Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 21st September 2019 - 06:21:43

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Cleaning Products > Rug Doctor review

« Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol reviewDoctor Who - A Christmas CarolSmartDraw VP reviewSmartDraw VP »

Score: 7.8/10  [10 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2852 - Rug Doctor
Brand / Manufactured by: Rug Doctor (NZ)

Rug Doctor
Price:
$39.99+
Available:
at local supermarkets and Mitre 10 stores

Rug Doctor product reviews

Easy to use. Easy to hire. Easy on your budget!

Millions of home owners every year hire Rug Doctor carpet cleaners to clean their carpets and achieve professional-quality results at a fraction of the cost of hiring a service. They know the value of Rug Doctor:
    •  Powerful, easy to use carpet cleaning machines.
    •  Professional carpet cleaning products for a better, longer lasting clean.
    •  Friendly, helpful customer service hotline anytime there's a question.
    •  Convenient carpet cleaner hire locations nationwide.
    •  Store service by Rug Doctor trained representatives to ensure the machine you hire is in peak condition and regularly cleaned.
    •  A price that can't be beat!

So why pay for professional services when you can do it yourself for so much less? Get your carpets really clean - deep-down clean with the Rug Doctor! Clean as well or better than a professional.

Website: www.rugdoctor.co.nzClick out to an external site



Tags:
carpet   cleaning   diy   rental
Other listings you may be interested in:
Protex Liquid Hand WashProtex Liquid Hand Wash
Rating: 9.3
Mynx Soap - Organic Goats Milk and Manuka HoneyMynx Soap - Organic Goats Milk and Manuka Honey
Rating: 7.9
Dirty Man Skincare Face WashDirty Man Skincare Face Wash
Rating: 9.3
Earthwise Toilet Cleaner Pine and Tea TreeEarthwise Toilet Cleaner Pine and Tea Tree
Rating: 9.9
Treasures Jumbo Junior 56 PackTreasures Jumbo Junior 56 Pack
Rating: 9.5
Earthwise Laundry Liquid - Black WashEarthwise Laundry Liquid - Black Wash
Rating: 9.5
RoboCan 2 Automatic DispenserRoboCan 2 Automatic Dispenser
Rating: 10.0
Ambi Pur Flush : Green ForestAmbi Pur Flush : Green Forest
Rating: 7.0
Earthwise Body Wash - Kids SplashEarthwise Body Wash - Kids Splash
Rating: 7.8
NZYME Urine Stain & Odour RemoverNZYME Urine Stain & Odour Remover
Rating: 9.0
Earthwise Aloe Vera and Grapefruit Body WashEarthwise Aloe Vera and Grapefruit Body Wash
Rating: 9.3
Duck Fresh Brush Starter PackDuck Fresh Brush Starter Pack
Rating: 7.1
Earthwise Laundry Liquid - LavenderEarthwise Laundry Liquid - Lavender
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of raukura

Review by: raukura (Rau)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had the best experience with the rug doctor and I couldn't be more happier!! the results are unbelievable although results may vary depending on your carpet type!! but does the best job on my carpet and this is in comparison to a professional carpet cleaner (which I would pay for) we had no problems with soaked carpet!! I was put off from a lot of reviews I read (until I came here and all good reviews out weighed the bad in my eyes) and I took the risk and hired one!! and I'm glad I did!! I believe the rug doctor needs to be paired with the products you can buy separately for the machine!! the odor remover smells delicious and the spot remover is such good quality and removed stains that had been there for almost a year!! ! we have animals and while in the process of toilet training my kittens they had peed a few places around the house but the rug doctor cleaned those areas so good and there is not one scent of odor!! and I had tried so many cleaning products!! the carpet was bright again and restored it to new.

the machine itself is easy to use!! it is heavy but I suggest not carrying it up the stairs with the liquid in it as it makes the machine a lot heavier to climb stairs with!! there is a vacuum at the front of the machine so if you find the carpet is getting too wet you release the spraying button (the red button ) and just run over the wet patch a few times to suck out the excess water (this way it dries a lot faster too!! for us we started at 4 and finished at 10:30 with plenty of breaks because we weren't in a rush not because it took that long to clean with the machine and it was dry and clean the next day!!). I love the fact that we can use it and hire it whenever we want and don't have to worry about maintenance so that is pretty convenient too!!... I have fallen in LOVE with the rug doctor and I recommend it to all who are thinking about hiring one!!

one last thing!! there is a link to a video tutorial of how to use it!! I strongly suggest watching this video before you use the machine!! it shows you how to set a pace so you don't soak the carpet and other things you need to know!! get it !! it's cheap and good quality!!! I also enjoyed that if a stain didn't quite fade enough the first time I would just apply more stain remover wait abit then go over again and viola stains gone no wet carpet and smelt so good! !

happy carpet cleaning, potential customers 😊

Click here to read the profile of corbie

Review by: corbie (Tony)
Dated: 5th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We have used the Rug Doctor several times over the years, and always been pleased with the results. Now that we know what method works best we don't have a problem, but from time to time instructions can be lacking from the store. If you are uncertain how long you will need it for, ask if you can book it for a short time with an option of extending the hire if you need it. Will depend on the store policy I guess, and also how many bookings they have. I doubt there are refunds for an early return.

It is heavy and will be a bit much for some, but we found it easy enough to use. If all else fails, read the instructions :-D Those that complained about the carpets being soaking wet afterwards comes down to how the machine was operated, sometimes we felt that the store could have given better instructions, but could also be down to them knowing us as an experienced user.

If you are too slow it WILL absolutely drench the carpet, so you need to pick up your pace a bit (besides, the quicker you are done, the cheaper the cost to hire, both in time taken and the use - or waste - of cleaning solution). If the carpet is still too wet, then do a "dry" run whereby you are giving the machine another pass without pulling on the trigger to release more water.

We found that around the edge of the room it is better to use the machine "side on" to the wall because going straight at it will leave a big gap where the machine can't reach. The upholstery cleaner is good for getting right up close to the wall too. Used the upholstery cleaner on the car carpets and seats to good effect, but beware - you will get a wet bum when you drive back to the store when you return the machine, so stick a towel down to save any embarrassment, LOL

Re the bond - I assume it is to actually pay for staff to clean it if you don't, but I have been offered a dirty machine in the past. I refused it and demanded they clean it first, or give me another. Store supervisor was called in and it got sorted. Cheek of the buggers though eh.

Effectiveness will depend on the type of stain you are cleaning. If it has been left to sit and dry and work it's way into the carpet then in most cases you are expecting a bit much (depends on the type of stain). But for a general going over it is pretty good (you will be shocked at how filthy the water gets, no matter how fussy you are with the cleaning). We haven't found there to be too much of a "Wet dog" smell, and that with windows and doors open it dries pretty quickly.

You need to use their products to get the best results, and there are optional cleaners to deal with spot stains that will add to the cost, but we have found that just the regular shampoo gets the job done. We normally buy the bigger bottle if it is cheaper per litre to do that because we know we will use the system again, and you can use it for a bit of spot cleaning in between - just be careful how wet the carpet gets in those spot cleans.

Considerably cheaper than a commercial clean, but there are risks (and it MAY affect your carpet guarantee). To us it is worth the time and effort.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of April, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

We are regular users of the rug doctor, not because I think it is an amazing carpet cleaner or anything, but because it is convenient. We only live 2 blocks from the supermarket so when needed its easy to pop down there and hire it out. However in terms of carpet cleaning, I do not think it does anything amazing, in fact I don't really think it cleans the carpets all that well at all.

Don't get me wrong, you can see from the water that it is cleaning, the water goes from crystal clear to a horrible dirty brown within seconds. I am always shocked at this as the carpets never look that bad, but when you consider what carpet deals with on a daily basis, it is easy to see how they can get so dirty below the surface.

I find the rug doctor to be heavy and quite annoying to lug around, but I do like how it freshens up the carpets, and the products you can buy go a very long way. A 1 litre bottle lasts us for 3 rug doctor hires, and cleans our sitting room, and 4 bedroom carpets, so that really is value for money. They also have a very nice smell to them too, nothing worse that the smell of wet carpet, but as the cleaners have a nice aroma, they outweigh the icky bad carpet smell.

So even though there are some down sides to the rug doctor, we still find it handy and still hire it out every couple of months anyway. All in all the price to hire is not to bad, and when you know you are getting your bond back too, it is even better. So if you are looking for something to freshen up your homes carpets then I highly recommend the rug doctor. If you are however looking for something to do a good carpet deep cleaning, then do not stop here, keep looking Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of honeygirl

Review by: honeygirl (Roseanna)
Dated: 15th of March, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have used the rug doctor a lot specially with 4 kids ranging in ages from 15 years to 3 years in my household as you could imagine we get everything from shoe marks to food marks pretty much everything you could imagine on our floors, the rug doctor fits well in my budget for the machine for 4 hours last time i got it cost me $39.95 for 4 hours plus $11.95 for a 2L bottle of carpet shampoo and every six months i clean my sofa set for the upholstery cleaner bottle i think was $6.95 and a extra $5-6 to hire the extra piece plus a $20 bond that is refundable on return of a cleaned machine and brought back on time. for my family this is defiantly cheaper than getting a company in to clean the carpets you can get your entire home done for half the price if not a quarter of the cost of what some companies will charge you.
This machine is easy fill the back bucket up with warm water and carpet solution, plug it in and away you go, so easy to work around the carpets you just use it like a upright vacuum cleans everything removes stains and does not leave a lot of water in your carpets therefore the carpets are not left soaking, also easy to use on rugs and mats.. The upholstery cleaner on it is also easy to use just clip in the attachment and use like a brush cleans the sofa's up brilliantly and to top it off the products leave the home smelling deodorized cleaned and lovely. Only down side to this product is the fact that i have to do all the work LOL Icon, defiantly something my family and i will continue to use

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I have only used the Rug Doctor unit once and I won't be using it again. I didn't like the finished result it left on the carpets. Yes it freshened up the carpets but didn't really clean them. It left my carpets soaking wet under foot and once the perfume smell of the cleaning product wore off it left a wet damp smell, even on a sunny warm day the carpets took forever to dry. I have 2 dogs that is why I cleaned the carpets but at the end of the clean it smelt worse than the two dogs put together!!

The Rug Doctor unit itself isn't easy to move around and oh my gosh to pick it up and put it into a car is a workout in itself!! The price is way too much, to hire the unit, to pay the deposit, buy the cleaning products it felt as though the process was never ending. I seemed to me that paying a professional carpet cleaner would have been a way easier option.

At the time I didn't realise that the Rug Doctor units were meant be booked in advance as they are a very popular item I was told by the checkout supervisor at my supermarket....but every time I have been at the supermarket they have always been there so not sure why they require booking, but on closer inspection the Rug Doctor units that were there had a note saying out of order!! So now the comment made sense...I should have walked away right there and then.

One good thing about the Rug Doctor is the cleaning solution that I bought as I had heaps left over and used this solution for spot cleaning and it always got the stains or spilt liquid out of the carpet.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I hired one of these to clean the carpet when we moved out of a rental property and I would never use one again. I found it fairly pricey to hire by the time you bought the products to go with it making it more convenient to just getting a professional out to clean the carpet which would do a much better job anyway.

It was easy to use although quite heavy and bulky making it hard to get right into all the little corners. All you had to do was fill it with the cleaner and the water and away you went just like using a vacuum cleaner. It obviously does do something to wash the carpet as when I had finished there was a lot of filthy water to drain away.

However it left my carpet absolutely soaking wet which left a wet dog smell in the air for several days. The general cleaner is no good for the spot cleaning so you have to buy a different product again for this which was alright but didn't do much to deodorise the carpet. I much prefer to use the steam mop on the carpet and think it is just as effective without having to have the carpet swimming in water.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have used the Rug Doctor twice now on a previous rental home ~ once was to just have a general clean of the place mid way through my tenancy (i was in the house 3years) and the other was just before leaving the property. Please note that im a very clean/tidy person and clean our house every week so any stains werent huge but just general things such as spilt coffee/drink or wear and tear marks.

I turned up at our supermarket and booked out a machine with ease (although i did note there were one or two on the rack with labels "out of order")... however they were definately more expensive to hire than i expected (by the time you get the solution you need and pay a bond)... And im certainly glad i had my fiancee there to carry the heavy thing to the car! I didnt realise until i was home but the product was definately not as clean as i expected it to be... including clumps of hair and who knows what else in the bottom rollers (GROSS!)

The first time i used this product i found it wonderful and it definately made a huge difference in the stains in our carpet, i found it easy to use, had plenty of solution left over (we had a three bedroom house) and vowed i would definately use this again, overall i was happy with the job it had done.

Second time round when we were leaving the house i was actually quite excited at what i thought the machine would do and was left deeply disappointed! The rental agency asked if i had even cleaned the carpets thats how bad the results were. I do admit i didnt hire the attachements so maybe that affected the results too.

I dont know that it would do a great job on heavy duty stains after my failed attempt at just general wear and tear stains. And i am definately put off by my experience ~ to the point where i am in the process of finding a product i can buy to use instead! (Obviously a more expensive option but id rather have a product i know works well!)

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 26th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We first used the Rug Doctor to clean our house prior to moving in as the carpets were filthy. We have subsequently hired the Rug Doctor every 6 -12 months over the past 6 years to deal with the mess from general use and babies/toddlers various outputs including a whole bottle of PVA glue!
Both supermarkets close to us have the Rug Doctor and have always had available to use even when one was required (for the glue) on the same day. Generally I will ring and book a couple of days ahead. We have found (in the six times we have hired from three different supermarkets) that the staff have always followed the correct procedure re checking the machines, taking the deposit etc and advising re amount of cleaning products and types required. They have all also been flexible on return times, once allowing us to have overnight without charging extra. Generally I book out for four hours as this is enough time to do our four bedroom house and if I am quick both the cars as well with the upholstery attachment. The upholstery attachment is an extra cost which I think is not great as the attachment is required if you want to clean "the strip" next to the skirting and any difficult to reach areas.

You do need to be physically able as the cleaning unit is heavy and you also have to empty the unit and refill it constantly. I tend to go through about three/four refills per room. I use less than the recommended amount of cleaner as I find the correct solution too strong and because we clean frequently and use separate spot cleaner for specific messes we don't require full strength on the whole carpet.

I wear ear muffs as the unit is loud and the noise gets to you after a few hours. I have found the Rug Doctor to be extremely effective and our carpets look fantastic after cleaning. I think the upholstery attachment is great as it ensures that any fabric covered furniture and our cars get an excellent clean also. If used correctly our carpets have usually dried by the end of the day with the doors and windows open. I wouldn't clean the carpets on a wet day as carpets might not dry out as quickly.

Do use a towel on your car seat if you have cleaned it when returning the unit as otherwise you will be a little damp! The unit is very easy to hose clean before returning but do once again have a towel underneath to protect your car. Overall the Rug Doctor is an extremely cheap and easy way to get your carpets and upholstery looking great and I will continue to use this unit and the associated products.

Click here to read the profile of

Review by: ()
Dated: 6th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We have always used the rug doctor when leaving rental properties to freshen the carpet for the owners. We have found it to be suitable for light stain removal and carpet freshening, and it is not too bad on some furniture also, but we would not recommend it for hard stains or anything like that.

The machine is seriously heavy too, so you do need a reasonably good arm and no back problems when using it Smile Icon The added cost for the shampoos etc does seem a little unfair when you do go into hire, and they could possibly be a little cheaper, as you do use a fair amount of shampoo and water to clean each room...so you would spend quite a bit extra if doing an entire house.

I do agree with the other review, earmuffs would also be a great idea, as the machine is seriously loud and it is true that there is a strip that does not get cleaned which is a hassle too, as you end up with carpets that are clean everywhere but that strip and it is quite obvious. If you're not careful you can end up with very damp carpets as well, but as we have only used it when we have already vacated a property, for us this has never been an issue.

All in all the machine is ok and depending on what you're expecting from it, does an alright job, and for the small hire price is worth it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 31st of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After some interesting emails from some of our regular readers, we decided it was time to go 'mystery shop' the Rug Doctor. Just down the road a short way is a supermarket that hires them out, so after some research I gave them a ring and gave them the spiel... "Hi, do you hire out those Rug Doctor things please?" "Sure do, how long would you need it for?"... and so it began... the scenario offered was a single room needed to be cleaned. It had fresh staining from the aftermath of a toddler's removed nappy.

They assured me that the machine would do the job to a professional level, the shortest rental period was 4 hours at $39.99, and they had a machine available and ready to run. So, I said I would be there shortly, and off I went to collect it.

Now my research showed me that the proper procedure for these machines is to give it a detailed inspection prior to rental, and again upon it's return. This is to confirm that it is clean, free from debris and clogging that could impair it's performance, and that it was in full functioning order. The research also indicated that the Upholstery Attachment - a handheld unit that attaches to the main machine - would have also been an appropriate device for this scenario. Toddler poop is something you want to make CERTAIN is fully removed.

Upon my arrival at the store, I introduced myself to the young lady who I had spoken to on the phone, and she unpacked a machine from the rack, grabbed a bottle of something, and returned to me at the service desk. She then gave the machine a fairly good check on the underside, removing a large wad of matted carpet fibres from the agitator brush that looked absolutely foul, and checked the machine off as "suitable to hire" - despite the filter being quite dirty and the filter hood (which should have been clearly see-through) being streaked with dirty stains. I wasn't too concerned by this, as the filter comes AFTER the water has been sucked out of the carpet, so it's 'downstream' from where it's essential for the water to be clean.

I was then informed that the *mandatory* shampoo was a further $13.00 on top of the rental, and there was a $20 bond as well, refundable on return of a clean machine to cover the cost of cleaning it if I was lazy and didn't rinse it out first. I pointed out that the machine was dirty already, and was told that it must come back clean or the bond would be retained. I thought this was a bit cheeky, but let it slide. After all... I was 'undercover' and didn't want to make a big scene. I arrived expecting to pay $40, and left with a wallet $73.00 lighter. Funny thing is, she only took down one form of ID despite the form clearly stating "two forms of ID required" - that should have been my second warning that things weren't going right...

Upon return to the 'testing room' I followed the instructions on the shampoo bottle and mixed up 9 litres of hot water and 250ml of the shampoo, disassembled the machine so I could fill the tank, reassembled it, got it into the test area, plugged it in, and prepared to run it over the stains to be tested. Flick the switch to 'Clean Carpets' mode... nothing. Not a bean of noise or action. I checked the reset switch, power switch, power cable and wall socket... they all appeared to be in working order... but no 'cleaning' action going on!

After 5 minutes of trying everything, including a triple-check of the wall socket using a TV and an electrician's probe meter, it was time to ring the helpdesk. I spoke to a lovely lady there who ran me through more tests, and after scratching our collective heads for a minute, she checked with her manager who said they would arrange a replacement machine from the same store, and they'd ring me if there was a problem. No phonecall 5 minutes later, so after emptying the machine of all that wasted water and shampoo, off I go to return the faulty machine.

As I walked in, I was greeted by the same supervisor again, who apologised most sincerely and explained that they had confirmed a replacement machine on the phone to R/D HQ... and then realised that of the three machines they had, one was out on rental until later that evening and the other was ALSO non-functional... with very similar symptoms. However, some kudos are required, not only did they issue me a full refund but they also had been on the phone and jacked up a replacement machine from another, nearby store. I was assured that the machine would be comprehensively checked prior to my arrival.

I pulled up and shot inside, and sure enough I was expected. A machine was unhooked from the rack, given a VERY detailed inspection, and yes... they even plugged it into the wall and made sure the motor would run. The paperwork was completed quickly and efficiently, with TWO forms of ID taken down... yet it wasn't noticed that the names on the Drivers Licence and EFTPOS cards didn't match.

Getting this machine back to the stain lab, I again went through the measure/mix/fill routine, plugged it in, switched it on... and then wished I had remembered the earmuffs. These machines aren't exactly subtle. None the less, the stains were eventually removed at the visible level, after four passes with the machine and some crafty pre-soaking tricks that are certainly NOT covered in the user instructions. A smart operator will be able to figure out a method of pre-treating the stains once they have a look at the undercarriage and the placement of the spray nozzles and the suction head.

Cleaning the entire room four times in total took 18 litres of water, 500ml of shampoo and about 45 minutes. (Of course, on top of that was 9 litres of water, 250ml of shampoo, and around an hour wasted by the faulty machine we were given in the first place.) The optimum speed to move the machine is stated as "...1 step per second..." - but since everyone has a different length of step, our testing process defined an average step as 70cm per second. After examination of the undercarriage highlighted a serious design fault that will prevent the full cleaning of a room unless you shell out the extra costs of hiring the Upholstery Attachment as well... the main machine has a 'dead zone' where the water won't reach. If you butt the nose of the machine right up against the skirting boards, the water is hitting the carpet a full 10-12cm short of the wall... meaning the carpet will have a 'no-cleaning-zone in a 10cm strip all the way around the edges. So if your stains reach right to the wall, get the extra attachment.

After the cleaning was done, I took the machine outside and emptied out the tanks, rinsed out and washed the filter, hosed down the underside to remove the gunk and debris stuck to it, de-furred the brush, and gave it a wipe down so it wouldn't dribble in the car. Then, it was off to hand it back in less than an hour after I walked out. The supervisor saw me, took my bit of paperwork, refunded my bond and wished me a good night... without even giving the machine a check-over. I could have brought back a different machine even, as he didn't even check the serial codes on the side. A little slack, but not my real concern any more, now that my wallet had the bond back in it.

Overall... a very disjointed experience that highlighted some great service, a need for more training, and the fact that, if used properly and with some thought, this machine certainly has some very well deserved press. Though I would dispute, with reason, the assertion that it will clean as well as a commercial machine - or better, I can say that after treatment, the carpet was only *just* noticeably damp to the touch, certainly clean to the naked eye, and suitable to walk on less than an hour later if the windows are opened to allow airflow to carry away evaporation. My only warning is this: the catchphrase "Steaming mad at dirt" implies this is a steam cleaner. We found absolutely NO evidence that the basic machine generates any steam at all. Far from it... it spews out a stream of hot air, hot soapy water, but not a jot of detectable steam. That may in fact be the domain of the Upholstery attachment, which we were unable to test this time. Since I have had training in commercial carpet cleaning, how to get the best use out of the machine was something I could work out fairly quickly. Most users though wouldn't have this benefit, and would undoubtedly move the machine either too fast - and end up with a substandard clean - or too slowly - and end up with soggy carpets. For the best results, take the time to practice with the machine switched off. 70cm per second is faster than you think. Wink Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 7.7
Product reviews for listing 3873: Johnson's Kids Top to Toe Wash: Watermelon Wipeout -  Brand: Johnson and Johnson

Product image for Johnson's Kids Top to Toe Wash: Watermelon WipeoutJohnson's kids top-to-toe wash watermelon wipeout. refreshing. use it on you hair & body. fruity fun! won't sting your eyes! great way to wash!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I have a Heisenberg Quantum Car. Every time I look at the speedometer I get lost."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream