Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 24th May 2019 - 19:56:55

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Monteiths Crushed Pear Cider review

« The Shallows: How the Internet is Changing the Way We Think, Read and Remember reviewThe Shallows: How the Internet is Changing the Way We Think, Read and RememberMisfits - Season 1 reviewMisfits - Season 1 »

Score: 8.6/10  [11 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2698 - Monteiths Crushed Pear Cider
Brewed by: Monteith's Brewery

Monteiths Crushed Pear Cider
Price:
$14.50 4-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by DB Breweries

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Monteiths Crushed Pear Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsMonteith's Crushed Pear Cider, like Crushed Apple Cider, doesn't use concentrate in its production. Instead it's made purely with sun ripened Nelson pears which are first crushed to release their juice, then directly fermented.

Because Monteith's doesn't use syrup concentrate, the end result is a lighter and truer cider. Monteith's Crushed Pear Cider is best served over ice or enjoyed straight from the fridge.

Check out DB Breweries onlineClick here to see all the listings for DB Breweries Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   cider   fruit   nzmade   pears   perry
Other listings you may be interested in:
Organic Apple & Guava JuiceOrganic Apple & Guava Juice
Rating: 9.3
Bennetto Drinking Chocolate BarBennetto Drinking Chocolate Bar
Rating: 9.0
Rochdale Cider - PerryRochdale Cider - Perry
Rating: 8.5
SodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-FreeSodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-Free
Rating: 7.4
Basilur Vintage Style Tea - New Year's GiftBasilur Vintage Style Tea - New Year's Gift
Rating: 8.8
Sipahh Straws : Choc MintSipahh Straws : Choc Mint
Rating: 9.1
Goodbuzz Booch - Jade DewGoodbuzz Booch - Jade Dew
Rating: 5.3
Vodka MudshakeVodka Mudshake
Rating: 8.3
Passionfruit Sparkling DrinkPassionfruit Sparkling Drink
Rating: 10.0
Harvest Apple CiderHarvest Apple Cider
Rating: 8.6
SodaStream Summer LemonSodaStream Summer Lemon
Rating: 10.0
JuiciesJuicies
Rating: 9.7
Addmore Elderflower Sparkling - OriginalAddmore Elderflower Sparkling - Original
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Compared to the ever popular Rekorderlig ciders, The Monteiths' ciders are more abrasive. They lack the complete smoothness, instead providing a distinct tang that serves to remind you that you are in fact drinking an alcoholic beverage. While not as sharp as the crushed apple cider, the crushed pear cider has a fuller flavor and a darker colouring.

This cider provides a great refreshing drink for those hot summer days, a celebratory drink after a hard day of work, or at a family barbeque. While not so much suited for the colder weather, little known knowledge, is that it can in fact be drunk warmed up during the winter (be sure to pour it into a cup suitable for heating first)

Although tasty as a warm winter cider, I much prefer it as a bubbly, tangy, refreshing, summer kick that fills a niche between the sharpness of the crushed apple cider, and other sweet ciders such as those by Rekorderlig. Packaged in easy to carry boxes of 'beer bottles' it still carries the same image as a beer drinking, and splits the cider into manageable portion sizes that wont encourage binge drinking, unlike the litre plastic bottles that companies such as Old Mout provide.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 16th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

One of my favourite light drinks is cider but not all cider is worth trying. I got a box of the apple and the pear and loved both. A very light alcohol taste but a great fruity flavour.

I have not been adventurous and done anything but drink these straight. The label appeals to my young kids, I don't give them any more than half a sip and they often tell me that this is not a little boy's drink but it must be a mummy's drink as they can see that mummy likes drinking it.

I would happily recommend to others as it is a light alcohol taste and it is easy to drink not like some drinks that taste really artificial and heavy. The cider is not made from concentrate so no need to gently shake it to get the stuff off the bottom of the bottle before drinking.

Personally I prefer the apple cider but would happily also buy and keep the pear cider in the fridge as well.

Click here to read the profile of madvix

Review by: madvix (Vicki)
Dated: 31st of May, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love cider and always rush to try all the new products they bring out, usually to the detriment of my head the next day. (Read on to see how that went...)

I was pleasantly surprised by the colour of this drink; pale and bubbly it looked very inviting. And it didn't disappoint, crisp and tart, but not overly sweet, all in all very drinkable.

Which was handy since it came in a four-pack. Which I drank. Which my head did not mind the next morning.

Only complaint, a little more pricey than some on the market, but for overall value worth the extra dollar or so!

Thumbs up! Thumbs Up

Click here to read the profile of kyz83

Review by: kyz83 (Kylie)
Dated: 13th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a fan of all pear products so I was particularly excited when Monteiths brought this out in their cider range.

I find the bottles big enough to fill a good size beer glass and I also find it doesn't leave you feeling bloated as many ciders would.

It has a beautiful crisp taste that all pear products should (but often don't) have, and isn't too dry either which makes it easy to drink.

The price is higher than other ciders although I have noticed they are having more specials on this particular cider but I find it definitely worth buying over other brands. I have definitely been recommending this to my cider loving friends and often have a few cold ones sitting in my fridge to enjoy.

Click here to read the profile of flappers02

Review by: flappers02 (Brad)
Dated: 3rd of October, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I found the cider very refreshing as it was a lovely hot afternoon and i had just finished the lawns and it was very easy to drink but after 3 or 4 bottles it became a bit sweet for me.
Value for money i thought was quite reasonable in the market it is competeing in but is in the upper range of the price bracket.
Thought the size was great as it fitted purrfectiy into a large beer glass and stayed cool the hole time though out the glass.
I am more of a beer man myself and think i would struggle to drink cider all night and maybe could be marketed as more of a mans drink so a few more of us blokes might be a little more keen to give it a go.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 28th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge cider fan, the sort of person who frequents pubs if they have a cider on tap. I love an icy cold pint of cider after a hard day at work.

I am also a bit of a stickler when it comes to taste and flavour. So if you are going to market something as Pear Cider, then it really needs to taste like Pear - not a easy task when Pear is such a delicate taste. Other pear flavoured ciders I have tried have tasted of alcohol and sweet fizz, but I haven't managed to taste pear at all - which is a disappointment.

However, I think Monteiths did this well. Not only did I taste the pear in the first and second taste, it lingered a bit longer than I expected. It was crisp and delicious and i have gladly added it to my list of "try again"s.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 10th of November, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being a chap of an older generation, the name "Pear Cider" translates pretty accurately to "Perry" in my mind, it's one of those old-school names that has been "recontextualised" in order to take an old idea and make it seem like a new one. (For us oldsters, think "Mutton dressed as Lamb" and hold the volume down on the sniggering.)

This was quite seriously one of the tastiest drops I have let slide past my teeth in a while. Full of flavour and rich tones, without the sting of hefty alcohol volumes. Quite seriously, I happily sat back and polished off my allocated sample in no time flat and loved every moment of it.

Available in supermarkets and liquor outlets all over the place, but not everywhere, this is certainly worth keeping your eye out for if you enjoy a good cider. I flatly refused to adulterate it by adding anything else when drinking it, but it was a wonderful base for a delightful pear and apricot fruit sorbet. On those stinking hot summer days, a tall glass of this cider, served with a solid scoop of sorbet floating in it - sheer bliss, I promise!

Summary: A beverage that you should certainly keep in mind as the weather heats up. An excellent competitor for the classic "Kiwi BBQ" fare of beer too, for those who want to add a touch of style to the afternoon.

Click here to read the profile of knightwolf

Review by: knightwolf (Mark)
Dated: 16th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Ok a review on alcohol, ummm It was good and had alcohol :)

But seriously folks, I like cider but usually find it too sweet to drink more than a glass at a time. This pear cider though has a sweetness and crispness that is pleasant to drink without being to much.
At $14.50 a 4-pack I probably wouldn't buy it (other drinks I would prefer), but if offered I wouldn't refuse. The only other thing I could really say about this is if you're going to open one and then have a beer, be prepared for a really strong malty taste to your beer.

Click here to read the profile of mistletoe

Review by: mistletoe (Sarah-Jane)
Dated: 11th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am not a big alcohol drinker but I do like Ciders.

My 1st impression was "yum", it was a nice strong, with an awesome flavour.

Normally after the 1st sip it goes straight to my head but this one didn't which encouraged me to have more :)

I had a fantastic nights sleep after my taste testing :)

I would buy this again in the future.

Click here to read the profile of taylor-made-1

Review by: taylor-made-1 (Rebekah)
Dated: 6th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Firstly let me say that I am NOT a beer drinker, though I was excited about the idea of Pear Cider. I had chilled it, and when i first opened the cap the smell was divine! I sipped it and was immediately surprised, it had a light fruity taste, not too sweet like those awful 'appletise' drinks! It was a perfect accompaniment to our Steak and Salad meal, so perfect for summer! In fact it made me think of Summer and being with friends! I could imagine myself drinking a bottle or two after mowing the lawns, or while cooking the BBQ! I drank the second bottle at room temp and I liked it even more! It was a great drink, and I cant wait to have more. Would be perfect for Christmas day or just hanging by the pool! Or during the winter months, to remind you of those wonderful sunny days!
The only fault was for me the bottle cap. I would love to see a twist top, as trying to find a man or a bottle top opener to help me pop it off took me a while! I know,, picky but hey!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 3rd of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Over the years I have enjoyed many varieties of cider, from the budget to the refined, tap and bottles, glass and plastic - the whole spectrum. I must say that this is certainly one of the most pleasurable ones I have come across, and taking into account it's made from crushed pears, rather than the traditional apples, this is even more of a surprise for me.

I tried this cider first at room temperature... that's the real 'acid test' for me - if it's drinkable at room-temp, it's usually a safe bet it's delightful when chilled, and sure enough this was VERY drinkable without needing to be chilled, and simply stunning when served at a delightful 7 degrees.

Overall, this is certainly one of the most unusual ciders I have tasted in a long time. Technically speaking, this is a 'Perry' rather than a 'cider' - but the distinction has become a little 'loose' over the years and "Pear Cider" - though not accurate - has become an acceptable label. I found this to be rather nice when served over ice, but for the more 'adventurous' - especially as the year starts to really heat up - served over shaved ice in a 'sno-cone' style to be the ultimate thirst-quencher for the hotter days, especially with a light squirt of blackcurrant syrup or fresh lemon juice down one side to add a little -zing- to it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.4
Product reviews for listing 5462: Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla LatteWith delicate hints of vanilla, this smooth and creamy latte is irresistible!

Each box contains 10 individual serving sachets. Perfect for sharing with your friends... if you don't drink them all first.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do people pay to go up tall buildings and then put money in binoculars to look at things on the ground?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream