Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 11th December 2018 - 14:12:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Old Mout Feijoa & Cider review

« Old Mout Scrumpy reviewOld Mout ScrumpyOld Mout Boysencider reviewOld Mout Boysencider »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.6/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2819 - Old Mout Feijoa & Cider
Brewed by: Redwood Cellars

Old Mout Feijoa & Cider
Price:
$15.99 per 4-pack 355ml
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Old Mout Cider

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Old Mout Feijoa & Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOld Mout Feijoa & Cider is a delectable apple cider, combined with zingy fruit wine from Feijoas (Fee-Jo-Ahh) - small, green aromatic fruits that don't look like much but taste damn fine.

Looks: Very pale straw - it's the pale blonde of ciders
Smells: Aromatic feijoa fruit, with crisp outdoorsy, herbaceous notes, like a young Sauvignon Blanc
Tastes: Brash feijoa (with its pineapple and guava flavours) pushes to the front, while self-assured apple is happy to hang back till the finish. Apple and feijoa are natural partners, making this an aromatic alternative to a Gewerztraminer

Alcohol: 8%

Gone are the days when 'ethnic cuisine' meant spaghetti bolognaise. So when you're feeling adventurous in the kitchen (or at the takeaway) reach for a bottle of Feijoa & Cider, and try it with Thai green curry, Indian dishes and spicy Chinese flavours.

Check out Old Mout Cider onlineClick here to see all the listings for Old Mout Cider Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   apple   cider   feijoa   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Stoke - AmberStoke - Amber
Rating: 9.4
Libero ToscanaLibero Toscana
Rating: 9.2
Old Mout BoysenciderOld Mout Boysencider
Rating: 9.2
26000 Vodka - Raspberry and Lemon Drop26000 Vodka - Raspberry and Lemon Drop
Rating: 8.5
Harvest Scrumpy Cider with LemonHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Lemon
Rating: 7.9
Teza - Mango and GingerTeza - Mango and Ginger
Rating: 8.1
Rochdale Cider - TraditionalRochdale Cider - Traditional
Rating: 9.0
Teza - Feijoa and LimeblossomTeza - Feijoa and Limeblossom
Rating: 8.4
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Ristretto ArdenzaNescafe Dolce Gusto Ristretto Ardenza
Rating: 9.1
Old Mout Classic AppleOld Mout Classic Apple
Rating: 8.5
Nekta Liquid Kiwifruit and Goji BerryNekta Liquid Kiwifruit and Goji Berry
Rating: 9.0
Old Mout ScrumpyOld Mout Scrumpy
Rating: 8.8
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of madmumma

Review by: madmumma (Kim)
Dated: 20th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Omg we are totally in love with this product!! We go out to the mother in laws for dinner on a Saturday night and as a non-drinker I was wary when she presented me with the 'old mout cider' so thought I better try it (or wear the wrath of the mother in law), and promptly fell in love. (with the drink, warming to the mother in law)

It has such a great fresh flavor and sits well on the pallet, you can really taste the feijoa it zings on your tongue. The percentage seems to be good to can safely have a drink with dinner and not be over the limit. We have had a few weeks running now and I am not over the taste. It seems to go well with what ever we are eating to. Weather it be meat, fish or vegetables and dessert.

The product has a twist top cap which makes it easy to get into therefore means no searching for a bottle opener. I would and have recommend the 'Old mout cider' to my friends and now also have it in my own fridge so I don't have to wait till dinner at the mother in laws. Am looking forward to trying the other flavors.

Click here to read the profile of ibnita

Review by: ibnita (Anita)
Dated: 6th of February, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I cannot believe i have made it to 32 without discovering the joys of cider. After a long hot day, browsing in the beer section i came across Old Mout cider. To me cider was always something that came in a big plastic bottle and really did not look appealing.

Well, Old Mout, in it's rather trendy 355ml size bottle caught my eye. The selection of flavours was also a bonus. I decided to take a punt on the feijoa flavour. Now sometimes feijoa can be quite an overpowering flavour in a drink but i have to say i was rather impressed at how subtle the taste was, it was very, very pleasant. Also very refreshing.

The mixture of the feijoa with the apple cider really hit the spot. The alcohol taste that i obviously desired was still there but there was no horrible after taste. In fact i went back for a second.

I now look forward to trying out the other varieties and am a converted cider drinker.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 20th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We picked up a 4 pack of this Old Mout Feijoa & Cider the other day. Its been sitting in the fridge tempting me. So last night I offered a bottle to my husband and we sat down to enjoy a chilled cider. Now this is an apple cider which has been mixed with a feijoa wine. I guess that is why the feijoa flavour is so floral and there is that hint of white wine about the cider. It is frankly delicious and my bottle was empty far too quickly.

To be honest I hardly tasted the alcohol in this at all. I mean, I knew it was alcoholic but the alcohol taste didn't interfere with the feijoa flavours for me. This isn't terribly surprising though since the content is 5.8%, compared to the 8% Scrumpy they also do. This isn't a bad thing though. Refreshing drinks don't have to put you on your ear. A cold beer or cider on a hot evening is not looking for a party, just a relax, cool down and unwind.

I love that this product comes in a four pack of smaller bottles or you can buy a larger single bottle instead. They are so convenient to take to a BBQ or to have a few in your fridge for when they are needed. They are a great match with most dinners, though I suppose white meat suits best. Paired with beer-battered fish and chips out of yesterday's newspaper - beautiful! Of all of the Old Mout flavours Feijoa & Cider are probably first equal in my affections with Boysencider. I just couldn't pick between the two, and at around $10 for the 1.25 ltr bottles, I don't really need to pick!

Click here to read the profile of yngmamac

Review by: yngmamac (Carla)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This has to be my favorite Cider of all time, its not a strong overpowering feijoa taste, its light and crisp, its got an amazing almost delicate aroma, and really doesnt remind me of cider at all, more like a fizzy wine.

my favorite thing i found with this Cider is to mix it with a little grapefruit juice, it is completely divine, i love this mix so much, refreshing with a bit of tarty zing to it.

this drink i could just keep drinking. if there was a non alcoholic version i would always have it in the fridge!

Click here to read the profile of fuzzy01mnas

Review by: fuzzy01mnas (Marie)
Dated: 18th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I really enjoyed the taste of this cider it has a nice hint of Feijoa to it which made it mellow and easy to drink (I had to go buy more :)) It was a little bit on the bubbly/fizzy side but I also do not mind my drinks this way.

It comes in a nice bottle with an easy to read label and has just enough in the bottle for a nice quiet one and I found this really good when all I wanted was a small drink to relax.

Overall I really enjoyed this drink and will be having it from time to time great wee drop. :)

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tezza)
Dated: 10th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

After enjoying both the Boysencider and the Scrumpy, and with my love of pretty much all things feijoa, I had rather high hopes for Old Mout's "Feijoa and Cider". However, it turned out to be my least favourite of the four!

I found this to be a rather unpleasantly dry, harsh cider, with quite a bitter aftertaste that had a definite residue of feijoa which hung around for quite a while. With a stronger alcoholic bite than the Boysencider (but less than the Scrumpy), you can definitely taste the feijoa with each mouthful, but there's only the slightest hint of it in the smell.

If this had been slightly sweeter, and not so dry (reminding me of a rather dry white feijoa wine), I think I would've enjoyed it a lot more. Quite disappointing.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 9th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Now i'm not a feijoa person, never have been, never will be, but I took the plunge and gave this one a go in the interests of unbiased reviewing. Well I was slightly surprised as I didn't get the full on taste of feijoa i was expecting. That's not to say there was no jeijoa taste as it was there, but it didn't overpower my senses, alas it didn't really do it for my tastebuds either. I mean in a crunch I would drink it, but not if there were other options open to me.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 9th of April, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ok I am always a little weary of feijoa flavored things, as am not a huge fan of feijoa. So this one was the last one I tried. Gave it a go when we were having a bbq, unfortunately not to my liking or taste, so unfortunately I did not drink the whole bottle. Maybe if I had of given it a chance I may have grown to like it, but unfortunately it just was not for me this time. For fans of feijoa though this cider may be perfect.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 27th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

always a fan of feijoa based drinks especially those with plenty of the flavour. i was expecting to see bits of feijoa in the bottle but was a little disappointed to find that the cider isnt actually made using feijoa at all but is in fact a cider mixed with a feijoa wine. in some ways i felt a little cheated by this. in some ways i was glad because it added a little extra depth to the drink. as soon as i opened the bottle there was a strong feijoa smell which faded to something that smelled more like white wine than an apple cider. a little strange but that added character. the flavour was very nice and made this my clear favourite from the range. my only regret is that the feijoa taste didnt manage to fight its way through a bit more. i would have really enjoyed a stronger feijoa taste.

Click here to read the profile of mrsoffensive

Review by: mrsoffensive (Natasha)
Dated: 26th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This had a very delicate aroma when you open up the well presented bottle. The taste was crisp which was tangy yet sweet and had a very clear apple flavour with a hit of feijoa.

It was quite a fizzy beverage but at the same time not overbearing. There was only a very slight bitter aftertaste.

Even though this flavour was my least favourite of the four ciders, it was a very enjoyable cider all the same.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 25th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Not really my thing at all I am sorry to say. Though I am a great fan of the feijoa flavour in almost anything, this one just didn't do it for me. It honestly tasted more like a fruity white wine. Those, I can find plenty of on any supermarket or wine store shelf.
Though there was nothing in particular wrong or unpleasant, very much the opposite, it was not at all what I was hoping for and quite a disappointment.
All in all, a nice drink but if you want "feijoa cider" then this is not the beverage you are looking for. "This is not the beverage we are looking for." Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 18th of March, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The first impression I got was, as promised, a bouquet of delightfully fruity sauvignon blanc. This, I admit, threw me a little... I am used t cider having a sharper scent and equally sharp taste, so I was curious if this one would also mirror taste and smell. I was very grateful to discover, at my first sip, that it did.

A sip wasn't enough, I needed more... it wasn't anything conscious... it was as though my tastebuds took direct control of my arm and tried to upend the bottle into my mouth, it was that delicious. On that basis alone, this bottle (330ml) was NOT enough for a single serve... but it was all I had available and it was gone all too quickly IMHO. I think I could easily have polished off a 1.5L bottle and been 'adequately satisfied.'

The feijoa flavour came through fairly well, but not so strong as to ruin the delicate apple cider hiding underneath. There was also none of the expected acidic cider sharpness, it was in fact quite smooth and well rounded, with hints of berry and apricot sneaking through in the background. This subtlety has it's drawbacks though. When running this drop through the Cheesecake Lab, as soon heating began, all the flavour disappeared and the final cheesecake was a very bland dish indeed. Such a crushing failure we disposed of the evidence and wiped it off the official slate. Sad Icon

Overall, this is certainly a drop best served well chilled, and shame on you if you plan to take it above 4 degrees Celsius.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 7830: Movenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee Capsules -  Brand / Manufactured by: Movenpick

Product image for Movenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee CapsulesThe typical Italian style Espresso. Intenso unveils its strong character with pronounced roasting flavours and an intense body.

    •  Strength: 8/10
    •  Movenpick coffee capsules are compatible with Nespresso* coffee machines.
    •  10 capsules per pack

*Nespresso is a registered trademark owned by Societe des ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If the temperature is zero outside today and it's going to be twice as cold tomorrow, how cold will it be?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream