Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 13th December 2019 - 06:08:52

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Toys > Action Figures > Baby Alive - My Real Baby review

« Trackers - 1 reviewTrackers - 1Monopoly Revolution reviewMonopoly Revolution »

Score: 8.1/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2685 - Baby Alive - My Real Baby
Brand : Baby Alive

Baby Alive - My Real Baby
Price:
$99.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Hasbro (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
September 2010

Baby Alive - My Real Baby product reviews

The most responsive doll to join the BABY ALIVE family, MY REAL BABY doll is ready to play, laugh and talk with "mummy!"

BABY ALIVE MY REAL BABY speaks more than 50 phrases and features lifelike facial expressions and eye movements.

MY REAL BABY loves to play games and sing songs and will stretch out her arms, asking "mummy" for a hug! Tickle her tummy or kiss her cheek and the playful BABY ALIVE MY REAL BABY doll will giggle just like a "real" toddler.

After a full day of fun, she gets very sleepy. When she's ready for bed, girls can "feed" BABY ALIVE MY REAL BABY her bottle and special doll "food" and don't forget to change her nappy before she falls "asleep!"

Check out Hasbro (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Hasbro (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
action   baby alive   doll   motion   realistic   sounds   voice
Other listings you may be interested in:
My First Soap FactoryMy First Soap Factory
Rating: 9.5
Jacque the PeacockJacque the Peacock
Rating: 9.0
K'Nex Road Rigs - Tow TruckK'Nex Road Rigs - Tow Truck
Rating: 9.3
Playskool Step Start Walk N RidePlayskool Step Start Walk N Ride
Rating: 9.5
Furreal Friends Dizzy DancersFurreal Friends Dizzy Dancers
Rating: 9.8
Lego Friends CollectionLego Friends Collection
Rating: 9.7
Children's Battery Operated Toy ChainsawChildren's Battery Operated Toy Chainsaw
Rating: 10.0
Exersaucer Jump and Learn FrogExersaucer Jump and Learn Frog
Rating: 10.0
Play Mat CityPlay Mat City
Rating: 10.0
Buildex Blaze RacerBuildex Blaze Racer
Rating: 9.5
Disney Frozen - Princess Dress-Up: AnnaDisney Frozen - Princess Dress-Up: Anna
Rating: 9.2
flexo - Foil Pack Collectionflexo - Foil Pack Collection
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 4th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Struggling with ideas for Miss 2's Christmas present last year I resorted to taking her to the toy shop to show me what she liked the look of, with a list in my head of what had caught her attention that particular day 'Santa' returned to the shop late one evening to pick up several gifts, one of them being the Baby Alive - My Real Baby. This was no wonder as she was very into her dolls at this time and any doll that seemed real or could be fed was a hit in her books, why I hadn't thought of buying this sooner I do not know.

Come Christmas day I had a very excited 2 year old who insisted on opening up the box and getting her new baby out straight away, never mind opening up any of the other presents that were waiting to be opened! When I switched the baby on and Miss 2 was able to see all of the features of the doll and all of the clever things that it could do she got rather excited, she loves to help out with the babies at preschool by feeding them bottles and food, giving them cuddles and helping care for them so the prospect of being able to have her own baby to fuss over was pretty special.

The doll I must say was pretty impressive with all that she was able to do, and very realistic to a real life baby, she talks, wees, sleeps and can even be fed food and bottles, so long as it is those that come supplied with the doll of course. Miss 3 absolutely loved this doll and has spent so much time caring for her and being quite the mother hen, there wasn't much time that the 2 were apart she had to come to the supermarket with us routinely and couldn't stay in the car as she is a 'real' baby.

The doll is made from a very strong plastic, and I feel has had a lot of thought gone into the construction of her. Not only does this doll provide hours of fun but it also is great for teaching children how to care for a younger baby and also for learning words and songs. This would make a great gift to a toddler who is expecting a baby in the family as it can give them a sense of responsibility to care for their own baby while Mum tends to the new baby. As much as Miss now 2 loves her Real Baby she sadly loved her a little to much that she had a bath in the kitchen sink one day which resulted in her no longer functioning properly, however Miss 3 still loves her as is.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 4th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Baby Alive - My Real Baby is worth every penny!! A great doll to give a new big sister, a great toy that will allow a new big sister to have her very own new baby just like mum. And if like my niece she wanted to help with every little task when it came to tending to the needs of her new baby sister. With Baby Alive - My Real Baby my niece got the chance to copy what she saw happening by allowing her to copy what mum or auntie was doing like feeding Baby Alive - My Real Baby a bottle and changing her nappy, rocking her to sleep (and yes the sleep option was a saving grace!!)

The Baby Alive - My Real Baby is very well built/constructed and my opinion is could have been made with softer rubber to make her feel more real. Even with consistent use the battery life lasted ages which I thought was great, and the constant talking and giggling and being so interactive Baby Alive - My Real Baby kept my niece occupied for hours if not all day. There aren't many toys these days that can withstand constant and consistent play for an active 4 year old girl.

Baby Alive - My Real Baby went everywhere, shopping, day-care, the park, played in the sandpit, in the mud/dirt so she really does stand the test of playtime. I would recommend Baby Alive - My Real Baby to any new mum needing a great transition toy for a child who has just become a big sister for the first time. It allows them to become just like mum!!

Yes a bit pricey but in my opinion is worth every penny, what a great toy, and a great way to keep new big sister occupied and out of mums hair.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Features:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Upon reading the box for Baby Alive, and telling Miss 3 what she did - she was VERY VERY excited. She loves her dolls, and especially the one that can go in the bath, and this one, that eats, drinks, wees and talks is very exciting! Miss 3 is a mini Mum, so she thought it was great.

When I took her out of the box, Miss 3 promptly said she did not like her. I tried to find out why exactly, but she would not or could not say. I decided to leave her with the doll, and (as I expected) - curiosity got the better of her, and within 10 minutes she was happily playing with her, and named her after her younger sister.

Of course we then had to try out the features, and see what she could do. Miss 3 loved that she talks and wees, "just like my baby (sister)" and that she could be a Mummy to her. As for the peeing - not so great - does not really show up - and the replacement nappies are quite expensive.

She is very interactive, which is great for imaginative 3 year olds that are sick of "boring" dollies. She does say a lot of things, and reacts well to Miss 3.

As well as that - she is well made, and will stand tough treatment from toddlers/preschoolers, but is not really a soft and cuddly doll.

Some of the downsides - she is not designed to go in the bath (batteries/voice box and bath water, not a good mix), nor is her hair designed to be washed - wiped clean is better. Replacement food and nappies are really expensive too.

She is a neat doll though, and Miss 3 thinks she is pretty cool, being able to be a Mummy to her!

Click here to read the profile of chopper59

Review by: chopper59 (Carolyn)
Dated: 26th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My three year old daughter loves her baby alive doll. I have found the doll keeps both her and her big brother entertained with interactive giggling and talking. The doll has a large number of different features (including a sleep function, which comes in handy). I have found the baby alive doll to be pretty indestructible (particularly with competition for its attention from the big brother).

The doll has realistic mouth movements when talking and singing, and with the level of entertainment it has provided, I consider it to be good value for money.

Click here to read the profile of stephe

Review by: stephe (Stephanie)
Dated: 19th of November, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Features:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When I pulled 'baby alive' out of the box and showed the kids, their first reaction was fear. It appears the majority of kids are frightened by her big eyes as they are rather 'out there'. Once the fear subsided and she began to communicate with them they were thrilled by her, especially when she would make drinking (sucking) sounds and say 'mmmm' while drinking.

After feeding her we took off her nappy to find she had only one 'area' to pee and poo from which might confuse some children and that the 'poo' was almost clear liquid and was hard to see on her nappy. However all the kids were excited that she did pee & poo nonetheless and repeatedly fed her and changed her. I think she is very cleverly made with a kiss sensor on her cheek and a tickle sensor on her stomach. I love that she is quick to react when you do either of these things and the kids were so excited when she would giggle if they rubbed her tummy. She even sings ABC and exclaims 'Taa Daaa!' if you go quiet for a while.

I think she needs to be a bit softer, as she is rather hard and not so cuddly. However that is probably for durability. Since my son has had 'lil poppet he knows where nose and mouth are now which he didn't know 2 days ago! I think it's been great for understanding how going to the toilet works. Overall I think she would be a great buy. Definately worth the $99 and parents are bound to get enjoyment out of it just as much as the kids! I know I did and even my partner had a wee play with her. hehe

Click here to read the profile of bronnie

Review by: bronnie (Bronwyn)
Dated: 5th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Features:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This Baby Alive doll is an awesome playmate for my 4yr old daughter. She spends hours on end tending to her baby's needs. She loves cuddling, tickling and interacting with her baby.

When asked what she likes about her baby she replied "I liked feeding her, changing her nappy and how she talks to me." When asked what she didn't like about her baby she replied "the doll talks to loud and makes a weird noise, and she drinks too slowly." When she referred to the weird noise, it's because the baby sounds very mechanical when moving her eyes, arms and when drinking.

I also think the baby is too loud when she talks and drinks. It drives my husband around the bend, so she needs to play with it away from him. I also thought the doll is quite hard, i think it could be made a little softer. Her eyes are also quite big in proportion to the rest of her face.

I love the fact that the Baby Alive doll wee's and poo's, as it also helps my daughter to associate with her own toileting needs. I was rather confused when it came to the baby doing poo's as i thought the poo's would look more like real like, however it seems just like coloured wees. Also i think children may find it confusing that there is only one hole for wee's and poo's when they know they have a hole for each action. Could this be a new enhancement?

In conclusion this doll is great for keeping a child entertained, and for helping the child learn to care for another being, as the doll has many different phrases and ways to interact with the child. The Baby Alive can be frustrating for adults with the volume of her voice.

I personally think $99 is on the high side for this kind of doll, but with the enjoyment i see my daughter have with her i think it is worth it. I feel the baby should come with at least 5 nappies and 5 sachets of 'doll juice' that would make the product more price effective. I would definitely recommend this Baby Alive doll to others.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Toys'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 3935: Brilliant Basics Nursery Rhymes Keys -  Manufactured by Fisher-Price

Product image for Brilliant Basics Nursery Rhymes KeysBabies love to play with keys-and this set opens up a world of fun while encouraging fine motor skills. Busy activities to twist, spin and rattle, plus three sing-along nursery rhymes: Old MacDonald, Hey Diddle Diddle and Hickory Dickory Dock.

Includes 2 AAA batteries.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Proof that God doesn't exist: If God created the earth for mankind, why is it that we can only live on a less than a quarter of it?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream