be free-range chicken. The delicacy of the flesh attests to that" and how I "clearly shopped at only the top-line gourmet stores to source such wonderful ingredients" - if only they knew. Wink Icon I was even "accused" of importing the ingredients!

Me, I am hardly of the "upper crust crowd" so have no problem with buying store-bought goods for use around the home, but this was a party for some business contacts and though I won't say this product range helped me win them over, I can say that I have another year of contracts ahead of me thanks to the success of the party. The way to a man's heart is through his stomach, true. But it's also the second fastest way to his wallet. Wink Icon

In summary: Another winner, and on the shopping list for the lead-up to the next social gathering we have planned.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 16th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I first heard about chicken in a can I was VERY dubious! But I figured I'd give it a go and I am hooked!

I was very pleased with just how fresh and tasty this is. It also fits in perfectly with my preferred healthy eating and is fabulously convenient to have on hand in the pantry.

This is one of my favourite flavours for using in my home-made sushi, because it is shredded it is really easy to add in, I just finish it off with some strips of cucumber or carrot. The kids love it too!

Will be keeping this in the pantry!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Maybe it is my years of tastebud-abuse with chilli sauce, garlic sauce, tomato sauce, and even mustard sauce... but this version simply had no real flavour for me.

The chicken was tender, and being shredded it certain was easy to spread out in a layer on crackers, toast and even a small sandwich for Mr3 (who thought it was "dewishis!"), so if your tastebuds are able to pick up on the taste, this could be just the thing for you... but not, I am sorry to say, for me.

Overall, though I am strongly certain the fault lies with my tastebuds and not the product (as evidenced by a picky Mr3's effusive praise) I can not in all honesty say much about the flavour, not being able to detect any myself.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 4607: Proper Crisps - Smoked Paprika -  Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Product image for Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaAre you tired of settling for over-processed, artificially-flavored potato chips, and believe that crisps can actually be "real food"? So do we.

Our crisps are made in the traditional way, using only natural ingredients... we're proud of that and want to keep it that way.

We searched everywhere for a flavour that will ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream