Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 19th October 2019 - 01:32:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Frute Cider - Berry review

« The Mouse that Squeaked reviewThe Mouse that SqueakedFrute Cider - Orange Vanilla reviewFrute Cider - Orange Vanilla »

Score: 8.3/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 2535 - Frute Cider - Berry
Brewed by: McCashin's Brewery

Frute Cider - Berry
Price:
$17.25 per 4-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by McCashin

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retailers

Frute Cider - Berry product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFeel the joy with Frute Berry. You'll love this delicious real fruit cider made from naturally sweet, tree-ripened apples, lovingly brewed to perfection then blended with luscious boysenberries, raspberries and blackcurrants, making it the perfect drink for any occasion.

Not too naughty, but very, very nice. 100% natural.

    •  Contains approx. 1.3 Standard Drinks (per serve).
    •  Gluten Free
    •  Approx. 5% alc by volume

Website: www.frute.co.nz

Check out McCashin's Brewery onlineClick here to see all the listings for McCashin's Brewery Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   apple   berry   blackcurrant   boysenberry   cider   fruit   nzmade   raspberry
Other listings you may be interested in:
Harvest Apple Cider with BoysenberryHarvest Apple Cider with Boysenberry
Rating: 9.5
RheineckRheineck
Rating: 7.3
Frute Cider - Orange VanillaFrute Cider - Orange Vanilla
Rating: 8.8
Peach - Still MediumPeach - Still Medium
Rating: 8.8
Dr Pepper - Made with Real Sugar CaneDr Pepper - Made with Real Sugar Cane
Rating: 8.5
Organic Ginger BeerOrganic Ginger Beer
Rating: 8.4
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5
Karajoz Coffee Company Genuine No.1 Blend Whole Coffee Beans Karajoz Coffee Company Genuine No.1 Blend Whole Coffee Beans 
Rating: 9.8
Frute Cider - Mango and LimeFrute Cider - Mango and Lime
Rating: 9.1
Granite - Blackcurrant BlastGranite - Blackcurrant Blast
Rating: 7.3
Classic Soda Syrup - Dry ColaClassic Soda Syrup - Dry Cola
Rating: 9.2
Anchor CalciYum PoptopsAnchor CalciYum Poptops
Rating: 9.7
Apple Cider with ElderflowerApple Cider with Elderflower
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of bronnie

Review by: bronnie (Bronwyn)
Dated: 25th of May, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I found the Frute Berry Cider to be rather tangy. On flavour i would score it a 8, however i found this drink to be rather strong for my taste buds as i am not a huge berry fan. The berry flavour seemed rather tart and very pulpy too (my main dislike with berries).

Overall it was nice to drink on it's own (if you are into berries) however i feel mixing it in a smoothy and adding a different flavour like banana worked better for me.

My favourite is still the Frute Mango and Lime.

Click here to read the profile of boggie

Review by: boggie (Hayden)
Dated: 21st of May, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This was my introduction to ciders, never tried them before but have always been interested. All I can say is I thought I was drinking fruit juice! and a very good one, it even has pulp!. Couldn't of told you that this was an alcoholic drink, very dangerous for a person like me.

Very accurate flavour, with a slight sour tartness which made me umm and ahh about it. couldn't work out if it was good or not. as a fruit drink, bad, but I like my alcholic drinks to have a bit of bite so in that sense it was good, but as an overall taste hmmmmmm... More testing maybe required.

Very refreshing as a cool drink, don't know what it would be like once its warmed to room temperature. The bottle size is good, and it's only 5 percent, like a good beer, so you dont need to sit on it like a whiskey so staying chilled shouldnt be a problem.

Click here to read the profile of craftmadhermit

Review by: craftmadhermit (Tess)
Dated: 18th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Thick and rich in berry flavour, I found McCashin's "Frute Cider: Berry not as smooth as their "Orange and Vanilla", but still just as yummy. Once again, it lacked the harsh acidic after-taste I'm used to with most ciders, and I only noticed a tiny hint of pulp when drinking it, although it looked like there was more when it stuck to the sides of the bottle.
This is definitely better to drink when fresh from the fridge, as I did find it less smooth as it warmed up to room temperature. Suitable as an "all-year-round" drink, it's definitely not one you could treat the same as juice, as you can clearly taste the alcohol (without it being too overwhelming), and I found one bottle per sitting to be sufficient.
Overall, though I have a slight preference for the Orange and Vanilla flavour, this is still a very nice, unique type of cider, that would be well worth giving a try.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 17th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

There are some berry flavours I like, and some I can set aside without a second thought. In between are a whole range of flavours that have pros and cons for them and this was one.
Though I did enjoy the burst of sweetness that came with the first mouthful, it soon settled down to a milder, smoother sweetness that was enjoyable without ever getting overwhelming.
There was nowhere near as much 'pulp' as I expected from the look of it, but it was a thicker drink than normal and felt a little unpleasant in my mouth, a bit like drinking watery ice-cream topping. It's a personal thing really, and no great fault of the drink itelf, but if you are someone who prefers your drinks to be quite liquid then you may want to be aware of that before you knock back a glass of this otherwise pretty-tasty drink.
All in all, not really my favourite drink from the samples I received, but it certainly wasn't anything majorly unpleasant. I ended up using the last third of the bottle to make a fruit smoothy and THAT was something awesome, so if you do buy it but don't love it, consider that as a way to prevent waste. It worked for me.

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 16th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

i found this cider to be really appealing. full of berry flavour and since berries are some of my utterly favourite fruit this was one of the best alcoholic drinks i have come across in quite a while. The thickness of the fruit solids is the only slight downside for me as it becomes like drinking something half way between juice and syrup but if you dilute it down with a bit of straight cider (like their rochdale traditional brand) then this becomes really amazing. i also used it to make a delicious berry cider smoothy which is great to drink on the hotter days plus discovered this goes really nicely poured over sliced bananas with ice cream as a topping. some thing that little bit special. this is one drink i plan to keep plenty of in the fridge for those special (and not so special) occasions. great value for money in a four-pack.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Personally, not a great fan of berries... but I thought this should be worth trying at least and I am glad to say I was right. Even though it's thicker and more 'berry puree'ish than my preferences allow for, it still tasted quite nice, in a sweet very-berry way.

For those who like berry drinks, this will be something well worth giving a go, but even for those who aren't great berry fans this is something unusual and quite potentially pleasant. I could easily imagine this poured over ice with a dash of pineapple juice to 'soften the blow'. Wink Icon

Overall, a pleasant drop, if not one of my favourites.

Click here to read the profile of mistletoe

Review by: mistletoe (Sarah-Jane)
Dated: 13th of April, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This is my absolute favourite, it is pulpy with real fruit which I loved. It does need a few turns before it is opened to mix it around as it settles on the bottom.

I am not a big alcohol drinker but I will be buying this one, I like the fact that they are small bottles that can be closed up again. When I normally buy alcohol I have to throw some away as I can't reseal it, but I can with this.

The berry was not too strong or overpowering, it was a lovely fresh flavour that was very enjoyable.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 7.4
Product reviews for listing 1142: Sipahh Straws : Toffee Apple -  Brand : Unistraw Intl Ltd

Product image for Sipahh Straws : Toffee AppleWhat is Sipahh?
Sipahh is a milk flavouring straw that wakes up milk.
It makes milk fun and helps ensure kids get the vital calcium they need in their diets.
Simply dip into cold milk, Sip, and say Ahh!

How does it work?
Every Sipahh milk flavouring straw is filled with our special UniBeads that contain all the flavour and excitement that Sipahh delivers.
As the milk is ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The difference between 'involvement' and 'commitment' is like an bacon-and-eggs breakfast: the chicken was 'involved' but the pig was 'committed'"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream