Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 19th April 2019 - 14:51:16

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Old Mout Boysencider review

« Old Mout Feijoa & Cider reviewOld Mout Feijoa & CiderOld Mout Classic Apple reviewOld Mout Classic Apple »

Score: 9.2/10  [16 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2820 - Old Mout Boysencider
Brewed by: Redwood Cellars

Old Mout Boysencider
Price:
$15.99 per 4-pack 355ml
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Old Mout Cider

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Old Mout Boysencider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOld Mout Boysencider is the ingenious union of refreshing apple cider with succulent boysenberry wine - creating a drink that's the best of both worlds.

Looks: Bright translucent red
Smells: A summery burst of berries with a wee hint of cherry
Tastes: Fresh strawberry characters where boysenberry meets apple, mellowing into some lingering residual sugars. Refreshing rather than overly sweet, like the zing of berry sorbet

Alcohol: 5.8%

Top off a great meal by trying it with a nice melty brie, creamy blue cheese, or fresh fruit. If you'd like to get a bit fancy, marinate strawberries in Boysencider and serve over ice cream, or in crepes with vanilla custard.

Check out Old Mout Cider onlineClick here to see all the listings for Old Mout Cider Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   apple   boysenberry   cider   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Avalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking ChocolateAvalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking Chocolate
Rating: 7.4
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel LatteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Caramel Latte
Rating: 8.8
Re:STARTRe:STARTFAQ LemonFAQ Lemon
Rating: 9.3
Old Mout ScrumpyOld Mout Scrumpy
Rating: 8.8
Pomegranate Green teaPomegranate Green tea
Rating: 8.9
Gisborne 2002 ChardonnayGisborne 2002 Chardonnay
Rating: 7.5
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink GrapefruitSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Grapefruit
Rating: 9.3
Old Mout Feijoa & CiderOld Mout Feijoa & Cider
Rating: 8.6
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Latte MacchiatoNescafe Dolce Gusto Latte Macchiato
Rating: 8.8
Frute Cider - Mango and LimeFrute Cider - Mango and Lime
Rating: 9.1
KGB LemonKGB Lemon
Rating: 8.3
Old Mout Classic AppleOld Mout Classic Apple
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Boysencider is a very fruity drink, which has a very strong, tangy flavor of berries. I was quite surprised to see that Old Mout had avoided using potential sexist remarks when advertising their ambiguously named beverage, and instead are remaining high brow; two thumbs up for that.

As ciders have drastically increased in popularity, I was happy to see that they are expanding the packaging to involve glass bottles, instead of the traditional cheap plastic 1L bottles, that many binge drinking games have used in the past.

The flavour is very sweet and tangy, and is a higher percentage than traditional beers, so one must be careful when drinking these, as they go down quickly, and can lead you to be intoxicated very early on in the night. But consumed in moderation, this will provide an enjoyable tingle of the taste buds, and some nice fruity fresh breath.

It is a very light drink, that lacks the substance that would satisfy me, but in conjunction with other drinks, it is suitable. A great summery drink, in a classy, clear glass, that does not seem to be burdened with any apparent gender stereotypes, and is therefore a drink for both men and women.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Boysencider is a great refreshing drink for a summers day! Nice and fruity, smooth and easy to drink. Definitely a drink for those who don't like the "beer" taste in their beverages. Tastes best chilled or poured over ice. The 4 pack is handy to take with you out to BBQs or to share with friends. The drink can be tart tasting mixed in with a bit of sweetness. You can definitely taste the different flavours of cherries, strawberries and apples.

Would highly recommend for those who want a refreshing drink that doesn't taste like beer! Best served ice cold. Old Mout Cider do loads of different flavours of drinks but this one has to be my favourite as its like summer in a bottle. Great fruity tones. The 4 pack is definitely value for money when you compare it against other brands. What is even better is that it is made in Nelson so you will be keeping it local when buying Old Mout Cider.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Mmmmm cider. My husband and I have been enjoying Old Mout ciders once a week for the better part of three months. At a recent Home Show we were able to taste test all of their range and were very pleased with what we found. My favourite so far is the Boysencider. Aside from its name that makes the dirty-minded little boy in my head giggle whenever I say it, it is delicious. I love the berry notes, and it is a good bold flavour.

I find this cider to be very versatile as well. Aside from just being able to enjoy it chilled on a hot evening like tonight, you can do all sorts of things with it. My first experiment was care of another Old Mout fan on their facebook page. Into a glass I put two scoops of ice cream and topped the glass up with Boysencider. The cider foamed up and I had an alcoholic Spider to enjoy. It was delicious and very naughty.

My next experiment was in cupcakes. Since I do love to bake and cupcakes are my thing, I thought why not. If you can put lemonade in a cupcake or strawberry champers, then cider must be doable. It was! I made a vanilla cupcake and in place of the full milk requirement, I added 1/2 cup of cider and then only 1/4 cup of milk. This meant that the mixture curdled a little, but in my experience that doesn't destroy the cake. The cake came out slightly blue in hue, moist and berry nice (see what I did there?).

To top it off I made up a Boysencider butter cream icing and put that on the cupcakes. That came out slightly pink in hue, which was a bit strange. In any case, the cupcake/icing combination was delicious and something I will definitely be doing again.

Click here to read the profile of wingnutt39

Review by: wingnutt39 (Rosemary)
Dated: 5th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Cider so when I saw this I decided I had to try it. Yummmmy. I had never heard of this brand until i saw it in the supermarket, but being a person who is willing to try new things I knew this was for me, and as you can tell I was not disappointed.

I wasn't sure if I would get the lovely fresh tang I associate with cider, but to my surprise I did and I noticed just a hit of sweetness from the boysenberries. I found it very easy to drink, in fact a bit to easy LOL Icon. I even found it was still great to drink once it had warmed up so I will be trying it in winter slightly heated.

The only thing that annoyed me was the price, to me it is a bit on the expensive side so I wont be getting it to often.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Old Mout Boysencider is a fantastic summer's day drink, this one is one for the ladies! (Although most the males i know are fond of this flavour as well!) It's sweet (but not sickly) and very refreshing and it even tastes of real fresh boysenberries.

Be careful with this as it's easy to drink and the alcohol content is higher than beer - it could set you in for an interesting night if you don't keep tabs on how many you have had!!. It comes in handy single bottles so no need for glasses and no washing up!!

The only downside is the cost. at $4.00 or so a bottle it's on the expensive side to drinking at home, but yet is relatively cheap compared to going out.

Overall this is a great New Zealand product, awesome for a special BBQ, with great friends and good weather!

Click here to read the profile of cat

Review by: cat (Catherine)
Dated: 5th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love the flavour of Old Mout Boysencider, very refreshing and just a little sweet and you really can taste the berries.
Great to sit down with after a day weeding the garden, better than a beer!
Initially I found it to be quite fizzy but that soon settled, it didn't go flat either which was good.
I must say I do think the large bottles are better valve and its nice to drink out of a wine glass.
Great product will buy again and recommend

Also like the Cranberry Cider and am looking forward to sampling the others

Click here to read the profile of phoenixslip

Review by: phoenixslip (Natarsha)
Dated: 26th of December, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This taste exactly like Real Boysenberries! It's an amazing drink, its so fruity and perfect, as it's a New Zealand brewed drink from Nelson.

I enjoy buying the plastic larger bottles as well.

Reasons why, are great fruit content and tastes perfect, good alcohol content, not too fizzy when i open it , like other cider brands.

Great refreshing alcoholic drink, its awesome with icecubes in a fancy glass.

I totally recommend Old Mout Cider, especially BoysenCider, and Cranberry Cider. I've yet to try the other lighter coloured cider's.

And no hangovers!!

Click here to read the profile of ellaandfabiansma

Review by: ellaandfabiansma (Amy)
Dated: 28th of May, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This cider is not something that I would normally try but a friend of mine was pestering me that it was so nice I just had to try. Well she was so right. I thought it had an amazing flavour and not too over powering which I find a lot of ciders to be. It is very easy to drink, we had ours with dessert and it suited really well. My new favourite!

Click here to read the profile of fuzzy01mnas

Review by: fuzzy01mnas (Marie)
Dated: 25th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I found this drop to be rite up my alley as I love anything with Berries in it. From the moment I opened the bottle I smelt the divine smell of Berries.

It had a nice mellow taste to it and was bursting with flavour it tasted like a wine cooler more than a cider to me. It was very fizzy which I love and also went down just rite but before I know it the bottle was empty so in this case the portion size was a little on the small side due to the fact I loved the drink so much could have done with more so I will be buying the 1.5 bottle to have next time.

Overall a great drink very well made and has lots of flavour.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 10th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With a mild hint of berries that teases the nose when you take the lid off and get that first "breath", Old Mout's Boysencider very much tasted like a berry version of a medium white wine... with just that hint of dryness (although not enough to be unpleasant), the slight sharp tang of alcohol, and a mild fruity sweetness that was enjoyable without being sickly sweet.

Each mouthful had a strong, but not overpowering, taste of berries, with only a mild berry aftertaste. I found this to be a very smooth cider that was easy on the palette, and I could very easily have had several!

The Boysencider was definitely my favourite of the four, and it would be perfect for enjoying with a meal, or just sitting back, chilling, on a hot summer day or evening.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 9th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I honestly wasn't sure what to expect with this one as I have tried other fruit type of alcohols before -specifically fruit based wines- and have found them to be not to my liking, however this one is completely different, not only was the balance of the different types of berry perfect with no one flavour outdoing the other, it also still had that wonderful apple taste that makes me so love ciders.

I must actually confess that I have now found my new favourite drink, one that I can easily see myself downing a few 4-packs in a session if i'm not careful.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 9th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Like others have said this one would be the nicest of the flavors in the range. Not too over bearing and a very refreshing taste. I found it to be a much nicer drop chilled than I did with it at room temperature, where as sometimes room temperature drinks are easier to down.
The fruit flavors all mix and combine nicely too with none over riding the others, which is lovely also.
A very nice cider definitely worth trying if you have not yet.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 27th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

this was my favourite from this range. being a real berry fan i found it refreshing and very berry filled without being as thick as the berry frute cider. i found the portion size to be almost perfect. The other ciders were a little less to my liking so there was always some left over. this one was so tasty i found it easy to drink the whole bottle easily. as with the feijoa & cider drink this isnt made with berries. instead it is an apple cider mixed with berry wine which adds a new depth to the drink that i found really interesting and pleasing. I tried to make some kind of dessert with this but it just didnt seem to work so it will remain just a really nice drink for me. i must say though that it was really nice poured over half a glass of crushed ice while slaving over a hot bbq. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of mrsoffensive

Review by: mrsoffensive (Natasha)
Dated: 26th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This had a rich fruity taste with a dry red wine type flavour, yet was still refreshingly sweet. There was only a mild bitter tang hidden in there.

Best served iced cold and had a nice apple cider aftertaste.

This had to be my second favourite of the four ciders. The fruity flavours made it a very enjoyable drink on a hot day.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 25th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was really the best cider I have had in many many years. Gone are the days of quality cider on tap that I recall from my student days sitting in Irish pubs listening to live bands ranging from sober and mediocre to pissed as skunks and still managing to belt out brilliance. The last time I ordered cider from a restaurant tap it tasted slightly metallic and very acidic. Almost apple flavoured vinegar.
So this was not only a really pleasant reminder of what quality cider should taste like, but also a very nice twist on the classic 'squirt of raspberry juice' that sometimes found it's way into my pint glass. However I found it to be a little strong for my tastes, but it became something amazing when I mixed it with some of the Teza Velvetberry. A bit naughty but highly successful!
All in all a seriously nice drop for most who like berries. The fact that this is apple cider mixed with boysenberry wine is a neat little twist that stops this from being just another berry flavoured alcohol.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Though I have become more of a berry convert in recent times - thanks in large part to many of the products I have reviewed here - I still find it surprising to discover a berry-based consumable that appeals to my tastebuds. This was one such delightful surprise.

Upon opening, the berry bouquet greeted me with a strength that initially put me off wanting to try it... yet the first sip put me at ease with the mellow taste and slight effervescence.

An attempt to use this beverage in an Apple & Apricot Crumble proved somewhat unsuccessful, due in large part to an improvised 'stewed fruit' recipe that was a little short on sugar. The resulting dessert was tasty, but alas a failure to be as spectacular as this drink could have made it. In an interesting example of irony, the most pleasing off-shoot was the one thing that caused the failure of the dessert - the syrup... Made by reducing half a bottle of the Boysencider and 1.5 cups of sugar down, the syrup was the highlight of an otherwise lacklustre dessert experiment.

Overall, a very versatile drink, that quite impressed this berry non-fan. Wink Icon I think it would be spectacular if used as a cocktail base for a summer drink to sip over a BBQ lunch.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 7585: Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Cappuccino -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - CappuccinoWhy step out, when you can treat yourself to an entire menu of delicious, authentic, cafe-style drinks in the comfort of your own kitchen.

Find a flavour to match your mood!

Cappuccino : A classic combination of robust espresso topped off with a frothy layer of foam. One for the traditionalists.

ALLERGY INFO:
This product has no detectable gluten, but contains milk proteins and may contain ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A seminar on Time Travel will be held two weeks ago."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream