Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 21:27:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Takeaway Food > Hawaiian BK Chicken Burger review

« My Dream : Listen to the Children reviewMy Dream : Listen to the ChildrenMcLeod's Daughters - Songs from the Series vol 2 reviewMcLeod »

Score: 8.2/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 268 - Hawaiian BK Chicken Burger
Produced by Burger King

Hawaiian BK Chicken Burger
Price:
$5.45
Available:
After 'Breakfast' times

Hawaiian BK Chicken Burger product reviews

A flame-grilled hunk of solid Chicken meat, a ring of pineapple, bacon, lettuce and mayo, all in a long bun.



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Chilli, Lime and Coriander VinegarChilli, Lime and Coriander Vinegar
Rating: 7.6
Alexandra's Dukkah - TraditionalAlexandra's Dukkah - Traditional
Rating: 9.4
Leaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo LasagneLeaning Tower Pasta Uno : Delissimo Lasagne
Rating: 4.8
Double Decadence CrustDouble Decadence Crust
Rating: 8.5
European Creations - Watties Beef StroganoffEuropean Creations - Watties Beef Stroganoff
Rating: 8.5
Patak's Original : Chicken KormaPatak's Original : Chicken Korma
Rating: 8.3
Cecile's Boys & Gold MuesliCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli
Rating: 8.0
Nine Spice Barbecue Jerk SauceNine Spice Barbecue Jerk Sauce
Rating: 9.5
GoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-packGoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-pack
Rating: 9.3
BBQ Chicken & Bacon PizzaBBQ Chicken & Bacon Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Select Couscous MorrocanSelect Couscous Morrocan
Rating: 10.0
BAKED Pizza - Pineapple ExpressBAKED Pizza - Pineapple Express
Rating: 9.0
Palat-a-Bull Sauce PackPalat-a-Bull Sauce Pack
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 14th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 10 out of 10

Chicken burgers are always my pick when it comes down to choosing between beef or chicken, and when it comes to choosing a fast food joint for either dine in or takeaway Burger King is almost always my choice over McDonald's, KFC, Subway and the like.

The BK chicken burger is normally my choice off the menu with the succulent chicken pattie, crisp lettuce and creamy mayo, sandwiched together between a soft fresh sesame seed bun. However when I have a few extra dollars to spare and feel like something a little more special I go for the Hawaiian BK Chicken Burger which has the same yummy fresh ingredients as the original BK Chicken, but with the extra yumminess of a ring of pineapple, bacon and cheese which makes for the ultimate tasty treat.

In the past I used to really like the way in which Burger King served these Burgers by cutting them into 2, this helped to make them much easier to eat and the ingredients didn't seem to go slipping out of the bun anywhere near as much as they do lately due to them have seemed to no longer cut the burger in half, I don't understand why this is to be honest, surely it was a convenient and no trouble job to undertake?

The Hawaiian BK Chicken burger teamed up with a side of chips and a yummy soft drink (I always go for raspberry coke, a mix of coke and the Schweppes raspberry) make for the perfect meal. Usually purchased by me after a week at work or as a weekend treat when out and about in town. My partner used to work for BK and tells me that this is one of the most popular burgers, and that the preparation time isn't long at all, the longest wait is waiting for the chicken to be cooked. To be honest id rather wait for fresh food than eat a burger that has spent its day sitting under the heat lamps. The price is a little steep for the burger on it's own but add on $2 and you get a drink and fries which makes is seem like a great deal. There are often coupons on the BK website which have pretty good 2 for 1 deals for this burger to. Definitely a burger worth trying.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 10 out of 10

Sometimes you just want a cheap burger. At McDonalds, you pick a cheeseburger. They often taste like cardboard, and may be kind of stale and tasteless, but sometimes that is exactly what you are feeling like. At Burger King, they have the BK Chicken. Similar to the McChicken, it is simply Chicken and lettuce, with a dollop of mayo on a long bun. They used to cut it in half to make it easier to eat, but they seem to have given up on that. Not that I care.

This is a burger that I enjoy the simplicity of. I don't have to pull any tomato or pickles out of it. I can just unwrap and eat it. I can chow one down in under a minute. If I want to try another burger but don't know if I'll enjoy it, I can even eat a BK Chicken afterwards regardless.

I have never been a fan of Burger King burgers because of the level of grease in their patties, but their chicken burgers have given me another reason to turn up. They can't compete with KFC's Zinger burger, but the Tendercrisp is a close second, with the BK Chicken not too far behind.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 18th of December, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 9 out of 10

I never ever buy beef when buying burgers from places like Burger King, MacDonalds etc as I don't like the taste of a lot of fat and grease so if it doesn't say chicken or fish then it is not in my burger. I love this burger as it is nice and juicy thanks to the pineapple and if done right tastes great. I have found that sometimes there is too much mayonnaise and sometimes there isn't enough but mostly it is great tasting. I find when the particular Burger King is busy that often the quality falls so if I'm going to buy from them don't go during peak times.

I would order this over and over but only once a week as I have been told off for my weight from the GP (family history of diabetes and blood pressure problems) so have to think of healthier alternatives but when I'm not in the mood to worry about what I'm eating or feel like a treat then this is definitely a burger to consider.

I have tried introducing my kids to this burger but they only want the burgers that have the toys so are more than happy to have the kids meals but I'm sure when they find that the little burgers from the kids meals don't fill them any more that they will love this burger.

I would recommend this burger to others as I would any of the chicken burgers from Burger King.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 16th of December, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 9 out of 10

Oh my gosh - the BK Hawaiian chicken burger, oh how I wish I had met you before now!! One word - YUMM!! I've always eaten burger king but until last night had never tried the Hawaiian chicken burger, and not for any particular reason really. I did kind of think the whole pineapple on a burger thing was a bit weird but when my hubby suggested it last night for dinner saying they were yummy I thought yea why not I'll try it - so glad I did! Just writing about it literally wants me to go back to burger king and get one right now lol!

Our local burger king (Whangarei store) has it's good and bad days - like most outlets I would suspect. Dear hubby told me there are times where he has had the Hawaiian burger and it hasn't been nice at all. I guess this comes down to your local store and just cross your fingers you get a good day! Luck of the draw really and like any takeaways it can never be as good as something you make at home. One of those things your better off having every now n then as a treat that's for sure as it certainly can't be good for you!

I do find Burger King quite expensive, and we always seem to spend more here than at other takeaway outlets but the price of this burger or combo is reasonable, there is certainly others on their menu that are more expensive. I was happy as I was full after eating this and that's the main thing!

Cooked chicken patty (the same as all chicken patty's at burger king), lettuce, mayo, pineapple and bacon all on a long bun. I particularly liked the long bun I must say - it seemed way easier to eat and less chance of spilling its contents all down your front which I am so good at doing with burger king burgers! It would also be easier to cut in half for children as due to the sizing (which was perfect for me) I doubt they would eat a whole burger. Definitely a winning combination all round and I can't wait to have another! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 11th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 9 out of 10

This is the only Burger King burger I eat as I always go for the chicken at takeaway outlets. I like this one as it has the pineapple too and I love pineapple. The burger is huge so I get really full when I have one of these and they are really well priced too. It would be nicer if the chicken in it was less processed but I can tolerate the chicken in it anyway. I love Burger King mayonnaise it is really creamy and compliments the chicken and lettuce really well and the pineapple always seems to be really juicy and sweet.

Sometimes when you go you get a really nice burger, but other times I have been and the lettuce hasn't been fresh and there has been too much mayonnaise. You do seem to wait longer for chicken burgers than the other burgers on the menu but overall the wait time hasn't been too bad.

I give this burger a 8/10 as far as takeaway burgers go as it is really filling and has a good taste in fact at lunch time I could probably only need half of the burger. I like the long bun style too as it is easier to eat and more tidy than eating out of a round bun always a bonus when you are eating with others and in public :).

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 29th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 7 out of 10

I used to work for these guys and the prep time does depend a lot on how busy the store is but over all i gave it a 7.

I love these, they are the only bk burger that i eat. I cant stand the other "meat" there and still have nightmares about cooking it and the grease that used to drop out of the broiler.

Back to the burger, i love the taste combination and short of using a foot long bun, i don't know if they could improve it much, other than not sticking their greasy mitts all over the packaging and smearing the black pencil everywhere. The black pencil is used (if they are marking correctly) to show if you have added or dropped anything. They were fantastic to sharpen too ;)

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 4th of August, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 8 out of 10

I was talked into trying one of these by a chatbuddy, who said it was the best thing on the menu. Being a bit of a "Whopper if I have to" BK person, I figured "Worth a try at least."

She suggested that I get the extra mayo, since the chicken could get a bit dry. She was right, but no amount of mayo could remove that powdery after-feel that clung to the roof of my mouth for over an hour afterwards. Yuk.

Not much of a burger for the price, but compared to current prices, it could be worse I suppose. Highlight: They were able to make it in record time due to a total lack of customers instore at the time.

Overall... not really on my menu, thanks.

Click here to read the profile of dnwhakar

Review by: dnwhakar (Danielle)
Dated: 18th of June, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Preparation Time:
Score 10 out of 10

Being a big fan of the regular BK chicken fillet burger, it was only natural that I progress onto trying the BK Hawaiian chicken fillet burger. Chicken fillet, bacon, pineapple, lettuce, cheese and mayo. Sounds like heaven.

And it was - if you are a chicken & pineapple lover, then this burger is for you. They put plenty of bacon and cheese in too - surprising for a big name takeaway chain.

This burger is very filling. I could only finish half of it by the time I had eaten my regular fries (however, this could have had somthing to do with the hangover I was nursing).

On the downside, this burger is VERY expensive for the size of it. But if you don't mind forking out, you are in for an extremely tasty burger.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 3205: Lemon and Passionfruit Curd -  Produced by Cannon Hill Gourmet Foods

Product image for Lemon and Passionfruit CurdOne sublime step beyond Lemon Curd.

    •  Gluten Free

www.cannonhillgourmet.co.nzClick out to an external site

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Education is what you get when you read the fine-print. Experience is what you get when you don't."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream