Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 21st April 2019 - 08:24:21

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Sanitary Products > Baby First Fitted Nappy review

« The Four Powers of Daren Saner reviewThe Four Powers of Daren SanerIntel Core i5-750 Processor reviewIntel Core i5-750 Processor »

Score: 8.5/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2665 - Baby First Fitted Nappy
Brand / Manufactured by: Baby First

Baby First Fitted Nappy
Price:
$20.00 each
Available:
via their website

Baby First Fitted Nappy product reviews

The re-usable, environmentally friendly nappy.

Our two part nappy (comprising an 'inner' and 'outer'), designed in collaboration with NZ mums, has unique leg gussets to provide a better fit and prevent leaks.

You change the micro fleece/micro towelling 'inner' when wet and only change the micro fleece lined 'outer' when soiled. The need for soaking and scrubbing is eliminated, so you'll halve your washing and drying time.

Importantly, it is not a throwaway. So you won't be filling our NZ landfills with tonnes of disposable nappies that take years to breakdown. Best of all, you'll be saving yourself up to $2500 compared to using disposables, while saving the environment.

Use one liner during the day and two at night for extra absorbancy.

It comes in 7 colours and two sizes.



Tags:
cloth   eco   nappies   nappy   reusable   reuse   washable
Other listings you may be interested in:
Odor-NiteOdor-Nite
Rating: 4.3
Selleys BBQ Tough WipesSelleys BBQ Tough Wipes
Rating: 8.7
Twistick Clean Me - Travel SoapTwistick Clean Me - Travel Soap
Rating: 9.3
Azor 5 Sensitive System RazorAzor 5 Sensitive System Razor
Rating: 8.3
Scotch-Brite Easy Erasing PadScotch-Brite Easy Erasing Pad
Rating: 8.9
Dishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - LemonDishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - Lemon
Rating: 9.1
SoapNut Shells SoapNut Shells 
Rating: 10.0
Active Platinum Dishwasher TabletsActive Platinum Dishwasher Tablets
Rating: 9.5
Quattro Energy razorQuattro Energy razor
Rating: 7.0
Protex Liquid Hand WashProtex Liquid Hand Wash
Rating: 9.3
Comfort Fabric Conditioner Sky BlueComfort Fabric Conditioner Sky Blue
Rating: 10.0
Mr NitsMr Nits
Rating: 9.8
Earthwise Laundry Liquid - Lemon & GardeniaEarthwise Laundry Liquid - Lemon & Gardenia
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 27th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am all about saving the planet and by using these reusable nappies I feel as though I am doing my part. I love how easy they are to use, and the bright colours are also a bonus....no longer are they the dull old white cloth nappies of old. I love how the plastic domes allow for a snug fit or for extra room as the child grows into the nappy....and they also eliminate the need for sharp nappy pins near baby now so they are perfect.

The elastic around the top of the nappy and around the legs of the nappy help to keep it in place and helps to keep baby drier because the inners are kept in place better allowing them to absorb more. The micro fleece liners are easy to clean even when soiled as the soiling seems to come right off and can be disposed of in the toilet which makes for easy cleaning.

It's true that this unique nappies don't need soaking for days like the old cloth nappies and only take a short amount of time to dry once they are hung on the line. Also they don't retain the smell of the body fluids they are exposed too, and sometime I wouldn't even need to change the outer nappy I would just need to change the liner so that again eliminates a lot of work.

With the one off cost of buying the nappy and not really factoring in the cost of laundry powder etc to wash the nappy these nappies are great value and save thousands of dollars! So many children nowadays are using these reusable nappies and I much prefer them over disposable. I have mine stored away now that my nieces are too old to wear them but hope to use them again for my own children. I absolutely love them and recommend them to all parents.

I never saw nappy rash on my neices skin nor do I see nappy rash on the children at the centre that wears them...they are all natural and great for the environment....must be a win win for everyone.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 25th of November, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Baby First Fitted Nappy - these are brilliant, I really love the bright colours and the fit. I have used a variety of cloth nappies over the years, and unfortunately all of my children are now out of nappies and I have almost lost touch with the cloth nappy world. One of the children came into preschool using these and I instantly fell in love with them. The fact that they go from birth onwards that you can adjust the fit, and the way the absorbent pad just pops in the middle is fantastic. I really think they are a brilliant product. I wouldn't use these at night as they do require regular changes, as they aren't as absorbent as they could be. But they really are a great cloth nappy.

These get washed regularly, and I haven't seen any fading of the colour, nor has the inner fabric shown signs of wear. They have lots of adjustment, and seem to grow with the child, which is something when I used cloth nappies I had to buy different sizes as my child grew.

Would I buy these? Absolutely, I think I will start putting one in with my friend's baby shower gifts, to give them an opportunity to explore the cloth nappy world. I will also recommend Baby First Fitted Nappy to other parents in the preschool, I always think it's important to share products that last, are great for babies and save parents money.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 12th of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was given a couple of the Baby First MCN's (modern cloth nappies) to try, as I had never used them, and was pleasantly surprised.

They were a good fit, easily adjustable, simple to "assemble", and I really liked that they come in a range of cool colours - say goodbye to the concept of MCN's being white and boring!!

While I liked the look of them, as a seasoned cloth nappy mum, they are not my favourites, and I keep them stashed in the car for the emergency nappy change time.

The issue with them is that they are not very absorbent, and to get them to be of a good absorbency, the poor child has a "Michelin Man" sized bottom!! I found myself putting another cover over the top, "just to be sure" they wouldn't leak!

They have lasted really well through 2 children, and are currently on their third, and have without doubt saved lots of rubbish from going to the landfills.

As a cloth nappy connoisseur, these are on the more basic side of MCN's, but are a great way to try cloth without a huge outlay. Just be aware, that leaking of the nappy does not mean the nappy does not work, rather that it is not absorbent enough!

Click here to read the profile of stephe

Review by: stephe (Stephanie)
Dated: 12th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We purchased these for our first son a couple of years ago and they were my favourite! Although the absorbency wasn't spectacular they were awesome for ease of use and practicality.

Only now that I have my second child and know more about cloth nappies did I begin to dislike them. I found with the extra 'night booster' they were extremely bulky and really didn't last as long as you would expect a night nappy too.

Overall though if you are a first time cloth nappy user then these are the ones to get to ease yourself into it. :)

Click here to read the profile of phoenixslip

Review by: phoenixslip (Natarsha)
Dated: 31st of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I bought a dozen of these 3 years ago for my daughter, and they worked well on her... Some time later I've been using the same nappies on my second daughter , who is currently 1 year old.

The outer nappy cover has lasted the test of time, and the colours have remained the same. I just bought yellow and red baby first fitted nappies.

Its great they come with two inners.

I still use these at night , cos i put 3 or 4 inners in them and they keep my daugher's clothes dry and last the night time til morning.

Good nappies on a budget, last longer than itti bitti nappies actually, as i have had them for a less amount of time.

Click here to read the profile of stephe

Review by: stephe (Stephanie)
Dated: 4th of October, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

These nappies have been used in our household for quite some time now. They are great value for money and come in cute little colours. The fit rather nicely on my sons trim legs and they are for the most novice of cloth nappy users.
I think my only complaint is the don't last that long when on. My son leaks through them regularly so you go through more then you should with a cloth nappy.
But most of the time these are great! we are happy 'Baby First' customers :)

Click here to read the profile of fuzzy01mnas

Review by: fuzzy01mnas (Marie)
Dated: 28th of August, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We have got quite a few of these reusable nappies in size 2 (4mths to Potty). I just love the bright colours red, green, blue and yellow. The thing I like most about these nappies more than other OSFA brands is that they don't have a pocket that u have to put the pad into, u can just lie the pad on top of the cover and use, so when it's wet or dirty u can easily change the pad instead of the whole nappy. Another great thing is that I find them more generous in the size, meaning they look and are bigger than other OSFA nappies which I have found great when using them on my nearly 2 year old and my 3 year old.

They have great leak guards around the legs so no leakages.

It is also wonderful how u don't have to sock these nappies in anything before washing, just make sure there's no #2's on them and then bung them in the wash with very little soap powder and they come up nice and white every time ( well this is what I've found). They take very little time to dry due to the microfiber material they are made out of.

They are also easy to put on even my husband has no trouble with them and my son just loves the feel of these nappies as they are soft and not scratchy like some disposables can be.
We used to use disposables all the time but since discovering these nappies we use them all day everyday even when we go out and they have saved us a lot of money and also I feel like I'm not clogging up rubbish dumps with disposables that take so long to break down.

We found that they were a lot cheaper than other OSFA nappies and most others only come with 1 pad these come with two per nappy.

Overall we are very happy and would highly recommend this product.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 8.1
Product reviews for listing 7691: Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : Strawberry -  Brand: Grin Natural

Product image for Grin Natural - Kids Toothpaste : StrawberryWe don't think kids need artificial sparkles or a fake bubble gum flavour to get excited about brushing... so we've left the unnecessary extras out! Grin 100% Natural Kids toothpaste is a gentle and effective gel specifically formulated to give the kindest treatment to your little one's baby teeth. Developed in cooperation with New ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream