Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 18th October 2019 - 07:58:27

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > The Cat's Pyjamas review

« The Boys' Book of Adventure reviewThe BoysTom and the Dragon reviewTom and the Dragon »

Score: 9.0/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2863 - The Cat's Pyjamas
Author: Catherine Foreman

The Cat's Pyjamas
Price:
$19.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
March 2011

The Cat's Pyjamas product reviews

Meet Cat ...and his colourful collection of pyjamas. One pair for each night of the week.

When he wears his space pyjamas, he dreams of Saturn, Mars and shooting stars, when he wears his road pyjamas, he dreams of big red rigs and diggers that dig.

But what will happen when he wears his MONSTER pyjamas?

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cat   catherine foreman   dreams   pyjamas   scholastic   sleep
Other listings you may be interested in:
Klutz Nail Art (2015 edition)Klutz Nail Art (2015 edition)
Rating: 10.0
Hush: A Kiwi LullabyHush: A Kiwi Lullaby
Rating: 9.6
Flight PathFlight Path
Rating: 8.8
The 39 Clues - Cahills vs Vespers 2: A King's RansomThe 39 Clues - Cahills vs Vespers 2: A King's Ransom
Rating: 10.0
Tom Gates #8: Yes! No (Maybe)Tom Gates #8: Yes! No (Maybe)
Rating: 9.8
Grasshopper's DanceGrasshopper's Dance
Rating: 9.8
Cooper Anytime Interactive Story BuddyCooper Anytime Interactive Story Buddy
Rating: 10.0
The Revive Cafe Cookbook 3: Even More Delicious & Easy Recipes From Auckland's Healthy Food HavenThe Revive Cafe Cookbook 3: Even More Delicious & Easy Recipes From Auckland's Healthy Food HavenDear ZooDear Zoo
Rating: 9.6
The Tiddler Activity BookThe Tiddler Activity Book
Rating: 8.9
Evergence : 2 : The Dying LightEvergence : 2 : The Dying Light
Rating: 7.5
Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon HatcherJeremy Thatcher, Dragon HatcherThe SpyThe Spy
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 27th of January, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Cat's Pyjamas is a firm favourite in our house. It's about a cat who wears a different pair of pyjamas each night of the week and consequently has dreams about the theme of his pyjamas.

I was first drawn to this book by the illustrations - they are bright, bold and colourful, perfectly depicting each dream scenario. The pages are busy and exciting and my son loves searching for different things on each page. I like how the cat's stuffed rabbit is always there with him in his dreams as well - it's nice to have a friend along when you're going on an adventure. The themes are maybe slightly more boy orientated but I think girls would get a lot of enjoyment out of this book as well.

The sweet rhyming text makes it easy for little ones to read along and makes for a great bedtime story. My son particularly likes the bit of humour at the end where the cat wears monster pyjamas, doesn't sleep a wink all night and ends up falling asleep at breakfast. Maybe not so good if you have a child who is afraid of monsters but my boy finds it quite amusing.

Overall a very enjoyable read and one that we keep coming back to. My son even dressed up as the cat for book week at school last year.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 20th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is a beautiful board book, well made with easy to wipe down pages to withstand toddler wear and tear. The pages of the book are splashed with bright and colourful images that are filled with diverse items that the cat dreams about; this variety of images will provide plenty of scope for conversations with your little ones.

The text is rhyming and descriptive, and you can tell that this will be a well-loved and often read story. It has an air of predictability about it which children love, and it helps them to join in with the text. The end of the book has a little twist which brings a smile!

I can see why The cat's pyjamas won the NZ Post Children's awards, and I can see that in the future it will be a kiwi must have like Hairy Maclary and The Little Yellow Digger. I will be purchasing a few of these for the younger members of my family for Christmas.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to win this in board book form recently thanks to the KIWIreviews 10th birthday celebrations. This is an amazing book. From a purely illustration point of view, I love each picture. They are so bold and colourful. A great use of colour. The cat is drawn in such a human style, relaxed in his jimmy jams. For each real world scene, the background is stark. This makes the pyjamas really pop on the page.

In the dream pages, the colours and scenes take over the whole page in a two page spread. Because there are 7 different sets of pyjamas, there is literally something of interest for any child. The scenes could be said to lean slightly towards "boy" themes, but I think it's very universal. Certainly my eldest had no trouble being interested in the various scenes. The only one that didn't really interest her was the road dream.

The prose is great It rhymes in the dream scenes and has lots of repetitive lines as well. It is easy to read and quite a pleasure really. I loved playing spot the rabbit as well. Being a board book, I feel like I can let my youngest take off with the book. She loves looking through books anyway, but she will happily spend 30 minutes at a time sitting with this, flipping through and pointing to things.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 6th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This is a very simple bedtime book about a cat who every night wears different pyjama's and then dreams about whatever he is wearing. Miss Six and Miss Four are a bit beyond this type of story (Miss Four declared that it was for babies) however Miss Two has enjoyed reading it.

I myself am not so taken with this book. I think I would have liked the illustrations to be a bit more detailed. Saying that though Miss Two is happy with it and it is a nice short book to read in bed. Overall it is a book that is being read regularly and has meant that pyjamas are back in fashion in our house after a summer of nighties!

I wouldn't pay $19.50 for this but would consider buying it on special and for a three year old and under age group.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 3rd of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I loved this book about the cat and his different pyjamas. It is an excellent bedtime story for young children to talk about the routine of getting into our pyjamas and going to bed.

I read this book to my son tonight and he really liked the pictures he loves cats so liked pointing at the cat. When we finished I said to him you will have to have dreams about cars because his pyjamas had cars on them. When he is older he will understand more and be able to tell me what pyjamas he wants to wear to bed so that will be nice.

The pictures are beautiful just simple illustrations of the cat and the things he dreams about. I loved the pictures of the monsters they were very bright and colourful and spooky looking. I also loved the double page picture of the Cat staying up all night when he wore his monster pyjamas, and the picture of him asleep at breakfast time. All in all a great story that i'm sure will be read many times at our house.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 7th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The Cat's Pyjamas is a very sweet bedtime story about a cat who has a different dream each night depending on the pyjamas he is wearing. Whenever I read it to my girls I make it the last story of the night and we talk about what they are going to dream about as I tuck them into bed. Sometimes when they are getting changed at night they will tell be that they have chosen these particular pyjamas because that is what they want to dream about.

The book was given to my daughter for her fourth birthday by her grandparents. As my mother-in-law is an experienced New Entrant teacher I know she will only give books that have passed the teacher test (educational, enjoyable and no errors) and she will have tried it on her students. This book would also be good for teaching the days of the week to young children.

It is a favourite story with my girls. As a parent I enjoy the rhyme and that it is just the right length for a tired four year old and nearly three year old to listen to.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 16th of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The one thing that I really loved about this book, was the illustrations. The pages where you get told what kind of pyjamas the Cat will be wearing, is so plain except for Cat. But turn the page over and you have a two page spread completely full of colour and pictures. So much so, that is what my kids loved most about the book. Half the time reading it, was just going through and pointing at everything on the page and identifying every little thing.

The only thing that I wasn't too fussed on was the ending. Cat stays up all night and falls asleep at breakfast because he was scared of monsters. For my son, in his current age of being scared of monsters hiding in the bedroom, having Cat stay awake all night fighting the monsters would have been a better reason for him to fall asleep at the table.

But all in all, it is a great book, and one that my kids bring out to read time and time again.

Click here to read the profile of ellaandfabiansma

Review by: ellaandfabiansma (Amy)
Dated: 28th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My kids totally loved this book. It suited both my son and daughter which is hard to find with books these days as most of the time they are too gender specific. The cat having his dreams made the kids talk about dreams they had been having and they loved the end of the story where the cat falls asleep in his breakfast, they want to read it over and over again every night for a week so far. Highly recommend for 2-6 year olds.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

A very cute story of a cat who has a dream, that follows the theme, of that night's bedwear. With a different set of PJs for each night, with Sunday being Monster PJs, the cat's dreams are peaceful and fun for 6 nights a week... but Monday morning brings an earful of porridge and probably a droopy day at school. LOL Icon

There isn't much to this story, less in fact than many of its peers, but the artwork is quirky, and the story is endearing... and my youngest loves it even though he doesn't really understand it.

Overall, more cute that fulfilling, but still a lovely tale for the wee ones before bedtime... but if they own a set of Monster PJs, it may be time to think of dying them, biffing them, or not reading this story to them just before bedtime. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of emahlyn

Review by: emahlyn (Emma)
Dated: 13th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love this book, I think this would be my personal favourite book to read to my infant, its so bright and catchy. A nice simple book to read to him that easily catches his attention.

This book rhymes which is nice, and tells the tale of a cat who has different pyjamas for each night of the week and has dreams related to each pair. It is VERY cute and has a very cute ending after that cat is awake all night worrying about monsters after wearing his monster Pyjamas (what parent can't relate to this)!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 115: Dark Waters
Written by Lee Vyborny & Don Davis

Product image for Dark WatersOne of the most closely guarded secrets of the Cold War is revealed in this book. The fast-paced adventure narrative follows the creation, construction and clandestine Cold War operations of the smallest nuclear-powered sub in the US Navy, a one-of-a-kind ship so secret that it wasn't even given a name. It is a true story of covert operations, imminent danger, personal bravery, technological wonder and historic discovery in a deep underwater ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"How is it that we put man on the moon before we figured out it would be a good idea to put wheels on luggage?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream