Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 25th August 2019 - 12:38:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Liqueurs > Soprano Limoncello review

« English Grammar Workbook for Dummies - 2nd edition reviewEnglish Grammar Workbook for Dummies - 2nd editionLime and Mustard Seed Dressing reviewLime and Mustard Seed Dressing »

Score: 8.0/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2944 - Soprano Limoncello
Brewed/Bottled by Soprano

Soprano Limoncello
Price:
varies
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Soprano

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
See details to the right

Soprano Limoncello product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSoprano's Limoncello - Authentic Italian Liqueur

Treat your taste buds, soothe your senses and transport yourself to the sun-drenched shores of Southern Italy. Limoncello is a unique Italian liqueur with a history as rich as the zesty nectar itself.

Some say limoncello has been enjoyed since Roman times. Others believe the recipe was born inside a monastic convent. Still others claim Italian wives prepared it in the 1900s as a digestif for their husbands.

Orders can be placed through the website: www.sopranolimoncello.co.nz

Check out Soprano onlineClick here to see all the listings for Soprano Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
authentic   italian   kapiti coast   lemon   liqueur   nzmade   soprano
Other listings you may be interested in:
Frute Cider - Mango and LimeFrute Cider - Mango and Lime
Rating: 9.1
Mango Acai White TeaMango Acai White Tea
Rating: 7.5
Gisborne 2002 ChardonnayGisborne 2002 Chardonnay
Rating: 7.5
Harvest Scrumpy Apple CiderHarvest Scrumpy Apple Cider
Rating: 8.6
Pete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka SwitchelPete's Natural - Lemon & Manuka Switchel
Rating: 9.3
Vitafresh Fruit Drink - Orange and MangoVitafresh Fruit Drink - Orange and Mango
Rating: 8.7
Passionfruit - Still MediumPassionfruit - Still Medium
Rating: 10.0
Soprano Limoncello CremeSoprano Limoncello Creme
Rating: 9.1
Lite Brewed Ginger BeerLite Brewed Ginger Beer
Rating: 9.6
Organic Apple & Feijoa JuiceOrganic Apple & Feijoa Juice
Rating: 9.2
SodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-FreeSodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-Free
Rating: 7.4
Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla LatteAvalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte
Rating: 8.4
Ranga Blackcurrant and Apple CiderRanga Blackcurrant and Apple Cider
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of aunyin

Review by: aunyin (Inenz)
Dated: 13th of September, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Local New Zealand product made with lemon, pure alcohol and spring water. The lemon liquor is delicious served with berry or stone fruit desserts, or simply poured over vanilla cream. It can also be used in cocktails or splashed into a glass of bubbly to give it a boost.
Great on crepes or made into icing on muffins or patty cakes. It can also be used as a marinade on fish or meat. Great when made into a sauce or seafood dressing.
I personally found the plain one could be used instead of Grand Marnier, Cointreau, or Brandy in truffles for a different taste. Best served from the freezer so I suggest always keeping a chilled bottle handy.
A great product with great uses in the kitchen. Looking forward to the bbq season when I get to try it on chicken bbq'd

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 29th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Straight, this product burns on the way down, that may be cos i have a cold and itchy throat but its not pleasant. Tastes kind of like a cough lolly once the burning has stopped.

This product is however fantastic in lemonade or soda water as a summer drink (you might like to add mint leaves to your ice for a little something extra), great as a marinade for chicken or fish but does taste better if you leave it longer ;) Goes well as a dressing for green salads, well make that any salad.

It is recommended that you serve straight from the freezer but mine has been sitting in the fridge and not made it to the freezer as im worried the boys will polish it off in there "drinks" or the kids will drop them while they are digging. There are a few similar products to this to be found but other brands just don't seem to have that little something extra that this one does. I definitely look forward to my next experience with it.

I love the presentation of this product and would be eager to see the big bottles and how they compare. This would make a fantastic raffle prize or great leaving the company present or for that someone special in your life.

Click here to read the profile of missvicqui

Review by: missvicqui (Victoria)
Dated: 25th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Want to give your taste buds a kick? Have a shot of this!! WOW! It was stronger than I was expecting but by no means unpleasant. It went down very easily. The smell was divine.

The bottle with its wax seal was great, perfect size!

It would have been too easy to have all of this as shots but that wouldn't be a fair review. I softened some vanilla ice cream and mixed through some coconut and Limoncello....YUM! I will be doing that again and trying different flavours of ice cream.

I also mixed some with sprite, nice but I liked it best on ice cream :) I will be buying some more of this and experimenting!

Thank you :)

Click here to read the profile of sezb72

Review by: sezb72 (Sarah)
Dated: 13th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Texture:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

This limoncello was lemony but not very strong tasting. I was expecting the texture to be more viscous but it was almost watery. The alcohol content was 32% which was stronger than another brand of limoncello we had at home at 28%, but comparatively taste-wise it seemed less alcoholic. I'm not sure if this means you'd more easily drink more of it (that could be dangerous!).

We didn't find this tasted very lemony (not the full lemon tang that we were expecting). It was definitely nicer when served straight from the freezer as the bottle suggested (though we had tried it the first time room temperature with a piece of ice). This is clearly not the kind of drink you have lots of anyway, but if I was having a small glass I'd be choosing the creme version over this one.

We tried this one with some Soda with Lemon mixer and it definitely brought out the lemon tang a lot more and was my preferred option. I tried it poured over vanilla ice-cream (heard somewhere that was good) but didn't like that at all. That wasn't a 'recommended serving option' on the Soprano website though!

I liked the fact this was made in New Zealand by a born and bred Italian. Great to see that despite the Amalfi Coast to Kapiti Coast move, he was able to bring us Kiwi's a little bit of Italy. The bottle, like a hip flask, was very styley, with a waxed lid. Great presentation and this 150ml size was something you could easily slip into your freezer for when the urge took you.

Overall though I would liken this to drinking a slightly tart or vinegary port, compared to a smooth port that slips down. I'd drink it if it was the only limoncello available, but if there were other brand options I probably wouldn't pick this one first.

The online price of $12 for 150ml or $35 for 500ml seemed pretty reasonable though I'm not sure how this compares to competitor products. Seems easy to order over the internet.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 9th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When our bottle of Soprano Limoncello arrived, I was very impressed with the presentation. The frosted hipflask style bottle gave me an instant feeling that I would be tasting summer soon. The blue waxy seal on the cap let you know you had your hands on something pretty special, made with love. There was a suggestion on the bottle to serve it straight from the freezer, so that's what we did.

The smell of this limoncello is delicious. A really fresh lemony scent. Our first taste was tart and frosty. Syrupy fresh lemonade with an inner fire.

Once we had tried it straight, we did some experimenting. This is delicious in soda water with ice, so you have the mixer, but the flavours of lemon aren't too diluted. It would also be enjoyable with lemonade or as a fun twist on lemon, lime and bitters.

For something a bit different I dropped a nip into my evening coffee as well. I love laced coffee, and this was a really different but refreshing flavour. I especially loved the summery lemon smell that hit my nose as I cupped the hot mug in my hands.

I'd never tried Limoncello before this, and I have to say it was more delicious than I could have imagined. I would definitely purchase this. It would make an excellent gift, something to share with friends. The possibilities of summer punch over Christmas is making my mouth water as I type.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 8th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having always enjoyed lemon drinks - especially those using real lemon juice - but having never tried a lemon liqueur, this was shaping up to be an interesting experience.

I had a chance to try this during a recent trip to the Feildays event at Mystery Creek last month, and that was it, I was hooked. I needed to get a bottle and see what we could do with it. Thankfully, the people behind this fine brew agreed, and provided us with some interesting suggestions.

The liqueur itself is quite tart... sharp, without being too bitter. Think lemon juice, with a kick. Wink Icon At the suggestion of the producers, I made up a wee dessert treat to try during the GAMESnight held in June. Filling some glasses with frozen mixed berries - blackberries and raspberries in this case - I then poured some Limoncello and popped them in the fridge for a few hours, to allow the berry flavour to leech into the liqueur.

In the meantime, I created something a little different to complement them - Orange Zest Whipped Cream. I grated the zest from two medium oranges into a bowl, added 250ml of liquid cream, 2 tablespoons of icing sugar, and whipped it to standing peaks. Just before serving the dessert, I dolloped 2-3 tablespoons of cream on top of the glasses and prayed. Responses were mixed, but mostly positive.

Overall, this liqueur is a delightful drop, full of mystery, potential, and zingy warmth with just a hint of fire in the aftertaste. One of the ideas I had for this drink is a bit of a spin-off from the GAMESnight - a Limonberry Coolie. Frozen berries and Limoncello, blended with some ice and a dash of L&P. Topped with some fresh spearmint leaves if you are so inclined. And yes, that would be mainly a Summer drink. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 6th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Texture:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a huge lemon fan so was really looking forward to trying this.

By itself I found it to be a very strong taste liquor wise, but then I don't often drink in general so my taste buds may not be the most reliable there.

Just to be totally hick I mixed the rest of my shot into my L&P and loved it! Being totally uncultured I'd probably add some to lemonade as well for a weekend treat.

I also tried it over frozen berries that had then been left to thaw allowing the liqueur to really soak in. Next time I would would use less, again just to account for my overly sensitive taste buds. However with the berries it was rather nice.

I would love to try to this in a chocolate liqueur, I suspect it would be totally divine!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 7583: Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Vanilla Latte -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Vanilla LatteWhy step out, when you can treat yourself to an entire menu of delicious, authentic, cafe-style drinks in the comfort of your own kitchen.

Find a flavour to match your mood!

Vanilla Latte : A delightfully smooth and creamy latte with delicate hints of vanilla. You'll want to savour every sip!

ALLERGY INFO:
This product has no detectable gluten, but contains milk proteins and may contain ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does Goofy stand erect while Pluto remains on all fours? They're both dogs!"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream